She will return.

One really need an ocean to show how fiereceful a storm is, puddles don't have especially high waves :-)

One really need an ocean to show how forceful a storm is, puddles don’t have especially high waves πŸ™‚

It was almost totally calm when I drove to work this morning so I started to doubt that they had predicted it right this time, The wind had however started to blow when I arrived at work but it still wasn’t especially hard. It changed rather quickly when it started though. By the time I was about to drive home we had a full-blown storm. The SAAB is heavy but these gusts were pretty strong so every now and again they pushed my car as they wished πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0021

DSC_0023

The clouds started to break up when we were out walking and now the sky is clear and I can see the stars.

The clouds started to break up when we were out walking and now the sky is clear and I can see the stars.

But it was almost totally calm here around my cottage when I opened the door to my car, the winds came from west so they didn’t reach my cottage. I could hear the roar though and it sounded great. They reported about fallen trees in the radio all the time I drove home but it looked like they still were standing here around the village when we were out walking. I had to delete lots of photos from the open fields because the gusts made it impossible to stand still πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0028

DSC_0029

DSC_0031

It has calmed down considerable but I just went to the mailbox and up there I could feel how the wind wanted me to follow it on its way πŸ™‚ It will stay “calmer” until tomorrow Β evening and then the storm will return in full force during Sunday. It will rain almost the entire time too so I guess this will be a stay indoors weekend with either lots of reading or dvd watching. They have now removed the free channels I had for a while so now I only have my six free channels to fall asleep to again πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0032

We haven't had this much water in the creek since the beavers lived there.

We haven’t had this much water in the creek since the beavers lived there.

See how the tree tops bend in the wind. Actually that's a lie since those tree tops always are bent like that :-)

See how the tree tops bend in the wind. Actually that’s a lie since those tree tops always are bent like that πŸ™‚

My christmas cards have arrived so I better write those and ship them to their receivers as soon as possible. We have all already eaten so I guess I start with either reading, writing or watching already now πŸ™‚

 

Ears flapping in the wind :-)

Ears flapping in the wind πŸ™‚

DSC_0049

DSC_0051

 

Have a great day!

 

DSC_0053

10 responses

  1. Hi Christer,
    Helga is not a nice guest and should not be asked back.

    I love Nova photobombing the pine tree and club moss (?). πŸ™‚ Rocky’s ears blow back in the wind like Nova’s. Piki Dog usually has his ears folded back when he’s outside. He’s not mad. He generally carries them airplane style anyway. πŸ™‚

    Your windy drive home reminded me of when I traded in my pick up truck for a Jeep Wrangler. The day I drove the Wrangler home, the wind was gusting up to 60 MPH. I was used to driving a substantial vehicle that didn’t move much in the wind. The little Wrangler was being buffeted all over the highway. I was practically in tears regretting my purchase. When I exited the highway, another Jeep Wrangler approached me and the driver waved. I waved back. Reflex. As I proceeded along the road, another Jeep Wrangler approached. That driver waved, too. I laughed out loud as I waved back and thought, “Okay, It’s Wrangler Nation!”
    I felt better about my purchase then and have only driven Wranglers since. πŸ™‚

    Today is sunny. Finally. It’s mid 40’s Fahrenheit and no wind.

    Enjoy the day.

    December 4, 2015 at 5:38 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      No she’s not but there’s no chance to stop her coming back I’m afraid πŸ™‚

      I was surprised that Nove suddenly showed up when I took that photo, she’s usually far ahead of me πŸ™‚ The best photo of Nova’s flapping ears was so blurry I decided to delete it, she looked realy funny in that one πŸ™‚

      It is fun how we suddenly belongs to a “family” when we get a certain car πŸ™‚ That’s the way it is with those owning older Citroens here or old VW πŸ™‚ Volvo and SAAB are amongst the most common car brands here so we would have to wave back constantly if we started doing like that πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ The only time I miss my little mazda is when I fill upthe car with petrol πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Still very windy here but it almost reached 50F today!

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      December 4, 2015 at 6:26 pm

      • It is fun how that happens. And you have to do the Wrangler wave a certain way, too. It’s sort of a flick of the first two fingers up off the steering wheel accompanied by a slight nod of the head. Although one time on the Mass Turnpike, I was parked in one of the big rest stops and a Wrangler full of teenaged males passed by on the other side of the highway. They all hung out of the windows and yelled and waved. I think they didn’t get the memo. πŸ™‚

        December 5, 2015 at 12:51 am

      • I haven’t seen that one over here πŸ™‚ I remember when I had my Citroen D21 we just raised our hands high showing thew palm πŸ™‚

        I wouldn’t have expected anything else from male teenagers πŸ™‚

        December 5, 2015 at 9:43 am

  2. jaz

    wow…that’s a lot of rain! i guess it’s better than snow. i don’t think we will see any snow here this winter!

    December 4, 2015 at 5:38 pm

    • HI Joyce!

      The strange thing is that it doesn’t feellike we’ve gotten that much but the creek aint lying πŸ™‚
      I’m pretty sure snow will come again but I’m in no hurry getting it πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 4, 2015 at 6:27 pm

  3. Dianna

    Hi Christer!! Love the flapping ears! And love the “lie” about the tree tops. I laughed out loud about that one. At work. πŸ™‚ Glad to hear nothing got damaged around your place. I know exactly how it feels when your car gets pushed around with wind. Living on the prairies, we have nothing to stop wind. Its windy all the time, sometimes it gets really windy. If I am driving my nissan cube I notice it alot. Not so much if I drive the jeep. Its heavier for sure. I hope your evening was nice and quiet and whatever you decided to do was fun. πŸ™‚

    December 4, 2015 at 5:52 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      My work place is on the edge of the huge plains here so I understand how You mean. The Vastgota plains stops just by my village but thankfully they planted the forest here 70 years ago and it stops the wind very well.

      I’m not sure if I had driven to work tioday if I still had hgad the little Mazda. It was a good car but these winds would have made it feel nasty to drive around in it.

      So far I’ve done nothing. Just watched the news and 40 000 households have no pwer right now, I have though πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 4, 2015 at 6:31 pm

  4. Christer,
    Wow, that was a mighty wind. Those trees are definitely bending, but I’m glad they’re not breaking or falling. Those roads with all the mud definitely take finesse driving so the mud doesn’t get you!

    All that rain would have been welcomed in parts of this country still under drought conditions, mostly the west coast.

    We are chilly right now, but the weekend will be warmer . This has been a warm winter so far. Today at 46˚ is about the coldest we’ve had in the last few weeks.

    Have a great day!!

    December 5, 2015 at 3:27 am

    • Hi Kat!

      I guess You didn’t read the text beneath the photo, it is all a lie πŸ™‚ Those trees are always bent like that even on days completely without wind πŸ™‚ But to be honest, it is the constand wind that finally got result forcing the trees to grow like that. The road in the village is thankfully in a much better shape and it is the timber lorries that destroued this road. The land owner will fix that next spring, he always does thankfully.

      Yes we’ve gotten more than our share of rain now, they would have shouted of joy in California if they’ve gotten half of what we have πŸ™‚

      Around 46 here right now and it will be warmer later during the day they say.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      December 5, 2015 at 9:47 am

Leave a Reply

