I’ve found more plastic ribbons.

DSC_0022 (7)

The day has so far not been especially pleasant at all despite no rain and no wind. But the air has a raw feeling to it and even if it is way over freezing point it still feels bitter cold. The sunshine we were supposed Β to have all morning lasted barely half an hour and predictions says we won’t get more sunshine today. So I’m not the least surprised to see big blue gaps in between the clouds right now πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0027 (7)

DSC_0028 (7)

 

DSC_0030 (7)

 

Both the machine that cuts down trees and the one cleaning up after is still out in the forest which means they still have work to do here. It worries me a bit that I now have found more plastic ribbons on trees but for another owner. I hope it is all about thinning because that part of the forest protects us from the western winds that otherwise would hit especially my two neighbors cottage badly if a storm came. I think my cottage still would be just as protected by my closest neighbors cottage as it is now though.

 

DSC_0037 (6)

DSC_0038 (6)

DSC_0042 (8)

I still have the laundry to do today but otherwise nothing much will happen here. We’ll take another walk before the sun sets though so the laundry will have to wait until after that. The forest owner who has had trees cut down was out thinning out bushes in between trees still standing. I don’t know why but he cut down all the hazel nut bushes too. Since they were cut down and supposed to die (the roots are still there though, so they will start growing as soon as spring comes again) I went out and took a few cuttings. I placed them in pots outside but I have no idea if they will get roots but it is worth a try anyway.

 

We got really nice weather yesterday afternoon.

We got really nice weather yesterday afternoon.

DSC_0028 (6)

DSC_0030 (6)

The male flowers had already started to develop, way too early in this part of the world so I’m pretty sure there wouldn’t have been any nuts next year anyway, they would have been destroyed as soon as winter would arrive. It is time to goon that walk, the sun sets at 3:47 pm today and it gets dark really fast now.

 

I managed to photograph a Grey heron (Ardea cinerea)  while it tried to fly in the very strong winds we had in the afternoon.

I managed to photograph a Grey heron (Ardea cinerea) while it tried to fly in the very strong winds we had in the afternoon.

DSC_0042 (7)

DSC_0043 (6)

Have a great day!

8 responses

  1. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Your heron looks like our Great Blue Heron (Ardea herodias). I think Great Blues are bigger. I know they seem very large up close. πŸ™‚ They always look like they’re flying in heavy weather even when they aren’t. πŸ™‚ Big, slow fliers. They save all their speed for lightening strikes on their prey.

    Your mention of laundry reminded me that I have some that’s been down there for a week or so. I hope it’s in the dryer but I fear it’s in the washer and has dried there instead. 😦

    When you take cuttings, do you use rooting powder on them or just stick them in medium and hope?

    Maybe your neighbors should plant windscreen trees along that side of their properties. It’ll take awhile but at least it’s something.

    Today was sunny. The clouds have moved in so now it’s bright cloudy. I was watching the weather this morning and the weather caster commented that November is normally about 57% cloudy. I’ve long thought November was a dark month. Now I am validated. πŸ™‚

    Enjoy the day.

    November 15, 2015 at 4:21 pm

    • Ooh. I was just reading about American hazelnuts and now I want some. They can be planted as windbreak hedges. May your cuttings thrive. πŸ™‚

      November 15, 2015 at 4:23 pm

      • I do hope they will πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ If not I just have to bite the sour apple and buy a few bushes πŸ™‚ The Jays might eat all nuts but then again, they are beautiful birds πŸ™‚

        November 15, 2015 at 4:44 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      Yes they do look very much alike but as You say, Yours is bigger. Yes it looks like they are flying in slow motion and this time it did because the wind was so strong that it sort of hovered for quite some time until it decided to fly in the opposite direction πŸ™‚

      The laundy is done now and most of it hangs on the patio and will most likely not dry completely since we’ll get rather bad weather soon πŸ™‚

      Do You want to know a secret? Rooting powder usually doesn’t help at all πŸ™‚ Only the most expensive does help some but an easy and cheap way is to water with Salix water. Cut pieces of salix and put the cuttings in water, the salix will start to make roots and at the same time a hormone that makes roots start to grow. The water is full of it and will help other plants to create roots πŸ™‚ These however are leaf less and won’t grow any roots (if ever) until spring arrives. They’ll just stand there in the pots where the weather can hit properly until next spring. I might make some salix water next spring though. I am however not sure if hazel make new roots from cuttings, not all plants do.

      I was actually talking about that with my neighbor, he’s thinking of planting some spruces on that side of his property.

      I’m not sure how November usually is here but I have lived when we didn’t have a single day with sunshine in November. That was a few yerΓ‘rs ago when winter hit already in the middle of October. May we never again have that kind of winter!!! πŸ™‚ They predict snow here next weekend but it is so far ahead into the future that they’ll change it hundred of times before we even get close to the weekend πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      November 15, 2015 at 4:43 pm

  2. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Oh, that’s going to be a real shame if they cut down and not thinned out those trees. For the trees and your neighbors! We are having our last pleasant day today. Yesterday we reached 13 and today about the same. Then things change, as they do. Today I will do some more laundry and I have cinnamon pecan bread rising. I will give one to my lovely neighbors next door. Then likely a visit to the puppy park since we should take advantage of the great weather. Then it will be time for dinner and then the routine begins again! Love the photo of the heron – such a beautiful bird! Have a good evening!

    November 15, 2015 at 5:02 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      I just found out that those ribbons were there for the tree cutters so they wouldn’t start cutting trees in the wrong place πŸ™‚

      The weather here will get worse and they predict snow for nest weekend but that’s so far away in the future that thye’ll change it loads of times before we even get close to the weekend πŸ™‚

      But we did get a rather nice afternoon even if it still felt a bit too chilly. Now it’s dark so I’ll sit in front of the tv, half asleep the rest of the day unless I wake up and come here to the computer πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      November 15, 2015 at 5:15 pm

  3. It was cold when I woke up today but then it climbed to 64 degrees!
    That might be the last of good weather here.
    That’s my opinion as I’m done listening to those stupid weather people!
    Sorry about the trees and the mosquito bog. 😦
    (I don’t suppose you could cut some of those ribbons off, coould you? LOL!)

    November 16, 2015 at 12:55 am

    • Hi Cindi!

      I had to scrape my car windows this morning but now it’s around 50 again πŸ™‚ It will get colder and colder though so I’ll get used to that window scraping pretty quick I’m afraid πŸ™‚

      No I really can’t πŸ™‚ It turns out those were put up so the people cutting down trees would’n start cutting down trees on that part of the forest πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      November 16, 2015 at 6:15 pm

Leave a Reply

