Only a half day more.

DSC_0031 (1)

The day started sunny and nice but now the rain pours down and the wind roarsย over the trees. For once these low pressures comes when it is dark and no one is outside anyway ๐Ÿ™‚ Iย feel like going to bed really early just so tomorrow ill come faster and the yule vacation too ๐Ÿ™‚ I need to write a list today so I can buy the last things I need for my yule dinner, or yulebord as we call it. I’ll start with the ham tomorrow so I can grill it on yule eve morning with eggs, mustard and bread crumbs.

 

DSC_0062

DSC_0067

DSC_0068

I’ll buy the food in the grocery store in the village where I work, I want to wish all the employees a good yule. After that I’ll drive to Falkรถping to buy fire logs, they say we’ll get a few days with arctic winds after yule and I don’t want ton drive anywhere during my vacation if I don’t have to. I might bring a camera with me and take a few photos while I’m there, if I remember it tomorrow morning ๐Ÿ™‚

 

Att spara 8 (4)

Att spara 8 (5)

Att spara 8 (6)

All gnomes aren’t land bound, they have a relative that lives on ships. I assume they only live on tree ships but I guess that any ship with wood in them somewhere can have one. These gnomes Skepsnissar (ship gnomes, well I don’t know how to translate nisse so gnome it is ๐Ÿ™‚ ) seems to follow the trees that have been cut down to build the ship. This can become a problem because sometimes more than one skeppsnisse comes with the timber. Gnomes aren’t very social to be honest so they would start fighting as soon as they found out that they weren’t the only one.

 

Att spara 9 (10)

Att spara 9 (11)

Att spara 9 (12)

These fights could sometimes become so violent that the entire ship sank but one skipper once stopped such a fight by asking why they behaved like they did. The gnomes answered that they fought about who would remain as the ships guard. One of the gnomes said that he had guarded the timber they had used to make the keelson from so he therefore thought he would be the guard of the ship too. The skipper then said that he could be the guard of this ship but the other gnome would be the guard of the next ship would build and so the fight stopped. My thought on this is, what if another gnome followed the timber to the next ship? ย  ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

 

Att spara 13 (13)

Att spara 13 (14)

Att spara 13 (15)

It is time to make something to eat and this windy and rainy evening sort of demands me to have some hot cocoa too ๐Ÿ™‚

 

Att spara 14 (17)

Att spara 14 (19)

Att spara 14 (2)

Have a great day!

8 responses

  1. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Well, its clear that gnomes really can’t think ahead then can they? ๐Ÿ™‚ Its bad enough fighting on land, but on the water!!!! No wonder ships sank!! ๐Ÿ™‚ Well, I hope the wind and rain has stopped and that’s its a rather pleasant Yule. Your ham sounds delicious. Do you mix the mustard and bread crumbs together and put it on the ham? I love mustard and ham goes well with it, so it all sounds good to me! I am doing our shopping for food right after work today. I can only imagine what the shops are going to be like. Yuck! So – I have relatively good news on Salem’s blood work results. I got a call from the vet last night. I was surprised that she was calling so quick and of course I thought bad news. But no!! She was just as surprised as I was that all her blood work was relatively normal!! ๐Ÿ™‚ Her creatinine was up a bit – which likely means the start of some kidney dysfunction. Also her liver enzymes were just ever so slightly elevated but that’s down to age, nothing related to pathology. Her thyroid and everything was normal!! I was so happy to hear that. However, she still doesn’t know why she’s so slight – so she offered to do an ultrasound of the abdomen and heart. Each ultrasound would cost about $270 Canadian. Oh boy if you double that – that is alot of money!!! So, we decided to just watch and wait. I thought about bringing her in to the hospital where I work and seeing if someone can do an ultrasound on her here. Ok, I am kidding about that last part – but the thought did cross my mind. So, she’s on an all wet diet and we are just going to watch and wait. She’s otherwise happy. Well, as happy as she’s ever been. She’s always been a bit feisty so we will just wait. ๐Ÿ™‚ But I am relieved. Hope your evening and cocoa was good and restful. Have a good Wednesday!!!

