That’s the only kind of snowfall I like.

I'm starting with some Nikon photos, at least they look cold.

I’m starting with some Nikon photos, at least they look cold.

It has just stopped to snow. It snowed for at least 30 hours and still very little can be seen on the ground πŸ™‚ That’s the only kind of snow fall I actually like πŸ™‚ We’ve had a steady eastern wind since a few days back and it will continue to come from east or north-east until at least next weekend. Winds from east or north-east in winter always means cold weather. There’s strangely enough no frost on the trees but I guess it is the wind that stops it from forming.

 

A18976_013

A18976_014

A18976_016

One good thing with that is that my car windows are ice-free and it will most likely stay that way so I won’t need to scrape any car windows tomorrow morning when I’ll drive to work again. I can’t pretend I long to start working but what am I supposed to do when the lottery gods don’t help me πŸ™‚ At least it is a short working week, it is a holiday (The Epiphany or Three King’s Day) so no work then and on Friday I’ll have my medical examination because I work with an extremely toxic paint sometimes. I do this every second year and I’m not worried the least since I wear the best protection there is.

 

A18976_017

A18976_018

A18976_019

Since I stop working at noon on Fridays there’s really no idea for me to go to work that day, I would arrive at work just at the time I would have to go FalkΓΆping for the medical and I would arrive back at work just in time for our weekly meeting and then I would stop working for the day πŸ™‚ They have moved the health center since I was there the last time so I better remember to ask where it is placedΒ now πŸ™‚ I know it is in FalkΓΆping but that’s it.

A18976_020

A18976_021

A18976_022

I didn’t bring any digital camera this morning either, only the old Zeiss so You’ll see older photos today. We walked down to the little lake on the other side of the village and I could see that it had frozen. Lots of swans were flying above us to the big lake where there’s still open water but of course none could be seen around the little lake. It was a very nice walk where the wind didn’t reach us and I hope the photos will turn out as good as I hope but it was a bit dark to be honest so I’m not sure.

 

Here are some from the Edixa.

Here are some from the Edixa.

A18975_027

A18975_028

 

It is time to give all the animals their food and I think I’ll make myself some too. I’ve done all my chores, like the laundry and I’ve fed the birds outside but no deer had been here during the night. I will keep on putting out food because sooner or later they will turn up. The fire is burning in the stove and has all day so my cottage is warm and nice.

 

A18975_023

These three aren’t just grainy, it rained heavily that day too.

A18975_024

A18975_025

Have a great day!

 

Here comes three from the digital Nikon D70.

Here comes three from the digital Nikon D70.

DSC_0002

DSC_0027

 

 

13 responses

  1. Great Post.

    January 3, 2016 at 4:07 pm

    • Hi mukul chand!

      Thank You πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      January 3, 2016 at 6:33 pm

      • Thank You, same to you.

        January 3, 2016 at 6:37 pm

  2. Hi Christer,
    I like that kind of snow, too.
    The snow that fell last week is still around even though the sun has been shining and it has been above freezing. There wasn’t that much that fell either but it’s hanging around in all the shady places and on the grassy areas.

    The Nikon D70 does a great job. Love the sunflower photo. Is that barberry?

    I almost bought a new camera. Amazon sent me an email that had a deal to purchase specific photographic equipment and pay over 12 months. One of the choices was a Sony Alpha a6000 mirrorless camera with two zoom lenses for 696.00 USD. It’s an excellent small camera that I thought could replace my poor broken Lumix and be the small camera for general carrying around. Yeah, I could do that over 12 months so I put it in my cart. But I couldn’t find how to apply the deal. Had a long chat with a brand new trainee Customer Service Rep during which she first told me the email was a phony one and I shouldn’t click any links. I already had and it wasn’t phony but I immediately changed my password. Then she told me to send the email to her but she couldn’t find an email address to send it to. Finally she said the deal was only for Amazon store card holders who ordered something over $35.00. I gave up and said good-bye.
    Maybe I should get a used iPhone just for the camera? πŸ™‚

    It’s sunny here, today. Seasonable temperatures but the real cold moves in tomorrow.

    Enjoy the day.

