It is here to stay.

The photos today is a mix from earlier today and yesterday afternoon.

The photos today is a mix from earlier today and yesterday afternoon.

I was surprised to see in how good condition the first two thirds of the road to work was this morning and I was just as surprised to see in how bad shape the last third of the road was. For once they had actually scraped the road outside the village and I think they even had put out salt on it. The last third however was just the opposite. There were more cars on the road than I had expected and I never can understand those drivers who must drive up just a few yards behind my car and keep that distance all the way?

 

DSC_0040 (2)

DSC_0043 (2)

DSC_0046 (3)

DSC_0047 (1)

If they think I drive slow (which I actually didn’t, I had followed the speed limits all the way) why don’t they pass me? No instead they stay very close all the way filling the inside of my car with their lights so I can’t see anything and if I could have afforded it I would have slammed on the brakes. They would never have been able to stop in time, the only thing they could have done would be to drive out on the fields and got stuck there πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0051 (3)

DSC_0052 (3)

DSC_0055 (2)

DSC_0056 (1)

I was planning on bringing a camera with me today and I had filled the Hasselblad camera with film and then I forgot to bring it with me, it was still standing on the kitchen counter when I left πŸ™‚ I’ll bring it with me next time I go to town instead and that will be some time later this week. I didn’t even work half a day today, I had done what I needed to so I didn’t see the point in staying any longer. It was cloudy when I started to drive homewards but suddenly the sun appeared. Didn’t last long though because it started to snow after a while and then we had some drizzle before the sun shone again πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0059 (3)

DSC_0061 (2)

DSC_0070 (1)

DSC_0071

It was much the same on our walk, some sunshine, some snowfall and even some drizzle and thankfully very little wind. I could see lots of tracks from the wild animals but I couldn’t see any from the lynx. The new snow had come too late in the day and the old one have a thick layer of ice on top so it could almost hold my weight. Lots of fox and hare foot prints though and some deer and wild hog too. I hope for luck tomorrow morning, it still snows on and off so it should be thick enough tomorrow to show some good foot prints.

 

DSC_0020 (2)

DSC_0021 (3)

DSC_0022 (3)

DSC_0023 (3)

They say it will stay cold and we’ll even get sunshine for three days according to predictions, I do hope that’s true. So it seems winter has come to stay because it will get really cold later in the week. It is time to make a pot of tea, I have the kettle on the woodΒ stove so it is just a matter of minutes until it will start boiling.

 

DSC_0025 (4)

DSC_0026 (2)

DSC_0028 (3)

DSC_0029

Have a great day!

 

DSC_0030 (4)

DSC_0031 (4)

DSC_0033 (2)

DSC_0038 (2)

8 responses

  1. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Don’t you just hate when drivers follow so close? We have alot of those here and that really bugs me. Of course if you would have slammed on the brakes they would have either hit you or driven into the ditch. I would prefer the ditch myself! πŸ™‚ Today was actually a decent day weather wise. I think it got to a high of -11 but the wind is always the culprit making it worse than it actually is. The only footprints I see now are rabbits. And that’s ok. We took down our tree today and all the decorations. The house seems empty now. Tonight we will take a nice drive to one of the local parks (one of my favorite parks here in the city) to take our tree to get mulched. We can also get some free mulch if we want, but we have no where to put it. Too bad it wasn’t summer, then I really would have lots of places to put the mulch. πŸ™‚ Great pictures today. Love the one with the trees and the sky and the red cottage- that one is really lovely! Have a good evening!!

    December 28, 2015 at 11:12 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      Yes I do and I think the only way to get rid of them is just to slam the brakes but I do need my car πŸ™‚

      This morning look and feel much colder than it actually is, -3,4 at the moment and no wind but it will be windy later on I’m afraid. It is still too dark to see if there’s frost on the trees but I do hope there is.

      I think they can do the same thing here with the old trees but I’m not sure if they can do it this early after christmas. No one out here does it though, there are already lots of cut trees in the forest so I guess they’ll throw them there πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      December 29, 2015 at 6:30 am

  2. Hi Christer,
    Maybe those tailgating drivers figure that you will break trail for them or perhaps slow them down if they start to slide out of control. I know when I was driving to work in snowstorms it was usually dark. I think I got tailgaters who were using my headlights and taillights as a way to see where the road was. Of course, if I went off the road by mistake, they were probably going to follow right along behind me. πŸ™‚

    The photos of falling snow are very pretty. Mostly because it’s falling on your side of the world but also because falling snow is pretty when it does so politely.
    Today was interesting weather-wise. There were cirrus clouds this morning but then the sun came out and shone for most of the day though it was windy and very cold. I drove 45 miles to my favorite yarn store and also got the oil changed in the jeep while I was there. On the way home, the sky had a thin film of cloud. There were two sun dogs beside the sun as well as partial arcs of a rainbow circle around the sun. It was a cool sky. It stayed that way for the whole drive home and only faded when the sun was lower in the sky.
    Snow is coming for tomorrow morning. I’m glad I don’t have to commute anymore.

    Enjoy the evening.

    December 28, 2015 at 11:33 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I think You’re right about that, some just have big problems when we meet other cars, they get blinded by the headlights so it is easier to follow the car ahead and very close to it. Very annoying no matter what reason they have though.

      Falling snow is always pretty in photos or when one sits indoors watching it through the windows and have hot cocoa πŸ™‚

      I misread a part in Your comment, I thought You wrote You went to Your favorite yam store πŸ™‚ My first reaction was that it was odd to have a store only selling yam πŸ™‚ and how much difference can there be in different yams πŸ™‚ Yarn does make a lot more sence πŸ™‚ My car is always leaking oil so there’s rarely any old oil in it to be changed πŸ™‚

      It’s so rare that I get to see sundogs here, I’m a bit jelaous to be honest πŸ™‚ but I am glad that You too will get the joy of having snow falling πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      December 29, 2015 at 6:40 am

  3. I get a little bit crazy when someone follows me too close.
    When i had the van, i really wanted to let them hit me.
    Now that I have my car. I just speed up or move to the right hand lane
    but truthfully i want to run them off the road.
    Sigh.
    We have been having warm temps but today it was an ice storm and it was dreadful.
    I HAD to work because so many dogs were going home after the holiday.
    I’m exhausted from trying to get them outside to potty.
    Of course I do understand. I wouldn’t want to do my business as ice pelted down on me.
    :/
    Now it’s snowing. 😦

    December 29, 2015 at 2:12 am

    • Hi Cindi!

      It drives me mad and if I didn’t need my car and easily could buy a new one I would brake hard πŸ™‚ Mostr roads I drive on here are so thin that I can’t do that and even when there’s space enough to do so they just won’t pass!! I think that it is easier just to followthe car ahead and not get blinded by the cars we meet. I really don’t care, I don’t want them that close behind me!

      We rarely have ice storms here and I would not like to have to drive to work if it happened. I have to agree, it wouldn’t be nice to have to do it while being covered in ice πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Isn’t winter just a bunch of joy πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 29, 2015 at 6:44 am

  4. dq

    i thought only north america was inundated with proctologist drivers, over here the more lousy the weather the more they want to to drive up your backside!

    December 29, 2015 at 2:30 am

    • Hi dq!

      No, we have them here too πŸ™‚

      The strange thing is that they most likely feel more secure when being so close when they really are putting us all indanger!

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      December 29, 2015 at 6:45 am

Leave a Reply

