If it wasn’t for the wind.

DSC_0080

The first ones are taken with the D5100.

The sun has shone all day and it has been just below 0C (32F) all day so it should have been a rather nice day to be outdoors really. The strong wind however has made it rather nasty instead. So I tried to walk as much in the forest as possible today which also meant I missed most of the sunshine but I didn’t at least not freeze. It will stay like this for a few days and it won’t calm down until the temperature drops later this week. It is predictions so who knows what it really will be like πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0085

 

DSC_0090

DSC_0088

DSC_0087

I haven’t done much beside taking walks today, mostly I’ve been watching tv, lots of skiing downhill today and even if I’m not that interested it is nice to fall asleep to the cheering crowds πŸ™‚ They have very little snow in the alps, I think we even might have much more here and we have around 5cm (2 inches) πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0108

DSC_0115

DSC_0117

DSC_0110

I decided to use my old Nikon D70 today, I haven’t used it in over a year and the battery was totally discharged but it wasn’t dead. So as soon as the battery was charged I looked to see if there were any photos still left in it and yes there were πŸ™‚ So today and perhaps the coming days You’ll see some photos from SeptemberΒ last year πŸ™‚ In some You’ll also see both Orvar and Hector πŸ™‚

 

 

Here are some of the old photos I mentioned.

Here are some of the old photos I mentioned.

DSC_0018

DSC_0012

DSC_0014

It is starting to get a bit chilly here in the kitchen so I better light a fire in the wood stove. I only have one and a half package of fire logs left so I might have to drive to town tomorrow to get some more. I could of course go out to the wood shed and cut some of the logs I have there and chop them in to big enough pieces but it is a tad chilly and it is so much nicer to stay indoors after all πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0011

DSC_0020

DSC_0021

DSC_0023

Have a great day!

 

And here are four from the D70 taken today.

And here are four from the D70 taken today.

DSC_0007

DSC_0009

DSC_0011

12 responses

  1. Hi Christer,
    It will be good to see pictures of Orvar and Hector again.

    Lovely sunrise. Looks warm.

    The red toadstool reminded me that a couple of weeks before Christmas I saw an Xmas card with a red “Christmas mushroom”, as they called it, drawn on the front with snowflakes and other wintery things. Generally, we in the northeast of US don’t have a tradition of Christmas mushrooms except perhaps the large ones stuffed with crabmeat, baked and served as appetizers.
    This year there were mushrooms to be seen growing around the oak trees on Christmas day. Not today, though. Today the ground is covered with an inch or so of snow that fell overnight. It is topped with a coating of sleet which is now being rained on. It’s a bit above freezing so the snow is compacting and melting a bit. It’s going to get warmer so it will mostly melt by tomorrow. I can wait. πŸ™‚

    Enjoy the day.

    December 29, 2015 at 3:38 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      You can actually see both of them below the toadstool. No good photos but it is possible to see that it is them πŸ™‚

      The Red toadstool is sort of a christmas symbol here, we usually have them in our advent candlesticks and quite often we can see them in old christmas cards too. I think it is the colors it has that make them so christmasy πŸ™‚ The ones stuffed with crabmeat are quite nice too πŸ™‚

      I could see mushrooms here until christmas too but now they’ll be deep frozen I think πŸ™‚
      So nice that You at least got to see some snow before spring comes to You, I wouldn’t be surprised if it starts already next week over at Yours πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      December 29, 2015 at 5:02 pm

      • Last year we escaped winter snow until the last week of January. Then we got buried in 10 feet of the stuff over the course of February. I hope this year will not be a repetition of that performance. I was not amused.

        December 29, 2015 at 5:50 pm

      • Yes I remember and this winter is very much like last year to be honest but it has been even warmer so who knows what it will be like if winter came to You? I think ours just started but I can’t remember when it did last year but I do remember it didn’t last for long.

