A few hours of sunshine.

DSC_0020 (5)

I woke up this rather wonderful but chilly morning to the news about what had happened in Paris yesterday evening. I was looking at facebook and wondered why I saw all these comments about us all being French today but no explanation to why. So I popped over to the newspapers and found out. It is still not confirmed who did this and why but we all have our suspicions. But then again we all had when Breivik killed all these people in Norway and how wrong we were then.

 

DSC_0021 (5)

DSC_0022 (5)

DSC_0032 (5)

 

It is when things like these happens that I appreciate how fantastic I live, in a cottage by a bog at the outskirts of the world where the main concern at the moment is that they have chopped down a part of the forest and that flies tend to destroy the summer if spring was rainy. Sort of gives perspective to how small our problems are here πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0024 (5)

DSC_0025 (6)

DSC_0027 (6)

We’ve had a chilly morning here and some parts of the forest had frost, the grass on the roads were still frozen when we walked there an hour after the sun had risen. Flocks of birds flew between the trees, deer was jumping around all over the place and I heard a moose calf calling for its mother when we came a bit too close for it. Thankfully mother moose decided to walk the opposite way bringing her youngling with her.

 

 

The area around the big creek is untouched.

The area around the big creek is untouched.

DSC_0052 (2)

DSC_0053 (4)

We walked out to the bog and the chopped down area is smaller than I first thought and it sort of makes a circle around an area making it an island of trees. I don’t know why they’ve done it that way but I’m pretty sure the wildlife likes it. They can go out and graze in the open areas and fairly quickly run in to safety in the forest if they need to.

 

I barerly saw thwem at first, not even the dogs reacted to then being there :-)

I barely saw them at first, not even the dogs reacted to then being there πŸ™‚

Shortkly after taking these photos I heard the moose calf calling for its mother.

Shortly after taking these photos I heard the moose calf calling for its mother.

DSC_0061 (3)

The clouds are once again starting to cover the sky so I was lucky to be outside while the sun still shone. We might get some sunshine before it sets at 3:49 pm and we’ll get some sunshine tomorrow morning again before the clouds and rain comes again. It is the small moments we’ll have to enjoy πŸ™‚

 

>The old road is covered with branches but they've created a new one that I most likely will walk on when they've left this area.

The old road is covered with branches but they’ve created a new one that I most likely will walk on when they’ve left this area.

The little creek where Sune loves to take a bath. I van hardly see it now evenb after all this rain, the ground was so dry that it barely left any water to flow away in the creek.

The little creek where Sune loves to take a bath. I van hardly see it now even after all this rain, the ground was so dry that it barely left any water to flow away in the creek.

Trees don't grow fast here, this area was chopped down three or four years ago and so far only the raspberry bushes reach any kind of hight.

Trees don’t grow fast here, this area was chopped down three or four years ago and so far only the raspberry bushes reach any kind of hight.

Have a great day!

 

DSC_0070 (1)

DSC_0071 (1)

DSC_0074

10 responses

  1. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Yes, tragic news from France indeed. Sounds like you had a lovely walk, good thing you didn’t encounter mama moose though! That would not be good. Its early morning here, I have been up for about one and a half hours already. Puppies really can’t tell time and think that they should be up really early πŸ™‚ . I can’t complain, its nice early in the morning. I have been watching the sun rise every so slowly and its really lovely this morning. We have a busy day ahead – changing out the mulch in our back yard for river rock. Easier to maintain but will be back breaking work! πŸ™‚ Have a good Saturday!

    November 14, 2015 at 2:35 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      I know Paris fairly well since my brother lived there for several years and I went down to visit. The people might be the most rude there is in this world but they don’t deserve this!

      Yes I had and I am goad she decided to walk another way πŸ™‚

      Some dogs never learn that πŸ™‚ My dogs usually think we should go outside long before the sun goes up, preferable earlier than I usually get up in the mornings πŸ™‚

      Yes that is hard work but as You say better in the long run.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      November 14, 2015 at 5:06 pm

  2. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    I had the same experience with the horrible news from Paris. I was out and about from 10 AM to maybe 3:30 PM and didn’t hear or see any news. When I finally opened Facebook later, I saw all the things about Paris. Sadly, the first things I saw were anti-Muslim and anti-Islam posts from friends who would normally be the first ones to call out anyone who was doing the same thing to another group.

