The old health resort.

Not the brightest of mornings.
Not the brightest of mornings.

It is not the brightest of days here, in fact it is very dreary and gloomy here. The clouds are hanging low and it drizzles every now and again. We were supposed to have some heavy showers but thankfully those have missed this village. There will be no improvement in the weather today but they do still predict some sunshine for tomorrow after noon.

 

DSC_0023 (2)

DSC_0027 (3)

DSC_0029 (3)

DSC_0030 (3)

Yesterday I drove to Falköping after I had been at the garage to get some things I wanted for the weekend and I was looking after a grocery store the garage owner told me about because even if Falköping is a tiny town the traffic is murderous and it is hard to find any parking spaces. I missed it yesterday but realised when I came home that I needed to find it. I had an email in my computer telling me a package was waiting for me there. I can’t understand why but all other delivery services use another store than this one.

 

The sign says "The Mösseberg park. I guess this must have been the entrance to the health resort area.
The sign says “The Mösseberg park”. I guess this must have been the entrance to the health resort area.
I think that most of these smaller buildings were the homes of the different doctors that worked in the health resort.
I think that most of these smaller buildings were the homes of the different doctors that worked in the health resort.

DSC_0036 (2)

Here to the right was the Senior phusician's office and to the left it was the office for
Here to the right was the Senior phusician’s office and to the left it was the office for the accounts.

The package would stay there for two weeks but I thought it best to go there this morning. I thought that the store, like all other stores would open up at 9 am but I thought wrong, they didn’t open until 10 🙂 Thankfully I had brought my camera so I drove to the old health resort on the mountain and took some photos to show here. It is mostly building because I didn’t want to go to the top of the mountain where they have a tiny zoo and a beautiful walking area. I was still a bit early when I came back to the car so I went to a petrol station and filled up my car, it turns out that the petrol price was 1/9 of an US dollar lower there than in the village where I usually fill up with petrol.

 

Many of these houses are  still homes but some seems to be used by the Conference center.
Many of these houses are still homes but some seems to be used by the Conference center.

DSC_0043 (3)

DSC_0045 (2)

The old hospital/ resort, now a conference building.
The old hospital/ resort, now a conference building.

I went to the store and picked up the package and yes it is an old camera 🙂 🙂 I was thinking the other week that I have no old-time Nikon and there is one that usually is very cheap because for some reason people rather buy the later versions even if this one is really good. It is a Nikon F-401s (in the US 4004s). It is seen as a beginners camera and the first one that Nikon tried autofocus but it can be handled fully manually too. I already had a lens I could use so this one costed around 10 US dollars. I’ve already started to use it and so far I like it a lot. But now I feel that I really don’t need any more cameras 🙂 🙂

 

There are two ponds just cloise to the entrance and both are shaped like number eight :-) They have put two small islands in the ponds.
There are two ponds just cloise to the entrance and both are shaped like number eight 🙂 They have put two small islands in the ponds.

DSC_0053 (2)

The area has lots of roads looking like this.
The area has lots of roads looking like this.

DSC_0050 (2)

We met a neighbor when we went out walking after I had come back from Falköping and he told me that earlier this week he had heard Sune barking like crazy and he just wouldn’t stop. So he walked down to the dog yard and found a terrified Sune with his hair standing straight up. Sune calmed down when my neighbor started talking to him and suddenly he went down the hole they have digged leading into the garage and stayed there quiet 🙂 Wer are now both wondering what could have scared him so much because my neighbor couldn’t see anything.

 

DSC_0046 (1)

DSC_0048 (2)

More modern but really ugly looking homes just close to the older beautiful houses.
More modern but really ugly looking homes just close to the older beautiful houses.

DSC_0052

He finds both moose and wild hog interesting so we doubt that any of those had been close but it could be either the lynx which pass here every now and again or perhaps the wolves have come back? I don’t worry about the lynx, they’ll rather run that try to fight with a dog but I will keep my eyes open to see if I can see any tracks from wolves. I doubt a wolf would try to get in to the dogyard and if it did it wouldn’t be able to get through that small hole into the garage, that would also be a very dangerous thing to do for the wolf because it would not know what would meet it inside the garage, the risk would just be too great. I’ll keep my eyes open though.

 

On my way back to my car again.On my way back to my car again.

DSC_0056 (2)

There's an old building on the other side of the road to the park, looking much like the ones You've seen and in it there's an antique shop.
There’s an old building on the other side of the road to the park, looking much like the ones You’ve seen and in it there’s an antique shop.
A last look back.
A last look back.

It is time for a pot of tea and perhaps something little to eat. They are showing NCIS Los Angeles on channel six right now but I lost interest when they for the zillionth  time found a muslim terrorist organisation, I mean there must be some other guys they can fight at least once in a while 🙂

 

I went back to where I was walking yesterday while they were changing my tires to see if I could take some nice photos today instead. But the fog was gone and no sunshine  so not a chance :-) I met the garage owner on my way home and he looked a bit worried until I waved and smiled to him :-)
I went back to where I was walking yesterday while they were changing my tires to see if I could take some nice photos today instead. But the fog was gone and no sunshine so not a chance 🙂 I met the garage owner on my way home and he looked a bit worried until I waved and smiled to him 🙂

DSC_0061 (2)

DSC_0064 (1)

Have a great day!

