I won’t open it until Yule eve.

DSC_0020

We had fog again today and it stayed until shortly after I’ve come home after work πŸ™‚ It started to drizzle instead when we went out on our walk and I can’t say it gives the same kind of photos at all πŸ™‚ but it was at least not heavy showers so I guess I should be happy for that πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0025

DSC_0027

DSC_0030

I drove by FalkΓΆping on my way home. I was going to pick up a package I’ve gotten a few days ago and it was as I suspected and hoped the package I get from Joyce every Christmas πŸ™‚ Thank You Joyce! I haven’t opened it yet though so I can’t say what’s in it πŸ™‚ I’ll do that on Christmas eve which is our big day in Christmas. It is the day the Yule gnome comes to our homes giving us our yule presents. At least back in the days he came by horse or with a goat pulling a little carriage with the presents. Now days I think most kids believes he comes with reindeer like Santa does.

 

DSC_0031

DSC_0032

DSC_0033

I was scared to death Β when having to go to the yule gnome to get my presents and was so relived when they told me he wasn’t for real πŸ™‚ I have a photograph when my best friend and I went to the yule gnome in a store and they had top bribe me with loads of ginger bread before I agreed to sit in his lap and get photographed πŸ™‚ One can see how I hold several ones in my hand πŸ™‚Β Our yule gnome is a mix of the old gnomes and Santa and now days he look much the same as Santa does. But more about our christmas traditions later on.

 

DSC_0035

DSC_0037

DSC_0039

I was supposed to buy some other things too while I was in town but it is amazing how a tiny town like that can have such nasty traffic! and in the middle of they day too, doesn’t anyone work any longer? So I skipped those things for later because I wanted to keep the little sanity I still have πŸ™‚ At least I got the food I need because they have now placed our post offices mostly in grocery stores πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0041

DSC_0042

DSC_0044

The weather isn’t especially christmas like, it was rather warm today and soon we’ll get at least 10C (50F) and of course lots of rain. I could have gone to a big christmas dinner this evening, the factory owner does this every year for us employees but I prefer to stay at home instead. I know that as soon as I’ve come home after work and have been out on our walk, the only thing I want to do is to relax and start the weekend. I rarely think I would love to go back to the village where I work again, even if I’m invited to a christmas dinner.

 

DSC_0045

DSC_0046

DSC_0049

 

I would be sober since I can’t get back home otherwise but my work friends won’t be and it doesn’t matter how much one like them since they aren’t as funny and charming as they think they are when they are beginning to become drunk (and they’re even worse when they are drunk) πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ So I would just have gone there, eaten the food and then hurried home anyway. So instead I’ll continue to read one of the books I ordered last week, Terry Pratchett’s “Small Gods”. I haven’t come that far yet but already gotten a few good chuckles πŸ™‚ and Thank You Dianna for the Christmas card, it arrived today πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0051

DSC_0052
DSC_0059

DSC_0060

 

It is time to get something to eat and I think I might make some rose-hip soup today.

Have a great day!

 

Here it is, tha package from Joyce! Beautifulas always and very heavy too, the girl in the post office had problems carrying it and for a while it looked like she would drop it :-) The dog treat bag was placed beside in the big package and they are very happy now becausae they were allowed to get some of it :-)

Here it is, tha package from Joyce! Beautiful as always and very heavy too, the girl in the post office had problems carrying it and for a while it looked like she would drop it πŸ™‚ The dog treat bag was placed beside in the big package and they are very happy now because they were allowed to get some of it πŸ™‚

12 responses

  1. Hi Christer,
    Okay, now you must post that picture of you gripping your gingerbread as you suffer proximity to the Yule Gnome. πŸ™‚ I, for one, would love to see that.

    Whenever you mention the Yule Gnome, I think of Jan Brett style illustrations of goats with lovely embroidered harnesses or reindeer with lovely embroidered harnesses or even BEARS! Oh My!, yes, with lovely embroidered harnesses. There’s a theme, here. πŸ™‚

    Yes, I suppose it’s not always fun to be the only sober person at a work party. I usually have one or two glasses of wine so am mostly sober at parties. But my friends and family are rather clever and funny when they’re sober and are only a little less so when in their cups.

    I’m glad you’re getting some chuckles out of Small Gods. Pratchett is one of my favorite authors and Small Gods is one of my favorite Pratchetts.

    Today is dreary, damp and cool. Normal temperatures are forecast for the next few days but then we go back up into the 60’s Fahrenheit for Christmas Eve and Christmas Day. At this rate we’ll be having Xmas barbecue on the back deck. Thanks, Climate Change. πŸ™‚

    Enjoy the evening.

