I just hate those flies!

DSC_0023 (1)

This is a not doing much day, it is grey and somewhat foggy outside but rather warm even if it isn’t even remotely close to what they predicted earlier in the week. At least it isn’t raining even if we actually need quite a lot of rain now, mostΒ smaller creeks are now totally dry and even the bigger ones show signs of a draught here now. I don’t mind to be honest, I’m hoping this might kill lots of fly larvae who needs wet or moist ground to survive.

 

Not much of a fog to be honest but it looks like it's getting thicker now.
Not much of a fog to be honest but it looks like it’s getting thicker now.

DSC_0026 (1)

DSC_0027 (1)

DSC_0028 (1)

We went down to the bog and the smaller creek today but I turned around quickly when I suddenly had at least four moose flies crawling around on my arms and hands at the same time. I think I had a few in my hair as well and that is truly a nasty feeling. They don’t die if one hits them either, they just shrug a bit and keeps on crawling around. Their bite is nasty and they spread the same diseases as ticks do. A moose fly looks very much like deer lice and I truly hate them. We really need a really cold night so they all die!

 

DSC_0029 (1)

DSC_0030 (1)

DSC_0031 (1)

DSC_0032 (1)

I couldn’t get rid of that feeling some were crawling around in my hair so as soon as I came home I shaved it all off πŸ™‚ It was time to do so anyway but this helped me to actually do it πŸ™‚ There were no in my hair though and it still feels like they are there πŸ™‚ So now I need to find my baseball cap to wear as soon as we walk in to the forest again, there’s no need for one otherwise because it’s so warm still.

 

DSC_0022 (2)

DSC_0023 (2)

DSC_0025 (1)

DSC_0027 (2)

It is time to start thinking of a photo to use as christmas card. I have a few old ones that I can use but I still have time to photograph something else if I want to. Traditional christmas cards here usually have red birds, like the Bullfinch, the Yule gnome of course. Pigs are rather common too and sometimes if it shows the nature there’s usually Red toadstools in them too. So the ultimate card should show all of those I think but I doubt I’ll manage to get them all in to one photo πŸ™‚ Especially the gnome will be tough to get πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0029 (2)

DSC_0030 (2)

Not much water in the creeks now. We had gotten this far when suddeenly all the moose flies landed on me, they need wet ground for their larvae.
Not much water in the creeks now. We had gotten this far when suddenly all the moose flies landed on me, they need wet ground for their larvae.

DSC_0032 (2)

It is time to make a pot of tea and perhaps we’ll manage to take another walk before it gets dark again. Today the sun rose at 7:17 am and it will set at 4:20 pm and the days just continues to be shorter and shorter.

 

DSC_0033 (2)

DSC_0035 (2)

DSC_0037 (1)

DSC_0040 (2)

Have a great day!

 

I still have lots of Minolta photos to show. I've noticed that if one comes close to what the camera can do when it comes to adjustments they tend to become more grainy and somewhat white grainy towards the bottom of the photo.
I still have lots of Minolta photos to show. I’ve noticed that if one comes close to what the camera can do when it comes to adjustments they tend to become more grainy and somewhat white grainy towards the bottom of the photo.

A101894_17

A101894_18

A101894_19

6 responses

  1. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    My what big white teeth your dogs have. πŸ™‚

    I know what you mean about feeling that bugs are still on you after you have found some on you. I’m like that with ticks. I only have to find one on the dogs and I feel like they’re crawling on me too. Ugh. πŸ™‚

    Grainy happens with digital, too, when you push the limits of your equipment. I suppose “grainy” isn’t the correct term. Pixillated? You can correct it some in post processing but the image quality is still “off” somehow.

    Today is Halloween. The weather will be excellent for Trick or Treating.
    I put Rocky and PIki Dog into daycare for tonight. Rocky’s cool but Piki Dog got very stressed out by Trick or Treaters coming to the door last year. I thought this would be a good way to deal. But it’s so quiet. I keep looking for them and wondering what they’re getting into now. πŸ™‚

    Enjoy the day.

    October 31, 2015 at 4:25 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      Yes those teeth are giant πŸ™‚

      Yes that feeling just stays and I really don’t like it. I keep feeling it right now even if I know none is walking on me but I kleep checking the dogs if they have any in their fur πŸ™‚

      Grainy, pixillated, we all know what we mean πŸ™‚ I guess it’s the film that has reached its limits when it comes to the old cameras. I have tried to fix it by editing but as You say, they continue to look a bit off πŸ™‚

      I think it at least would drive Sune nuts if it kept on knocking on the door like that πŸ™‚ Great that You can do like that we have nothing lie it even remotely close here. But it does get quiet and it feels wrong not having them around.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 31, 2015 at 6:21 pm

  2. Love those horses!
    Those flies sound like a Nightmare.
    Tonight our daylight savings time starts!
    πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
    Of course in January I’ll be going crazy because the lack of Sun.
    Happy Halloween!

    October 31, 2015 at 5:35 pm

    • Hi Cindi!

      They are nightmares! I had hoped they all had died during the latest frost but I guess that night wasn’t cold enough.

      Well I know You like it so congratulations πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 31, 2015 at 6:22 pm

  3. Dianna

    HI Christer! Boy, am I late today! You are probably waking up to Sunday… πŸ™‚ Busy day today, getting ready for the kids for Halloween. We usually decorate our whole yard but its been raining since this morning, so barely any decorations out today. Its still misty now and we have had 2 kids so far. We turn back our clocks tonight. I thought it was next weekend so it was good that I listened to the news today! πŸ™‚ I would have missed it and had my whole day screwed up! I truly did think it was next weekend. Not looking forward to this! Darkness and me don’t mix. I get so sleepy. Sorry to hear you had the creepy crawlies from those flies. Yuck!! Good thing you shaved your head πŸ™‚ Hope your morning is good. We are going out for brunch. Looking forward to not cooking breakfast! πŸ™‚

    November 1, 2015 at 12:26 am

    • Hi Dianna!

      I think I’m 8 hours ahead of You so that was a bit too early even for me to be up πŸ™‚

      It has been grey and gloomy all day and today started just the same. I can’t even pretend I like the time change so I fully understand how You feel about it! I will not come back to normal until January and that is if I’m lucky. Sometimes it takes even longer.

      Yes those flies are truly nasty but perhaps they do fit in to Halloween πŸ™‚ Any kid dressed up like one of those flies would scare the crap out of me πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Have a great breakfast πŸ™‚

      Christer.

      November 1, 2015 at 9:10 am

Leave a Reply

