I really can’t complain, can I?

Not the nicest of weathers but this was taken when the rainings was calm.

Not the nicest of weathers but this was taken when the raining was calm.

Weather-wise this has been a dreadful day, pouring rain and som strong gusts didn’t make a good walk after work. But it did look as if it should stop just as we were getting out, the clouds were much more light grey than the ones that just had left us. So off we went to the forest because I really wanted to see how much they had cut down. We hadn’t come far when a big SUV passed us and stopped, it was hunters looking for a dog that according to the gps should be just nearby.

 

It looked as if they just had thinned the forest at first.

It looked as if they just had thinned the forest at first.

DSC_0046 (3)

But then I saw these logs and realised it must be much more than thinning.

But then I saw these logs and realised it must be much more than thinning.

Here I barely could see anything through my glasses :-)

Here I barely could see anything through my glasses πŸ™‚

I don’t know if they found it though but I do hope they did because the weather had just become worse again. It didn’t look that bad when I looked into the forest, they had just been thinning close to our cottages but then we came closer to the bog, where the creek is that Sune loves to take a bath in, it looked a bit too bright. The forest is thick there and it is always dark even on sunny days.

 

Here, even without the glasses, I realised that they had cut down a lot.

Here, even without the glasses, I realised that they had cut down a lot.

DSC_0050 (3)

The hunting tower stands just beside the creek where Sune loves to take a bath.

The hunting tower stands just beside the creek where Sune loves to take a bath.

Two of the three Bog Ladies. I'm surprised they still stand but then again, it might actually be Bog Ladies :-)

Two of the three Bog Ladies. I’m surprised they still stand but then again, it might actually be Bog Ladies πŸ™‚

The raining was so bad when we came out there that I couldn’t see anything through my glasses and I don’t see much further away than 15cm (6 inches) without them πŸ™‚ but this I couldn’t miss. There’s not a single tree left in my favorite places to walk. I would have liked to go down to the little creek but the raining just got worse so we turned back home again.

 

She's barely visible but still standing.

She’s barely visible but still standing. The rain was just pouring down and I was so glad I had autofocus today, I couldn’t see a thing πŸ™‚

I had forgotten that there still was lots of photos inthe camera that I hadn't downloaded into the laptop :-) This is Sune taken last week.

DSC_0056 (3)

DSC_0040 (4)

I had forgotten that there were lots of photos in the camera taken last week that I never downloaded into the laptop πŸ™‚

I don’t like when they cut down the forest but I really can’t complain about it can I? I have a cottage made from trees, I have furnitures made from trees and I have a fire heated stove that needs tree to work., It is just as much my fault they chop down trees as the forest owners and to be honest, they own forest just because they can make money from it.

 

DSC_0043 (5)

DSC_0025 (5)

DSC_0026 (4)

DSC_0027 (5)

The odd thing is that the three tree stumps, that I call the three Bog Ladies still stands! They have managed to stay even when they have been removing all other tree stumps. Our folklore says that a forest nymph (and the Bog Ladies are forest nymphs) can look like a rotten old tree stump when they want to but can quickly change to something else like a woman or a deer if they need to go away. So perhaps I haven’t been wrong about them being Bog Ladies πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0039 (4)

Have a great day!

8 responses

  1. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Sweden lets forest owners clear cut along a creek? That’s surprising.
    Is that the same creek that shows in all those beautiful morning shots? I shall miss those, if it is.

    I suppose we can’t really complain because we do use wood for many things and it is a renewable resource. It’s just that when they cut down our favorite spots, it takes so long for them to renew that we won’t be around to enjoy it.
    But we can enjoy watching and photographing how the process evolves over time and what moves in to use that space instead of the plants and animals that were there. So there is a small upside, I guess.

    There were turkeys in the back swamp this morning. They were here a few days ago as well. Then they were heading east. This morning they were heading west. I wished I had some cracked corn to throw out for them. They come running like barnyard hens when I do that. It’s a bit scary because they are so big but it’s kind of fun, too.