    December 18, 2015 at 5:06 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I’ll see if I photograph it so I can show it on christmas eve πŸ™‚

      I think I can remember at least one picture with a goat wearing an embroided harness πŸ™‚ I’ll see if I can find some photos of old pictures on the net that I can show here. That man must love embroided harnesses πŸ™‚ can’t say I’ve ever heard of a bear wearing one though πŸ™‚

      No work parties are no fun to be at if one needs to be sober πŸ™‚ I don’t like getting drunk anyway so I’m fine with being sober but not with workfriends around πŸ™‚ They will also fear what I might have seen them doing, drunk people don’t remember as much as sober ones πŸ™‚ I have however no problems being sober amongst my friends, to be honest I have no problems being drunk around them either πŸ™‚

      I do like that book a lot πŸ™‚ I haven’t come far into it yet but having a great time reading it. I also bought the other one You mentioned, Hogfather.

      The wind has started to howl outside but I don’t think it will turn in to a storm though. I don’t mind warmer winters either even if we are a bit behind You πŸ™‚ Still, it will be warm enough for a bbq here too on christmas eve πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 18, 2015 at 6:27 pm

  2. Hi Christer,

    I was always the same way about employer Christmas parties. I worked for the same employer for 18 years, about 30 minutes from where I live. But they always had their Christmas party during the evening, after the work day, at a restaurant 20 more minutes further away, higher into the mountains. Because of the timing of Christmas, there was always an increased chance of snow, especially during the evening when the temperatures would get colder. Going to the Christmas party meant that I had to stay very sober for the long, dark, almost hour-long drive home, especially during inclement weather. I’ve been retired now for 2 1/2 years, but the last few years I worked for that employer, I declined the invitation to the party, even though the employer would pay for the meal. I cannot say that my co-workers actually got drunk, but much of the conversation at the party was relatively meaningless. My co-workers must have considered me to be a real “spoil-sport”!

    Thanks so much for your blog posts throughout the year, which I always enjoy reading … and your excellent photos, too! Wishing you a very Merry Yuletide/Christmas and a bright, cheerful, and prosperous New Year.

    Adele

    December 18, 2015 at 5:13 pm

    • Hi Adele!

      No risk of snow here but the wind has started to howl again.

      My work friends will get drunk, they always do and they’re no fun at all even if they believe so themselves πŸ™‚ I have no problem what so ever to tell them that either πŸ™‚ For some reason thay also always feel the need to tell me how great they think I am, something I know they don’t think while being sober πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ And there’s always the ones that suddenly believes that I’ll drive them home even if I live at the opposite direction and they won’t pay for any petrol either.

      Have a Good Yule!

      Christer.

      December 18, 2015 at 6:31 pm

  3. Dianna

    Hi Christer!! Glad the card found you in time! One can never be too sure with the post. You can have some of our snow if you like – I think all in total our city got just under 20 cms. That’s alot of snow!! Someone was going too fast yesterday and decided to rear end us too. No damage to our car (we have a trailer hitch on the back) but his car had damage. And I think what really irritated me about the whole thing was he did not even apologize. Nothing! Made me mad! But no one was hurt which was a good thing. But that’s what happens in this city with lots of snow and drivers who are impatient, trying to run lights. I love the photo of the cow staring out of the barn. I laughed when I saw it. I always wonder what they are thinking. πŸ™‚ Really great photos today – and my favorite one of the stream and the tree bridges! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I totally understand the whole dinner thing with co workers. I’d rather not either. And when there is alcohol involved, no thanks! I am a total homebody – love being at home and once I get home, it takes alot for me to go back out again. Especially in this weather! What I’d really like to see is the picture of you with the Yule gnome!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Love those young year pictures! I hope you have a really good evening and enjoy the delicious rose hip soup! Are you having it with ice cream? πŸ™‚

    December 18, 2015 at 6:38 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      I hope all my cards that I’ve sent over seas willarrive before christmas, some have already but not all. As You say, one never knows with our mailservices πŸ™‚

      I’m ok with the snow but You can send some of Your colder air, I’m getting tired of strong winds now πŸ™‚

      I’m glad nothing worse happened to You and I’ve noticed that the ones guilty of doing something like that never apologize, they behave more like it was the one hit that was responsible and therefore should appoloigize to them instead.

      I think that bull was wondering why he was the only one thinking it was nice to stay indoors πŸ™‚

      It is fun as long as everyone is sober but some come drunk and are tiresome already from the beginning. If there are conflicts at the work place those issues usually comes up to the surface too and I feel my free time is just too valuable to waste on those things.

      I might photograph that photo and show it on christmnas eve morning.

      ‘m just having the rose-hip soup as it is, I have nothing else to put in it πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      December 18, 2015 at 9:14 pm

  4. jaz

    hi christer! i am always so relieved when the box makes it to you. i worry that it would get lost but it always shows up and in pretty good time. i’m glad the pups are liking those treats!

    December 18, 2015 at 11:26 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      That package has always reached my home thankfully πŸ™‚ We start talking about it at work when December starts πŸ™‚

      They just love those treats, I think I can make them do anything to get a bite of it πŸ™‚ Thank You!

