We don’t have many Swedish saints.

DSC_0030

Once again I’ve missed a perfectly foggy day by having to work. I did actually get a few photos with my phone so now I’ll finally try to find the right cable so I can download the photos to my laptop. I did find a few others I took while I was waiting while my car was being repaired some time ago and I think those are good enough to show here too. I just need to find that cable though.

 

DSC_0028

DSC_0044

DSC_0057

I’ve tried to use bluetooth and that didn’t work especially good at all, even when the phone was placed an inch from the laptop they still had huge problems finding each other and when they finally did only one photo was transferred to the laptop πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I love technology πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I could of course mail them to my e-mail account but it takes too much energy from me at the moment πŸ™‚ So I better find that cable and fast too πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0033

DSC_0065

DSC_0055

We don’t have many Swedish saints and that’ not so strange since we’ve been Lutheran Protestants here since the 1500’s. We have Saint Birgitta so far but we’ll get a new one now, after 624 years. Her name is Maria Elisabeth HesselbladΒ and she lived until 1957. Usually it takes quite some time to become a saint if I understand things right so they’ve worked fast this time. I’m a protestant so this doesn’t mean that much to me but still I think it’s a nice thing to happen.

 

DSC_0041

DSC_0042

Ravens playing in the strong winds.

Ravens playing in the strong winds.

Tomorrow I’ll drive home via FalkΓΆping, there’s a package waiting for me there. They had tried to deliver it to my cottage but most of us work when they leave our mail. I think the note has been in the mailbox for a few days but it is totally black outside when I arrive home and I’ve missed it until today. They had jammed down lots of commercials, a tiny package and a few newspapers (They give them away sometimes if something special is going to happen in the town). So this time I scraped my fingers towards the bottom of the mailbox and there the note was πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0059

DSC_0060

DSC_0063

It is time to make me something to eat and today I’ve been starving all day even if I had plenty to eat πŸ™‚ So I will most likely make too much πŸ™‚ It is a good thing that the yule ham isn’t ready to eat yet, I would have cut of a big chunk from it πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0066

DSC_0073

DSC_0076

Have a great day!

6 responses

  1. Dianna

    Hi Christer! What a neat thing to be part of – someone being sainted in our time! Sorry to hear that you had to work during a perfect photo opportunity – don’t you hate when that happens?!?! πŸ™‚ I wish that both of us can win the lottery! πŸ™‚ We are snowing. We have been snowing since yesterday morning. So far I think the city has accumulated about 15 centimeters or more. It will be a white Christmas after all! Today was our potluck lunch at work. I am so full I need a nap and I still have an hour and a half of work to go! But it was all delicious. Someone even brought in moose sausage – I don’t eat moose but everyone said it was lovely. Yuck! πŸ™‚ I love the photo with the ravens in it. The sky is incredible in that one!! πŸ™‚ I hope your evening is good and hope that you had lots to eat! πŸ™‚ Tonight for me will be hot cocoa with some peppermint extract in it. Its just one of those days….

    December 17, 2015 at 8:32 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      It is fun that a Swede actually is going to become a saint, even though it doesn’t mean anything to me personally.

      Yes life is tough πŸ™‚ It was foggy here today as well, just until after I came home after work πŸ™‚ I do like it when it is foggy because then I can take photos of exactly the same things I always do and yet make them look different πŸ™‚

      Yes it would have been nice to win the big winning in the lottery but I just won $10 US in the lottery so I guess that’s it for me πŸ™‚

      I think You’re the only one so far that I know who will get a white Christmas πŸ™‚ All the rest of us will get a green and most likely a rainy one πŸ™‚

      Moose sausage is so delicious, I actually have one here at home πŸ™‚ The factory owner is actually having a big Christmas dinner for all employees at 7pm today, I won’t go because if I have finally come home after a days work I really don’t want to go back to that village again πŸ™‚ They’ll eat at a hotel in the village and I’ll stay here at home reading a good book instead πŸ™‚

      I’ve just recieved a package from Joyce and there’s usually some different cocoa mixed in that package but I won’t open it up until Christmas eve morning πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      December 18, 2015 at 3:13 pm

  2. Hi Christer,
    Another foggy day you had to spend in work? Awful. The weather should know better than that. πŸ™‚

    I think we had some saints made on this side of the ocean recently. There was a Pennsylvanian woman who was declared a saint recently. She died in 1955 so they were rather quick with her. There were a lot of American saints who died in the 17th 18th and 19th centuries but didn’t get canonized until the 21st century. Pope B17 was prolific with the canonizations.

    Your card came in the mail yesterday. It’s lovely. One of my favorite subjects that you photograph so well. I’m jealous because I don’t seem to be able to do capture them very easily. πŸ™‚

    Today was dark and damp. Now it’s outright raining. The temperature says it’s 50ΒΊF but I don’t believe it. It feels much colder than that. I am spoiled by the unnatural warmth of the past weeks. They’re predicting 60ΒΊF for Christmas Day! I’ll finally get a Florida-like Christmas! Whoo hoo! πŸ˜€

    Enjoy the day.

    December 17, 2015 at 9:36 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      Yes why is the weather punishing me like this πŸ™‚ It was foggy here today as well but it all went away shortly after I came home. Life can be so unfair sometimes πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      This lady is supposed to have cured someone in Cuba and one more they say so good for her becoming a saint. Since I’m not catholic I can’t say I actually understand why there are saints but it’s nice anyway.

      I’m glad it arrived, so far it looks good when it comes to cards travelling over seas. They have a tendency to vanish on the way over πŸ™‚ I just wish I had had a more colorful photo to chose, there were a few but they weren’t good enough, still I like this one a lot too.

      The predictions here says F on the 23d but a bit colder on Christmas eve, no rain that day though. I am a bit jelaous, I want a Florida-like Christmas too πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      December 18, 2015 at 3:21 pm

  3. Kat

    Christer,
    We don’t have all that many American saints either. I think we got a couple of new ones in the last few years, but I don’t remember their names. The time it takes is due to miracles. A would be saint has to have been responsible for a miracle like someone cured of an incurable disease.

    It was a damp, raw day here today because of the rain.It rained last night, stopped for a bit but has been raining steadily since the afternoon. So much for a white Christmas.

    Colorado, where I’ll be, was 17˚ last night. I’ll have to bring a warm jacket with me. I haven’t had to wear one around here yet.

    Have a great evening!

    December 18, 2015 at 1:26 am

    • Hi Kat!

      This lady is said to have cured at least two people, one in Cuba and I think the other one was Italian. I don’t fully understand the saint thing but it is always nice when it happens.

      Foggy here again today, until I came home after work and it all vanished πŸ™‚ Still it is rather warm so it is nice anyway. No white Christmas here either but I’m pretty sure You’ll get one in Colorado :-)Don’t forget mittens too, more important than one might think sometimes πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      December 18, 2015 at 3:25 pm

Leave a Reply

