The Yule tree.

This is how it looked on one side of my cottage this morning.

This is how it looked on one side of my cottage this morning.ย 

The wind blew so hard during the night that I woke up several times when the heavy rain hit my bedroom window. Today the wind has moved north and become even worse they say. The arctic winds will bring cold air so already tomorrow we’ll have below 0C (32F) and snow will start falling in the early Sunday morning.ย The wind seems to calm down by tomorrow but will be back when the snow starts to fall again, how nice.

 

This is how it looked on the other side. Guess which weather won :-) We went back to bed instead and slept for a few hours :-)

This is how it looked on the other side. Guess which weather won ๐Ÿ™‚ We went back to bed instead and slept for a few hours ๐Ÿ™‚

Suddenly the sun broke through and out wer went.

Suddenly the sun broke through and out wer went.

DSC_0027 (2)

The German custom of having a christmas tree, we call it yule spruce since most of us have a spruce (even if some rather have pines or even junipers instead) became popular rather late by the common people. The first ever recorded yule spruce was in an aristocratic home 1741 (Stora Sundby the place is called) but it didn’t became popular amongst the common people until around 1850’s. The first ones were usually very small and placed on a table or hung from the roof. Only the rich people could afford christmasย baubles, others had perhaps apples in them and perhaps pine cones. The really poor couldn’t afford apples so there are examples of people wrapping colorful paper around potatoes to have as decorations.

 

DSC_0028 (1)

The sunshine lasted for a few minutes and by the time we came to the creek I was soaked :-)

The sunshine lasted for a few minutes and by the time we came to the creek I was soaked ๐Ÿ™‚

DSC_0031 (2)

But there was actually a custom in at least southern Sweden to have a yule tree, it could also be called yule apple and a few other local names I just can’t translate ๐Ÿ™‚ Usually it was a crab apple tree (or bush would be more correct) dressed with apples or perhaps a spruce where all branches and twigs except for those in the top had been cut of. It could also just be a tree trunk where on had drilled holes and put in a certain amount of apple twigs. They never had candles in them though, only apples as decoration.

 

I have a few photos in my mobile phone but can't find the cable to download it into my computer. So today I mailed a few of them to myself :-) These are all taken November 6th when I was witing for my car to be repaired.

I have a few photos in my mobile phone but can’t find the cable to download it into my computer. So today I mailed a few of them to myself ๐Ÿ™‚ These are all taken November 6th when I was waiting for my car to be repaired.

This looks like an old stone age tomb, this and another one was placed where it now days is a pasture for cows.

This looks like an old stone age tomb, this and another one was placed where it now days is a pasture for cows.

DSC_0051

There was another thing called Yule tree and that was a candlestick in the shape of a tree, with both apples and candles in it and there was also something called ร„pplstaken which looked like a Yule tree but with only apples in it. They could however not compete with a yule spruce so they became almost forgotten. They have made a sort of come back and here’s a link to the museum of Blekinge: Yule treeย which show You a few more modern made ones. Just click on each photo and it will become bigger. Blekinge by the way is one of the most southern regions in this country andย ย where most of my family comes from (even if I’m a 16th part Russian and a 1/4 Serb ๐Ÿ™‚ ).

 

DSC_0056

DSC_0057

The garage isn't far away from the old abbey ruins.

The garage isn’t far away from the old abbey ruins.

It is time to give the animals something to eat. We have only been outside once today, the wind and the heavy raining sort of forced us to stay indoors so one could think we would have lots of energy bit it is actually the opposite, we’re all really tired despite the long nap we had. I do hope tomorrow weather will be a bit better.

 

DSC_0060

DSC_0065

DSC_0067

Have a good continuing of Yule!

10 responses

  1. Just stopping by to wish you a Merry Christmas and Good Yule.
    I must get to wrapping my gifts
    and then it’s over the hill and through the woods to my sisters house!
    ๐Ÿ˜‰
    Merry! Merry!
    ๐Ÿ˜€ Cindi

    December 25, 2015 at 7:16 pm

    • Hi Cindi!
      Have a Good Yule and drive carefully!