16 responses

  1. jaz

    i loved the tour christer! the homes and buildings are beautiful. i wonder what’s roaming around your dogs? that is scary!

    November 7, 2015 at 7:02 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      I agree, those houses are truly beautiful and I guess rather expensive if they were ever sold 🙂 Some of them have copper roofs and I don’t even want to guess what it could cost to put new copper on them 🙂

      Yes what can it be? Thankfully there’s usually at least one or two people at home at my neighbors so I doubt what that ever it might be will come too close. I hope so anyway! I might have to get a wildlife camera and put it by the dog yard.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      November 7, 2015 at 8:17 pm

  2. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    You have said that before about old cameras. 🙂

    There are lots of lovely buildings in the health complex. I love the gingerbread decorations all around the windows and over the porches. I’d not like to have them on my house because they are a pain to paint but I like looking at other people’s houses that have them. 🙂
    The roads through the property are lovely. Good for nice, healthful strolls.
    The pink Antikt shop is adorable. I have to stay out of those places. I lose control when it comes to little things found in junk shops. I mean antique shops. 🙂

    It cost $1.99 US per gallon when I filled my gas tank the other day. I felt like I’d suddenly gotten 10 years younger. 🙂

    I found a flower on my lawn today. Oxalis, I think. I took its picture and posted it on FB. The weather here has been unseasonably glorious. Today, not so much. It’s cloudy, windy and considerably cooler than it has been the last several days. It’s only about 61ºF. The sun comes back tomorrow but the temperatures are going to stay right where they are.

    Enjoy the day.

    November 7, 2015 at 7:37 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      Yes I say so much 🙂 But this time I just placed the lowest bid and wouldn’t go any higher no matter what. But to be honest, I had already read that this camera, no matter how good it is rarely cost anything at all. The later models became more popular even if they did cost a lot more. This one works very well but I had to find a manual on the net to figure out how it works 🙂 I just didn’t get how to start it at all in the beginning 🙂 🙂

      Those houses are truly beautiful and I agree, I like those gingerbred decorations (we call them carpenter joys) on any other home than mine 🙂

      I’ve never been to that antique shop, mostly because it tends to be closed when I’m in town 🙂 Just as well, they might have some old cameras in there 🙂

      Our petrol cost $ 4,70 US per gallon so I see Your price as almost free :-)Still the price I paid today felt very cheap 🙂

      I’ll pop over to fb after this to take a look at the flower. We do have some flowering flowers still but I haven’t seen any oxalis for a while.
      I would love it if we reached 61 but around 50 isn’t bad either 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      November 7, 2015 at 8:29 pm

      • Caryn

        I love that phrase “carpenter joys”. So descriptive. Carpenter’s don’t do joy anymore. It costs too much. 🙂

        As I was reading, I heard a strange noise. It was the oil burner coming on. Haven’t heard from it in several days. Back to reality. 😦

        Mostly I don’t notice gasoline prices because, now that I’m retired, I don’t drive around so much so I’m not filling up anywhere near what I used to do when I was working. I just happened to see it this time and was a bit shocked. I saw it as free, too. I almost wished I had an extra gas tank in my jeep so I could buy some more. 🙂 Such a bargain.

        November 7, 2015 at 9:09 pm

      • It is a nice name for something that needs so much work to look nice 🙂

        My radiators are rather quiet, they make a cracking noise every now and again when they get hot 🙂

        I tend to put a blind eye towards what it costs when I fill up my car 🙂 If I actually checked what it did cost I think I would cry for a while 🙂 But I must say that for a relatively big car as a SAAB is it doesn’t drink especially much.

        November 8, 2015 at 9:20 am

  3. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Boy, you had an adventure in the little town. Such pretty, pretty photos and those houses! Very nice!! 🙂 We finally have the sun today after 10 solid days of cloud and rain. Its nice but rather cool today. They say the rain will return possibly Tuesday so we will see. I have mopped the floors for what seems the millionth time today – nothing like dirty floors and lots of dirty paws to make one slightly nuts! 🙂 I am slowly putting supper together and catching up on my emails. Today in the crockpot is mustard molasses chicken – it sounds gross but is very, very good! We are going to look at flooring tonight as we need to re-do our basement floor and they have laminate wood on sale. So, we will go and take a look. I swear, I will never get to retire – always some bill to be paid. Houses are expensive!! Happy Sunday morning!

    November 7, 2015 at 11:32 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      I do like those old houses but I know what they cost to keep in shape 🙂

      We will get sun later today they say but there’s very little sign of that happening though.

      The joy of mopping our floors 🙂

      Yes I have to say that it doesn’t sound especially delicious 🙂 🙂 🙂 but then again, I can’t stand mustard unless it is on the christmas ham. Sometimes thingsthat doesn’t sound to fit together are the best thiungs to put together so I am not surprised that it ius delicious 🙂

      Yes those bills tend to just keep on coming. I would need to do something about my kitchen floor but that’ll have to wait some time more.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      November 8, 2015 at 9:25 am

  4. Christer,
    What wonderful pictures today. The old health resort buildings are lovely. I could live in any of them quite happily.

