What is their origin?

I always take one test photo when we're going on a walk and usually in this direction, so I know how to adjust the camera. This morning, long after sunrise, I had to use ISO 4000 and I still had to brighten up all photos.

I always take one test photo when we’re going on a walk and usually in this direction, so I know how to adjust the camera. This morning, long after sunrise, I had to use ISO 4000 and I still had to brighten up all photos.

The wind has calmed down, I would lie if I said otherwise but not especially much. It still roars out there and it still comes from west so I don’t notice it especially  much besides the sound of it. It rains slightly too but if one can find a place where the wind doesn’t reach while walking it’s fairly nice out there because it is warm.

 

DSC_0022

DSC_0023

DSC_0025

I picked up my book about the Nordic beings I have and it says that there are many explanations about these beings origin. Some say they are old gods who prevailed over mountains and lakes but as time went by the were forgotten and christianity took over. They never disappeared though, they just live a languishing life in the shadows and because of that they really don’t like us that much.

 

DSC_0026

DSC_0027

DSC_0028

Others says they are the children of Adam’s first wife, Lilith and her husband Alför (can’t find any info about him though). Lilith was a very independent woman, to independent for Adam, so god banished her and created Eve instead. He did like Lilith though and all her offspring are now those we call beings, like trolls, wights and fairies as a few examples. Another story says that one day when Eve was bathing her children god passed by. She felt a bit ashamed about the children she yet hadn’t bathed so she hid them behind her back. God who isn’t always a fair god said that “what humans tries to hide from god should also be hidden from humans. So the clean ones stayed as humans while the dirty ones became our beings.

 

DSC_0031

DSC_0032

DSC_0034

The gusts are still so hard that it is difficult to not get fuzzy photos.

A fourth story say that Lucifer and other angels were jealous of how god loved humans and started a war with god. He got tired of them and sent those angels to hell where they became the devil and his minions. But in the commotion many other angels, who wasn’t a part of the rebellion fell to earth from the sky. They didn’t belong in hell but couldn’t go back to the paradise since god had closed the gates, so they spread all over the world becoming guardians of nature.

 

DSC_0035

It has rained a lot now, this ditch is very full :-) Normally it's hard to see at all.

It has rained a lot now, this ditch is very full 🙂 Normally it’s hard to see at all.

I wonder if they still use that sattelite dish?

I wonder if they still use that satellite dish? This was all I photographed this morning.

In the Norse mythology they are simply explained as Black elves and Light elves. The Light elves belonged to Freyr  and were beautiful and the Black elves were ugly dwarfs who lived in Svartalfheim, were fantastic blacksmiths and made lots of magic objects for the gods like Thor’s hammer. What ever they are they are usually not fond of us humans. It is always best not to get any help from either of them because the price is usually quite high but if one can help any of them the reward is usually very good too. The absolutely best way to protect oneself from them is edged steel.

 

Some from the folder "For a rainy day".

Some from the folder “For a rainy day”.

Att spara 6 (39)

Att spara 7 (2)

Steel burns like fire in them and the best is actually a pair of siccors, since when it is opened up becomes a cross and the beings don’t like anything resembling christianity. That’s why they don’t like the sound of church bells either. The beings were ones told that since they don’t have any soul they won’t goto heaven when they die and that’s why they don’t like christianity. But who would I be to say they don’t have a soul? They say dogs don’t have it either and I’m absolutely sure dogs have one, I’m more sure of that than that humans actually have one 🙂

 

Att spara 10 (9)

Att spara 10 (10)

Att spara 10 (11)

Lets start with a nasty one today, the Askefroa (The Ash tree Lady or Ash Tree Wife). She lives as the name says in an Ash tree and if  one doesn’t behave as she thinks one should she would make that person very sick and if one in any way hurt the tree it would be deadly. In some places people didn’t dare go near an Ash tree after dark. One can of course appease her by every Ash Wednesday, before sunrise, sacrifice some water over the tree roots and at the same time say I sacrifice to You, So now You won’t hurt us and this should be done by the village elder.

