I ate too much :-)

The cherry trees are the last ones to change colors this autumn.
The cherry trees are the last ones to change colors this autumn.

The day has been grey and gloomy and nothing much has happened. I worked in the neighbor factory today and came back just in time to our weekly meeting. A work friend had his 50th birthday not long ago so he brought us something we call sandwich cake. I’ve heard that this is something very Swedish so I don’t know if You know what it is. Here’s a link to some different ones I found on Google: Smörgåstårta A new window should pop up if You click on the red text.

 

DSC_0021

DSC_0022
It still looks nice around my cottage.

DSC_0023

DSC_0024

It should be made a few days ahead to taste as best. The one we had today was delicious and one of the layers in it was filled with liver pate, something we Swedes love and often have on our sandwiches. But it can also be made with for example tuna and shrimps and the more luxurious ones can be made with lobster, nephrops and perhaps crab and shrimps too 🙂 I ate so much that I’ve decided not to have any dinner but instead make a bowl with vanilla yoghurt, apple slices and cinnamon :-)There’s quite often fruit in it too, today there was pears and peaches in some layers and there’s always lots of mayo 🙂

 

DSC_0029

DSC_0028

DSC_0039

DSC_0040

 

We had a rather nice walk after work and I haven’t done much after that. It sounds as if they’re showing a Christmas episode of Simpsons on tv, normally they tend to show the old Halloween episodes now. I guess it doesn’t hurt to see something else for a change 🙂

 

Four more from an old Minolta. It isn't easy focusing with these old lenses :-)
Four more from an old Minolta. It isn’t always easy focusing with these old lenses 🙂

A102245_32

A102245_33

A102245_34

It is time for that yoghurt and after that I’ll read two comic magazines 🙂

Have a great day!

10 responses

  1. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Wow, I have never seen a sandwich like that before!!! It looks like it could feed an army and then some! 🙂 No wonder you weren’t hungry after that! Its been a busy week around here – lots of meetings so I am glad today is Friday. We are due rain tomorrow apparently so it depends on the weather whether or not we decorate the yard. If not that will be a real shame but we are at the mercy of Mother Nature. The candy is ready to hand out and tonight is Gate Night so I will make sure we walk the dogs early and then hide inside. I will likely go out with the dogs too when they have to go to the bathroom. Its a tricky night tonight!! I hope no cars or houses get egged. Have a good evening!!

    October 30, 2015 at 5:43 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      The photos shows big cakes so one only take a piece of it 🙂 I think one might die if one ate an entire sandwich cake 🙂 🙂 But this is no light food in any way but we tend not to think about that and eat way too much of it 🙂

      No rain here but cloudy and perhaps foggy in the morning, I’m hoping for some fog 🙂

      I was going to buy some pumpkins today but forgot it, so no decorations here and no candy either since there won’t be any children tricking or treating here. Thankfully no risk of getting the house egged either.

      Good luck tonight 🙂

      Christer.

      October 30, 2015 at 8:12 pm

  2. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    I’m trying to figure out how that sandwich cake goes together and how you eat the savory parts separate from the fruity parts. And should we be eating nephrops considering they are the last surviving species of their genus? So many questions. 🙂
    On the other hand, liver paté affection is totally understandable especially if there is lots of garlic in it.

    Your cottage looks lovely nestled in among all the colorful trees.

    It was sunny earlier. Now it is mostly cloudy with blue patches here and there. I didn’t get around to walnuts today. Instead I did serious cleaning of the stove and refrigerator. Whoo hoo. I don’t know if I can stand the excitement. 🙂

    Enjoy the vanilla yogurt and the evening. Christmas shows? Really? 🙂

    October 30, 2015 at 5:57 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      It is basically built up like a birthday cake in several layers and there’s usually different fillings in each layer. The fruity parts aren’t easten separate but together with the rest, it works perfect. Of course there’s also lots of tomatoes and other vegetables that one usually have on it as decorations. Persimmon is actually a perfect fruit to have on a sandwich cake and grapes.

      I think most Swedes would see garlic in the liver paté as an abomination 🙂 🙂 🙂 It’s un because we are usually quite happy to mix in new things in our food but there are some foods that we don’t touch, like liver paté 🙂

      I would really need to clean my stove now, it looks a bit disgusting to be honest. I’ll do that tomorrow before I make the first rice porridge for the season.

      It is channel Six and they just keep showing Simpson episodes all year round and at least three programs in a row, so we can see Simpsons christmas shows in the middle of summer 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 30, 2015 at 8:20 pm

  3. jaz

    i know exactly what they are though i have never had one. i always think i would love it. i am a big fan of mayo! we had high winds all day yesterday and most leaves came down.

    October 30, 2015 at 10:42 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      I’m pretty sure You would like it, especially since the combinations between different tastes are endless. My favorite ones are the sea food ones, I guess growing up by the ocean is a factor in that 🙂

      It is too bad the leafs don’t stay for a longer time, we need all those colors this time of year.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 31, 2015 at 10:05 am

  4. Christer,
    I checked out the images and was amazed at the variety. Some of them look so good I could salivate. I too love pate and usually have it on toast points. It would be fun deciding the ingredients and then putting them together. I totally understand why you can’t eat anymore.

    Have a great day tomorrow!

    October 31, 2015 at 2:23 am

    • Hi Kat!

      I’ve so far never eaten one that wasn’t delicious 🙂

      The taste combinations are endless so it is fun to put together one of these 🙂 but we tend not to mix seafood with meat though but I guess that could work too 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 31, 2015 at 10:08 am

  5. wait….
    Liver? :p Tuna with Liver? :p and MAYO???? Gagggggg!
    I don’t think I t can handle seeing a photo, much less eat that.
    But, I’m glad you enjoyed it! 😉

    October 31, 2015 at 5:40 pm

    • Hi Cindi!

      We never mix meat with fish or seafood but I’m not sure that would taste so bad 🙂 People are trying to put other things in than mayo but it isn’t the same. To be honest, it doesn’t taste that much of mayo but it is an important ingredient.

      I think You would like it as long as You don’t mix meat with seafood or fish 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 31, 2015 at 6:25 pm

Leave a Reply

