Concrete ice.

The temperature never rose above C (F) today and now it is dropping again.

The temperature never rose above C (F) today and now it is dropping again.

It is a cold day and the fire is burning in the stove. We never got any snow but we did get lots of rain and then the temperature dropped, so I had concrete ice all over my car this morning. It was almost impossible to open the doors 🙂 The roads were much better than I could have hoped for though so I won’t complain too much about this weather.

 

Ice drops on all the trees and bushes today.

Ice drops on all the trees and bushes today.

DSC_0029 (9)

DSC_0031 (8)

DSC_0032 (8)

I wouldn’t mind if it stayed cold for a while so lots of tics and other pests to life would freeze to death. I don’t think the balance of nature would get to disturbed if most tics and moose flies just died, I guess the wild life would become much healthier if they did and I wouldn’t have to wake up at night feeling them crawling around on me and that’s something I really don’t like.

 

Frosted trees up on the mountain.

Frosted trees up on the mountain.

 

DSC_0038 (7)

DSC_0047 (4)

DSC_0049 (5)

 

I drove to the super market on my way home and bought fire logs and two dvd’s. One is Jurassic world and it got pretty good reviews and the other one is SPY (with Melissa McCarthy) and I haven’t read any review about that one. Critics are usually always trying to find something wrong with movies and especially comedies, so if they give a comedy higher rating than two out of five it usually isn’t fun 🙂 The only bad thing I read about Jurassic world was that it it wasn’t especially feministic or something like that.

 

DSC_0052 (4)

The road is in a worse state than it looks, almost impossible to walk there at all.

The road is in a worse state than it looks, almost impossible to walk there at all.

I don't think I can call this the clean road any longer. The road look much better than it is, I sank down quite a bit in the mud.

I don’t think I can call this the clean road any longer. The road look much better than it is, I sank down quite a bit in the mud.

DSC_0057 (4)

We’ll have rather cold weather for a few days until warmer arrives around Tuesday but I don’t trust those predictions especially much. If they predict the weather further than fifteen minutes into the future it’s most likely wrong anyway 🙂 I hope it will be as cold as they say tomorrow though because that will most likely make nice frost making everything look like it was frosted with sugar 🙂

 

Now comes eight photos from the analog Nikon.

Now comes eight photos from the analog Nikon. I should have made them a bit bigger.

000016

000017

000022

It is time to make some food for the dogs and after that some for me too. I think I’ll make a big pot of tea, it is weekend so I can stay up for as long as I wish and the tea might just make me do that 🙂

 

000024

000025

000026

000027

Have a great day!

 

And these two comes from todays walk. I especially like the second one.

And these two comes from todays walk. I especially like the second one.

DSC_0060 (3)

10 responses

  1. Hi Christer,
    I like the second one of Nova, too. 🙂

    Are those white berries Snowberries (Symphonicarpa)? I haven’t seen those around here in a long time. I used to have some in the garden but they disappeared.

    Concrete ice in the morning and ice mud in the afternoon. As a kid walking to school it was my least favorite combination. The frozen mud ridges stubbed toes and were tripping slipping hazards on the walk to school then turned into muddy morasses that left clumps of muck on the shoes during the walk home from school.

    No concrete ice here yet. It rained steadily but politely all night. Now the clouds are moving off and showing large clumps of blue sky with sun in them. It won’t get above 50ºF though.

    Enjoy the day.

    November 20, 2015 at 4:32 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      Snowberries (they have the same name in Swedish actually) are usually terrible weeds but they struggle here thankfully. We have a few bushes but closer to the coast they can take over completely.

      It isn’t a good combination, concrete ice and frozen mud 🙂 What annoyes me most is that this was a perfect road to walk on when it rained like crazy, all other oads are gravel roads here and this one was covered with low grass so we always were clean when we came home, not so any more. I only walked on asphalt roads when I walked to school when I was a kid but they weren’t fun to walk on either when they were covered with concrete ice 🙂

      We never went above 32 here and they say it will sink down to 17,6 during the night. Should give nice frost on the trees, bushes and dry grass. I wonder what old camera I should bring on our walk tomorrow 🙂

      Have a great day!