        December 29, 2015 at 7:04 pm

  2. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Sounds like your day, apart from the wind, was decent! πŸ™‚ I love finding old pictures – brings back such good memories, and Orvar and Hector! πŸ™‚ Today we are cloudy with flurries of snow. We are going to our local museum today and the planetarium. I love going to the planetarium – sitting in that big dome and watching the night sky appear – there is no better feeling in the world. Today’s show is called Season of Light. We are looking forward to it! Isn’t that just lovely that you can fall asleep to cheering crowds! πŸ™‚ I think that’s awesome. Today I am going to make some turmeric milk for us to drink. Healthy and good for us so we will give it a shot! πŸ™‚ Last night we took our tree to get mulched and then a walk around the frozen duck pond. Karma barked at everyone she saw so she wasn’t well behaved. I truly hope this is just a phase with her – otherwise it will make for unpleasant walks. Have a good evening!!

    December 29, 2015 at 3:48 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      I can’t complain too much πŸ™‚ and it was nice to see them, both again, I do miss tem a lot!

      I wish we had a planetarium here too but I think the closest one is in my old home town, rather far away.

      I had to check what turmeric milk is πŸ™‚ I guess it will taste like something coming from India and I found several different recipes, cashew nuts seems to be popular to mix in to it. Perhaps I’ll try it myself one day πŸ™‚

      Sune gets so exited when he sees another dog that a sort or raor comes out of his mouth πŸ™‚ He actually sounds slightly insane to be honest πŸ™‚ I’m pretty sure that the more dogs she’ll meet the less she’ll bark. Sune didn’t make a sound yesterday when we met the only dog he’s allowed to greet. Not because of me but dog owners here are a bit odd and won’t let other dogs greet their own dogs??!!

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      December 29, 2015 at 5:14 pm

  3. Hi Christer –

    While the temps. on the East Coast are in the 60s, I was surprised to look out my window yesterday morning to see lots of snowflakes coming down, Of course, they didn’t stick or last long, but the hills around my home are covered with a few inches. It barely went above freezing and many of the hilly areas had the roads closed because of black ice causing so many accidents. The well to do people love living up in the foothills, right up until they can’t get down their hills without sliding into one another or ending up in a ditch πŸ™‚ It will be good to see those photos of Hector & Ovar. I found some really old rolls of film I never developed from the early 80’s. Do you think they could still be developed? most were in the film cans, but their was still one in the old camera and I’m not sure if it was exposed to light too long to be any good. Now I have to find somewhere that still develops film. We have a planetarium in our city as part of a science museum. I used to take my Sister’s kids all the time when they were little. The planetarium was my favorite part. Something wonderful about sitting in the quiet darkness, looking at all the stars & planets. One of the things at the top of my “Bucket List” is to go somewhere that I can see the stars on a clear night. The best night sky I recall seeing was on a trip to Wyoming. One of the negatives about living in the city is that you cannot see the stars the way you can away from all the strong lights. In the summer I can usually see the big dipper & Venus, but little else. Nothing like the night sky is meant to be viewed.

    When I read your post from yesterday about the idiot that rode your bumper as you drove to work, I could totally relate & now know this just doesn’t happen in the US. The only thing worse than people who follow too close are the ones who insist on squeezing into the small distance I try to leave between my car & the car in front of me. The law here says you have to leave one car length for every 10 MPH you are driving. I don’t know when the last time I saw anyone obeying that law. I used to love driving when I was young, but now I avoid it as much as possible. I hope you got my e-mail about giving my address to Mona. I have followed her blog for years and she is the sweetest lady. I will have to figure out why my e-mail address is not appearing because I have my profile set on “Public” for blogs I trust & follow regularly. I have an offer from Windows for a free upgrade to Windows 10. I know how unhappy you were when you bought your computer with Windows 8 and wondered if you switched to Windows 10? I have procrastinated on upgrading versions and have stuck with Windows 7 ever since I bought my laptop because I heard nothing good abolut 8. I will probably make the switch to version 10 because Windows will eventually stop providing service to Windows 7 & 8 and the security is supposedly improved on version 10. I just hope it doesn’t mess up my computer when I transition.