    It’s a funny thing about trees, you think there aren’t any in a particular area and then one day there’s a 15 year old, 15 foot high tree where there wasn’t one before. That’s pretty much how I got the maples and the extra black walnut trees in mostly unsuitable spots in my yard. For years there were just these shrubs that didn’t bother anyone and then all of a sudden they were trees. πŸ™‚ That field of raspberries will probably sproink a bunch of trees all at once.

    Are those two pictures near the bottom photos of rain? If so, it must have been bucketing down. πŸ™‚

    Piki Dog woke up at 4 AM desperate to go outside so outside we went where he chomped a lot of grass. I shivered because I didn’t have my coat and was wearing flip flops. Someone has to watch out for coyotes. I pulled him back inside after 5 minutes of watching him graze like a starving horse. Otherwise he is acting normally so I don’t know what’s wrong with him. If anything.

    Sunny, cool, windy weather today. So far, anyway.

    Enjoy the day.

    November 14, 2015 at 3:31 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      No anti-islam or anti muslim posts in my facebook thankfully but I did wonder if I had missed some kind of celebration down there. Then again, I have removed those I know are racists πŸ™‚

      Trees grow slowly here so they won’t be especially high after 15 years I’m afraid. Well that is if the climate doesn’t become waremer of course πŸ™‚ I’ve seen a few tiny pines and some birches but mostly it is raspberry bushes growing there.

      No it is raindrops hanging on the branches πŸ™‚ They had frozen during the night so the wind couldn’t make them fall to the ground πŸ™‚ But it did pour down heavily yesterday πŸ™‚

      Very little bad stomachs here since Orvar went but a lot of bad farting instead πŸ™‚ I really should go outside with them early in the morning since there has been something scaring them and one never knows when the wolves are coming back but I trust they’ll start barking if anything comes close. Sune usually does that anyway. I hope his stomach calmes down quickly!

      A really nice day here, the sun did come back now inthe afternoon.

      Havew a great day!

      Christer.

      November 14, 2015 at 5:13 pm

  3. jaz

    i feel so sad today. after my son and his girlfriend just visited paris and had the trip of a lifetime to hear this made it even worse. a city that has brought so much love and joy to have this happen to people just relaxing at the end of their workweek. something has to be done to stop this carnage but what.

    November 14, 2015 at 4:10 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      Just when I realised what had happened I was thinking it was a good thing they had come back to the US! It is bad enough as it is but it would be horrible if I knew about anyone being down there while this happened!

      Yes what to do? So far bombing them has been rather unsuccessful and they refuse to talk with anyone so I have no idea what so ever.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      November 14, 2015 at 5:16 pm

  4. Christer,
    On the main highway to the cape, Route 6, the median between the going and coming is huge and was filled with pine trees. You couldn’t see the cars on the other road. A contractor came and took down all the trees. It looks horrible now and there is no longer a buffer between the lanes. People were in a uproar, and the state said it was a mistake, that the contractor went far beyond his contracted job. I don’t believe that but think the state was backtracking to pass the blame. Anyhow, trees will be planted, but they won’t do much good for a long time. That road looks so ugly now.

    November 15, 2015 at 1:16 am

    • Hi Kat!

      Trees are so important in so many way, not least in how the surrounding looks! Of course they blame the contractor, they want Your votes the next time there’s an election going on πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      I’m not sure I would moved here if it hadn’t been for the forest, I like the open fields too but I love the forest.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      November 15, 2015 at 10:52 am

  5. I heard about what happened in France on the News, then on Facebook, and then again, over and over again on the News.
    It’s frightening that ISIS had this planned out so well. They were just saying how airline security here in the US, miss 95% of what was being taken through as a test. Yes, they failed miserably. It scares me what could happen next.
    Then I heard that the day before 40 some people were killed and over 200 wounded in Beirut but the media barely covered it.
    That just stuns me.

    and you are so right. How lucky to be in a remote area of the world.
    Still, I think no place is completely safe.

    November 16, 2015 at 1:06 am

    • Hi Cindi!

      It is a horrible tghing that has happened and we’ve seen it on tv all day long. They have not mentioned that the same thing happened in Beirut just a day before, 40 dead I think but over 300 injured here either. How strange the media can be!

      I have no idea how airΓΆline security works here, haven’t read anything about it and haven’t flown in years πŸ™‚

      We’ve been lucky so far. The one suicide bomber we had failed and blew up himself and his car burned down but that was it.

      No, no place is safe but I’m more worried about moose and hogs here πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      November 16, 2015 at 6:21 pm

Leave a Reply