    The good thing about Nikon is all their lenses fit old and new cameras. I have a friend who also collects old cameras. I should ask him about his favorites.

    It was a quiet day today. I did some catalog Christmas shopping and bought clothes for the three little ones (2 who are a year old and one three year old). I’d already bought each boy a Hess truck and Georgie girl a doll. I have to get my Colorado stuff done as it goes out there by the second week in December.

    The price of gas has been going down steadily. I saw one at $2.10 the other day.

    Have a great evening!

    November 8, 2015 at 1:31 am

    • Hi Kat!

      I thought You would like them 🙂 I wouldn’t mind having a house like that if someone else paid for all repairs 🙂

      Nikon is great with that but this camera was an exception to the rule, if using the wrong kind of lens the built in light meter wouldn’t work so then one would have to have a separate one. I was however lucky to have one that worked so I brought it with me when I was out walking yesterday afternoon 🙂

      The only time I like buying christmas gifts is when I buy for kids 🙂 There are so much and fun things to buy and one knows they’ll liove what ever one buy to them 🙂

      The US dollar became more expensive when the oil price got lower and then they raised the taxes on petrol so we haven’t noticed that the price is cheaper here. I would love if our prices fell to 2.10 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      November 8, 2015 at 9:30 am

  5. Oh! I love that small house with the aqua roof. That must be a copper one!
    OMG! A wolf? can the dogs stay inside the house?
    I like NCSI, the original one, with Mark Harmon.
    I tried watching the Los Angeles one and the acting was just too awful. Ugh.
    That New Orleans one, the younger guy talks like he’s got a mouth full of marbles.
    Just too irritating. Boy, I’m getting crankier than ever! LOL!
    oh, and I paid $2.17 for gas the other day.

    November 8, 2015 at 2:31 am

    • Hi Cindi!

      To be honest, it isn’t that small 🙂 but I understand why You like it.

      I’m not sure if the wolves are around but we did have a couple here last winter. No I can’
      t have my dogs in the house for so long, that is illegal here. But any animal trying to get inside the garage would get in trouble, the hole is so small that Nova can’t return outside if she’s gotten inside the garage 🙂 Any animal knows it would be dangerous to try to go inside when they don’t know what is waiting there for them so the dogs are safe there.

      I haven’t seen the oiriginal one but the Los Angeles version is a masterpiece if one compares to the Miami one 🙂 NCIS Miami is so bad that it hurst looking at it 🙂

      2,17, I wish it was that cheap over here!

      have a great day!
      Christer.

      November 8, 2015 at 9:35 am

  6. Måste erkänna att jag “egentligen” gillar moderna byggnader/inredningar allra bäst och aldrig skulle vilja bo i ett gammalt hus, men just i det här fallet så älskade jag dom små (?) vackra trähusen. Vilket underbart område….. 🙂
    Det verkar som om läkningen ÄNTLIGEN har påbörjas, men jag har fått veta att allt hämmas av cellgiftet så efter jul (!) när den sista omgången är avslutad kanske man kan läka ihop ordentligt. Jag vill ju faktiskt kunna bada i poolen i vår….. 🙂 🙂
    Humöret blir ju också betydligt bättre när man mår bra, så just nu sitter jag och letar efter en bra – och inte alltför dyr – krog där vi ska fira Rolles 75-årsdag på lördag. Vi blir visserligen bjudna på middagen av min kusse och hennes gubbe som kommer ner från Stockholm, men bara för det behöver det ju inte kosta halva armen och ett helt ben! *fniss* som tur är så har dom bokat in sig i Visby, för jag orkar inte med folk mer än några timmar – och gästrummet är omgjort till sjukrum. Men det ska bli väldans trevligt att göra något “socialt”….. 🙂 🙂 🙂
    KRAM
    Susie

    November 8, 2015 at 8:24 am

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Där är vi totalt motsatta, jag gilar det äldre istället men vet ju också vad det kostar att hålla dem i bra skick 🙂 Fast även de mindre husen är faktiskt ganska stora, kameran lurar en lite där.

      Men äntligen!!! Det var på tiden att det går åt rätt håll nu!

      Så sant, bara för att man blir bjuden behöver det ju inte kosta en förmögenhet. Inte konstigt att du inte orkar med folk mer än en stund, jag hade varit precis likadan. Skönt också att de som kommer på besök förstår det, inte alla gör det tyvärr.

      Ha det riktigt gott!
      Christer.

      November 8, 2015 at 9:39 am

  7. Hi Christer, thanks for all the photos of these wonderful and beautiful old buildings. What a great place to explore with your camera.

    November 9, 2015 at 1:53 am

    • Hi Beatrice!

      I go there too seldom, love to walk there though and next time I’ll go there I’ll bring the dogs, lots of people wak around there with their dogs.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      November 9, 2015 at 5:21 pm

Leave a Reply

