It is dangerous to look at those sites :-)

The photos today are actually a mix between photos taken today and last Sunday. The weather was exactly the same so not even I would be able to say when a photo was taken :-)

The photos today are actually a mix between photos taken today and last Sunday. The weather was exactly the same so not even I would be able to say when a photo was taken 🙂

It was sunny and bright when I looked out the windows an hour before I was going to go home after work today, it wasn’t like that at all when I came out an hour later. The sky was dark grey and the rain was pouring down. It was a bit better after I came out from the grocery store and almost rain free when we finally went out on our walk. So the hopes of getting a rather nice walk woke up.

 

DSC_0039
DSC_0041

DSC_0044

Naturally it started to rain again and the farther we came from home the more it rained. By the time we came home again the dogs were soaked and the first water had eaten its way through my jacket so I started to feel cold. The temperature is now dropping and since it still is raining I’m pretty sure we’ll have lots of frost tomorrow morning because it will drop down below 0C (32F) during the night and all day tomorrow will be sunny they say and I’ll believe it when it happens 🙂

 

DSC_0045
DSC_0046

DSC_0048

  I was looking at our eBay (it is called Tradera here) on wildlife cameras and jumped over to digital cameras, especially Nikon and that is always dangerous 🙂 Anyway, they always write how many photos they’ve taken with the camera they are about to sell and I’ve learned that a digital Nikon is supposed to be able to take 150 000 photos before it starts to die, where on earth can one find that info in the camera? I’ve been looking through my camera and can’t find anything about that!

 

DSC_0049

DSC_0051

DSC_0052

I bought my D5100 as used and have no idea how many photos the previous owner too but I thought about how many I’ve taken and it must be at least 13 000 each year I’ve had it (52 weeks times around 250 photos) and I’ve had it for over two years now. So how many more photos might I be able to take before it says goodbye? So I started to look at especially two different ones, Nikon of course 🙂 , and there’s one D7000 fairly cheap (fixed price) but it is more or less the same thing I have but with more ways to adjust the camera and to be honest, I almost never use any of the things I have on the camera I have now 🙂

 

DSC_0053

DSC_0054

DSC_0055

But then I found a D5200 which also is similar but it takes up to 24,1 mega pixel photos. Now many mega pixels doesn’t give good photos in itself, the rest of the technique must also be much better and well-balanced with it. That one is not at a fixed price though and it is sold with a lens which I really don’t need, well to be honest I’m not sure I need a new camera at all since I have no idea how many photos this one has taken 🙂 I have surprisingly many analog cameras but not many digital ones 🙂 But anyway, does anyone of You out there know where to find the info about how many photos the camera has taken?

 

DSC_0056

DSC_0057
DSC_0058

But my mind has started to work by itself I’m afraid but I like the camera I have and don’t think I would pay a lot of money to get a new one unless this one is on its way to retirement. I now have several films to be developed but I still haven’t gotten any bill from the last time I had that done. I’ve sent them an e-mail so I finally can do that and won’t send in any more films to them until this is done. I hate to have bills unpaid and always believe I’ve missed it somehow and that they will send a reminder that will cost even more 🙂

 

DSC_0029

DSC_0033

DSC_0035

The fire is burning in the stove and it is time for us all to have something to eat.

Have a great day!

16 responses

  1. Hi Christer,
    Here’s an article about camera “actuations” which you might find interesting but probably not very informative. Someone in the comments pointed out that you can find the number of photos you’ve taken by opening your latest one in jpeg and noting the EXIF number. It’s not always accurate, though.
    http://digital-photography-school.com/actuations-shutter-count-someday-our-cameras-will-die/

    Sometimes I check out cameras online to see what the prices are. I shudder. I thought my camera was expensive and it’s considered an “entry level” DSLR. The other day it leaped out of its camera case and bounced on the asphalt driveway. I heard the tinkle of shattering glass and my heart stopped. The polarizing filter had broken. Immediately I checked to see if everything was working and it was. My heart started beating again. I’d have to save for a very long time to replace it.

    The morning was very foggy but it’s starting to burn off now and the sun is sort of shining. It’s heading for 58ºF today or so they say. It is a weird December.

    Enjoy the day.

    December 11, 2015 at 4:17 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      Thanks for the link, I’ve tried to do as they explain but I can’t find any number, what does SC mean because that’s the one I should look for 🙂

      Yes cameras are very expensive and I guess they always have been. The ones I’ve been looking at is at the moment at half price of what they would cost as new and I might find an even cheaper if I look at the pawn shops website. Ok, I don’t think mine just will give up at any second but I think it would cióst as much tp repair it as it would cost to buy another one. I’m glad it just was the polirizing filter that broke on Yours! Perhaps You should buy Yourself a lottery ticket 🙂 I did the same thing with my old Minolta xg1 once with the same result, only that filter broke 🙂

      Yes it is a weird December 🙂 They said this would be the worst winter ever because of the strong Elniño and I guess if one wants a cold and snowy winter this might be one of the worst winters ever 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      December 11, 2015 at 5:07 pm

    • I found it! 28 384. So I have absolutely no need to buy another one for quite some time 🙂

      December 11, 2015 at 5:12 pm

      • Glad you found it. Looks like you’re safe for awhile. 🙂
        SC is the file prefix assigned to the photo. It stands for Still Camera. Nikon, Fuji, Sony and others use the prefix DSC which means Digital Still Camera. It’s to show that the file is a still photograph rather than a movie/video.

