Can we see the center from earth?

DSC_0067 (2)

The snow that fell yesterday night is still lying on the ground. Today was sunny and chilly but tonight will be cold. The sky is clear and the temperature has already fallen to -4C (24,8F). All weather sites predict warmer weather already tomorrow evening and later on rain too, so the snow won’t stay for long. I would actually preferred that this colder weather had stayed for a while, everything will be so muddy when the snow melts and the rain falls again.

 

Almost all photos today comes from the folder "For a rainy day".

Almost all photos today comes from the folder “For a rainy day”.

Att spara 6 (4)

Att spara 6 (5)

Every year when winter arrives people get surprised! How on earth can they be surprised, after al we’ve had winters here since long before the ice age πŸ™‚ So naturally there were lots of car crashes all day today. Lots of people have non studded tires and believes that they can drive with those as if it still was summer, I guess they now learned that they can’t. It was slippery even for us who have studded tires so I drove rather slowly to work this morning too.

 

Att spara 14 (25)

Att spara 14 (26)

Att spara 14 (27)

I was looking up at the sky now when we were out walking after work, the dogs and I. It is amazing how many more stars I can see out there than I can here by my cottage. I looked up and realised that we up here in the north must be looking out towards the outer edges of our galaxy, I mean we really can’t look towards the center of it because I’m pretty sure the sky would have been filled with even more stars. So can we look towards the center of our galaxy here on earth? I wonder where that would be if we can.

 

Att spara 14 (33)

Att spara 14 (34)

Att spara 14 (35)

It is time for something to eat and cocoa again, the stove is already hot since a fire is burning in it.

Have a great day!

 

And three from the Minolta x-300

And three from the Minolta x-300

000051

000052

6 responses

  1. Hi Christer,
    Yes, you can look toward the Galactic Center in summer. Find the “Teapot” part of the constellation Sagittarius which rises in the southeast and sets in the southwest. Look for the “steam” coming out of the spout of the Teapot. You are looking toward the Galactic Center. You won’t see it, of course. It’s a supermassive black hole 27,000 light years away and shrouded by gas, dust, stars and all that sort of thing. πŸ™‚
    This time of year we are looking away from the Galactic Center. Whenever I see Orion in the sky, I feel like I’m looking out into the vast, not really very empty, space between galaxies. I’m not but that’s how I feel. Taurus is the constellation that is 180ΒΊ away from the galactic center but Orion is easier to find. It was right there in my face every dark winter morning when I opened the door to leave for work. :/

    Today is another dull, grey one. Cold, too. This morning the grass was crispy and the soil had that expanded frozen structure. It’s supposed to rain but hasn’t done that yet. It’s warmed up to 40ΒΊF and I think that’s about as high as it’s going to get. Meteorological winter is here. Hooray? 😦

    Enjoy the day.

    December 1, 2015 at 7:40 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I’ll see if I can be awake at that time during summer when we have an hour of real darkness here πŸ™‚ I guess that’s why I’ve never seen towards the center, must be billions of stars towards that way so I don’t mind not being able to see the black hole πŸ™‚ To be honest, I have never looked at sagittarius either.

      I usually look at Orion in the morning too but my entrance is on the other side of the cottage so I need to look out through the kitchen door window to see it, I usually don’t look up in the sky when I jump in to my car though, I’m too busy feeling sorry for not being so rich that I don’t have to work πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      I don’t think we reached meteorological winter here when it was as coldest here so we still have autumn πŸ™‚ Here they say that the average temperature to have winter is 32F or below for a hole week and so far the coldest days have only lasted for two or three days in a row.

      Have a great winetrs day πŸ™‚

      Christer.

      December 1, 2015 at 7:51 pm

  2. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Sounds like you are having our weather! We are actually going to hit some plus digits later this week! I can’t believe it since we are usually in the negative double digits by now. Its going to get messy, you are right. I don’t think we will get rain, but if we get to 3 or 4 degrees, it will be yucky. Great photos today! Those ones from the Minolta always look so vintage! πŸ™‚ Not much else to report from this end, sun is shining, I am at work and that’s about it! πŸ™‚ Have a good evening!

    December 1, 2015 at 8:17 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      Now it’s so warm that water more than drips fromthe roofs here and it’ll get even warmer later in the week according to predictions, 9C they say. It’s usually much colder this time of year here too, it is very different close to the ocean though, it can stay above 0c even if it is down to -20 here πŸ™‚

      Yes I like how the old cameras get old looking photos πŸ™‚ The digital cameras are better in all ways but they just can’t get that feeling in their photos like the cameras with film can πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 2, 2015 at 6:26 pm

  3. Hi Christer…I was pleased that I hopped over here tonight…first thing I saw was a picture of my favorite tom cat. The look on Bertil’s face..he is definitely on a mission..if just to go the cottage for a bite to eat. He sure is al business! California’s weather is the same but.it was 30 degree’s this morning. For us, that’s COLD. I was surprised to find that nothing had frozen..but sure came close. Last year I lost a lot of my plants.
    Snow is in the mountains..or was on Thanksgiving Day. Take care, Christer. Sounds like you are wise to the ways one should drive in your weather! Californian’s do NOT know how to drive in any kind of weather other than sunshine. πŸ™‚

    December 2, 2015 at 5:58 am

    • Hi Mona!

      That cat is always on a missuΓ­on but he has actually become a rather nice cat??? I’m not sure what’s wrong with him but I guess that he’s missing old Orvar a lot, he was always close to Orvar.

      Almost as cold as here then! Normally plants can take one or two cold nights but a third and they freeze.

      I do drive carefully, I’m not afraid of dying but I am afraid of the pain that will come before πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ :-)But I guess it is quite understandable that people in California don’t know how to drive in snow πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      December 2, 2015 at 6:35 pm

Leave a Reply

