I wonder what it might be?

No new photos until Friday.

No new photos until Friday.

Something is walking around close to the dog yard/ house, even Nova was cautious when I opened the door after work both yesterday and today. She did walk around sniffing on the ground a lot instead of running to the front door as she always do otherwise. I think it is time to get one of those wild life cameras now. Yes I know I’ve said I won’t buy any more camera but this is after all a totally different thing 🙂

 

DSC_0024 (1)

DSC_0024

DSC_0025 (1)

I can’t see any tracks though so I have no idea what it might be. I know I can find such a camera on our eBay (called Tradera) so I’ll pop over there after writing this. My guess is that it is a lynx, they have been seen on our gravel road in the middle of the day before when most of us are at work.

 

DSC_0027

DSC_0030 (1)

DSC_0032

It has been a rather uneventful day to be honest. I worked in the neighbor factory and went to the grocery store on my way back to my ordinary workplace. I had more or less only two things to buy, the lunch for today and socks and came out of the store with lots of things but no socks 🙂 I don’t even remember to write down sock when I actually write a list 🙂 So I better stop here so I can wash the few ones I still have 🙂

 

And three from an old Minolta.

And three from an old Minolta.

A101894_32

A101894_35

Have a great day!

16 responses

  1. Cindi

    Well that is scary!
    Yes, get a wildlife camera.
    That would be cool to see what’s out there.

    November 10, 2015 at 7:16 pm

    • Hi Cindi!

      The laws about wild life cameras are a bit tricky though but I am looking at different now on the net.

      I do wonder what it can be!

      have a great day!
      Christer.

      November 11, 2015 at 6:09 pm

  2. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    I knew you needed a new camera when I read the opening line. 😀 You might need more than one just to be sure to cover all the angles.
    Because I am now curious about those cameras I did some googling. Here’s a short and fairly clear post about them that explained the basics.
    http://www.bhphotovideo.com/explora/photography/tips-and-solutions/identify-critters-and-vandals-wildlife-cameras
    I didn’t know they could be so inexpensive or that you could fill them full of batteries ahead of time so you don’t have to keep going back to replace them. I might need one too. It can go outside the window that Rocky barks out of in the middle of the night. Maybe I’ll see whatever it is he sees. 🙂

    For some stupid reason I neglected to go to bed until around 1AM so now I am stupid tired. I knew I would feel better about life in general if I washed the pile of dishes in the sink. It’s been there awhile and is a tiny bit scary. Washing dishes hurts my back so I put it off as long as I can stand it. The sink is empty now. I do feel better about life and my back hurts a lot. Can’t win. 🙂

    It’s a grey and dull day today. The kind of day that sucks all of one’s energy away. Especially after the glorious weather we’ve been having the past couple of weeks. Rain is supposed to happen the next couple of days. We need it.

    Enjoy the day.

    November 10, 2015 at 7:50 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I don’t feel the urge to get one 🙂 but I think it might be the onbly way I’ll find out what it is. They are a bit too expensive to buy more than one though

      The laws about these cameras are a bit tricky though. I can have them in my garden but if I want to place one in the nature I need a license and they have only allowed one license in the entire country 🙂 They can invade people privacy (even if there are signs telling about them. I think the dogyard is ok but since it is a see through fence around it it might not be legal to place it there after all. I doubt that anyone would report me to the police if I told them that there is a camera placed there though. I am hoiwever checking the net for what kinds I can buy. It would be cool to have one that alerts me if it takes photos but then again it might take loads of photos when Bertil and Teodor passes by or birds 🙂

      I am hoping I get that feeling too soon 🙂 I have a pile of dishes on my sink too and I really need to do something about it but so far no wish to do something about it has been strong enough to be followed 🙂 I hope Your back will get better quickly!

      Sunny and fairly warm here today, we’ll get rain during the night and the rest of the week will be cloudy.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      November 11, 2015 at 6:18 pm

  3. WendyfromNY

    Yes! Get a game camera! I have FIVE of them now! It is sooo much fun checking it and seeing what goes on when you are not around! There was a porcupine right by my house and in the sixteen years I have been here, I have never seen one. The only porcupines I have ever seen were road kill. I even got a person on one camera, in my woods, where I had no idea people ever came. Scary. It is a little challenging getting it set up so you can get good pictures; don’t aim it into the sun, animals don’t look too good if the camera is too high, looking down at them, make sure there are no brushy things waving around that will trigger the camera and take hundreds of pictures of nothing, etc., but like me, you may get addicted to the fun! Looking forward to seeing your lynx!

    November 10, 2015 at 9:19 pm

    • Hi Wendy!

      The laws about these cameras are a bit tricky so it isn’t totally clear how one can use them. I can have them in my garden but if I place one in the nature I must have a license and there’s only one license in the entire country 🙂 They are stricky´t since they can be an invasuíon of peoples privacy even if one would put upsigns that there are cameras like that placed in an area.

