Helga is coming for a quick visit.

DSC_0050 (1)

It is absolutely calm outside, aΒ big part of the sky is still clear but the clouds are coming in fast now and they’ll have even higher speed the longer the night goes. The storm Helga is coming by for short visit tomorrow with gusts up to 30m/s (67,11 mph). The gusts will be as strongest when I’ll start driving homewards after work so guess if I’m happy I have a heavy SAAB πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0024 (3)

DSC_0031 (3)

DSC_0032 (3)

Saturday will be fairly calm but on the night towards Sunday it will start again and keep on until Monday. The winds will thankfully come from south-west to west so I will most likely not notice much of it here but I will be able to hear it roar. I’m pretty sure trees will fall since they have cut down so much in the forest, most of those trees standing have usually been spared by the gusts from those trees they now cut down and the ground is soft since it never got any real chance to freeze in the forest.

 

DSC_0047 (1)

DSC_0042 (5)

DSC_0039 (4)

I usually enjoy a good storm when it doesn’t hit my home too hard so I’ll buy something yummy to eat while the winds roar πŸ™‚ I’m glad I have my fire heated stove just in case the electricity would stop working, I know I’ll be warm here in my cottage and I can always cook food too. I won’t have any water though if I don’t have any electricity so I’ll buy a big bucket or something and pour up water just in case. But to be honest, we are seldom without electricity here, not even during the really big hurricanes we had some years ago.

 

DSC_0029 (6)

DSC_0037 (4)

DSC_0039 (5)

It is time to make something to eat and I think I’ll make some cocoa too, this time of year is cocoa season πŸ™‚

 

Att spara 12 (7)

Att spara 12 (14)

Att spara 12 (21)

Have a great day!

8 responses

  1. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Take good care during the storm! I like nothing better than a good cracking storm! Winds can be dangerous and its a good thing you have a heavier car for sure! πŸ™‚ Walking can be a challenge but I think its neat when you feel the wind push you sideways πŸ™‚ But then again, we chase tornadoes so no surprise. πŸ™‚ I hope you get something really delicious for every day that the wind blows. I am thinking lots of chocolate and treats! πŸ™‚ I hope all animals will be safe and that not many trees get pushed over with the high winds. The last photo looks incredibly surreal – I like it! πŸ™‚ Have a good evening!

    December 3, 2015 at 7:29 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      I’m so glad I don’t have the little Mzda any longer πŸ™‚ It would have been nasty driving around in gusts like that with that tiny car πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      We will of course be out walking in the storm but not in the forest πŸ™‚ I loved to go to the ocean when the stomr hit hard when I lived in Gothenburg, I was even out sailing in a few storms πŸ™‚ I was just too stupid to understand how dangerous it really was πŸ™‚ We don’t have tornadoes here, only the smaller kinds we call tromber. They can be strong enough but no where near a tornado.

      I wasthinking about perhaps buying a box with delicious filled pralines πŸ™‚ We have a rather popular one here called Aladdin and they usually sell them cheaper close to christmas πŸ™‚

      I’ll see to it that the cats are indoors as soon as I come home after work tomorrow and that the dogs and I are tooafter a walk in the storm πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      December 3, 2015 at 8:35 pm

  2. Hi Christer,
    Lovely photos of most of the pack. No Bertil? I love the one of Sune in the grass.

    We’re having gusty winds here now but the only effect is a wind chill one. The sun was out early but then it blew away, I guess. The wind was cold. I was outside attempting to decorate my mother’s old bicycle for Christmas. Things kept blowing off. Even the scissors.

    Hope you are snug and warm for Helga’s visit and have plenty of yummy things to munch on. And lots of cocoa, too.

    Enjoy the evening.

    December 4, 2015 at 12:18 am

    • Hi Caryn!

      Bertil was in the previous post so I thopught that was enough attention on him πŸ™‚

      The storm roared here for a while but it is already calming down quite a lot, even the SAAB had some problems with the gusts when I drove through the open fields πŸ™‚ It is a beautiful end of daylight here right now but the sky will soon be covered with clouds again and tomorrow will be rainy. It is rather warm though.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      December 4, 2015 at 3:30 pm

  3. jaz

    what a walk down memory lane. when i first studied german in 8th grade our teacher gave us german names and mine was helga. i hated that name as much as i hate joyce. i am a name loser! hope you stay safe and warm!

    December 4, 2015 at 1:45 am

    • Hi Joyce!

      No one should ever be called Helga πŸ™‚ It is so typical German and I can see a woman in traditional clothes with long braids when someone say that name πŸ™‚

      The worst part of the storm has passed and it is rather warm outside, so noproblems of stying warm and safe πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      December 4, 2015 at 3:32 pm

  4. Christer,
    I love the fog pictures. It is so thick I can see how little beyond was visible.

    I swear I lose electricity far more than other parts of the Cape. In the summer we have the possibility of hurricanes and in the winter it is heavy snow or ice. I think I prefer the summer as the house gets really cold in the winter. 37˚ was the low point one winter.

    I too once had a car which could be blown by the wind. I’d get back and arm aches from trying to hold the wheel. I have a far heavier vehicle now.

    In the winter I had cocoa every morning with my breakfast before I went to school. Sometimes on really cold snow days my mother would make cocoa and put marshmallow on top which would melt and spread. It was delicious.

    I hop the wind passes right by you!!

    December 4, 2015 at 2:25 am

    • Hi Kat!

      Too long since we had some good fog here so I’m glad that I have saved a few photos πŸ™‚

      No fun of being without power in winter! It’s not so bad for us with the fire heated stoves but without it >I woukld be worried every time we had a strom here during winter. I remember how cold You had it when You lost the power that winter.

      The gusts did their best with the SAAB and they were so strong on y way hpome that even the SAAB moved here and there πŸ™‚

      I used to have cocoa every winter morning as well πŸ™‚ but marshmallows were never put in my cup πŸ™‚ I’m not sure how common they were here when I grew up, they don’t sell many today either, I guess because we have something similar here but ours are more chewy.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      December 4, 2015 at 3:37 pm

Leave a Reply

