The weathermen seems to be a bit unsure :-)

I took this photo yesterday evening.

I took this photo yesterday evening.

Weather predictions says we’ll get around 15cm (6 inches) of snow tomorrow Β and depending on how often one watch the updates it can either stay with a few degrees below freezing, melt away because it will be a few degrees above freezing or rain away some time tomorrow afternoon. After that it’ll get cold again so the roads can either be full of snow, clean from snow but very icy or perhaps both πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I can’t guess what it might be because they still have plenty of time to change the predictions yet πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

 

But these four were taken this morning just before the sun was about toi rise. I posted a fifth in my NG album.

But these four were taken this morning just before the sun was about toi rise. I posted a fifth in my NG album.

DSC_0039 (2)

DSC_0040 (1)

DSC_0041 (1)

It looked like a big orange in the sky πŸ™‚

Today however has stayed around 0C (32F), it might have been a degree warmer or colder but nothing noticeable. No frost though, I think the cold air came a bit too late for that and we have had it almost sunny for a while, we also had fog for a few minutes in the morning and I think it was those clouds that stopped us from seeing the sun when they rose in the air. I could see the clear blue sky north of here all day.

 

It was difficult to see that the sun just was about to rise behind the mountain.

It was difficult to see that the sun just was about to rise behind the mountain.

This is the smoke from my neighbors cottage and not fog :-)

This is the smoke from my neighbors cottage and not fog πŸ™‚

DSC_0035 (2)

DSC_0043 (1)

There’s a tradition amongst hunters to hunt on boxing day so I haven’t been able to walk in the forest the entire day. I heard the dog yapping a lot but I never heard anyone shoot so I guess they weren’t lucky. Some of them even left quite early but there are still some out there stopping me from walking around as I please. I must admit though that if it hadn’t been for them I would most likely have missed most of the fog so I guess I shouldn’t complain too much πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0049 (2)

DSC_0050 (1)

DSC_0052 (2)

DSC_0053 (1)

The lynx is (are? usually we have a female here and the male tends to visit here next month or so) Β movingΒ around here right now, my neighbor and I found a dead deer when we were out walking yesterday and the head was removed from the body, a typical thing for a lynx to do. The deer hadΒ most likely been there for some time because it had started ti smell, so I have to say I am surprised that Nova didn’t try to roll around on it, she just loves to smell awful πŸ™‚ I do hope they don’t have any license to shoot lynx here.

 

DSC_0054 (1)

DSC_0047

DSC_0056

DSC_0063 (2)

So tomorrow You will most likely, or perhaps perhaps or not at all see snowy photos here, it all depends on which prediction comes closest to reality πŸ™‚ You might or might not see frosty photos instead πŸ™‚ One thing is certain though, there were no snowy photos today πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0065 (1)

DSC_0066 (1)

DSC_0069 (1)

I've seen lots of trumpet swans flying around today.

I’ve seen lots of trumpet swans flying around today.

Have a great day!

 

This was as close as we came to sunshine today.

This was as close as we came to sunshine today.

DSC_0023 (2)

The church on the mountain is the church in Vilske kleva.

The church on the mountain is the church in Vilske kleva. They must have removed lots of trees up there because I can’t remember ever seeing it from here.

DSC_0036 (1)

10 responses

  1. Hi Christer,
    Yesterday was so warm that I had to wear a tee shirt outside. Originally, I had a sparkly red Christmas sweater but, when I walked out the door in the morning, I knew it was going to be too warm for that.
    I’m regretting that I didn’t keep throwing grass seed down in that bare patch out back. I could have had full coverage by now. πŸ™‚

    Why do lynx take the heads and leave the rest? Heads are more portable, I guess.
    I know that when foxes raid rabbit nests and kill the kits, they often leave the heads behind. There’s a very popular cross stitch design that shows little bunny heads surrounded by a wreath of flowers. It’s supposed to be a group portrait of cute bunnies. All I could think of when I first saw it was discorporated bunny heads left in the grass. My cross stitching friends didn’t understand why I thought that pattern was horrid. πŸ™‚
    Anyway, I’m glad Nova didn’t roll in the very dead deer and I hope the hunters don’t have permits for lynx.

    Our weather will be up and down this next week at least according to the weather reports. Temperatures will be closer to normal but still on the warm side except for Monday which will get close to freezing. They are even predicting a bit of snow for Tuesday morning. Or rainy snow. Or snowy rain. Something wet anyway. πŸ™‚
    Right now it’s high 40’s F and very sunny. Okay by me.

