I wish they could leave the time alone.

DSC_0020 (4)

I really don’t like the change of time, today I woke up at three am. For three weeks I’ve started an hour earlier every morning so I’ve been up around 4:40 in the morning and today we went back to normal hours which means I can sleep an hour longer but my brain really didn’t understand that so we woke up an hour earlier than last week πŸ™‚ I wish they just stopped this nonsense.

 

DSC_0021 (2)

DSC_0022 (4)

DSC_0024 (4)

DSC_0025 (4)

But I did get a beautiful sunrise right in my eyes when I drove to work and a beautiful sunset when I drove home. it was more or less pitch black when I came home and since I couldn’t find any flashlight we never took any walk after work. I’ll have one tomorrow, restless dogs is no fun to have indoors πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0026 (4)

DSC_0028 (2)

DSC_0030 (3)

DSC_0031 (2)

Lots of refugees are coming to Sweden now, mostly people from Syria but also from the other war hit countries nearby like Afghanistan and Iraq. So many are coming that we now have problems to find any places for them to live. I heard of one place far north called RiksgrΓ€nsen (something like the border of the kingdom or realm). It is a rather well known place to go skiing downhill but the hotels don’t open up until February so there are plenty of space to stay at right now.

 

One of the Minolta cameras.
One of the Minolta cameras.

A102243_7

A102243_8

Taken when Orvar still was around.
Taken when Orvar still was around.

The refugees like it but the reporter described the place like “Something from the book The Shining πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Almost no people live up there and this time of year it’s shut down and deserted and I can understand how he was thinking but lets hope it stays by that πŸ™‚ We also have lots of poor people from south-eastern Europe here begging outside populated areas like stores. I’ve seen photos and reportage on tv that shows how they live in their home countries so I can fully understand why they go up here to get some money, they really have no hope where they are living.

 

A102243_17

The little village where I work before anyone woke up.
The little village where I work before anyone woke up. I think this was taken a Saturday morning.

A102243_19A

A102243_20

We even have a lady sitting outside the grocery store in the village where I work. We talk Swedish with her and she answers in her language πŸ™‚ Many of these beggars are threatened and abused but so far this woman has been treated well. I guess those who hated these people forgot about them now when all the refugees comes, I guess it is hard to spread the hate towards several groups at the same time. Many of these people from southern Europe have realised that people tend to be kinder to them if they instead of begging sell things instead, so now many weave baskets or make other things that they sell to people passing by. I doubt however that this would work as well in such a small village as the one I work in.

 

A102243_32

A102243_35

The rest of the photos were taken with the Edixa and the Jupiter lens.
The rest of the photos were taken with the Edixa and the Jupiter lens.

A102244_26

It is time to make something to eat and then some tv I think. No photos from today since it was dark when I came home.

 

Up by the Abbey ruin in Gudhem.
Up by the Abbey ruin in Gudhem.

A102244_35

A102244_36

A102244_37
A view over the lake and the mountain in the back is actually further away than it looks. It is called Kinnekulle.

 

Have a great day!

16 responses

  1. Dianna

    Hi Christer! I agree with you – leave the time alone for pete’s sake!!!! We are coming up to ours, I believe its the first weekend in November. They used to do it the same weekend as you, but changed it a few years ago. I think they should have left things alone. Its incredible to see how many refugees are leaving. Our news shows it every night. I see Orvar!! πŸ™‚ You are right, having restless dogs are no fun. I hope your evening is fun filled with lots of good TV and tea! πŸ™‚

    October 26, 2015 at 8:18 pm

    • Up here in the north it’s just useless, we have daylight almost the entire day during summer πŸ™‚ They now also know that the heart attacks goes up 5-10% each time they change the time so why keep on doing it?? I think the entire Europe change at the same time here.

      They estimate that 120 000 refugees will come here this year and something like that next year too. Lots of those coming here now are “only” people who wants a better life and not fleeing a war so they will most likely be sent back to their home countries again. Poverty isn’t a reason to stay they say.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      October 27, 2015 at 6:24 pm

  2. jaz

    i hate hate hate DLS time. should we also decide when it should rain or snow and when the sun should shine? the world is officially overpopulated. it is very sad. it’s scary because historically the universe takes care of these problems in her own way. what might be happening on the horizon?

    October 26, 2015 at 11:30 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      I really don’t understand why we up here in the north have to do it, we don’t have many dark hours during summer. I wouldn’t mind if we got British time all year round though, then I would have some daylight when I drove home from work during winter. I think they are working on how to controll weather, not a good idea I’m afraid.

      These poor people are just trying to live in a safe country, war is nasty in many ways!

      Yes nature tends to take care of over population but we’ve become too good in fightinmg diseases. I guess it needs an ateroid to hit the world to get rid of us πŸ™‚

      have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 27, 2015 at 6:27 pm

  3. Christer,
    We change our clocks back this Sunday morning at 2 AM so most of us do it before we go to sleep. I read an article which said Massachusetts should choose to leave the time alone. We’d all handle it just fine. I hate that it will now get dark by 5 pm. Winter is already dark enough without starting it early.

    Tonight is cold. I just ran across the street to get my lil and it was really chilly.

