Ghost moose? :-)

Back to older photos again.

Back to older photos again.

It was a tad chilly here during the night, the temperature dropped to -4C (28,4F) Β but the temperature rose to just above 0C (32F) before I left for work. Still I had to remove the ice from the car windows which I didn’t like at all πŸ™‚ But I guess it was this cold night that made me sing christmas songs all day πŸ™‚

 

Att spara 12 (4)

Att spara 12 (5)

 

I think this shows the big tomb here in the village. Hard to see in all that fog :-)

I think this shows the big tomb here in the village. Hard to see in all that fog πŸ™‚

I watched a nature program the other day about the white Black bears in western Canada. Spirit bears they are called and they are truly beautiful. We don’t have any white bears here but we do have something else, white moose. I don’t think we call them anything like spirit moose though πŸ™‚ They aren’t albinos either so they are just as strong and healthy as the normal brown moose. They say we have a couple of hundred walking around in our forests. None around here though.

 

Att spara 12 (11)

Att spara 12 (12)

Att spara 12 (13)

I’ve only seen them in photos myself and they too are truly beautiful. They aren’t protected in any way but the few hunters that have shotΒ one of them aren’t especially popular afterwards so they tend to leave them alone. Considering they shoot over 70 000 to 100 000 moose each year I think they could just leave them alone. Here is a link to Google pictures showing white moose: White mooseΒ 

 

Att spara 13 (6)

Att spara 13 (7)

Att spara 13 (8)

I’ve just posted a letter with four rolls of film to a new place, the one where I buy my film rolls. It is much cheaper and if they do a good job I’ll stay there. I don’t know for how long I’ll have to wait but the name of the business is Bildsnabben ( something like fast pictures πŸ™‚ ). I hope the name shows to be right πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0034 (5)

DSC_0036 (7)

DSC_0043 (7)

Have a great day!

16 responses

  1. You have such interesting and rather spooking but beautiful places where you live. The sort of spots that were in the Children’s Fairy tales when I was a child. I see spots where tiny Fairies could build their little homes and live happily and rest on the banks of the streams. I suspect that most of those stories came from the countries of Europe. When I could not read and could only look at the pictures in the books..I remember, still, how frightened I would get. I still sleep with small lights on in the house. I always will.

    November 16, 2015 at 10:39 pm

    • Hi Mona!

      yes lots of places like that here, at least as long as they don’t cut down more trees.

      I think You’re right about those stories coming from Europe in the beginning but they were often horrible here and then turned towards more happy endings and nice being when they came to Amerika. You should just know how the original Sleeping Beauty is like πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ That is a truly horriffic story in so many ways. The Little Mermaid has a really sad and horriffic ending too and so dd most of those fairytales Disney changed towards a better ending πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      November 17, 2015 at 6:15 pm

  2. Hi Christer,
    Ghost moose indeed. It must be tough to be a white moose in hunting season. So very visible.
    I went off to research white moose to see if the color phase was a dominant or recessive gene. Because if white mooseness is a dominant gene and nobody shoots any of them, eventually there will be mostly white moose and the normal colored ones will be rare. πŸ™‚

    I regret looking for that info. Mostly what showed up was snarky articles about moronic hunters who shot a “rare albino” moose that was the sacred totem of the local Native American tribe followed by commentary that was about what one would expect. Apparently the shooting of sacred “rare” albino moose is a frequent occurrence over here.

    Anyway, I would love to see a white moose or a white phase black bear. That would be excellent. The only weirdly colored animal I have seen so far was the half blonde/half grey squirrel that was around here some long while ago. It was a cool-looking animal (for a spawn). Its front half was grey and its back half was blonde.

    There is some heavy fog in those opening photos. I know that’s a shaggy pony in the mist but it looks a lot like the back end of an elephant. πŸ˜€

    Today was cloudy and cold to start so I spent it working on my online course project. Then the guy showed up to fix my gutter and when I went outside I was surprised to find it sunny and warm. I missed it!

    Enjoy the day.

    November 16, 2015 at 10:58 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I’m not so sure about that, at least not in the northern parts of Sweden where they have snow. I’m pretty sure a white moose woukld be almost impossible to see if the ground is covered with snow.

      It is a recessive gene, bot parents must have the gene to get white offspring. But the fewer white they shoot the bigger is the chanse that they’ll become more.

