Soon Yule starts.

No new photos again until tomorrow.

No new photos again until tomorrow.

I’ve ordered the yule cards and I like the photo but I sort of would have liked something more colorful. Well I could have saved some that I like from earlier this year so I really have no right to be annoyed about that 🙂

 

DSC_0051 (5)

DSC_0052 (4)

DSC_0053 (5)

 

The warmer weather they promised us in the earlier is now gone, as I said the other day. Now the temperature drops after every new prediction they make 🙂 So far they still are above 0C (32F) but there’s time to change that too 🙂 and it looks like we’ll get a storm after the weekend with very strong gusts, thankfully it will come from west so I will most likely not notice much of it here in my cottage, my neighbors on the other hand will most likely get the full force from it.

 

DSC_0064 (3)

DSC_0067 (2)

DSC_0068 (2)

The first of Advent is this Sunday and that’s a sort of big thing here, it is the beginning of Christmas or Jul (Yule) as we say here. I will of course buy lots of Julmust and gingerbread, a must at advent first 🙂 I think it is time for me to dig deep in to our folk-lore too, I usually do that this time of year. Now begins the time when the beings are out walking around a lot since it is dark so much of the day and this is also a time when they are as most powerful.

 

DSC_0075 (2)

DSC_0076 (2)

DSC_0087

Beings here are usually not especially nice and lots of the fairy tales that have become Disney films have very different endings over here. The little Mermaid for instance dies a horrible death, Sleeping Beauty is in the original story actually raped while sleeping, by a king, and wakes up after giving birth to two sons (the queen didn’t like that at all 🙂 ), that’s not a story one tells children at bedtime 🙂 Cinderella’s step sisters are actually trying to make the glass shoe fit by cutting of parts of their feet 🙂 One cuts of her big toe and the other her heel. That was actually a story I red myself as very young 🙂

 

DSC_0027 (8)

DSC_0028 (8)
DSC_0029 (9)

 

Fairies loves to give little children diseases and tends to kill them as well, gnomes can help but also burn down our homes and the list of bad thing those beings can do is endless 🙂 Our trolls however isn’t especially bad (unless they are mountain trolls, they are always bad). Most trolls look just like us, the thing that separates us is their tail, normally they hide it well though 🙂

 

And here are four Minolta x-300 photos.

And here are three Minolta x-300 photos.

000076

000077

78

and one from the analog Nikon.

It is time for something to eat and then some dog belly scratching before I go to bed.

Have a great day!

8 responses

  1. Jag gillar din berättelse om hur “sagor” egentligen slutar! Jag kommer också ihåg hur både spännande och äcklad man var av en del som barn. 😦
    Det bästa var dock när man låg en hel hög med ungar nerbäddade i ett rum och så satt någon vuxen i halvmörkret och läste nått riktigt hemskt. Det var faktiskt mysigt – och det är förmodligen därför jag än idag gillar crime-berättelser! 🙂 🙂
    KRAM
    Susie

    November 26, 2015 at 9:24 pm

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Jag gillade alltid de grymma historierna men lustigt nog har jag väldigt svårt för skräckfilmer 🙂 gillar dock skräck i böcker 🙂

      Kan inte minnas att jag var med om att någon vuxen läste några sådana historier för mig när jag var barn, men det låter mysigt 🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

      November 27, 2015 at 2:29 pm

  2. Christer,
    I love the stories of all the folklore. Most are scary creatures and children should beware.

    The pictures of all the frost on the grasses and trees are wonderful, like the fairy land Sweden seems to be. We don’t get frost on the trees too often. It has to be a cold spell after rain, not too frequent.

    I sleep too late to see the frost on the cars. When I wake up, it is all melted. Today was really warm and I think tomorrow will be too. My sister in Colorado had a day of 6˚. She said it was freezing. Winter has arrived for her already.

    Have a great Friday!

    November 27, 2015 at 1:43 am

    • Hi Kat!

