There’s always something showing what they are.

Att spara 10 (12)

Only oneย and a half day left before the yule vacation starts ๐Ÿ™‚ I will work on Monday the 28th but otherwise I won’t start working until Monday the 4th of January. This is the shortest yule vacation I’ve had in years, normally I wouldn’t have started to work until the 11th but we just have too much to do this winter and that is of course a good thing even if I’d rather be at home ๐Ÿ™‚

 

Att spara 13 (2) 54

Att spara 13 (3)

Att spara 13 (4)

If I look at the weather predictions on the net it says a cloudy but rain free yule even but if I look at the prediction on tv they say a sunny yule eve and it is the same company that makes the predictions ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ I guess that’s one way to at least get one prediction right ๐Ÿ™‚

 

Att spara 11 (8)

Att spara 11 (9)

Att spara 11 (10)

There are actually a few different kinds of gnomes here in Scandinavia. The one we think of firstly is of course the house gnome (or farm gnome) but there are at least two other kinds here, one who stays on ships Wooden ships of course, not metal ones) and then we have the Mill Man or the Stream Man. Scandinavia has lots of streams and they have often been used as a power source, especially for mills where they grinded flour.

 

Att spara 14 (8)

Att spara 14 (15)

Att spara 14 (3)

Naturally a place like that has to have a gnome too and they live down at theย wheel housing close toย the water wheel. Like their relatives the house gnomes they help the miller to keep the order at the mill and make sure that the miller does his work at the right time. If for instance the miller gets the idea in his head that he should grind at night, the Mill Man stops the wheel from spinning because he is like the house gnome extremely strong.

 

att spara 18 (2)

att spara 18 (3)

att spara 18 (4)

The reasons to why he does this can vary naturally, he likes to have it quiet around him in the evenings because he is like the water sprite “Nรคcken” very good in playing the violin. Other times he might stop the wheel just because he is in a nasty mood. But one can make him happy again by either give him a sliver coin or some snuff (we call it snus) which is a tobacco product he really likes a lot. But it can also be because he feels lonely and want to have company, that is something the house gnome never would do, the house gnome accepts humans but really don’t like them.

 

Att spara 14 (28)

Att spara 14 (36)

Att spara 14 (37)

Like house gnomes they are rather small and look like grumpy old men (they are only male, never female) but one can always recognise a Mill Man because there’s always something that shows he’s magic, like having an extremely long nose or perhaps only one eye in the forehead ๐Ÿ™‚

 

Att spara 17 (11)

Att spara 17 (12)

Att spara 17 (13)

It is time for some food and cocoa I think.

Have a great day!

 

A98388-00018

8 responses

  1. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Happy Yule!! ๐Ÿ™‚ Believe it or not, I was a gnome growing up! ๐Ÿ™‚ Let me explain the story – I am not sure if they have this organization in Sweden, but I belonged to something called The Brownies (similar to Girl Guides but younger). I was assigned to be a gnome. I was a “happy gnome – helping mothers in their homes”. I was SO mad being a gnome, I wanted to be a pixie or a kelpie but no, I was a gnome. I only did one year that’s how mad I was! ๐Ÿ™‚ Funny. I find it intriguing that gnomes are only male. Well, we are guaranteed snow for Yule and Christmas. Its snowing as I type. And its supposed to continue on until Friday. ๐Ÿ™‚ I have next week off and plan on going off the grid as much as possible to recharge. And if it snows, I guess I will do alot of shoveling too! ๐Ÿ™‚ Have a happy evening and a blessed Yule!

    December 21, 2015 at 7:57 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      We don’t have brownies, girl Guides or Girl scouts here, just scouts and they are mixed boys and girls but I know what You mean. Most kids like to be gnomes on Saint Lucias day but I don’t think I’ve ever heard anyone wanting to be one otherwise ๐Ÿ™‚ so I can understand that You wasn’t too happy about it ๐Ÿ™‚ I did have to check what a kelpie is, we have them here too and call them Bรคckahรคstar, creek horses. Nasty beings to be honest so I have to say I’m a bit surprised You wanted to be one ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

      Yes, only males. No one has ever seen a female and perhaps that’s why they are a bit grumpy ๐Ÿ™‚

      No showeling here but tyey say we might get some cooler arctic air coming down for a short while. That will at least give me a chansรฉ to get some nice frosty photos ๐Ÿ™‚

      Happy Yule to You too!

      Christer.

      December 21, 2015 at 9:00 pm

  2. Hi Christer,
    The creek looks lovely in the photos with the golden light. I also love the photo with the frosted tree and dead flowers.

    Why do magical small beings like gnomes always look like grumpy old men with long noses? It must be that grumpy old person thing about telling people to get off their lawns. ๐Ÿ™‚
    I’ve read that you can’t always tell the males from the females. At least for dwarves and maybe trolls. I forget. If you read more Terry Pratchett, you will learn that. ๐Ÿ™‚

    It’s cool that the Mill Man stops the wheel just because he feels like chatting. I suppose it’s “helping” in that he ensures that the miller will not overwork himself.

    It’s cloudy and windy today. It’s allegedly 51ยบF but the wind makes it feel more like 15ยบF. Well maybe not that cold but still uncomfortable. It made my eyes water when I was outside with the dogs.

    Enjoy the day and your Yule vacation.

    December 21, 2015 at 8:04 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I do like the frosted one.

      Well, at least the gnome varieties do look grumpy and have a nasty temper but the wights are quite nice and look nice. But I think You might be right about that ๐Ÿ™‚

      I know that it is hard to see if a dwarf is a female or male but our trolls are a bit different from Yours, much more human like, so those are easy to see the difference in. There are however no female gnomes and perhaps that’s the reason they are so grumpy ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ve never hear of a gay gnome either but who knows ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

      Yes he’s much more social than the other ones and I think You might be right about that, I guess he doesn’t like change and new people so he rather keep the one miller he knows alive ๐Ÿ™‚

      Only one and a half day left to Yule vacation ๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      December 21, 2015 at 9:06 pm

  3. Kat

    Christer,
    All the gnomes seem to be nasty sorts. They hold men in a variety of ways and you can only appease them by giving them something. They seem to like expensive gifts.

    I have a gnome I bought who is quite friendly looking. He is on the deck all summer, and I bring him inside for winter as I wouldn’t want him to freeze.

    Christmas Eve this year may set a record for warmth. Boston will have nearly 70หš while the Cape will be in the mid 60’s. That is just so warm. The weather people don’t see snow in the next few weeks and December may go down as the warmest December on record. Yesterday it was 35หš by night, and we were all complaining how cold it was. We must have short memories as that is the usual December temperature.’

    Have a great evening!

    December 21, 2015 at 8:35 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      They are truly grumpy but can also be very helpful when they want too and snus (snuff) is a rather cheap gift after all ๐Ÿ™‚ But silver will probably make them even nicer ๐Ÿ™‚

      I have a garden gnome too and he always smiles. I guess a real gnome would see him as a bit mentally challenged since he’s so happy ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ll bring mine indoors after yule. I think he’s made to survive winter outside but I don’t want to risk loosing him since he is a gifrยดt from friends who know I don’t like garden gnomes ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

      I think this December might break the record too but they say we’ll get some colder air from the arctic for a few days and that might stop the record from being made. It must have felt cold only having 35 since You’ve had for us late spring temperatures for quite some time ๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      December 21, 2015 at 9:12 pm

  4. such amazing tales you tell us,, and beautiful photos as well,

    December 22, 2015 at 12:50 am

    • Hi Laurie!

      And these are mosty only from one book ๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      December 22, 2015 at 6:01 pm

Leave a Reply

