I wish You all a good new year!

It was exiting walking up the road this morning. It doesn't look slippery in the middle but yes it was :-)

It was exiting walking up the road this morning. It doesn’t look slippery in the middle but yes it was πŸ™‚

So a new year begins but I really can’t see any difference. It is a bit warmer than I had expected and we never got any fog as they had predicted, it is more like a slightly thicker haze to be honest. The snow is melting since it is above 0C (32F) but the melting water just freeze when it covers the road, so the road does look as if it is glazed with glass.

 

DSC_0029

DSC_0037

DSC_0040

DSC_0042

It was an adventure to walk in to the village because I think it would have been smarted to wear ice skates than rubber boots πŸ™‚ It looked as if there was a safe piece to walk on in the middle of the road but there wasn’t. The gravel was just as slippery there as it was elsewhere, so I mostly walked in the ditches all the way round πŸ™‚ It was so much better when I walked out to the fields instead where only a few tractors had been driving and the snow just melted without freezing to ice again.

 

DSC_0022 (1)

DSC_0023 (1)

DSC_0024 (1)

These were taken yesterday.

These were taken yesterday.

I’ve looked almost everywhere but I just can’t find my crampons. Today it feels like I should wear the kinds they have while climbing on icy mountains πŸ™‚ Perhaps it would be worth buying those kinds, I would look very odd walking around in those but I would know for certainty that I never would slip on any icy ground πŸ™‚ They would last for a very long time too so I guess the high price would in the long run be a very low one instead πŸ™‚

 

The last four from the Rolleicord.

The last four from the Rolleicord.

026

027

A18977_28

I tried to stay awake until the new year would arrive yesterday but being a very early morning person made that almost impossible, so I gave up around 11pm and I think I haven’t slept this well in a very long time. Not a single firework was used in the village but I did hear quite a lot from a distance around 10 pm yesterday. Perhaps they were celebrating the new year in each and every time zone in the world?

 

The last eight of the Zeiss Ikon 531.

The last eight of the Zeiss Ikon 531.

006

010

I really had no idea how much of what I saw in the range finder would show up in the photo, so I took a few on this tractor :-)

I really had no idea how much of what I saw in the range finder would show up in the photo, so I took a few on this tractor πŸ™‚

It is time to take another walk again before it gets dark, today is around 1,5 minutes longer than yesterday πŸ™‚

 

012

013

014

The light leak actually look very much like clouds here :-)

The light leak actually look very much like clouds here πŸ™‚

 

Have a great day!

12 responses

  1. I’ve learned so much about photography from you, thank you for that,,
    best wishes on a great new year and don’t slip on all that ice!!

    January 1, 2016 at 2:47 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      I do what I can πŸ™‚

      Have a good new year!

      Christer.

      January 1, 2016 at 5:54 pm

  2. Hi Christer,
    Happy New Year!

    I did manage to be awake at midnight. I resolved that I would not be awake at midnight so I have begun the new year well by breaking my resolution right off the bat. πŸ™‚

    You remind me that I meant to go looking for those crampon things for my shoes. It was slick as greased glass after the freezing rain. I couldn’t walk anywhere around my yard except where I had shoveled. That was hardly anywhere. πŸ™‚ Fortunately the stuff is melting now.

    That Zeiss takes some quality photos apart from the light leak. You need to get the toy flashlight and fix it again. πŸ™‚

    Here it is sunny and above freezing so more melting will occur. Yay! Good way to start the new year.

    Enjoy the day.

    January 1, 2016 at 4:13 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      Yes one might as well break them as quickly as possible πŸ™‚

      Much of the ice melted away during the day here too but I still don’t know if I’ll manege to get to my mailbox πŸ™‚ I don’t think they delivered any mail yesterday but I really don’t know since I can’t reach the mail box πŸ™‚ I still haven’t found my crampons so I guess I need to buy new ones on Monday.

      It is amazing how good photos it delivesr! and I have already fixed that leak and to be sure it doesn’t open up again I check it every time I’ve photographed a roll of film :-)This was the first roll I took but I have a few more to develope.

      We’ll get colder weather from now on for a while, down to 14F as coldest they say but at the end of next week it’ll be warmer again. It could just stay cold since it most likely will return again, winter is still very young.

      Have a good new year!
      Christer.

      January 1, 2016 at 6:01 pm

  3. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Happy 2016! I did manage to stay up until midnight but that also helped with an hour long nap about 9 p.m. πŸ™‚ We went and watched the fireworks at 8:00 p.m. and they were quite lovely. It has been relatively mild – today is -3 which is nice. The sun is out, not a cloud in the sky. I am happy about the nice weather. They were saying on our local weather channel that in 1974 it was -41. I remember cold winters like that!! πŸ™‚ So I will take -3 quite happily. Today is a quiet day – laundry, floor washing, dusting. Quite nice to get it done before the weekend. I can’t believe my vacation went by so fast! One week is not enough! I have some crampons somewhere – they never fit on my boots properly so I don’t wear them. But they certainly do work! Its really interesting how a different camera makes some of the photos look so very retro – like they were taken in the 60’s or 70’s! Maybe that’s just me! πŸ™‚ Have a good evening!

    January 1, 2016 at 8:45 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      I watched fireworks in Rio de Janerio on tv the day after instead πŸ™‚ Very beautiful!

      Very windy here3 this morning and some now has fallen, it was anything but nice when we were out walking. I’m so tired of the wind now but I’m afraid it will stay for at least a week and it will get colder too.

      Much about the retro feeling comes from the film I think but I do like it a lot, it feels like one is looking back in time πŸ™‚

      Have a good new year!

      Christer.

