Winter may have just started.

I couldn't catch all the colors around the moon yesterday evening. There was actually a rainbow (or raincircle) around it.

I couldn’t catch all the colors around the moon yesterday evening. There was actually a rainbow (or raincircle) around it.

I woke up in the middle of a night from a stench so foul that it was impossible to breathe. My first thought was that it was one of the dogs having problems with the stomach. So I got up and started to look after te place I had to clean up. How wrong I was, it turns out it was one of the cats who had been in the litter box but hadn’t covered it afterwards. How on earth can a small cat create something so nasty smelling???? It was horrible to go in to the bathroom and clean it up, still he had no stomach problems what so ever, it just smelled that way πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0025 (3)

DSC_0027 (3)

DSC_0028 (2)

It hadn’t started to snow when we were up the first time but it had when we went up the second time.Well I don’t count what had started to fall yesterday evening because I don’t call that snow even if it technically most likely is called that. You know those tiny ice flakes you can see when we’re having frost? It was those that fell from the sky and it is quite beautiful when it happens but it doesn’t happen often and it is never a lot of it falling.

 

DSC_0031 (3)

DSC_0032 (2)

DSC_0033 (1)

The wind was a bit stronger than I realised at first so we walked out on the fields and it didn’t take long until I couldn’t see anything through my glasses πŸ™‚ I’m so glad that I now have a lens with autofocus because I couldn’t see a thing πŸ™‚ So we walked to the creek where I knew the wind wouldn’t reach us. I had also brought the Hasselblad camera with me and it will be fun to see how those photos will look like. It has a very dark seeker and it is hard to focus as it is and today it was impossible πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0036 (1)

DSC_0037 (2)

DSC_0038 (1)

We passed the dead deer again and this time Nova showed a much bigger interest in it but thankfully she does what she’s told to do even if I could see that she wasn’t happy at all to have to leave this reeking wonder πŸ™‚ I was totally covered in snow when we came home but the jacket wasn’t especially wet at all when it all melted away. I’ve hung it over a radiator though so it will feel warm when we’re going out again today. We’ll have snow almost all day but it will get warmer by the evening and then it’ll start to rain (at the moment however it sounds as if it in this snow also follows half icy marbles, we call it marble snow. It looks much like hail but is much softer, just like snow).

 

DSC_0041 (1)

DSC_0042 (2)

DSC_0043 (1)

It will however start to freeze again just when I’m about to drive to work tomorrow morning and after that it looks like winter actually has arrived, it will stay colder for at least the rest of the week but it is just a prediction and those I don’t trust at all πŸ™‚ It also says a lot of sun so that makes me even more sceptical πŸ™‚ They show nothing of interest on tv unless I want to see the rerun of the absolute last episode of Downton Abbey. I watched it yesterday and I have liked these programs even though they have had very little to do with how it really was working and living in such a place. If You like this show You will like this last episode.

 

DSC_0046 (2)

DSC_0047

DSC_0049 (2)

So instead I think I’ll watch a disaster movie on dvd. The weather all over the world says The Day After Tomorrow but I watched that not too long ago, so why not 2012 πŸ™‚ Otherwise I might just as well take a long nap and a nap is never wrong πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0058 (1)

DSC_0059 (2)

DSC_0060 (2)

Have a great day!

 

This spruce lost more than two thirds of its hight some years ago but it didn't give up and die. It actually looks as if it is getting a new top again.

This spruce lost more than two thirds of its hight some years ago but it didn’t give up and die. It actually looks as if it is getting a new top again.

DSC_0061 (1)

DSC_0062 (1)

12 responses

  1. jaz

    hi christer! it seems our weather is very similar this year. we have been warm and today it is 65 but by dinner time we will have dropped 35 degrees. tomorrow we get snow and then warm again but it looks like cold weather for new years. i sure hope we don’t get hot summer. cats sure can stink! it’s like condensed stink. joyce

    December 27, 2015 at 2:52 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      Yes it looks that way.

      It is just above 32 here now but will start freezing some time around when I’m driving to work. I think we got enough with snow so it still will be on the ground when the cold weather arrives. Perhaps it would be better if it all melted away so the cold goes deeper into the ground and kill all tics πŸ™‚

      I sure hope we’ll get a warmer summer than we got this year but not as hot as You usually gets it πŸ™‚

      It was such a nasty smell and it filled the entire home πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 27, 2015 at 3:40 pm

  2. Hi Christer,
    The dark photo of the creek is cool. It looks like the creek is rising up as mist and trying to get to the sky. πŸ™‚

    Yes, cats can make some foul-smelling poo which is why I put my cats’ litter boxes in the cellar or out by the back door. I think their food must be like the puppy kibble. Puppy breath and puppy farts are really awful because puppy kibble is made of stinky ingredients.

