We almost had sunshine today.

I tried the highest ISO that I can find in my camera this morning, ISO 25600 :-)

I tried the highest ISO that I can find in my camera this morning, ISO 25600 πŸ™‚ It is Venus You can see shine so bright in the sky.

We almost had sunshine today! It did shine through the clod that seemed to follow its path so well that it never managed to actually shine from above the cloud, just through it. The rest of the sky was clear blue for most of the morning but not where the sun was rising and this time of year the sun doesn’t rise especially high at all. Still we do have the chance of seeing it, they don’t see it at all in the most northern parts of this country now and won’t for several more weeks.

 

It was actually a bit darker when I turned to my neighbors christmas lights.

It was actually a bit darker when I turned to my neighbors christmas lights.

DSC_0032 (1)

DSC_0034

It is and has been warm all day though, we reached 11C (51,8F) as warmest so it did feel like we had an early spring day here. The birds didn’t sing though, a few tweets but that was it. They don’t even come to the bird food I’ve given them. I guess that since it is as warm as it is they still have plenty to eat as it is. It is only the ones living in my garden who comes to the food, like the House sparrows, the Great tit and the Blue tit. For once I’m not ruining me on bird food or deer food because the deers don’t come here either as long as the grass grows in the fields. I do have a sack with deer food tough just in case it would get colder again.

 

DSC_0036

DSC_0037 (1)

DSC_0040

All the fish in my aquarium died over one night last winterΒ if You remember I wrote about it and I think it was because one of the cats peed down into the water. So it has been empty since then but today I thought it was time to bring in the goldfish I have had in the big water barrels where I collect rain water. I have them there so they’ll eat all the mosquito and fly larvae that otherwise would thrive there. Twice the barrels have been almost deep frozen but I could see the fish move around in there so I knew they were alive. Goldfish are cold-water fish so as long as they don’t get deep frozen themselves cold weather is no problem for them.

 

The edge of the cloud was so near but still so far away for the sun to reach above with its light.

The edge of the cloud was so near but still so far away for the sun to reach above with its light.

DSC_0045 (1)

Yes I do take a new one each time I walk beside this creek, it isn't the same photo every time :-)

Yes I do take a new one each time I walk beside this creek, it isn’t the same photo every time πŸ™‚

 

They stop eating when the temperature drops below 10C (50F) in the water as they would do if they still would have lived in the wild. They wouldn’t start to eat again until the temperature would rise above that again, instead they would live on the fat they would have put on during the summer months. Still, I wanted to be sure they wouldn’t be deep frozen so I filled up the aquarium with cold water, went out and picked up all six of them and placed them in a bowl in the aquarium so that they would get the same temperature as it was in the aquarium. They would die of chock if I just put them down in a much warmer weather.

 

It is impossible to walk up stream now, I would sink down into that mud.

It is impossible to walk up-stream now, I would sink down into that mud.

DSC_0055

So close :-)

So close πŸ™‚

It is still not especially warm in the aquarium but the fish swims around and look like they are doing alright. I’ll put something above the holes where I give them food and where the electric wires to the filter goes down, those cats won’t get a chance to pee down in to the water again, ever πŸ™‚ I had planned to place the aquarium in my cool cellar but I do like to see those colorful fishes in my living room.

 

DSC_0052 (1)

DSC_0059 (1)

DSC_0060 (1)

It is time to give the animals their food and then I’ll return to my book. By the way, I have a few more photos in My National Geographic album that >I don’t think You’ve seen before. Just click on the red text here: National Geographic!

 

DSC_0061

DSC_0069

DSC_0070

 

Have a great day!

6 responses

  1. Hi Christer,
    I love the last two photos of Sune and Nova. Sune is like Rocky with the sticks. Sticks are probably Rocky’s most favorite toy of all.
    And Nova looks as though she is saying “Well, come on. Let’s move, people.” πŸ™‚

    Here in my yard I have the usual winter birds. English sparrows, cardinals, blue jays, chickadees, tufted titmice (or should that be titmouses? IDK), white breasted nuthatches and crows. The only ones making a lot of noise are the sparrows and the crows. Now and then the jays screech at something. Once in awhile the red tail hawks come by and call to each other. The hawks are probably annoyed because I have no feeders out yet. There’s plenty of food still out there for the birds so they are not congregated in one small area which would make it very convenient for the hawks to pick them off. The squirrels aren’t gathered in one place either. Life is tough for hawks in my yard this year. No buffet with all the tasty treats gathered together for the taking.