 

And four from an old Minolta.

And four from an old Minolta.

A101894_29

A101894_30

A101894_33

It is time to go outside into the storm again, the dogs are a bit restless again.

Have a great day!

9 responses

  1. jaz

    hi christer! you are having a mild winter so far aren’t you? i don’t know that we will get any this year. we have rarely been below the mid 50’s so far. many of my perennials are coming up already. sweden has such rich folklore! have you bought any julmust yet? is that the name of the drink? have a good weekend! joyce

    December 5, 2015 at 12:44 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      Yes we have and it is much like last winter. Not common to have two mild ones in a row like this but winter is still young. No showing of perennials yet but I did find a few green leafs on the roses today!

      Yes we do have a very rich folklore but it isn’t as well known as the British and German one.

      Yes I’ve had my first Julmust for the season 🙂 A must in December 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      December 5, 2015 at 2:21 pm

  2. Hi Christer,
    The story I read was that Adam told Lilith she should always be on the bottom but Lilith wanted to be on top. Adam said he was the man and she should obey. Lilith said god made both of them at the same time so they were equal. Adam tried to push the point so Lilith cried out the secret name of god (that only she knew) and flew away. I figure god knew that Adam was going to be an asshat and gave Lilith his secret name so she would have an out. 🙂 Then the old stories say she became a succubus who gave men erotic dreams. She also caused crib death of infants. Uppity women just can’t expect any consideration at all. 🙂

    If you haven’t read Terry Pratchett’s novel Small Gods, you should. It’s funny, satirical and thought-provoking. It also made me feel just a tiny bit sad for old gods that nobody pays attention to anymore. I think I need to reread it. And since it’s December and Jule, I will also reread Pratchett’s Hogfather. It’s a tradition of mine. 🙂

    So now I’m wondering if imported European Ash trees come with an Ash Wife already installed. 🙂 And do American Ash trees have one? I shall research that.

    The weather is unseasonably warm. The skunk cabbage is growing in the back swamp again. There are even some flower hoods poking up. They don’t usually do that until February. Very odd.
    It’s sunny and heading for the 50’s Fahrenheit today. I should do yard work. There are pieces of lawn that almost need mowing. Not that I will mow them. That’s a summer job. 🙂

    Enjoy the day.

    December 5, 2015 at 5:02 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I’ve read a few different stories about Lilith but I have no idea which one is the original one. The first one was similar to Your one though but I don’t remember the erotic dream or crib death parts. I think most women who have a strong will of their own usually have to pay for it.

      I havenb’t but I’ll try to find both that one and Hogfather! I’ve already started tolook in the online book store I usually buy books from 🙂 I read some in Wikipedia too and I liked what I read.

      I’m not quite sure how it works or how they become more since they only are female and dies when the tree dies. Not good since we now have a disease who slowly kill ashtrees over here. She is a relative to the Greek Hamadryad though so You can always look from that.

      Very warm for the season here too and that’s why we’re having these storms. November might be a snowy month normally but not especially windy. The Hazel bushes we had until recently had actually started to flower when they were cut down, they should have started in February too normally. The grass stays calm though 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 5, 2015 at 7:25 pm

    • and now I’ve ordered those books 🙂

      December 5, 2015 at 7:33 pm

      • Enabling; just another service I provide. 🙂 I hope you enjoy them.

        December 5, 2015 at 8:36 pm

      • 🙂

        December 6, 2015 at 5:57 am

  3. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Incredibly late this weekend! IKEA took all my strength and will to live. 5+ hours yesterday but I got every thing done! 🙂 Great stories…I just love folklore. I really believe in all those little creatures, I just wish I could see one! In the forest. 🙂 Off to your next post now!

    December 7, 2015 at 1:02 am

    • Hi Dianna!

      Yes Ikea does that to us all 🙂

      I’ve seen things on the bog I can’t explain so I’m a believer too 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      December 7, 2015 at 7:12 pm

Leave a Reply

