Those eggs are hard to find.

DSC_0024

I don’t know why the sky turned out this blue in the photo because it was definitely dark grey.

The day has been rather dark and gloomy and the promised fog did arrive, on the other side of the valley. I think I can say valley because on one side it’s the big mountain and I live on the other side and the ground is slightly lower down in between. Still, the mountain peak is 200 meters (219 yards) higher up than this village is. So here I could see the fog clearly but we got as best some thick haze on this side.

 

DSC_0023

DSC_0025 (1)

DSC_0027 (1)

We’ve almost reached 10C (50F) today, so it was a bit too warm to wear a winter jacket but still a bit to chilly to only wear a sweater, it could have been sweater weather if it hadn’t been for the wind. I can’t feel much of here around the cottage but as soon as I walk up the slope I live at the bottom of the wind hits and it gets a bit chilly. No such problem in the forest though so I should just have left the jacket at home.

 

DSC_0029

DSC_0033 (1)

DSC_0035 (1)

One of the beings we have in our folklore and one I don’t think many know about is the Spiritus, I know I didn’t know anything about it when I grew up. The Spiritus (also called Spertus) came from hell and could bring wealth and success to its owner. So if a person knew a lot of black magic he could “easily” get one. One way was to tie a human leg on a hook, go to a creek and fish there for three nights in a row and on the third night the ugly little creature, much looking like an insect most of the times would follow the leg up out of the water.

 

DSC_0039 (1)

DSC_0041 (1)

DSC_0042 (1)

Another way was to brood a roosters egg in the arm pit, according to legends here roosters lay one egg every year. Personally I doubt that though πŸ™‚ Anyway, when the egg hatched it would be a Spiritus that crawled out of it. The Spiritus lived in a beautiful carved box and the only thing the owner had to do was to feed it with a big spit each morning but it had to be a spit on an empty stomach (the owner could not even drink any water). If he forgot to do it while having an empty stomach the Spiritus would go back to hell and punish the former owner severely.

 

DSC_0045 (1)

DSC_0048

DSC_0050

The owner would have a good life with lots of money as long as the spiritus lived and it was best not to be too greedy and keep it for too long, because if the Spiritus died the owner would follow it to hell. It could however be sold two times and it was important to know that because the third owner would have no chance to avoid hell since he couldn’t sell the being. So when the third owner was about to die the Spiritus would leave its box and place itself on the chest of the owner and in that way claim him as his own and to hell. The two previous owners however would still have a chance to get in to heaven.

 

DSC_0051 (1)

DSC_0053

DSC_0055

I think I’ll continue to try the lottery instead πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ and to be honest how do one recognise if the egg comes from a hen or a rooster and human legs can’t be found that easily now days πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0056

DSC_0059 (1)

DSC_0066

 

Have a great day!

13 responses

  1. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Thank you for the lovely Yule card! It came in yesterday’s post. πŸ™‚ Fantastic picture, I am going to frame this one! πŸ™‚ I think the sky is a wonderful color in the picture – even if it didn’t look like that via the naked eye. That blue is surreal so it just adds to the photo I think. Well, we are cold this morning. -19 when I woke up. The wind chill today will make it feel like -30. Then we get mild again. Funny how this winter is behaving so far. We are due some snow today too. Loved the folklore story today – although I thought to myself that roosters don’t lay eggs πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ You have to wonder how fantastic imaginations were back then to create lore like this. Or maybe there really was creatures and beings during that time and there was no imagination needed! One can never be too sure. Well, its off to the vet today. Salem, our oldest cat, has dropped alot of weight in a very short amount of time. She’s still eating and behaving normally, but this is concerning to me. It could very well be her thyroid – older female cats are known for thyroid problems. So I am sure it will be a shed load of money to find out what the problem is. But that’s ok – as long as we find out what’s going on. Then I am off to one of our local food banks/soup kitchens. We have 2 massive turkeys to donate and I have knitted a bagful of scarves for those who need more than we do. Busy day ahead! Tomorrow I will make bread to give to our neighbors and to my boss. Have a good day!!!

