It was frozen solid.

They've cut down that huge beautiful birch that stood just beside the road.

They’ve cut down that huge beautiful birch that stood just beside the road.

I woke up to a rather cold world this morning, the temperature had dropped down to -13,4C (7,9F) and it was actually a bit chilly indoors. I had kept the fire burning almost all day but the heat hasn’t pushed its way through the walls quite yet so the chilly air can still make its way indoors. I’ll keep on having a fire in the stove even if it now will get warmer because as soon as the walls are warm the warmth will stay here inside my cottage.

 

DSC_0036 (8)

DSC_0048 (6)

DSC_0049 (5)

DSC_0053 (5)

The ice was almost impossible to remove from the car windows and I did think the car rolled rather badly but though I might imagine that since I really didn’t like this cold morning at all πŸ™‚ It turns out my hand break had frozen solid πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Thankfully I never pull it hard, I just keep using it so it still will work when It really needs to. So every now and again I stopped at a parking space along the road so the brake discs could cool down and the brake pads had been worn down just enough when I stopped for the last time so the discs were cool again πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0033 (8)

DSC_0034 (6)

DSC_0035 (6)

DSC_0036 (8)

The sun shone during the day though so the hand brake had thawed πŸ™‚ Now I won’t use that hand brake until the weather is warmer again πŸ™‚ Otherwise it was a rather uneventful day. I worked in the neighbor factory half the day and kept looking for a thing they had ordered me to paint (according to our work computers) but not according to their computers πŸ™‚ I guess they’ll scream the day they can’t find it but needs it πŸ™‚

 

Four photos from the analog Nikon.

Four photos from the analog Nikon.

000032

000033

000034

It is time for something to eat and then I’ll scratch the dogs bellies πŸ™‚ Perhaps there even will be something worth watching on any of those channels I have for free for a while but I really doubt that πŸ™‚

 

And four from the Minolta X-300.

And four from the Minolta X-300.

000067

000068

000072

 

Have a great day!

16 responses

  1. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Wow, you got some nice frost didn’t you! πŸ™‚ We are currently melting but that should change at any moment I am sure. Oh that tree looks MASSIVE!!! What a shame they cut it down. 😦 I am sure it was in the way or something but still….I hope they are replanting somewhere else? Nothing worse than a hand brake that sticks….my Nissan Cube does that in the winter too. I just don’t use it, good thing its not a standard otherwise I’d be in trouble! I love the different angle of the stream and the fallen trees….nice shot! Have a good evening!!

    November 23, 2015 at 7:18 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      These frost photos were from the weekend so I can only imagine how much more frost we had today. Must have looked beautiful in the sunshine.

      It was huge and I think they took it down because birches that big usually are very old and sick even if this one didn’t show any signs of desiase. It will most likely become fire wood now. Birches don’t need to be replaced, they do that so good by themselves πŸ™‚ I must remove loads of them from my flowerbeds every year. I’m pretty sure a new one will start to grow there already next summer πŸ™‚

      It was so annoying! But the sun helped me and now I won’t use it again until later this week when it will get rather warm again. It must work here or the car won’t pass the annual inspection. So if I use it now when it gets colder it will freeze and if I don’t use it it will rust πŸ™‚ Damned if I do, damned if I don’t πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      November 23, 2015 at 7:28 pm

  2. Love the ice!

    November 23, 2015 at 8:46 pm

    • Hi 1world2feet!

      I like it in photos but not su much in the real πŸ™‚

      have a great day!

      Christer.

      November 24, 2015 at 5:53 pm

  3. In the couple of weeks since I’ve checked in with you, Christer, Winter is upon you. To you it probably still looks “Fall” but to me..it’s how our Winter looks at it’s very coldest in Southern California. We have been in the high 70’s and 80’s but THEY say we will cool down and have a possiblility of rain by Thursday. Uh huh…we shall see! πŸ™‚ Everyone is well? No owie’s? Good! Take care, Christer..
    Mona

    November 23, 2015 at 11:10 pm

    • Hi Mona!

      It did a short visit but now it’s getting warmer again πŸ™‚ Well not as warm as You have it though, we might reach almost 50 closer to the weekend and that’s not bad this late in November.

      Everyone is ok, Nova’s ear is like always a bit bad but nothing else.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      November 24, 2015 at 5:55 pm

  4. jaz

    wow…it sure looks like winter there! i had ice on my waterfalls this morning but we will be 60 degrees for thanksgiving. such weird weather and i am afraid we will have a very mild winter.

    November 23, 2015 at 11:16 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      Not any more, well over 32 and rainmade sure of that πŸ™‚

      We might almost reach 50 here closer to the weekend and sunny too they say. We always seems to want the opposite weather πŸ™‚ I really hope for a mild one this year too πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      November 24, 2015 at 5:57 pm

  5. Christer,
    The ice crystal pictures are lovely. I imagine they are beautiful when the sun glints on the ice.

    It will be the coldest night yet tonight. The Patriots, my state NFL team, are playing at home, and it will be the coldest game time so far. I didn’t think we’d see 60˚ again, but the weatherman said it may reach 60˚ on Wednesday or even Thanksgiving.