    January 3, 2016 at 5:14 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I wouldn’t mind if that kind of snow fell all winter πŸ™‚
      It is so cold here now that the snow we have on the ground will stay till the end of next week when it’ll be warmer again. It is the icy roads that’s the big problem. I have at least found some crampons now so I hope I won’t fall and break anything πŸ™‚

      No that isn’t barberry even if it looks like it. It is actually rose-hips, they look very small here but the bush is around 3 yard high and much wider πŸ™‚ I will however soe barberries this coming week, the leafs get the most amazing colors in autumn and I’ve heard that jam made from the berries are quite delicious. I think I’ve read that the berries are called poor mans lemons because they are really sour and can be used just as lemons in food πŸ™‚

      It is a good camera that old Nikon!
      The Sony You almost got ius a really good one too! and it costs almost exactky the same over here πŸ™‚

      I have to say that the customer’s service was kind of crappy! The least one could demand is that she actually had known the e-mail address πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I would have given up too, some things just take too much energy to be honest. But there must be other who has much the same deals? I don’t think You should have an iphone as a camera, thay aren’t that good πŸ™‚

      Clear sky and temperature dropping but thankfully clouds will arrive so it won’t be too cold tonight.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 3, 2016 at 6:46 pm

  3. Hi Christer -i

    I actually like the “grainy” photos in an artsey kind of way. The photos you took using the Nikon D70 came out great, but it was kind of sad to see your once beautiful sunflower crumpled over at the end of it’s life. What are the red berries that have such cheerful bright color?

    Well, the weather gurus got it wrong again. They predicted sunny, but cold today. When I pulled the curtains open this morning, everything was blanketed in 3 inches of snow. It looked lovely, but was totally unexpected. At least I don’t have to go out today because I hate to drive with all the people who don’t know how to drive in the snow. I really need to get a set of new tires and I don’t think I could drive too well in snow with my treads being pretty worn out. It is usually a bit painful to have to spend a lot of money on the car, but I can;t put it off any longer. I wish I had gotten the kind of snow you are experiencing. It is great to see the snow falling for so many hours when it is not sticking on the ground.

    Today, I’m when I changed the sheets, I put on some thick flannel sheets and a heavy quilt. For some reason I can’t warm up and getting into cold bed at night is not my favorite thing. I’m thinking about buying an heated mattress pad. I have owned one a long time ago & would turn it on 10 mins. before getting in bed. It was wonderful to get into a toasty warm bed when it’s really cold. Of course, I may be cold because I’m getting old:) I’m trying to get caught up on doing laundry and house cleaning, Since I’m not home much during the week it is easy to get behind in all the regular household tasks. Even on the few days I don’t go to dialysis I usually have doctor appts. on those days. I feel like I have a full time job again because of all the time with health issues. No time to rest when I feel like I need to the most. Sorry that your vacation is ending, but at least you have a short week. Maybe you need to start buying more lottery tickets to improve your odds of winning if you want to retire early & with plenty of money to buy more vintage cameras. By the way, didn’t you say you were weren’t going to buy any more vintage camera after the first one? Just kidding, I’m glad you found something new to collect & have a lot of fun experimenting with. I’m sure your medical exam on Friday will go well, but it was nice that it comes on a Friday and you get out of work for the day. Next time you have ice covered ground you could try putting your old socks over your boots, but I suspect the socks will stick to the ice and you might have a hard time pulling them off without falling on the ice. The difference between the pantry hose & sock is that the slick nylons don’t stick to ice, but fuzzy knitted socks will πŸ™‚ Best solution is to buy the crampons.Nice to hear some teens not only have brains, but common sense. Although, all those teens going to the emergency room with broken bones after falling off those trendy hover boards makes me wonder how many are actually using their brains. I’m off to finish the laundry & the dreaded ironing that I have procrastinated about for months now. You would think that by 2016 someone would have invented 100% cotton clothing that never have wrinkles or need ironing.

    January 4, 2016 at 12:33 am

    • Hi Ellen!

      I actually like when the sunflower look like that πŸ™‚ I gues it is all the seeds I’m thinking of and that I’ll just hang it up when it gets coder so the birds can pick the seeds themselves πŸ™‚

      The berries are rose-hips and those You see in this photo are actually just as right red yet. Most others have turned brown or black by now.