    I like your village pictures and the ones with different cameras. The light seems always better, brighter.

    Have some cocoa and stay warm!

    October 26, 2015 at 11:32 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      I wonder why, if we now must have this crap, we don’t change the time at the same day?

      I wouldn’t mind if we had British time all year round though, that would give me some daylight when I drove home in winter, I think I won’t see the daylight again until late February or evenb Mars again.

      The evenings can be chilly here but clouds comes during the night and makes it a bit warmer so I don’t have to scrape the car windows πŸ™‚

      I like the old time camera photos, they look like they were taken long ago πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 27, 2015 at 6:31 pm

  4. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    I’m glad Kat told you when we change our clocks back because I was reading your blog and wondering about when we did ours. I don’t mind the fall back part but I really hated the spring forward when we lose an hour of sleep. Now that I’m retired it’s not a big deal. I get up when I’m ready to get up and fall asleep when I need to.
    Moving the clocks forward in the spring was funny when I was working with horses. Horses don’t know about daylight savings time but people still work to the clock. The horses’ expressions were so funny that first day when their feed came in an hour early. They were so excited.
    It was quite the opposite in the fall when their feed came in an hour later. They were not pleased.

    Today was a lovely fall day. I got out in it a few times with the dogs but mostly I was doing an online course. All that reading and video watching and I didn’t pass the module test so I had to do it all again. It’s not difficult and the lectures are interesting. The reading material is mostly boring and my mind wanders off and forgets to remember the pertinent facts. Second time was good.
    After that frustration, I spent some time trying to figure out my newest Kindle Fire. It has an SD card slot and can support 128G. I did manage to save something to the SD card but I have no idea how I did it nor can I find any instructions that might enlighten me.
    It’s that kind of day, I guess. πŸ™‚

    Enjoy the evening and don’t let Time get you.

    October 27, 2015 at 3:00 am

    • I wish they would stop changing time. The reason for it has long gone and yet they continue. Think of the money spent changing all the clocks…
      Our private clocks aren’t the only ones..and it’s a pain.
      Too hot here to do any baking, Christer.
      Were your pictures taken early in the morning…I saw no people…none. It looks so quiet…nice!! πŸ™‚

      October 27, 2015 at 4:29 am

      • Hi Mona!

        I can’t stand it at all! Up here in the north we have daylight the entire day during summer so we don’t gain anything with doing this. All but one of my clocks change themselves though πŸ™‚

        I wish I could say that too but it is just enough cool to bake but not in the fire stove, that would make it way to warm in my cottage πŸ™‚

        Have a great day!
        Christer.

        October 27, 2015 at 6:42 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I don’t like it either way, now I wake up an hour earlier than I need. It’s just stupid!

      My dogs are a bit confused too and are really hungry now when I come home from work. But like the horses they never mind the earlier food in spring πŸ™‚

      We’ve had a wonderful wetaher here today, no wind at all and sunshine. I worked in the neighbor factory today so I enjoyed it when I walked there and back again πŸ™‚

      It is not good if the reading material is boring, like You I would let my mind wander away to funniuer things πŸ™‚

      It’s always a bit annoying when one manages to save something but don’t know how and why πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Odd that You can’t find any instructions though, I guess You’ll have to search the net. Perhaps You should wait until tomorrow and hope that it isn’t that kind of day πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Have a great day! (I’m afraid time already has πŸ™‚ )

      Christer.

      October 27, 2015 at 6:40 pm

      • Caryn

        I have been on the net. The consensus is that it’s really good for a fifty dollar tablet but the user interface is odd. So far I have come to the conclusion that if an SD card is present, things get saved there automatically unless you have unchecked a preference box.
        I am operating on the assumption that if I have downloaded it, it’s in there somewhere and I can retrieve it without wifi. I have yet to prove this hypothesis but that’s how I think it works. πŸ˜€

        October 27, 2015 at 11:23 pm

      • I love technology πŸ™‚ I do hope You can prove the hypothesis πŸ™‚

        October 28, 2015 at 6:15 pm

  5. Yep! Taken early in the morning…I missed that the first time around. I always like to look again because I always miss something. Have a great week!

    October 27, 2015 at 4:31 am

    • πŸ™‚

      October 27, 2015 at 6:43 pm

  6. um……………………
    (I’m whispering now)… I kinda like DLS time.
    It just makes every thing spookier at night and kinda magical.
    And it makes going to bed early, much easier.
    And it makes me appreciate Spring time so much!

    About the refugees, How lucky are we that we are not in their shoes?
    I think people are so quick to label and judge and if they were walking in their steps,
    they might see things so much differently.

    Restless dogs are not a good thing.

    October 27, 2015 at 10:07 pm

    • Hi Cindi!

      Not up here I’m afraid. It is dark over 18 hours every day now as it is πŸ™‚ and during summer we almost have no dark hours at all πŸ™‚ It is dark already at 5 pm now. But few people appreciate spruing and summer more than us here in the north πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      I think it has much to do with teh fear of things changing and since this costs a lot of money they are afraid that times will get bad here too. They forget that as soon as these refugees get a job they too will pay tax money and make our system even stronger.

      No not a good thing at all πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 28, 2015 at 5:57 pm

Leave a Reply