    Yes, there were a couple of photos over on NatGeo that I hadn’t seen here or on FB. I clicked your hearts. πŸ™‚
    That site still mystifies me. I put two photos up this morning because I hadn’t for quite a while. Within seconds there were 6 Favorites notices in my Inbox for the first one before I’d finished the uploading the second one. I can’t figure out how they know. Do people just watch the new posts 24/7 and Favorite whatever comes up? They must have thousands of photos in their Faves. πŸ™‚

    The morning is sunny and closer to normal temperatures for December. No wind so it’s comfortable to be outside. Unlike yesterday. πŸ™‚

    Enjoy the day.

    December 20, 2015 at 4:49 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      Yes Sune loves his sticks and that was just what Nova meant πŸ™‚ She always think we walk too slow πŸ™‚

      We don’t have many raptors around in winter, mostly the goshawks and sparrow hawks. I can see the occasional eagle but they stay closer to the lake where they are fed during the winter. I always think it is better to wait with the feeding unbtil the birds have eaten most of the pests in the garden but I don’t think I’ve started this late before and still they prefer to look for food elswhere.

      Sometimes the newsfeed works so fast on fb that it’s hard to see everything that is posted there πŸ™‚ But I have posted all photos I put in that album on fb. I saw that You had πŸ™‚

      Yes some are surprisingltΓ½ fast πŸ™‚ Then again, how many is looking there at the same time? I guess it isn’t that strange that many click at the same time. I have loads of favorites, I always pick out favorites when I visit an album there. I pick out those who I like most in that album and I would perhaps not have so many favorites if I only picked those I think are best in the entire site. I think, like I have faviorites in their browsers too.

      The wind is once again pretty strong but it is pitch black outside so I won’t go outside anyway πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 20, 2015 at 5:35 pm

      • I used to go to albums of those who had favorited my stuff and pick out one or two to favorite. That’s the only way I could find those people again because there’s no way to Favorite people. I like to go and see what they’re doing now.
        At first it was mostly the same people that liked my photos with a new person showing up now and then. Now it’s all new people all the time with no repeats. Once in a while someone will actually view my portfolio and favorite some other photos. Even more rare is the person who comments or clicks any of the critique buttons. I always click the critique buttons as well as the heart button. πŸ™‚ I only Favorite if I really, really like it. Even so, I think I have a few hundred in there. πŸ™‚

        December 20, 2015 at 6:29 pm

      • I do just that but pick out all the ones I like and sometimes it’s just one or two but sometimes really many if it is a good photographer. I have people who comes back every now and again, especially many from India and the United States.

        Today I ordered nuts from the Shagbark hickory πŸ™‚ If we’ll get winters like this it’ll survive without any problems πŸ™‚

        December 20, 2015 at 8:49 pm

  2. Dianna

    Hi Christer! We haven’t had sun since Friday. We got alot more snow yesterday and more is due on Wednesday. We are definitely going to have a white Yule and an even whiter Christmas! πŸ™‚ Just came back from taking the puppy for a walk. Its impossible to walk all 3 together – Karma is just too overly excited and annoys the other dogs. So, we take turns. Tonight Tucker gets to go for a car ride as we are going to look at Christmas lights. Yesterday I spent $300 dollars (Canadian) at the vet. Salem, our oldest cat has lost a significant amount of weight and she when she breathes she looks like a fish. So the vet detected her thyroid which I thought might be it but she also discovered a massive heart murmur and she fears some kidney disease. So….we wait for the blood tests to come back (Cindi – she did run a complete CBC, T4 and chemistry on her – thank you for commenting yesterday too! πŸ™‚ ) She’s relatively comfortable but I can see decline – be it ever so slowly. Poor girl – she’s a feisty little thing and this is just taking its toll on her. She’s right now sleeping on the huge dog bed – and she won’t let the other dogs on it! πŸ™‚ Today I am baking cinnamon sugar nut bread – some go to my lovely neighbors (the only ones) πŸ™‚ and some to my boss tomorrow. Then I am done for the day! Have a good evening!!

    December 20, 2015 at 9:32 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      You are the only one of those coming here that have winter, everywhere else we seems to break the record on the opposite scale πŸ™‚

      That was an awful lot, I actually know how much that is in Swedish kronor because I ordered seeds from Gardens North yesterday πŸ™‚ but that is what we do when our family get sick. I hope they can help her! I’ll hold my thumbs for good luck! But it sounds as if she still has full controll of the dogs πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      I once had a neighbor who every time she baked sugar cookies around Christmas baked one small box for her and her husband, one small box for each child of their and a huge one for me πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      December 21, 2015 at 6:11 pm

Leave a Reply