      I think I could place one in the dogyard but one can see through the fence and that would most likely be illegal since there’s a risk of taking photos of people. But I am checking what different kinds we can buy here.

      We don’t have porcupines but they say we once had hedgehogs here, that would be fun to get a photo of 🙂

      Yes I too would feel disturbed if I photographed a human where there shouldn’t be anyone!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      November 11, 2015 at 6:23 pm

  4. Christer,
    Great way to rationalize a new camera! I do like the pictures from the old Minolta. They have an interesting light about them.

    It is raining right now, and we’re supposed to have a lot of wind tonight. No complaint here as we really need the rain. Maybe the wind will bring down the rest of the leaves. Everything is now covered with leaves and pine needles.

    Have a good evening, and I hope you figure out what is bothering Nova.

    November 10, 2015 at 10:39 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      I have been thinking of getrting one for some time but the laws are a bit tricky about them. It isn’t totally clear how one can use them. I can have them in my garden but if I place one in the nature I must have a license and there’s only one license in the entire country 🙂 They are stricky´t since they can be an invasuíon of peoples privacy even if one would put upsigns that there are cameras like that placed in an area.

      I think I could place one in the dogyard but one can see through the fence and that would most likely be illegal since there’s a risk of taking photos of people. But I am checking what different kinds we can buy here.

      Sunny here today but we’ll get rain during the night and they say it will be cloudy for the rest of the week and very windy too.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      November 11, 2015 at 6:26 pm

  5. jaz

    scary! what will you do if you see a lynx? i hope the dogs will be safe. do you think it would attack them?

    November 10, 2015 at 11:50 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      I would enjoy the photo 🙂

      No I don’t think it would since it knows that if it gets injured it will have problems surviving. Thankfully wild animals rarely fight unless they really need to, the risk of getting too badly injured is too big. To get to them it would have to get inside the garage and the hole is very small and the dogs would be able to defend themselves very well there and the lynx would have no chance of defend itself while it is in the hole.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      November 11, 2015 at 6:29 pm

  6. Dianna

    Hi Christer! I wonder too what it could be? Do you find it a little unnerving not knowing? That would creep me out just a little. Do the dogs raise their hackles when they are sniffing around? That’s never a good sign! It would be neat to see if the wildlife camera catches anything. Weather here is misty and cloudy today. My kind of weather! Tomorrow is remembrance day here and with my husband in the royal Canadian air force off we go to watch him parade. Always neat to see! Have a good Wednesday…hope your socks are dry for work! 😀

    November 11, 2015 at 1:44 am

    • Hi Dianna!

      I’m mostoy curious, what can be so scary for the dogs? Normally Sune is happoy as soon as he sees something moving around so this is very odd.

      No they aren’t but they do sniff very long on certain places. The cats don’t react at all 🙂 and the dogs don’t hesitate to go to the dog´house in the morning either so they might find it very interesting too.

      Sunny here today but we’ll get rain tonight and it will be cloudy the rest of the week and very windy too.

      Have fun at the parade!

      Christer.

      November 11, 2015 at 6:34 pm

  7. Ja, du ska absolut kosta på dig en “wild life camera” (Vad heter dom på svenska?), Det är ju perfekt för dig som verkligen gillar att fota och dessutom att glo på djur! *fniss* 🙂
    Och det måste vara både spännande och lite oroligt att ha något stort vilddjur tassandes utanför huset. Jag är glad att jag lever på en ö, här är det bara eventuellt utsmitna vildsvin och rådjur man behöver akta sig för! 80
    Kram
    Susie

    November 11, 2015 at 1:48 pm

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Jag hittade dem under namnet åtelkamera 🙂 Lagarna omkring dehär kamerorna är rätt hårda, man måste ha license för att få sätta ut dem utanför sin egen trädgård och jag tror att det egentligen bara finns en licens i hela landet 🙂 Så jag borde kunna sätta upp en inne i hundgården men eftersom man kan se genom staketet är den inte riktigt laglig, det handlar om människors integritet. Inte ens om man sätter upp skyltar att det finns kameror utplacerade är de lagliga utan licens så jag hamnar i en gråzon 🙂

      Ja jag är väldigt nyfiken på vad det kan vara. De är ju inte oroliga att gå dit på morgonen så det är nog något de tycker är väldigt intressant också 🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

      November 11, 2015 at 6:39 pm

  8. I think you would enjoy a wildlife camera. Never know what might show up!

    November 11, 2015 at 5:47 pm

    • Hi Jim!

      I think so too andf especially if I place it in my garden since I know badgers come here and the occassional fox too. But the laws are tricky (or fuzzy as we say) so it might be illegal outside my garden or in the dog yard.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      November 12, 2015 at 6:01 pm

Leave a Reply