      Christer.

      December 25, 2015 at 7:17 pm

  2. Birgit

    Merry Christmas – God Jul!
    Despite old German traditions no tree here, as every year I just decorated the plants on my windowsill, mostly cacti.
    Did I miss what you got yourself for Christmas? Wildlife camera, telescope, something different?

    December 25, 2015 at 7:25 pm

    • Hi Birgit!

      Frohe Weihnachten!
      I have a tiny plastic one but that’s it. I don’t even have to take off the decorations, I just put it away as it is during the rest of the year ๐Ÿ™‚

      No You haven’t missed anything, I still haven’t decided what to buy but it is leaning towards the wildlife camera after all ๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great yule!
      Christer.

      December 25, 2015 at 9:03 pm

  3. Dianna

    Hi Christer! The festivities are dwindling down here. Its snowing – rather lovely really to have light fluffy “hollywood” snow on Christmas Day. This morning I watched the Full Moon journey across the sky waiting for everyone to wake up. Beautiful! This snow won’t last, it will clear away tonight and then it gets COLD. Tonight with the wind chill will be about -33. ๐Ÿ™‚ Yep, winter found us! I love your pictures today – especially the really dark gray and cloudy ones! ๐Ÿ™‚ I hope the rest of your day was restful!

    December 25, 2015 at 10:19 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      The snow will arrive here tomorrow but they change the predictions all the time now, as it is now we’ll have below 0 most of the coming week with just a fe hours of above 0C in the beginning of the week and rather a lot – degrees towards the end of next week. I really should have tried to become a
      meteorologist. They make quite a lot of money and really don’t need to be even close when they are guessing the weather ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

      I watched the full moon yesterday, it just looked through the clouds we had when I was about to go to bed.

      Have as good continuing of yule!

      Christer.

      December 26, 2015 at 6:41 am

  4. For many years, we had a live Christmas tree and truly enjoyed them. Now, we have only a small one with a village we set up below and we enjoy these as well. Merry Christmas to you from your friends in NH.

    December 26, 2015 at 2:40 am

    • Hi Beatrice!

      I used to have one too but now I feel a small plastic one on the table is just enough. I also used to have a living tree growing in a pot but it is hard to keep them alive so plastic it is and I do like it.

      Have a good continuing of yule!

      Christer.

      December 26, 2015 at 6:44 am

  5. Hi Christer,
    I loved the Yule Tree link. Quite a few had horses on them which would make them my favorites, of course. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I don’t have a tree this year. I have Christmas cacti which are blooming and an evergreen wreath on the door. The dogs have their Christmas collars. And La Bamba singing, maraca playing, Santa hat wearing mechanical Chihuahua graces the piano for his third Christmas appearance.

    Christmas was busy this year. Rocky, Piki Dog and I visited my sister-in-law, niece and nephew for brunch. After that the dogs went home and I went to dinner with my brother and other sister-in-law and other nephew. And all their cats. It was fun.

    God Jul and may there be not much snow coming your way.

    Enjoy the day.

    December 26, 2015 at 3:33 am

    • Hi Caryn!

      I have seen one of those Yule tree’s when I was a kid and I think I’ll try to find one for myself. They also mentioned Odin Trees which is a similar candlestick with a special kind of look at those horses at the bottom but I couldn’t find any info about them.

      I think both dogs here4 would go crazy if I put a collar on them ๐Ÿ™‚ Nova haven’t had one since she moved here and Sune has never had one ๐Ÿ™‚ But who wouldn’t want a La Bamba singing, maraca playing, Santa hat wearing mechanical Chihuahua graces the piano ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

      The weather predictions change all the time now, we will still get snow tomorrow but it will not be as cold as they said yesterday, it might rise above 33F but after that it will sink and continue to sink all week. But they have lots of time to change that again ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a good continuing of yule!

      Christer.

      December 26, 2015 at 6:51 am

Leave a Reply