        December 12, 2015 at 2:55 am

      • Aha!
        I don’t think it said anything about SC or DSC when I found the place, it jusdt said exposures from the beginning 🙂 The problem is that I have no idea how I did to find the place 🙂 Still plenty more to photograph before I need to think about a new one 🙂

        December 12, 2015 at 4:29 am

  2. Dianna

    Hi Christer!! Step away from Tradera! 🙂 Lol! 🙂 I didn’t even think that a camera would take only a certain amount of pictures, I thought they just kept on going?!?! Who knew! Your pictures are fantastic on today’s post!!! I just love the fallen tree and stream ones…I just imagine a little town busy with small creatures going about their business crossing those fallen logs every time I see those pictures! 🙂 Well, the weekend is finally upon us. I am glad. Nothing planned except the usual cleaning and laundry. Probably a few walks with the giant puppy in there as well. I can’t take all 3 of the dogs, so we go one at at time. Sometimes the older 2, Willow and Tucker, are more than happy to just stay behind. She’s a ball of energy and huge to match, so sometimes she forgets that she’s that big! 🙂 Have a happy evening!

    December 11, 2015 at 7:29 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      I really should 🙂

      To be honest, for most people 100 000- 150 000 photos will last a life time. The battery is most likely giving up long before that 🙂 But for us loving to photograph it passes by fast. I finally found out how many photos my camera had taken, slightly less than 29 000 so I still have plenty to take before I need to find another one or try to repaí this one.

      I often imagine the carachters from the Wind in the willows living close to that creek 🙂 All animals in that book lives there, all but the otter but then again we have beavers instead 🙂

      I’ve already done some of the laundry but must do some more on Sunday. Otherwise I’ll take it easy, perhaps vacuum and scrub the floors now when it will get colder and dryer again.

      Yes puppies can be exhausting for older dogs 🙂 It is easier here where I just can let them ruin around free from the leash.
      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      December 11, 2015 at 7:40 pm

  3. jaz

    hi christer! is that your cottage in the first pic? i don’t think i have ever seen a head on shot of it? i feel totally ripped off with this winter. we are going to be in the 70s for the next few days. we just put new fish in our pond. it is usually shut off way before now. i’m afraid we won’t see winter this year.

    December 11, 2015 at 7:45 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      No that is a neighbor of mine. You have actually seen my cottage several times but I haven’t written that it is my home 🙂 My cottage is much bigger than this but actually quite small anyway 🙂

      I’m about to bring my fish inside for the winter 🙂 I have sevceral in my rain water barrels oustide and it is time to bring them in now.

      ‘s is our summer temperature 🙂 If You get any winter it will be short lived I think but by the looks of it now I doubt You’ll get any.

      Have a great day anyway 🙂

      Christer.

      December 11, 2015 at 8:13 pm

  4. J

    December 11, 2015 at 8:30 pm

  5. Förra mailet sändes iväg utan min förskyllan – jag har en ny dator med Windows 10 i och ALLT krånglar. 😦 Jag har dock lyckats med att lägga in mina egna mailadresser, men det finns ingen mall för andras!? Jag har också lyckats med att få in mitt adressregister, men inte kunnat skriva ut några etiketter!? 😦 😦 Men efter mycket om och med lyckades jag få in alla bilder från kameran – är riktigt stolt! 🙂
    Idag fick vi ett bakslag när det gäller att göra av med pengar. Vi fick punka – helt platt – på ett framdäck och det och det andra fram var så dåligt att Rolle köpte två nya. Där fösvann 3000:- direkt, men vi var glada att någon fixade till det hela direkt. Tog bara 1,5 timme på däckverkstaden. 🙂 🙂 🙂
    KRAM
    Susie

    December 11, 2015 at 8:36 pm

    • Hejsan Suse!

      Jag förstod att något hänt när jag bara såg ett J 🙂 Jag måste erkänna att jag relativt fort blev kompis med windows 10, det blev jag aldrig med 8:an eller 8,1:an.

      Jag har ju Telias mail på webben så den har ju inte påverkats alls, men etikettprogrammet borde ju ligga i datorn eller måste det kanske installeras igen? Skriver inte så mycket brev längre så jag behöver ju inte ett sådant program. Det tog ett tag innan jag fattade hur jag skulle ladda ned bilderna i datorn 🙂 De har gått tillbaka till hur det var på Windows7 tror jag, för det påminner i alla fall mycket om hur det funkade där.

      Så irriterande när man m,åste punga ut med massa pengar på däck! Bra att de kunde hjälpa er direkt dock!

      Ha det gott!

      Christer.

      December 12, 2015 at 4:25 am

  6. Birgit

    Really, only 150 000 photos? According to the file names, a slightly inaccurate counting, I’ve reached 1 million with my 2006 Panasonic digital compact camera last month. (Yes, I know that I’m crazy.) Fingers crossed, the camera still works! Retired for everyday use now but I still don’t want to miss it for concert photography.

    December 12, 2015 at 1:37 am

    • Hi Birgit!

      Yes according to the website Caryn linked to and all those ads in Tradera. Most people don’t use their cameras especially much but many of us do so I thought 150 000 was a bit little to be honest. But it is nice to know there are exceptions 🙂 1 million isn’t bad 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      December 12, 2015 at 4:28 am

  7. I never knew that about cameras, amazing!
    No snow here,, just a whisper of it,, its actually freezing rain at the moment, have a good weekend!

    December 12, 2015 at 2:35 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      I didn’t either but I’m not surprised, even the old ones broke eventually if used a lot.

      No snow here either but frost this morning and tomorrow will be colder they say and sunny too 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      December 12, 2015 at 2:52 pm

Leave a Reply