    December 19, 2015 at 3:46 pm

    • um,….. I’m not a professional anything but if you do take Salem to the vet. i would ask for them to run a T4 when they do her bloodwork.
      sounds like she could indeed have super -thyroid. There are soft pills that make medicating cats quite simple.
      If so, break them in two and roll into tiny balls and usually they will eat them right up, Good luck.

      December 19, 2015 at 3:57 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      I’m so glad it has arrived, more and more cards over seas seems to arrive at their destination, I haven’t been that lucky with that before πŸ™‚ I just wish I could have found one with more color in it.

      I normally don’t like the blue light we get here in winters when we have snow but I am ok with it in this photo even if it is a lie πŸ™‚

      I think You are the only one I know iof that actually have winter this year πŸ™‚ Everyone else still have either summer temperatures or autumn temperatures. Rather odd I think. -19 however is a bit too cold if there’s wind involved too.

      I must admit that I didn’t think roosters laid eggs either but if legend says so it must be true πŸ™‚ A bit tricky to keep it in the arm pit that long though πŸ™‚ I guess it helps to create the Spiritus if one doesn’t wash there or use deodorant πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I truly hope that there never has been something like a Spiritus though, those are only nasty, the other beings usually have something forgiving about them but not the spiritus. A cheap one though since it lives in a box and only eat spit πŸ™‚

      Listen To Cindi! She works in a vet station so she knows what she’s talking about!
      It does sound like it is the thyroid behind her problems, especially since there’s nothing wrong with the apetite. I hope it isn’t something too expensive even if it usually is.

      Yes You do have a busy day ahead, take it easy in the traffic!

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      December 19, 2015 at 4:50 pm

  2. are you making this stuff up?
    πŸ˜‰
    LOVE the blue in first photo.
    Teodor made my smile BIG
    got your Good Yule card!
    Thank you. πŸ™‚
    it’s hanging on my frig. all by itself.
    i haven’t got a single other card.
    but then again, I haven’t sent out any either.
    So there’s that….LOL!
    Maybe I will send out New Years cards!
    but of course, first I would have to make them.
    Thanks again!

    December 19, 2015 at 3:52 pm

    • Hi Cindi!

      I’m not sure if I would be able to come up with something like this myself πŸ™‚

      It turns out that nice Teo actually is a rather nasty cat towards his own brother! He attacks Bertil when Bertil wants to go outside and I can’t have anything like that. So next time he behaves like that I won’t allow him in over night (it is so warm now that he won’t suffer but he will be rather pissed to be honest πŸ™‚ ). He’s twice the size of Bertil so the little one have no chance of getting away if his brother surprises him like he did today.

      More and more people over seas are getting the card now πŸ™‚ I haven’t been especially lucky with that previous years πŸ™‚ I am thinking of making an Easter card next year πŸ™‚ I already have an idea and I hope I’ll make one in time!

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      December 19, 2015 at 4:55 pm

  3. that Spiritus is a complicated creature!!
    I think you better stick with the lottery , lol,,,
    the cats look so happy today,,

    December 19, 2015 at 6:30 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      yes and a bit part evil πŸ™‚ So Yes I’ll stick to the lottery πŸ™‚

      He’s a bit nasty towards his brother though!

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      December 19, 2015 at 8:31 pm

  4. Hi Christer,
    Spiritus sounds like too much trouble to acquire and rather disgusting and dangerous to keep.
    I think it’s just a story some guy made up to explain to his wife why he has to hack up a lung in her nice wooden box first thing every morning. πŸ™‚

    Bertil is doing what Piki Dog does. Walking along normal as you please and suddenly throws himself into a complete roll. Piki Dog prefers grass and usually does three or four of these in a row. He’s really happy if there’s something stinky in the grass to add to the pleasure. πŸ™‚