      I think that the hunters here are a bit different than in the US πŸ™‚ Especially since the hunting is so organized here and they always hunt together and share the meat equally between them and! They all know here thet these moose aren’t albinos πŸ™‚

      You have at least seen more weird colored animals than I have πŸ™‚ Well I did once see an albino house sparrow πŸ™‚

      I did wonder what it was in that photo for a while πŸ™‚

      Sunny, rainy, sunny and now a clear night sky and temperatures are dropping.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      November 17, 2015 at 6:22 pm

      • Probably not so hard to see as you might think. The color is not really white but a pale yellow/tan. The difference is immediately apparent when the animal is on snow. Piki Dog’s white fur seems blindingly white until he is on snow when it becomes obvious that his fur is a very pale cream color.
        On the other hand Polar bears have black skin but their fur is really colorless. It appears white for the very same reason that snow appears white. Polar bear fur is clear, air-filled hollow tubes and snowflakes are a mixture of clear ice crystals and air. Both fur and flake reflect all colors of light so appear to the human eye as white.
        Pretty cool, no? πŸ™‚

        November 17, 2015 at 8:43 pm

      • Some are actually more white than the others. I found some photos showing whitre moose in snow who look just as You describe but there was a few showing very white moose in white snow and they were hard to see. I also found a few who looked dirty white πŸ™‚

        Yes it is cool πŸ™‚ But have You ever seen polar bears in a zoo? Thei fur is usually cream white too, I wonder if it is the air pollution that gives them that color?

        November 17, 2015 at 8:51 pm

  3. jaz

    now that would be something to see. i never even heard of a ghost moose before. we are hot and sunny here. i sure hope we have a cold spring or this is going to be a very short winter.

    November 17, 2015 at 12:18 am

    • Hi Joyce! It would! There was one not far away that actually got shot and the protests after that had happened were huge. I doubt that hunter ever will do something like that again.

      I think ghost moose is a good name for it πŸ™‚ but to be honest, I have no idea if we call them something special πŸ™‚

      I hope for a mild winter again, the odds are against me but hope is the last thing to die as we say here πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      November 17, 2015 at 6:25 pm

  4. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Yes the spirit bears are quite beautiful as are any albino animal. True beauties!! Well I think that today is our kast nice day until next spring! We are under a weather watch starting with rainand then snow. And judging by the drop in Temps it will stay. Yuck! πŸ™‚ ah well, for me to get into the holiday spirit I require snow! I may be singing Christmas carols along with you soon enough! Love the stream with the fallen trees picture! I always imagine small woodland creatures coming and going across those tree bridges. πŸ™‚ Have a good Tuesday!

    November 17, 2015 at 1:29 am

    • Hi Dianna!

      Neither the spirit bears nor our moose are albinos. Albinos rarely get old since they usually are almost blind and their health is poor. These are just normal animals but with an odd color. They said there also were light brown Black bears on the American continent and those were called Cinnamon bears πŸ™‚ I would like to see one of those too πŸ™‚

      We’ll have very unsteady wetaher here for a while now. Today we had rain, then sunshine, then rain and now we have a clear night sky with temperatures dropping πŸ™‚ I am so glad I have the winter tires on the car πŸ™‚

      When the snow has fallen I often see animal tracks on those bridges! Mostly fox, deer and small ridents but once I saw foot prints from a lynx πŸ™‚ So yes they do use them a lot. I guyess I would have to sit hidden for a long timne to be able to see any of them pass though.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      November 17, 2015 at 6:30 pm

      • Dianna

        Hi again! We have LOTS of black bears up at our cottage. Bears scare me. I don’t like being near them or seeing them. Too unpredictable for my liking!

        November 19, 2015 at 7:56 pm

      • We don’t have them anywhere near here and that I like, as You say they are too unpredictable!

        November 19, 2015 at 8:02 pm

  5. Christer,
    There was an article in the paper today about white deer. It seems they had fenced in a military installation trapping the deer inside the fence. They were white tale deer when first fenced. Now they are white deer, about 200 or more of them. The government is contemplating selling the installation which would remove the fence and essentially end the white deer as they would migrate and mate with the regular deer. I think it would be too bad if that new species of deer disappeared.

    November 17, 2015 at 4:34 am

    • Hi Kat!

      Military installations like that has always been a fantastic place for animals. Just look at Russia, back in teh days when it was the Soviet Union big areas were fenced in and forbidden to enter and the wildlife there thrived. Then they opened up lots of thsoe areas and the poachers entered and now the wildlife is almost gone.

      I hope that who ever buy the place will keep the fence and the deer! but I guess the odds for that are slim to none.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      November 17, 2015 at 6:33 pm

  6. If the fur is turning yellow, that usually means there are contaminants in the body that are deposited in the hair shaft. It’s like people hair when it turns grey sometimes gets a dirty yellowish grey instead of a nice silvery color. Polar bears in summer are sometimes yellowy. I’ve read that they often “polish” their fur in the snow. Don’t know how that helps anything that’s inside the hair shaft though.

    November 18, 2015 at 6:10 pm

    • Perhaps it also can be something on the fur if they polish themselves?
      So I’m not surprised if they turn yellow in a zoo, lots of things in the air that gets into the blood stream and then I guess in to the hair?

      November 19, 2015 at 6:51 pm

Leave a Reply

