We don’t see them much any more.

DSC_0023

Two nights with very low temperatures and high humidity made the ice on the car windows extra hardened and absolutely impossible to scrape of 🙂 I managed to get bits and pieces of the windows ice-free and had to stop before I left the village to scrape the rest when the car had become warmer 🙂 But the night was absolutely wind free so it didn’t feel that cold to be honest.

 

DSC_0026

DSC_0028

DSC_0030

It has already started to turn towards warmer again, tomorrow and Wednesday will stay around 0C (32F) and after that it will get rather warm again and windy too. The long-term prognosis says a rainy Christmas. I don’t mind, I grew up by the coast where rainy Christmases were rather common. But I have to admit that it would be nice if it did get a bit chilly instead so the ground froze and killed lots of ticks and it easier to keep my home clean when the mud is frozen solid 🙂

 

DSC_0044

Home sweet home.

Home sweet home.

DSC_0049

We don’t see many giants here any more, they were common back in the days before christianity came to the Scandinavian countries. In the old Norse gods time they were the sworn enemies to the Norse gods and were constantly fighting the old gods. There were at least three kinds of giants back then, the Frost giants who lived in the kingdom Nifelheim, the giants in Utgård who were skilled in magic and the Fire giants who lived in the red-hot Muspelheim. The world was actually created from the first giant Ymer who was killed by Odin and his two brothers Vile and Ve. This is their Scandinavian names and they differ some from what they are called in English.

 

DSC_0032

DSC_0038

DSC_0042

But christianity arrived and since they can’t stand the sound of church bells, it is like knives cutting in their ears, they moved to the northern wilderness here in Scandinavia. We have lots of very big stones lying here anf´d there in our countries and they were thrown by giants towards churches so the clocks would stop making any sounds. They must aim poorly though because it seems none ever hit any church 🙂 Giants are as their name says huge, they are also very strong and a bit stupid to be honest and very clumsy.

 

DSC_0045

DSC_0048

DSC_0049

The Swedish name for a giant is Jätte and that words original meaning is big eater and that has made their relationship with us humans a bit strained since they ate all the food that could be found, including humans :-)So if You ever would meet a giant, keep the distance if it is one of those that eat humans 🙂 Some have however managed to stay away from human flesh and want us no evil even if they by mistake might step on one of us 🙂

 

DSC_0051

DSC_0053

DSC_0055

It is time for something to eat and today I’ll have cocoa, after all I could still see some frost outside when I opened the door for Sune 🙂

 

DSC_0067

DSC_0069

DSC_0072

Have a great day!

8 responses

  1. Hi Christer,
    Wow. You’ve got some really interesting photos today. The frost makes everything look icy and cold.
    The tenth photo from the top has something in it that looks a lot like a Native American leaning on his spear and looking off into the forest ahead of him. Can you see it? I know what it really is because I zoomed.
    The fourteenth photo is wonderful. I love the way the light accentuates the twigs of the trees and the shapes on the ground. Beautiful.

    Today is dreary and damp. It’s not particularly cold at 48ºF but the dampness cuts to the bone. They say it’s supposed to hit 58ºF today. I don’t think so because it’s already 2PM and nowhere near that temperature.
    I’m glad I don’t have to chisel ice off my windshield anymore.

    Enjoy the day.

    December 14, 2015 at 8:14 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I like how the frost give everything a look as if it is fragile, snow doesn’t do that at all.

      I did have to look for a while but then I saw it 🙂 🙂 Must have been cold standing there in the shadows 🙂 Too bad it is all gone now and it won’t be long until we have almost 50F and rain again.

      Foggy here today and the fog was so thick that I had problems seeing the road lots of times 🙂 Too bad I had to work on a foggy day 🙂
      I will not miss scraping ice from car windows the day I can retire 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 15, 2015 at 6:14 pm

  2. jaz

    oh christer, your cottage is wonderful! and the frost is magical. we have rain and 68 degrees. xmas is going to be 65. i am sooo disappointed! thanks for your card it arrived today!

    December 14, 2015 at 10:53 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      I do like this little place of mine 🙂

      We’ll get a warm christmas too but they have changed the prediction about it raining, so at the moment it will at least be dry.

      So it has arrived 🙂 I hope I’ll have the same luck with all the others who trvelled over seas.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      December 15, 2015 at 6:16 pm

  3. Så vackra bilder – man blir alldeles tagen! (Av en jätte kanske…) 🙂
    Här har det också varit lite kyligt idag, men solen har varit uppe så det är OK. Och som tur är har jag inte varit ute idag, det var tydligen otroligt halt – och det gillar jag inte!
    KRAM
    Susie

    December 15, 2015 at 6:19 pm

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Jag har läst om hur halt det är i sydligaste sverige idag, bilar bara gled av vägen. Här var vägarna riktigt bra dock, tack och lov för det har varit rejält dimmigt istället.

      Ha det gott!

      Christer.

      December 15, 2015 at 6:21 pm

  4. Dianna

    HI Christer! 🙂 Late as usual….this time of year always gets me slower. 😦 I LOVE LOVE LOVE those pictures that have the dark blue sky. Is that how it really looks or did you do something to the photos? Incredible. My 2nd favorite I think! Love the story about the giants. Would that not have been cool to walk when the giants walked? Since we are smaller than them, we would have managed to keep away from them as they are so much bigger and move faster. I would have liked that time I think! I hope your cocoa was delicious. We are under a weather watch. Apparently up to 15 cm of snow coming our way. Then we get frigid. -20 for Saturday night. Boo.

    December 15, 2015 at 6:58 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      I rarely do anything to my photos, normally I just make them smaller and if I do something like brighten them up because they are too dark I’ll write that beneath the photo. So that was how it looked here that morning 🙂

      It would have been as long as I knew they didn’t eat humans 🙂 🙂 🙂 They are quite kind and slightly stupid 🙂 but no one would dare do anything towards the one who has a giant as a friend 🙂

      Only rain and plus degrees here, it should have started becoming warmer aLready today but so far it’s actually a bit colder 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      December 16, 2015 at 6:28 pm

Leave a Reply