      They could be truly nasty but if one was lucky enough to be able to help anyone of them one always was rewarded enormously. I look every day if I can help any of them but so far no luck 🙂

      I’ve always theought that it is more beautiful when nature is covered in frost and rime than if it is covered in snow. It looks more fragilke with frost and rime, sort of brittle.

      I’ve realised that many still believe in these beings here and it doesn’t matter whether one lives in the cities or out here in the countryside. But still it’s nothing compared to how it is on Iceland, I doubt anyone doesn’t believe in them. I’ve seen things on the bog that I can’t explain so I guess I am a believer too 🙂

      I wish I could say the same but I wake up early every day so I’ll always see the frost 🙂 Well better that than snow. We haven’t reached those low temperatures yet even if we were close one night and I do hope we won’t either 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      November 27, 2015 at 2:37 pm

  3. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Chiming in late once again! 🙂 Busy day today. My husband had to have a minor day procedure at a local hospital so I was there being the happy helper and driver. All is good now but of course my day was upside down – no routine. 🙂 So, I finally am able to sit down and catch up. I just love your folklore and look forward to reading more of it. I would love it if I could eat gingerbread every week – I like it that much! 🙂 Next weekend we are making our annual trip to Ikea for our tree and meatballs. Probably will pick up some lingonberry jam to go with the meatballs too. Because its really on the other side of the city – I tend to go only once a year, twice if I am lucky. So, that’s my fun sorted for next weekend. You need at least a good half day shopping there, the store is that big. I don’t mind, but I have enticed my helpers that are coming with me with a lunch there too. 🙂 We were cold today, our windchill is about -22 now. Overnight will get colder but then we are to warm up again. Can’t complain about that 🙂 Your photos are great! I love the frost covered flower stems. Beautiful! Have a good Friday!

    November 27, 2015 at 3:24 am

    • Hi Dianna!

      I’m glad he’s ok now 🙂

      I do like gingerbread but my stomach tends to protest if I eat too many 🙂 So I actually skipped them and will have Digestives instead 🙂

      I’ll see if I can dig up anything I haven’t written about here when it comes to folklore but there will be many reruns too 🙂

      I haven’t been to IKEA since I moved from Gothenburg, almost 19 years ago now 🙂 They are just too far away from here I’m afraid and I really don’t like the crowding, I actually hate that 🙂 I can thankfully get meatballs and lingonberry jam everywhere here 🙂

      It is warm here, 8C. But the wind is strong and it drizzles. Better than -22 though 🙂

      I think I still have a few more photos with frost 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      November 27, 2015 at 2:44 pm

  4. Hi Christer,
    I love the frosty photos today.

    I read those versions of the fairy tales, too. Those are the original folk tales that the Brother’s Grimm collected. They are also the ones who polished them up and moralized them to make them suitable for children. It took them 11 editions to get it “right” and that’s the edition most English and German readers know from childhood. Someone has translated the original collection with all the blood and horror. Which is what kids really like. 🙂

    You remind me that I have to find a suitable Yule card pretty soon. I’ve been looking through my photos but nothing is inspiring me.

    Yesterday was lovely and sunny and warm. Good for a holiday. The Thanksgiving table was also lovely and warm and tasty. 🙂
    Today, so far, is cloudy and warmer. They’re saying a high of 62ºF. Then we go back down into the 40’s. At least it’s not snowing.

    Enjoy the day.

    November 27, 2015 at 1:10 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      No frost outside today, warm, windy and drizzly but I think I have a few frosty photos left 🙂

      Yes even the Grimm brothers thought the original stories were too awful :-)But as You say, as kids we loved all those nasty parts 🙂

      I like the photo I finally chose but still, it would have been nice if I had found one a bit more colorful. I know You’ll like this one though.

      Yes we must be happy that no snow is falling on us 🙂 but I have to admit that wind and drizzle isn’t especially nice either 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      November 27, 2015 at 2:49 pm

Leave a Reply