      The weather gurus have been rather right today and most of them say much the same, it’ll get colder and colder for the rest of the work week. After that they seem to hesitate, some say above 32 on Sunday others say below πŸ™‚

      I can’t say I like to drive in snow either but it is better than icy roads. I was surprised to see that all bigger roads were ice free today but the village road is a nightmare πŸ™‚ I don’t think there’s any spot on it that isn’t covered in ice. The only part that actually is somewhat good is that last bit down the slope to my cottage, tye sun melted the ice there before it got too cold πŸ™‚

      I usually have a dog or two who keep my bed warm πŸ™‚ But the heat from the stove in the kitchen goes straight up to my bedroom and the chimney is warm all night so it doesn’t happen often that I feel cold up there. Several of my work friends have electric blankets so their beds are warm and cosy πŸ™‚

      Yes being sick is a full time work to be honest and doctors appointments are so tiering but when one must go there one must.
      I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t win the lottery anywaY πŸ™‚ So I rather save those money and buy myself a camera instead πŸ™‚ Yes I did and I just didn’t care about what I had said πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ But I never buy any expensive ones to be honest, just the three first ones did cost a bit more than the other ones πŸ™‚

      I actually did put socks on my shoes and it worked well for a few hundred yards and then things stuck to them so it almost got as slippery as without any sock on. But I have to say that they didn’t break until I was almost at home and by then I had walked a mile or two (even big parts in the forest with them on).

      I think we must be happy for those few teenagers that do use their brains πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Ironing is the only household chore I like πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 4, 2016 at 6:56 pm

  4. Christer,
    The end of a vacation is always sad, but at least you’ll have a shorter week than usual which will help you get used to work.

    I’m all for snow which doesn’t settle on the ground. I do worry about wet snow because it freezes on the roads at night. I have to throw de-icer on my steps in front and the dog’s stairs in the back. I have a special de-icer good for paws so I really toss it all up and down the stairs. I fall enough without setting myself up with icy steps.

    I used to hate to scrape my windows. Now I never do, and I’m glad!!

    Stay warm and have a good week.

    January 4, 2016 at 1:18 am

    • Hi Kat!

      Yes the short week helps but it still hurt to go to work this morning πŸ™‚

      It is an amazing snow, too bad it doesn’t fall more often πŸ™‚

      I pour sugar on my stairs, works just as good as salt and the other defrosting things. I always have sugar at home but rarely use it so wΒ΄hy not on the icy stairs πŸ™‚ I do fall a lot too πŸ™‚

      I didn’t have to scrape the windows this morning, the air is cold and dry so there’s no frost on the trees either.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 4, 2016 at 7:00 pm

  5. Dianna

    Hi Christer! So behind yesterday that I am finally catching up! Last day before heading back to work is always a bit busy for me. Preparations and stuff! πŸ™‚ Glad to hear it snowed. We have no snow in the forecast but apparently they are warning that its going to get very cold but the end of the week. -20 for the highs. Yesterday we reached -2 – in January! Incredible. Its usually the -20 we see. I love the blue hued pictures – gives it a rather surreal look to them. I like that! Its probably a good idea that you ask where the clinic has moved to! No good driving around wondering πŸ™‚ I don’t know if Falkoping is a big city but it could be tricky nonetheless! I wish you a good Tuesday!

    January 4, 2016 at 5:23 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      I don’t mind that kind of snow at all πŸ™‚ They say that the temperature will fall down to at least -11 this week so I do hope we won’t have any wind because if we do it will come from the only directioΒ΄n where it can hit my little cottage.

      FalkΓΆping isn’t especially big, it is more like a big tyown but not even a small city πŸ™‚ Still there are lots of places where they can be so I do need a map or at least the name of the place so I can find it in a google map πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      January 4, 2016 at 7:04 pm

  6. I’m kinda sick of any type of snow.
    :p

    January 5, 2016 at 3:15 am

    • Hi Cindi!

      I don’t mind it as long asd it never land on the ground πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      January 5, 2016 at 6:50 pm

Leave a Reply