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      December 19, 2015 at 5:13 am

  5. Kat

    Christer,
    Nothing better than surprises to open on Christmas. I love to see them under the tree-all that anticipation.

    Tonight will be in the 30’s but it will be 55˚ by Christmas. That is so not Christmas in New England. It is usually cold and often we even have snow.

    I love the idea of gnomes. My nephew’s daughter and my niece’s son, both almost a year and a half, cried when they went to see Santa. Actually they screamed in fright. That seems to be common with little kids.

    Enjoy your weekend!

    December 18, 2015 at 11:52 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      So true and since this is the only package I have it’s something I look forward too πŸ™‚ Too big to put under my tree though, the tree is just 12 inches high πŸ™‚

      Almost 50 here during the night and if I had still lived in my old home town this would have been pretty normal but not here and especially not two christmases in a row like it is this time. I do actually miss that thick, thick rime that covers the trees when it is as coldest here but still, I don’t mind that it is warm either πŸ™‚

      I’m not sure what it is that terrifies children when they meat Santa/ the Yule Gnome? but he is scary. I remember how life got better when I was told he wasn’t real πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      December 19, 2015 at 5:18 am

  6. Hi, Christer and Merry Christmas. It has been unseasonably warm here on the east coast of the US and I am having trouble feeling like it truly is the Christmas season when the air temp is closer to that of Easter. What a beautiful package you received! The sender has a way with wrapping. Exquisite! I had great plans for sending presents overseas but health issues got in the way. I am going in the hospital on 1/8 for a shoulder replacement (isn’t it amazing what surgeons can do now?) and the limitations in movement have put a damper onma lot of my holiday spirit. That said, I do want to wish you and the critters all the joys and blessings of this beautiful season as well as peace, health and happiness in the new year. I had not received your posts for a while and now see why – you are up to volume 3!

    You mentioned that there are not many Swedish saints. I can think of at least one – St. Lucia, right? I have seen images of little girls in white dresses with candle wreaths on their heads – so pretty. I do not know much about her as a saint and would love to hear about her. I also wonder if you have any tried and true cookies or other baked goods you make every Christmas? This is the first year I have not made cookies but Inhave developed late-onset rheumatoid arthritis which destroyed both shoulder joints in a very short period of time and Inam having a lot of trouble reaching things in the kitchen. No home-made cookies this year but I would love to have a special cookie recipe of yours if you have one to share. After surgery, once I can get out and about, I am going to try to duplicate a cookie I tasted a few days ago from a local Italian bakery. The cookie was a sandwich cookie made from very thin butter cookies about the size of our commrcially made ‘Nilla wafers. Nutella (a chocolate hazelnut spread) was put on the flat side of one cookie, then sandwiched to another. Then, a mix of Nutella and melted semi-sweet chocolate was drizzled over the top of the two layer cookie. They just melt in your mouth and I promise to send some as soon after surgery as possible. My usual favorite cookie to make is butter spritz made with a cookie press. Do you have one of those? My most favorite were the thin bars with ridges and I am already envisioning them spread with Nutella and sandwiched to another bar as above. YUM. I just wrote myself a BIG note to send you some in February, once I can drive again. Enjoy your holidays and have a cup of tea for me, okay? Rose hip soup sounds very interesting. Is it a cold soup? Merry Christmas!

    December 19, 2015 at 2:28 pm

    • Hi myroseindecember!

      Nice to see You here again πŸ™‚

      It is the same here, very warm for the season, almost 50F today and it will get a bit warmer already tomorrow. I don’t mind a green christmas but I would have liked it to be on the chilly side, our weather is usually calmer when it gets colder. The ground is soaked with water now so there are roads I can’t walk on at the moment, I would sink in the mud πŸ™‚

      I didn’t know there were shoulder replacements! Good to know because my right shoulder is slowly giving up now. I’m not sure if it is my rheumatism or if I’m just worn out πŸ™‚ I wish You good luck with the surgery!

      Saint Lucia is actually an Italian saint. There are several different versions about her but one is that she refused to marry a pagan and as punishment they cut out her eyes and then burned her alive. Older saints usually have a cruel ending of their lives.

      I actually have no special cookies I make to Christmas, if I make any it would be gingerbread (I gues gingerbread recipes arev much the same all over the world). I rather go to a confectionery and buy some there, especially since I tend to eat them way to fast and way too many as well πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ and to be honest, there are usually cookies in the package from Joyce πŸ™‚ She sure knows how to wrap packages beautiful!

      Rose-hip soup can be both warm or cold. I like it warm and if I have vanilla ice cream at home I put some in the soup πŸ™‚ but normally I just have it warm with nothing in it or with almond macaroons πŸ™‚

      Have a great day and take care of those shoulders of Yours!

      Christer.

      December 19, 2015 at 2:48 pm

Leave a Reply