      January 2, 2016 at 10:19 am

  4. Happy New Year Christer –

    I was awake when the New Year arrived and you did not miss much. I flipped on the TV to watch the crystal ball drop in Times Square. It is even less exciting when you know you are watching it on taped delay due to the time zone difference. Funny that they show the New Year happening live in Austraila, London and other places in the World, but if you don’t live on the East Coast in the US, you have to watch your New Year on pre-recorded video. I heard fireworks going off for about 10 mins..The worst was some idiot setting off M80s which they bring illegally from Merxico and they sound just like a very loud bomb going off. It caused every dog in the neighborhood to start barking & howling.ho I feel badly for all the animals who are so scared by the noise.

    Both of your vintage camera take good photos and I was surprised they show detail as well as they do. Is there a way to seal the gaps where the light is coming in? My brother is an avid photographer and when he was here recently he left a photography magazine had bought. I was flipping though it & read an article about how Kodak was going to bring back the Polaroid camera & the 60 second film they had discontinued production of last year. I guess many photographers were very unhappy they could no longer get the film. The 1st camera I ever owned was a Polaroid I got for my 10th birthday. In 1969 it was consider very high tech to be able to see your photos develop in front of your eyes in about one minute. I think I still have the camera in my storage room, maybe I will get some film when it becomes available and try using it again. By the way. your thought about having a page dedicated tot each of the cameras you own & the photos you have take eacn one is a great idea. There is not very much information online about these vintage camera and any information you can share with other photography buffs would be helpful. People could learn the things you learned by trial & error with each camera and see the photos you used under different conditions. It would also be a great project in terms of documenting info. about these cameras from a historical perspective. It would certainly take some time & effort to do, but could also be a fun project if you ever had the time & motivation to put it together. Something to considerf, but I think you have some good experience & knowledge to share.

    Glad to hear you made it through your morning walk without any falls or broken bones from the icey conditions on the ground. I hope the ice has melted from the roads by the time you need to drive on them. Some people still swear by a very low tech solution to prevent slipping on ice. They would tale an old pair of panty hose, cut the them off at the knee & pull them on over their shoes or boots. It sounds weird, but it works in a pinch to prevent slips & falls. I looked online & on Ebay & Amazon you can buy ice cleats that slip on over you shoes for less than $5 USD. That is far less expensive than the crampons ice climbers use. Maybe they have the cheap version on your version of Ebay. It’s certainly worth a few dollars to keep you safe when it is icy out.

    I hope the New Year brings you good health, contentment with life & much happiness.

    January 2, 2016 at 12:27 am

    • Hi Ellen!

      It is odd that they do like that! Surely they could make some kind of tradition in each time zone? They could use any big star living in each time zone to say goodbye to the old and hello to the new year.

      They ahev serious discussions about forbiding fireworks here, we already have a ban on firecrackers. Lots pf pets just can’t take all the bangs so I think it soon will be banned. Perhaps that only certified businesses will be allowed to still have fireworks.

      I knew the Rolleicord would take sharp photos but the old Zeiss was a pleasant surprise. It has after all survived WW2 and still manages to take sharp photos. The camera company Zeiss was well known for their fantastic cameras and their fantastric lenses but they never could pricing the cameras to what they really were worth, so they bankrupted in the end. The name Zeiss still survives in cameras though and are now luxury cameras made by a Japanese company (and still have a fantastic quality).

      I had one of those polaroid cameras and I had so much fun with it πŸ™‚ It was a bit messy though (I think that in klater models the photo just came out clean and slowly showed itself, mine had a cover that had to be removed and it was very sticky to remove). Those cameras are still very popular and they still make film that works in most of those cameras even if Kodak stopped making it. It is good news though that Kodak will start making them again πŸ™‚

      There are a few really good sites where one can read about most ofb these older cameras, Matt’s classic cameras (http://mattsclassiccameras.com ) is one such site but there can never be too many πŸ™‚

      Yes that is a great way to not slip πŸ™‚ but they don’t hold for especially long I’m afraid but it sure works! I have some old normal socks, I wonder if they would work too, they have holes in them so it would be a good way to end their lives as socks πŸ™‚ I think almost all stores now days sell clampons here, our population is getting older so moreand more people want to buy them. I have seen teenagers wearing them too and it sort of makes me happy to see that, it means not all teenagers hgave stopped using their brains πŸ™‚

      Have a good new year!

      Christer.

      January 2, 2016 at 10:37 am

  5. Happy New Year, Christer! I love your photos of the Blue Tit. We don’t have them here. Please be careful on those slippery surfaces! I know you will, but I’ve found that as we get older and older, we have to be more and more careful.

    January 3, 2016 at 10:40 am

    • Hi Adele!

      Good new year!

      It is a beautiful and very aggressive little bird. It can scare away much bigger birds if it wants to πŸ™‚

      I am very careful. I’Γ€m not allowed to fall since that could make my hips pop out πŸ™‚ I have hip implants in both hips and I got them pretty earkly in life. I have falen before without anything happening but one never knows πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      January 3, 2016 at 11:41 am

  6. I was sure I wished you a Happy New Year!?
    Hmmm
    well,
    Happy New Year.
    I LOVE the way the last 8 photos look!
    That’s a cool camera.
    I stayed up until almost… 10!
    LOL!

    January 5, 2016 at 3:26 am

    • Hi Cindi!

      I think You did on fb πŸ™‚ but if not Happy New Year πŸ™‚

      It is an amazingly good camera despite the light leak. I have two more rolls that I’m waiting for to be developed πŸ™‚

      You’re worse than I am πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      January 5, 2016 at 6:52 pm

Leave a Reply

