I might have changed my mind.

It was so dark here this morning that I had to use ISO 5000.

It was so dark here this morning that I had to use ISO 5000.

I would say that the weather is worse today than yesterday even though the wind is more steady with less gusts but it rains more. It is the kind of rain that eats its way through the clothes in no time ans makes it impossible to see anything if one wear glasses. The forest isn’t an ideal place to walk in a storm but it is impossible to walk along the fields, so we went down to the creek where the trees are smaller and the wind doesn’t reach.

 

I wish I could say it was fog that stopped me from seeing the mountain but unfortunately it was rain.

I wish I could say it was fog that stopped me from seeing the mountain but unfortunately it was rain.

DSC_0043

It is almost possible to see the mountain in this photo :-)

It is almost possible to see the mountain in this photo 🙂 It is slightly darker just behind the trees if You look in a certain angle 🙂

It could have been a really nice walk if the wind had been less aggressive because it’s 10C (50F) and actually quite pleasant when out of the winds reach.Tomorrow will be really nice and sunny and I’m not surprised since we’re all working again and won’t get a chance to experience it at all 🙂 It will turn towards cooler weather again later in the week according to predictions so I hope that also mean less wind.

 

DSC_0046

DSC_0048

DSC_0049

I was thinking of buying myself one of those wildlife cameras as a christmas present but I’m starting to think in another direction now. Yes it would be fun to have one but the laws are fuzzy if we’re allowed to use them because they can take photos of people who doesn’t want to be photographed (even if I am allowed to take photos of them if I hold the camera in my hands!!). So I have been thinking of getting a telescope instead, so I can take a closer look at the planets in our solar system and perhaps it would be possible to see galaxies somewhat clear too.

 

DSC_0052

DSC_0053

DSC_0054

I’ve found one called  “National Geographic Telescope compact 76/350″ but I have only found one review and that was from one selling them so I feel the seller might be a bit biased 🙂 I also found one called “National Geographic Telescope Newton 76/700 äquat”. That one magnifies a bit more (like the wildlife camera actually) but cost double what the first one does and I haven’t found any reviews on that one at all. I don’t think I can attach a camera to either though, says nothing about that in the description of them.

 

DSC_0059

DSC_0061

The big Birch. It will most likely be made into veneer.

The big Birch. It will most likely be made into veneer.

I looked at our eBay (called Tradera) too and there’s one called “OPTICON Universe 114F1000″ that no one has bid on and the auction ends in nine hours (11:31 pm Swedish time) and I could of course not find any reviews on that one either 🙂 I do like to look up in the sky and I would have lots of time doing it here in the winter if we could get some clear nights. No use in summer though since it only will be dark enough for an hour or so 🙂

 

We went in to the forest yesterday afternoon when the wind had calmed down some.

We went in to the forest yesterday afternoon when the wind had calmed down some.

DSC_0025

I have no idea what this is, could be some old kind of feeding station I guess.

I have no idea what this is, could be some old kind of feeding station I guess.

 

 It is time to take another walk in our wonderful weather 🙂 Both Nova and Sune are bored to death now when they can’t go in and out through open doors like they can during the summer. I’m not looking forward to it though 🙂

 

Lots of damage made by the storm.

Lots of damage made by the storm.

DSC_0028

DSC_0029

Have a great day!

16 responses

  1. Nej, idag vill jag inte byta med dig o gå ut med hundarna…. Himla busväder! Inte ens jag som inte behöver iväg till jobb kommer att få njuta såvärst av solen imorgon… Ska dels till vårdcentralen o lägga om mitt sår o dels hjälpa min bror som vill till banken…..
    Ha´t himla gôrgôtt trots ruskväder
    Nina

    December 6, 2015 at 1:49 pm

    • Hejsan Nina!

      Nä det var ingen höjdare att gå ut på promenader idag 🙂

      Men du kommer i alla fall ut en sväng i solskenet, har jag tur kanske jag ser det genom fönstret i matsalen när jag har rast 🙂

      Ha det gott!

      Christer.

      December 6, 2015 at 5:16 pm

  2. Hi Christer,
    Re ISO 5000: I read Art Wolfe’s blog about the camera equipment he carries now. He commented that back in the old days ISO 50 (yep, 50) was standard for him but now he shoots “in the thousands” regularly and has no trouble at all. Of course, I think he has enough knowledge and talent to have not much trouble at all anyway. 🙂

    Is the “feeding station” one of those things that appears after the trees are gone? It doesn’t look much like a feeding station. No opening that I can see from the photo. Unless it was just supposed to hold the food until someone came and removed it? Weird. If it was open at the bottom, I’d call it a very strange form of green head fly trap. Those are usually out in the marshes, made out of wood and designed to look sort of cow-like. In other words a stick cow with a boxy body. 🙂 The flies go for the belly area of animals so they fly up inside the box and are too programmed to fly down to get out. Like flies on the window.

    I suppose being turned into veneer is a step up from being turned into toothpicks. 😦

    Today started out with fog that froze in some places but the sun has melted it all very quickly. It’s supposed to reach 60ºF today. So un-Decemberish. 🙂

    Enjoy the day.

    December 6, 2015 at 2:37 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I always used ISO 200 back inthe days but now I have 400 when I use the old cameras. The digital one is often adjusted to 1000 but today and yesterday was just too dark. It is so much easier with the digital cameras since we can see the result directly.