    Enjoy the day.

    December 26, 2015 at 3:29 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      Well it has been unusually warm here but nowhere near t-shirt weather πŸ™‚ I have to admit though that I won’t mind if it gets a bit chilly for a while now, the snow can miss us and I would be happy but the cold weather can come. If it stays for a while Imight be able to take some walks on the bog πŸ™‚
      Too bad You didn’t throw more grass seeds on that spot but You’ll get the chance to do so in early spring and I guess that spring will come early to You since it doesn’t seem to become winter at all πŸ™‚

      I have no idea why the lynx do like that, it bites of the head but usually it doesn’t leave the body for especially long, the smell from this one says it had been there for some days. Perhaps it got scared and doesn’t dare to get close to it?

      That is a horrid pattern πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ it was actually my firstthought when I read what You had written πŸ™‚ but I guess it is supposed to be cute πŸ™‚

      I’m surpruised that she just passed it, I think it must be the lynx who has scared the dogs at the dog yard and therefore she won’t get close to its food no matter how deliciously nasty it might smell πŸ™‚

      >The predictions still say rain after the snow tomorrow but after that it will stay just below 32 for at least nine days. I don’t trust any predictions longer than half a day though πŸ™‚

      Have a good continuing of yule!

      Christer.

      December 26, 2015 at 5:02 pm

  2. such beautiful photos,, dogs do like to smell bad, our dogs always did too, they would roll in dead fish, Racoon poop, Mink and Otter poop, you name it they rolled in it,, and were so happy and proud!
    I also hope the hunters cannot shoot the Lynnx,,such a beautiful animal,
    have a good day Christer,

    December 26, 2015 at 3:38 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      A bit dark though. I tried to make them brighter but the colors just looked odd when I did.

      Yes they do love to smell nasty πŸ™‚ Sune however seems to think he smells great as it is πŸ™‚

      Have a good continuing of yule!

      Christer.

      December 26, 2015 at 5:03 pm

  3. Christer,
    You had so much weather. All you’re missing is rain. We’ve had flurries on and off all day, and it’s really cold. The sun is hiding behind clouds.

    Have a great day and stay warm.

    December 26, 2015 at 7:40 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      We’ve had plenty of rain as it is so I’m quite happy that it didn’t fall any today :-). We’re all now waiting for the snow and strong winds, I have brought in plenty of fire logs if I would need them later πŸ™‚

      Have a good continuing of yule!

      Christer.

      December 26, 2015 at 8:25 pm

  4. Dianna

    Hi Christer! I hope the morning finds you with some snow! If you don’t get any let me know. I will send you some of ours πŸ™‚ We have tons. And we are cold. Tonight the wind chill will be about -36. Yeah, that’s cold. I hope it doesn’t last and its only a blip. I was enjoying what we were having. Today was a very lazy day. I dis laundry and walked Karma. That’s it! πŸ™‚ Tomorrow I have to go to the store so must venture out. Not much else to report, a nice quiet day!

    December 26, 2015 at 11:36 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      It started to snow later than predicted but I think there’s already two inches of it on the ground now, so thank You but no thank Yoy, You can keep the sno You have πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ It is around -3 at the oment and I’ve started a fire in the stove πŸ™‚

      I’ll do some laundry today but will go to the store tomorrow since I will go to work. I can do it on my way home. So no energy wasting here today πŸ™‚

      Have a good continuing of Yule!

      Christer.

      December 27, 2015 at 7:41 am

  5. Hi Christer! I hope your Christmas was merry and bright.. Ours was. I felt a bit removed from it all and I’m not sure why, but we had a great time. I don’t recall ever feeling like that before. It was strange. I love to see Christmas come and love to see it go. Now for the New Year. Do you have plans to do anything special? We don’t . Staying home and out of trouble..if old people have to worry about getting into trouble. πŸ™‚

    Linx behead their prey? I mean how much is there to eat from a “head”…goodness!!

    December 27, 2015 at 3:13 am

    • Hi Mona!

      Thank You for the christmas card! I hope the one I’ve sent to You has arrived or will in the coming days. Most of those I’ve sent over seas have reached their destination.

      I did enjoy my christmas, I was here at home with my dogs πŸ™‚

      I’ll stay at home on New Years Eve too, I’ve never been much of a party person and preferres to be able to go to bed when I want to and that’s usually quite early πŸ™‚

      I’m not sure why it does like that, I don’t think it even eats the head to be honest.

      Have a good continuing of yule!

      Christer.

      December 27, 2015 at 7:45 am

Leave a Reply