    I picked up a stray dog this afternoon. Rocky wouldn’t let him in the car without a fight and I didn’t want to be sitting in a confined space while three dogs battled it out. So I froze outside for quite awhile because I didn’t bring a jacket with me and the wind chill was quite frigid.
    The dog had a rabies tag with a serial number and a phone number. I called and gave the operator the serial number but her description didn’t match the dog. I had a black and tan Welsh terrier type and she was talking about a corky or something small and white. She said she’d do more research and call me back. Meanwhile, I’d called my brother for help and he and my sister-in-law came and took the stray to the local vet to be scanned for a microchip. I was on the way there when the dog’s owner called me. The tag company had given her my number. She said her father and sister were out looking for the dog and would meet me at the vet’s office to pick him up which they did and everyone was happy. All’s well that end’s well, I guess.

    I get that blue cast when I use manual. Using a filter or shooting on fully automatic will take away most of it.
    Or changing the white balance to something illogical like Sunny Snow Day πŸ™‚

    Enjoy the evening.

    December 20, 2015 at 3:46 am

    • Hi Caryn!

      The spitting part I can take, after all I will get rather wealthy but I wouldn’t buy one, those roosters eggs are just too hard to find and the human leg is a bit tricy too but to be honest way too yucky to use πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Teodor loves to roll around on that gravel road, the muddier the better, I’ve never had a cat who is so dirty likje he is sometimes πŸ™‚

      Great that You stopped to pick it up even if You had to stand in the cold for such a long time πŸ™‚ We don’t have rabies tags but the law says all dogs must be either microchipped or tattoed in their ear, lots of dogs have neither here. I’m glad the owners got him back.

      I have actualy tried to use fully automatic to getr id of that blue light but I guess we just have too much blue in our early morning light because they still look blue πŸ™‚ Normally we only get it when we have lots of snow though.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      December 20, 2015 at 6:34 am

  5. Kat

    Christer,
    I so love your stories of magical beings. Your folklore has the most amazing creatures. This one is like buying a pig in a poke (a saying which means you don’t know what you’re buying as you can’t see the pig). I think I’d hope to find one as buying one has too many pitfalls.

    I haven’t ever heard of a rooster egg. They are so rare as to be nonexistent.

    Today was winter. It was cold and windy, and I needed a jacket for the first time. It will disappear as we will have nearly 60˚ for Christmas.

    Have a great day!

    December 20, 2015 at 3:50 am

    • Hi Kat!

      We say that we buy a pig in the sack πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Unfortunately it can’t just be found as long as the owner still lives it will only belong to him/ her and if the owner dies the Spiritus will bring its owner down to hell and it won’t return to us again. I think I’ll stay with the lottery even if I rarely win more than ten US dollars at a time πŸ™‚

      Yes those eggs are very rare :-)But if legend says they lay one every year it must be true, I’m pretty sure the right wing nuts in the Republican party in Your country would agree with me on that (well we haqve them here too but here they aren’t so loud) πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      We reached and went above 50F during the night here, we might actually get some sun this morning!!! πŸ™‚ so perhaps I’ll just wear a sweater today πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      December 20, 2015 at 6:41 am

  6. Well, had I been born in your country, I would have been a mess..I have a wild imagination and slept much of my life with my head under the covers..and sometimes didn’t sleep until daylight. Yep..I would have been terrified! πŸ™‚ Even as an adult I get spooked at times.
    That’s not a Christmas story, is it? Sounds sort of Halloweenish to me. The little girls carrying candles with wreaths on their heads appeal more to me. Your country is so green and beautiful. The week before Christmas is such a magical time.. Do you burn a Yule log..I forget.

    December 20, 2015 at 4:44 am

    • Hi Mona!

      If You had You woukld have been used to stories about them and probably wouldn’t have been scared at all πŸ™‚ This one however isn’t that well known and it is a bit nasty to be honest.

      No, it isn’t a christmas story but then again we have very few christmas stories with our beings in them, they are all year round stories πŸ™‚

      We reached 50 and above during the night and it will be much the same today but we might even get some sunshine this morning πŸ™‚ No christmas feelings from the weather but at least it won’t rain πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      December 20, 2015 at 6:45 am

Leave a Reply