    December 22, 2015 at 8:10 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      I guess that gnome took what he was offered and I think they all hoped that no other gnome would fiollow the timber for the next ship ๐Ÿ™‚

      I hope there won’t be too many in the store tomorrow since I stop working at noon but I guess that’s just stupid to hope for ๐Ÿ™‚

      I mixx one egg with the mustard and spreads it over the ham (which is brined)(after it has been cooked one time) and pour the breadcrumbs over it and then I toss it into the oven a second time to get it grilled. We Swedes are very conservative about our yule ham so most people do like this.

      I’m glad they didn’t find anything bad in her blood work! But I am surprised over how much it costs to an ultrasound. It is much cheaper here thankfully. Not even a x-ray cost that much here. I hope she’ll get her apetite back soon!

      It has been a nice evening and the cocoa was rather good ๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      December 22, 2015 at 8:50 pm

  2. jaz

    hi christer! how long do you have off? i am still not in a xmas mood. it is sunny and 70 and getting warmer the next few days. it seems so strange that i haven’t baked one xmas cookie. hopefully next year will be a better xmas! joyce

    December 22, 2015 at 8:51 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      I’ll work a few hours on the 28th but otherwise I won’t work until the 4th of January.

      I can’t say I’m in christmas mood either, not even close to 70 but still too warm here too. I haven’t been using the fire stove especially much so I haven’t even baked any breads for a long time now. I rather get used to warm winters and finds the christmas feeling anyway than go back to cold winters ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      December 22, 2015 at 9:19 pm

  3. Hi Christer,
    This post on Facebook has the photo of the sun behind the clouds that is all bright yellow. When I saw it there I thought you had photographed something that had blown up and was burning badly. It looks like an explosion or a forest fire. Fortunately it isn’t. Just sun and storm clouds. Whew.

    Looks like Sune has a fine assortment of sticks to choose from.
    And in the photo after that one, it looks like you have captured a Bog Lady hurrying off into the forest. It must be a busy time of the year for her what with all the elementals and spirits visiting. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Today started out with pouring rain but calmed down to merely rain a couple of hours later. It was very warm, too. It’s 58ยบF now at 5PM so it must have been even warmer earlier in the day. I’m wearing flip-flops on my feet even outside. It’s spring. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Enjoy the evening and the anticipation of vacation.

    December 22, 2015 at 11:11 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I too thought that it looked like an explosion ๐Ÿ™‚ and can’t one say that the sun is a long lasted nuclear explosion ๐Ÿ™‚

      He has never had this many good sticks as he has now, the forest is full of them after they cut so many trees down ๐Ÿ™‚ Nova tends to take them if it is an exeptional good one ๐Ÿ™‚
      It might just be a bog lady we can see there ๐Ÿ™‚ She might be camera shy and just wants to get out of the view ๐Ÿ™‚

      Sunshine here this morning but the rain arrived just as I was on my way home and it poured down when I came to Falkรถping and when we were taking our walk after work. It’s so dark outside now that I must have the lights turned on even if the sun still is up.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      December 23, 2015 at 3:22 pm

  4. Hi Christer, thanks for your holiday greeting which arrived here in NH yesterday and is now displayed on our wall of holiday cards. We hope that you and your gang enjoy a wonderful Christmas. We are starting our early celebration with some egg nog and cookies and watching a holiday movie tonight!

    December 24, 2015 at 2:27 am

    • Hi Dorothy!

      I’m so glad it arrived before chrostmas ๐Ÿ™‚

      So far christmas havs been very nice ๐Ÿ™‚ The weather could have been better but one can’t get it all I guess ๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a good yule!

      Christer.

      December 24, 2015 at 2:24 pm

Leave a Reply