    Today is way better than the last couple of days. The sun is shining. The temperature is somewhat warmer. The wind is picking up so it feels cooler than it is but it’s still warmer than it was. πŸ™‚
    Enjoy the day.

    November 13, 2015 at 3:47 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      Technically I think it is a ditch, so that’s why they can do that and it isn’t the big one I take those photos. Even if that too now days is a big ditch (but from the beginning it was a creek but they have sort of deepened and widened it a lot!). The creek I’m talking about here is the one that goes along the bog.

      Yes it takes just too long for the trees to grow back and I really don’t want to live until I’m 120 πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ and to be honest, they replant the area they have cut down already the year after they’ve cut the old trees down. I do hope he will plant deciduous trees this time and not spruces. The hunters will like this though because moose love areas that just have been cut down.

      It would have been fun if we had had turkeys here too, Sune would have loved it especially. He can follow birds who walk around here for hours πŸ™‚ Turkeys might be a bit too big for him though πŸ™‚

      The wind is getting stronger and stronger now but it won’t be as bad as they predicted earlier in the week thankfully and they even say we’ll get sunshine tomorrow πŸ™‚

      have a great day!
      Christer.

      November 13, 2015 at 5:27 pm

  2. jaz

    wow…that is pretty devastating! i just took a walk through my gardens and i have branches down everywhere. we have had high winds for 2 days. a cold front is moving in and we are supposed to get snow. but, next week we are back in the 70’s. what weird weather!

    November 13, 2015 at 4:02 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      Yes it looks really bad but I think they’ll collect all branches and make fire logs of them soit will look cleaner anyway. Strong wΓ­nds here too but it won’t be as bad as they first predicted.

      Yes You do have a weird weather! I guess it is because the strong El niΓ±o this year.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      November 13, 2015 at 5:29 pm

  3. Dianna

    Hi Christer! You are right, its sad to see them cut down trees and we do need wood. I wish it wasn’t that way, but it is. Incredible about the bog ladies!! πŸ™‚ I wonder what they change into? We are having sunshine today and the weekend should see us incredibly warm at around 14 degrees! Then we get cold. Funny how the weather works. I am just patiently waiting for my work day to end and am looking forward to the weekend. Was at work very late last night for a meeting so it feels like I never really left. πŸ™‚ Have a nice evening!

    November 13, 2015 at 7:07 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      Yes it is a tricky thing πŸ™‚ So even if I really don’t like them to cut down the trees I still want things made from them πŸ™‚

      Yes I am surprised that they seems to stay around even if all other trees and tree stumps are removed! I forest nymph can take the shape of any living thing as I understand it so I guess that something moving fast would be the smart thing to become but perhaps not an animal since it after all is hunting season πŸ™‚

      Our weekend will be much like Yours but we’ll only get 6 degrees as warmest they say. It usually gets a bit warmer here since I live down a slope.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      November 13, 2015 at 9:26 pm

  4. Christer,
    The last few weeks people have been taking down trees in their yards. The scrub pine get tall but are unsteady. I have had three or more of them taken down from the back yard because they had died. I’m just hoping the one in front stays healthy. The scrub pine aren’t good for fireplaces because of the resin they leave behind so they aren’t cut down for sale.

    We had a lot of rain and more is expected tonight. I’m not complaining as it could be snow. It will be colder this weekend than it has been. Today started sunny but got cloudy later.

    Have a wonderful evening!

    November 14, 2015 at 2:21 am

    • Hi Kat!

      One must take down dead or sick trees since they are a danger to anything close to them. The pine we have here is a rather steady tree that seldom breaks. If it falls it falls slowly since it is the roots that gives up. But I once had a pine that broke just beneath the ground and it sure fell hard and barely missed the house πŸ™‚ I don’t like it when they remove trees just because they don’t like the leafs or needles.

      It started to rain in the evening again but it looks as if it is over for this time and I am glad that it isn’t snow πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      November 14, 2015 at 5:46 am

Leave a Reply