      I have seen that thing all the years I’ve lived here but I’ve never figured out what it is 🙂 It’s just a roof, nothing more. I think they might have placed deer food beneath the roof so it wouldn’t get wet if it rains but that can be totally wrong 🙂
      I’m not sure if it would work as a fly trap since it has been standing in the forest all the time, it would probably have worked if it stood a bit from the trees

      I guess it is a step up 🙂 and sure much better than to be made into wood chips 🙂

      Warm but lots of rain and still strong winds, not a nice day at all.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      December 6, 2015 at 5:23 pm

  3. Birgit

    Hi Christer,
    I bought a telescope about 15 years ago, birthday present for me 🙂 , it was wasted money. (An older version of http://www.bresser.de/Astronomie/Teleskope/BRESSER-Stellar-60-800-AZ-Linsenteleskop.html ) The main problem is the tripod, it’s just not stable enough for planets or stars to keep them in focus. I’ve looked at the moon a few times but now it just gathers dust. A table mounting might be better? Or another Christmas present?

    December 6, 2015 at 6:48 pm

    • Hi Birgit!

      I’m afraid I would think the same already next year 🙂 The first one I mentioned is a table mounting one so that one would be stable enough but then again it doesn’t magnify especially much. So I am leaning towards the wild life camera again 🙂 I know I would use that one a lot since I know badgers, foxes and deers walk through my garden every night 🙂 and I really want to know what’s passing the dog yard when I’m not there 🙂

      Thank You!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 6, 2015 at 8:21 pm

  4. Dianna

    Hi Christer! I hope by now the storm has carried on to your neighbors to the left of Sweden! 🙂 Nothing worse than having to go out in the wind and wet to walk bored dogs! I think a telescope would be an awesome thing! We have one that we take up to the cottage as there are no street lights up there and when it gets dark there – its VERY dark!!! Love walking out on the back deck and its almost like you could just reach up and touch the night sky – it feels that close up there. Although that being said a wildlife camera would be cool to. Decisions, decisions! I hope the rest of your Sunday was restful!

    December 7, 2015 at 1:10 am

    • Hi Dianna!

      Yes it is fairly calm now and the day was sunny and warm, too bad I had to work all day 🙂

      I’m still thinking about buying one but I’ll get a table mounted one if I do because they are so much more stable. I would love to look at the different planets in our solar system and it would be cool if I could see another galaxy too! I haven’t decided yet since as You say, wildlife cameras are cool too 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 7, 2015 at 7:15 pm

  5. Good heavens, Christer! With a storm that caused that kind of damage..how in the world did your little cottage stay standing. Frightening..that kind of storm. Dry and warm here..but cool at night. That’s about it weather wise..boring as all get out! Wondering where all that rain is that they kept promising. Are you ready for Christmas? Do you go home to your mother’s for Christmas? We go to my daughters..it’s nice. I do sometimes miss all the children coming home..but time and loss has changed the dynamic’s of our family. Still…it’s a joyous time just being together no matter where it is.
    The recent rampage and slaughter by that young couple in San Bernadino has saddened our holiday spirit. It was just too close for comfort. About ten miles from us..my son lost a friend in the raid of terror. Daniel was at school, he attends college not far from where it all happened…so we are all a bit on edge here. Until I knew it was not my son’s school, I was a bit of a wreck, sat glued to the TV until I could get the name of the school!
    It will be a strange Christmas this year…I don’t go to the Malls and large stores and restaurants…it’s not fun anymore.. Thank heavens for computers..
    Stay warm and happy. Take care..
    Mona

    December 7, 2015 at 6:48 am

    • Hi Mona!

      The forest took most of the wind and my neighbors cottage took the rest so I didn’t feel a thing when I was in my garden but I did hear the wind roar 🙂 I think however someone put the wrong address on Your rain so it ended up here instead 🙂

      I am as ready as can be for christmas. I’m staying at home because the traffic is nasty around christmas and we don’t have that many dayus off this year. I’ll have all the important things to eat though :-)and I can chose what I want to see on tv too 🙂

      So it was so close to You! I’m glad no one in Your family was there! I can’t even imagine how You felt before You knew it wasn’t his school!

      Yes computers are fantastic in many ways, especially if one wants to buy chriostmas presents and don’t want to go to malls 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 7, 2015 at 7:20 pm

  6. P.S. We had a telescope once and it scared me silly when I looked through it. I didn’t really like it.. LOL It’s a long, long way out there..and what if I saw someone staring back at me. 🙂

    December 7, 2015 at 6:50 am

    • I think I would love that 🙂 I would probably wet my pants if I did see anything looking back though 🙂

      December 7, 2015 at 7:21 pm

  7. the darn wind ruins everything!! I read of a fellow who had a camera set up in the forest to watch the animals and captured a scene he wished he hadn’t,, a young couple were caught on camera having a um, romantic,um, interlude, lol, imagine that!!! I hope all is well with you, I have some catching up to do,

    December 7, 2015 at 6:34 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      🙂 🙂 🙂 That’s why we aren’t allowed to put those cameras up as we wish, just in case we catch something very private 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day and it’s nice to see You here again 🙂

      Christer.

      December 7, 2015 at 7:22 pm

  8. I vote for the wildlife camera.
    I’d want to know what stirs up your dogs.
    And to see if some person is milling about who shouldn’t be!
    Sorry about the yucky weather.
    It’s unseasonably warm here. In the 40’s and to reach 50’s later in the week.
    I’m not complaining.
    I’d be glad if we never got snow!
    I’m scared to drive my new (to me) car in it! LOL!
    Take care!

    December 7, 2015 at 7:38 pm

    • Hi Cindi!

      I am awfully curious about what is walking outside the dog yard, I would be very surprised if it was a person though because very few find their way to this place 🙂

      Unseasonable warm here too and I like it, well as long as we don’t get these storms all the time. I really don’t need sno but I wouoldn’t mind if it got a bit chilly to be honest, we usually don’t have storms if it gets a bit chilly.

      Take it easy in that new cars of Yours 🙂

      Christer.

      December 8, 2015 at 6:13 pm

Leave a Reply