      November 20, 2015 at 4:52 pm

  2. Dianna

    Hi Christer!! I am drooling over your photos today! That are outstanding! My favorites are the tree branches and red berries with the drops of water, the wet oak leaf, of course the tree bridges over the stream and the road with the stacks of logs. Perfect!!! 🙂 We are still snowing and its cold. Well, cold is relevant to whomever you speak to. We went from 13 celcius Sunday to -16 celcius likely tonight, for sure tomorrow night. Yuck! 🙂 We have a massive snowberry bush in our back yard – it grows furiously and we chop it back and back but I really like it. Provides good shade for the dogs when they want to hide. I do have a video of Karma in the snow from last night, but for some reason my phone refuses to send it to my email. I will do my best to figure it out to send it to you. She’s so happy! 🙂 Have a nice evening!

    November 20, 2015 at 6:57 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      Those red berries are actually rose-hips from a common wild rose I have in my garden, thankfully a kind that doesn’t spread via its roots 🙂

      The temperature is dropping here but we shouldn’t even come close to Your low temperatures but the sky is clear so far so who knows 🙂 We’ll get fog tonight and tomorrow morning according to predictions so I don’t think we’l get it that cold 🙂

      Most of us fear the snowberry bushes 🙂 but the birds like them and they barely survive here, well who knows what the warmer climate will do? They might start spreading like crazy soon 🙂

      It might be too much megabytes in the film, phones usually don’t like that and refuses to let us mail anything they consider too big.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      November 20, 2015 at 7:06 pm

  3. jaz

    it’s such a shame about that road. will they return to fix it? we are a bit colder but not too much. we are in for a very mild thanksgiving too. instead of being disappointed that we are having no winter, i am pretending we are having a long fall and trying to enjoy it!

    November 20, 2015 at 7:30 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      it is! I’m pretty sure the land owner will fix it next year. I think it is too late inn the year to do it now. He might even out the mud though so it is walkable when the ground freeze over winter.

      Yes better to enjoy it 🙂 I’m hoping this is the winter we’ll get this year 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      November 20, 2015 at 9:57 pm

  4. Christer,
    I love all the ice pictures on the leaf and the berries; however, I am happy it is you and not me. It is too soon for winter cold. We will be in the 40’s this week which is as cold as it has been in the day time. The nights have been colder, one down to the 30’s.

    I do hope all those insects have breathed their lasts. The mud is always the worst but here it comes in the springtime.

    I love the picture of the reships. Here they make a tasty jelly with them.

    Stay warm!

    November 21, 2015 at 3:16 am

    • Hi Kat!

      I don’t mind this so much if it kills lots of those nasty insects and tics 🙂 Winter is late here though so I’m not surprised that it came, even if it just is for a short while.

      I have actually never tasted rose-hip jelly even if we can buy it everywhere here, I love the rose-hip soup though and this is rose-hip soup season 🙂

      The fire is burning in the stove right now 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      November 21, 2015 at 6:04 am

  5. Idag har vi fått frost för första gången den här säsongen så allt är vackert vitt ute TROTS att det inte snöat. 🙂 Och inte ska vi får någon snö heller, som tydligen resten av landet ska få. 🙂 🙂
    Än så är jag inte i form för några skogsprommisar (blir trött efter 20 meter ungefär) tyvärr, för just idag hade jag tyckt det skulle vara trevligt att gå en – torr – prommis utmed havet. 😦
    Men, men…det får väl vänta någon månad till. Jag hoppas på att vara hyfsat i form efter jul när alla cellgiftsbehandlingar är klara. Min värden är kanonbra, så jag tror att allt gått bra! 🙂 🙂 🙂
    KRAM
    Susie

    November 21, 2015 at 8:26 am

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Ja här är det väldigt vitt av frost idag men ingen snö och de har inte sagt att vi skall få någon heller i deras prognoser. Det betyder antagligen att vi får det för hur ofta har de rätt egentligen 🙂 🙂

      Marken är ju frusen här nuså jag kunde vandra omkring på den stelfrusna leran nu på morgonen 🙂

      Skönt att dina värden är så bra! 🙂 Du skall se att du kommer tillbaka fort bara du gått igenom behandlingen!

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

      November 21, 2015 at 11:17 am

Leave a Reply