    This morning, 6AM, I took the dogs out because Piki Dog was frantic to eat grass. Rocky was well into his pre poop dance when three deer came across the road from my neighbor’s side lawn. Rocky lost his mind and started barking so of course Piki Dog started shrieking. I had to drag them both inside, barking and shrieking all the way. Hope the neighbors weren’t sleeping.

    You are having similar weather to us. Today is rainy and cloudy. Tomorrow will be sunny and normal temperature which will seem horribly cold to us in comparison to what we’ve had. Tuesday morning there will probably be snow or rain or snain. Depends on how long it stays cold because it’s supposed to warm up. We shall see.

    Enjoy your nap and the rest of the day.

    December 27, 2015 at 4:05 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I felt the same way when I looked at that photo the first time πŸ™‚

      It is amazing how bad it smelled, my problem is that I only can have the liutter box where it is. I put a hasp there so the door can stay open all the time, just enough for a cat to get in but not a dog πŸ™‚

      I haven’t seen many deers lately, two or three but I guess they’ll stay hidden in the forest since they have been scared by the hunters. They might come here now though since snow covers the ground, they usually do πŸ™‚ So I better put out some food for them tomorrow. Thankfully both dogs here are quiet when they see wildlife πŸ™‚

      It is quite warm here now and it looks like I don’t have to scrape any windows tomorrow morning πŸ™‚ but there is snow enough on the ground to last until it gets cold again later tomorrow.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      December 27, 2015 at 5:44 pm

  3. a dirt litter box is truly punishment,

    we have now as much snow as you do,, it fell during the night,,

    December 27, 2015 at 4:22 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      They never use it in summer so I guess it is easier to notice the smell now but I think even people without the sence of smell would have felt this one last night πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      It is quite warm here now but I think we got so much that we’ll still have snow when it gets colder tomorrow.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      December 27, 2015 at 5:45 pm

  4. Hi Christer –

    I haven’t talked to you in a long time. Thank you for the lovely Yule card. It was beautiful & your photos of spider webs are among my favorites. I have it hanging on my fridge for the moment, but I will be buying a little frame for it this week & hanging on the wall.

    What a terrible thing to be woken up by a terribly sinky litter box gift. The cat must of eaten something equally nasty. Maybe it was left uncovered because the cat was in a hurry to get away from the bad smell as fast as possible. Who knows what a cat is thinking. I enjoyed the photos of the dogs romping in your snow. I hadn’t given much thought to all the different forms snow falls as. Occasionally we will get those tiny bits of frozen frost that melt as soon as they hit the ground. My favorite kind of snow is when giant fluffy flakes that are several inches in diameter fall & are wet enough to stick to one another. They have been showing the Disney Christmas Special a lot this past week. This is the first time I recall it being shown more than once during the holiday season. Maybe they are trying to make it as popular here as it is in Sweden. I was happy when they showed a very old Mr. Magoo Christmas special that I loved as a kid. Are you familiar with Mr. Magoo over there? I am probably the only person in the World what has not watched Downton Abby . I have the entire series saved on Netflix, but have never found the time to focus my interest enough to start watching it. I thought of you Saturday when I saw the Sy-Fi channel was having a Godzilla marathon.

    I had to begin kidney dialysis back in August and have been gong there 4 days a week. I have lost quite a few kilos of excess fluid since starting dialysis. & my breathing has improved some. I still have a lot of extra fluid to lose, but it is slowly coming off & my heart is less strained. My kidney failure suddenly reached what is called End Stage Kidney Failure, I would likely stop urinating, Aside from it being a little weird, evey single thing you drink or in the food you eat just stays in you until the dialysis machine removes it. Trouble is, the machine can only remove a relatively small amount of fluid and that’s why fluid intake is severely restricted. When your told you can barely drink anything, it makes you want to rebel & drink as much as you can hold. I am not the best patient and I hate that there is no way to cheat without being caught. You get weighted before dialysis & after, so they know immediately if you drink more than your limit.

    It is hard to belive it has been almost a year now since Toby died and I really don’t llike how empty the house feels without any cats for companionship. I have seriously been thinking about adopting a cat or two. I would like to find a bonded pair of cats needing a home. That way they could keep each other company on the days when I an gone. I just need to contact my local cat shelter and ask them to contact me if they get two cats needing to be re-homed together..

    Be careful driving on those snowy roads

    Ellen

    December 27, 2015 at 9:26 pm

    • Hi Ellen!

      I was wondering if You were ok.