    All the animals are asleep here in the den with me. Gracie and Fern have joined me on the couch while Maddie is on her own chair. The heat is blasting keeping us all warm and cozy.

    Have a great evening!

    November 24, 2015 at 12:29 am

    • Hi Kat!

      Yes they do sparkle in all possible colors, too bad it’s so hard to capture it with the camera, digital or film, it’s almost impossible.

      I have a pretty good idea when The Patriots are playing, my work friend is a huge fan of them and is always tired the day after they play because he wants to see them when they do play and not record it and watch it after work the day after πŸ™‚ They play really good so far I’ve understood.

      We might reach 50 here closer to the weekend, not bad this late in November πŸ™‚

      Nova, Sune and at least one of the cats sleep beside me in the sofa every evening πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      November 24, 2015 at 6:01 pm

  6. Hi Christer,
    That’s sad about the birch tree. Your road is going to be hot and sunny next summer. I will raise my fist in solidarity and shout, “Damn you IKEA!”

    Lovely photos again today. The sky colors are so soft and tender. Like they always are when it’s colder than midnight on Pluto. πŸ™‚

    I’ve had my hand brake freeze like that. I leave the car running while I’m shoveling it out and scraping the ice off the windows. By the time I’m done the engine heat has melted whatever gets frozen. You can’t do that in Sweden, if I remember correctly.
    I rarely use the handbrake. I have a standard shift so I usually leave it in gear unless I’m parked on a steep hill. Sometimes when I haven’t used the handbrake for a long time, the check engine light comes on when I release it. There’s nothing wrong with the engine but no one knows why the light comes on. It stays on for a few days and then goes off.

    Today was sunny, cold and very windy which made it feel even colder.

    Enjoy the evening.

    November 24, 2015 at 2:06 am

    • Hi Caryn!

      Yes it is but I guess they had some reason for doing it, my guess is that it next winter will keep someone warm during the winter.

      Yes Your are right, the sky always have that soft colors when it is nasty cold and midnight on Pluto is a tad chilly to be honest πŸ™‚

      The laws of having the car running are very strict, one minute with the car running in towns and cities is allowed. Thankfully I live outside any town or city πŸ™‚ But this time it was the brakes themselves that foze and they sit on the back wheels, no chance at all that the warm engine had managed to heat them up πŸ™‚ My engine light always shine now days, they can’t find anything wrong anywhere (well except for the light then that always shine πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ ).

      Rain all day here but at least above 32 F

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      November 24, 2015 at 6:08 pm

      • I stick a Post-It note over my engine light so I don’t see it. My old jeep did the same thing. The mechanic said it’s preset to come on after around 90,000 miles so you’ll go in and get the engine checked. And then he said the best thing. He said I could fix it then or I could live with the light until they had to fix something else. I liked the idea of living with the light. πŸ™‚ Still put the Post-It note on it though.

        November 25, 2015 at 2:17 am

      • I don’t think of my light any longer but I guess I would be worried if it stopped shining πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ They have tried to find out why it shines but now they’ve given up πŸ™‚

        November 25, 2015 at 6:17 pm

  7. First,
    Wow. I REALLY love these photos!
    Maybe it’s because I’m back on my laptop but wow.
    Just gorgeous.

    What’s a hand brake?
    Is it the emergency brake that you step on and then have to pull something to let it go?
    Sounds like that’s what you mean.
    I had trouble with mine and had to take it in to be looked at.
    They said it sticks because I don’t use it often enough.
    So then i started using it and then a few months later it got stuck and my van would jerk and stop and not move at all.
    I took it in and paid $800 to get it fixed.
    Then they told me to never use it again…..
    I hate when things go wrong with cars.
    I mean, everyone does but….
    I really want a new car!
    Good luck with yours!
    πŸ™‚

    November 24, 2015 at 3:50 am

    • Hi Cindi!

      No matter what, I’m glad You like them πŸ™‚

      Parking brake is another name for it. I have never in my life heard about emergency brake, that’s a new one for me but it sounds like the ones we can find in old European cars here. When parking we stepped on a pedal and the brakes were on and when we wanted to drive away we pulled a handle, usually somewhere below the stering wheel. I didn’t know they still had parking brakes like that. I always forgot to pull the handle so my brakes were always bad πŸ™‚

      I will now use mine when it is above freezing outside but never if I know the temperature will fall below 32F πŸ™‚ Our parking brakes must work perfect or the car won’t pass the annual vehicle inspeaction.

      I’ve noticed that I don’t get as annoyed when the car has problems in spring, summer and early autumn as I get when it has problems in winter πŸ™‚ I never mind a day off from work when it is warm and nice outside πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      November 24, 2015 at 6:15 pm

Leave a Reply