    Enjoy your last few days of vacation & don’t forget to buy more firewood.

    Ellen

    December 29, 2015 at 10:23 pm

    • Hi Ellen!

      That’s always a problem when living way up on a mountain πŸ™‚ We must by law have winter tires but not even those help when the roads are that slippery πŸ™‚ I can have problems just getting up from the slope I’m living in, I don’t know how many times my car has went down into the ditch and that’s when I drive up the road πŸ™‚

      Yes they can most likely be developed, This guy lives in USA, in Main I think and he can do a lot with old rolls of film. Here’s his e-mail address: greywater@westfordcomp.com and here’s a link to his web site: http://www.westfordcomp.com/holga/index.html I’m often at that site watching old photos and new ones taken with old cameras. If You check the “What’s new” You’ll see some of the okd film rolls he has found and developed and also some people has sent to him.

      I can see many stars here by my cottage but that’s nothing to what I can see if I walk in to the forest. It is amazing how much damage a neighbors lights can do to the visibility of the stars in the sky.

      Yes those idiots that must pass even if there’s no space!!! Or the ones that drives like mad to pass and then has to stop because they must turn in to another road!!! I mean what is their problem? It would have taken them ten seconds longer to just stay behind me. Too many idiots with drivers license in the world I’m afraid. If anything would happen to them they will of course blame everyone else.

      Your e-mail address isn’t supposed to show, it’s just for the ones owning the blog. That’s a way to keep down all the spam You would get in Your mailbox otherwise and I feel we get enough of that as it is πŸ™‚ They have become much more carefulwith that now days, I remember back in the days when they allowed us to have our e-mails as public but I don’t think it is possible to have it like that any longer.

      Yes I switched to windows 10 and haven’t regretted it for a second!It is a big difference from windows 7 but oh so much better than number eight!!!

      I went away this morning and bought lots of fire logs πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      December 30, 2015 at 4:27 pm

  4. Christer, your pictures were fantastic today!! Just beautiful!! Bertil is good? I’ve had Windows 10 for a couple of months now and I like it too.
    I’ve heard others complain but I’ve had no problem. Easy to get used to it.

    December 30, 2015 at 4:36 pm

    • Hi Mona!

      I’m glad You like them πŸ™‚

      It was so nice to go back to something that almost worked as it did before πŸ™‚ Windows 8 was just a mess to be honest.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      December 30, 2015 at 8:22 pm

  5. Hi Christer, I am a bit late blog visiting because of the holidays and I hope that yours were good. Ours were good times with family and, of course, too many good treats! The grandkids got lots of new toys and seemed to have a wonderful time even if many won’t be intact in a couple of months! I enjoyed the moon photo and the sky colors were fantastic. Admittedly, we are inside during sunrise and sunset so I keep missing any here. I can imagine how surprised and happy you were to find those images of Orvar and Hector, but it also must bring some sadness too. I felt the same when looking at photos of my mother who passed last December. In case, I don’t visit again before January arrives, Grenville and myself and also Dorothy & Pat send our combined very best wishes for a very Happy New year (for all of us). See you again in 2016!

    December 30, 2015 at 9:23 pm

    • Hi Dorothy!

      I have strangely enough not been around to especially many blogs lately, I don’t know why because I have had the time but I’ve just not had the energy I guess.

      I can’t complain about my christmas since it was exactly as I wanted it to be πŸ™‚ Sunrise is so late that I often am back home again before it starts in the morning and sunset so early that I mostly miss that one totally πŸ™‚ I do long for spring and longer days now!

      I do miss the old boys but I get happy when I see them in photographs I didn’t knew I had πŸ™‚

      I wish You all a Good New Year!

      Christer.

      December 31, 2015 at 10:09 am

Leave a Reply