      That cat always smell really bad but this time is one to remember πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Perhaps he had been down to the dead weer and tasted some of it πŸ™‚

      Sune loves the snow and just can’t get enough of it, Nova however lift her feet every now and again and shakes it off πŸ™‚ She gives up when we have lots of it though andthen she works well as a snow plow πŸ™‚ I think we have almost as many different words for snow as the Inuits have πŸ™‚ I have for insteance heard that the North American snow is very dry compared to ours here in Scandinavia, so of course we call it dry snow πŸ™‚

      I do like Mr. Magoo πŸ™‚ A favorite of mine but I haven’t seen him in a long time, I guess one of the smaller pay tv channels have the rights for him. Thankfully there’s always Youtube πŸ™‚

      I know a few more that never watched Downton Abbey. I like it even if I know it has very little to do with reality. The nobility were never that kind to their staff, never! The one writing it did a good job though.
      A Godzill marathon! How I wish I had that channel, I have unfortunately not seen that any company has it over here but one of the free channels here show lots from it luckily enough πŸ™‚

      So You had to start with dialysis! Not fun but it sounds as if it has helped You with lots of other things. I would go insane if I knew I wasn’t allowed to drink, I would be constantly thirsty and most likely drink a lot πŸ™‚ I’ve heard that one get very tired after the dialysis so I hope You’re on the transplant list so You can go back to an easier life again.

      Yes a life without pets does feel lonely. Is it tΒ΄really that long ago! Time just flies by, doesn’t it! I think it is a good idea to contact the cat shelter, I’m pretty sure there is a bonded pair of cats just waiting for You.

      I drove very carefully and now I won’t have to drive to work until next Monday again πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      December 28, 2015 at 4:17 pm

  5. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Looks like winter did find you! πŸ™‚ Your photos today are simply magickal! Very pretty – snow always makes thing so pretty. I love when the Moon get a ring around Her – that always tells me some precipitation of some kind is on the way. We are currently under high pressure – lots of sun and lots of cold. Its the wind really that makes it so bad. Otherwise we never would really get to a -38 temp on its own. Well, I would hope not at least! πŸ™‚ Yes it is amazing how cats can make that much stink. Ours are like that sometimes too. Instead of cat litter we use wood pellets for the pellet stoves. Its cheaper, less mess and it absorbs the smell a bit better. But sometimes they can be stinky. I am off work this coming week and I am so glad! Its cold out and I don’t like going out when its cold. πŸ™‚ Have a nice evening!

    December 27, 2015 at 10:17 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      Yes it sure did and we got even more snow today, not much but enough to show on the ground. From now on it’ll get colder and by the end of the week they predict at least -11 here which usually means I’ll get -15 πŸ™‚ They say we’ll get sunshine these coming three days πŸ™‚

      Too bad I couldn’t capture the other colors around that moon, it did look quite beautiful.

      -30 isn’t unusual to have here during the winter and that is without any wind added to it. I don’t think I’ve ever have experienced that cold and wind at the same time though, it has always been absolutely wind free when the temperature drops that much.

      Cat pee is nasty when it comes to smelling but it would be like perfume compared to that poop πŸ™‚ They only use the cat litter during the cold days here, normally they do it alloutside so since it will get colder I better buy more iof it πŸ™‚

      I won’t go back to work until next Monday again πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      December 28, 2015 at 4:24 pm

  6. I haven’t gotten another cat because of the cat box I had to empty. Yep..they do smell bad and it’s not an easy smell to get rid of either. Cat pee is bad too..another smell that will not go away.
    We always had cats..sometime two or more at a time when the children were young..now none of us have cats. Strange. I think about it..and if I were alone I might. They are neat creatures if they would just go potty outside and AWAY from the flower beds…but you know how that is.

    Mele comes in smelling terrible sometimes..and I go searching for a dead bird or whatever.
    Take good care, Christer!!
    Mona
    p.s. I’ve wanted to write to “Ellen in Oregon” many times and when I try to find an email or blog or anything..it comes up “unknown” or does not exist. Do you have any sort of email address for her Christer? She seems such a dear person.

    December 28, 2015 at 12:21 am

    • Hi Mona!

      Cat pee would have smelled like perfume compared to that poop πŸ™‚ Thankfully they only use the box when it is cold, normally they do it all outside. So now I’ll just have to suffer throughthese winter months πŸ™‚

      I have to admit that I hadn’t planned of having any cat again but then the rat broke in and my dogs just seemed to love it and left it alone πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ It moved as soon as Bertil and Teodor moved in thankfully.

      I’ll write to Ellen and if she’s interested I’ll give her Your mail address!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 28, 2015 at 4:28 pm

Leave a Reply

