After all, we do have real winter now.

No new photos until tomorrow but I did find some with snow in them. They are taken with my digital Nikon D5100.

No new photos until tomorrow but I did find some with snow in them. They are taken with my digital Nikon D5100.

It is -10C (14F) and it will continue to drop they say, as it is now they predict that it will fall down to -13C (8,6F) and they usually show a few degrees warmer than it will be. I live in a cold spot so my guess is that it will fall a few degrees more before it stops. Guess if I’m glad that tomorrow is a holiday here and that I won’t need to scrape any car windows in the early morning πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0030

DSC_0032

DSC_0034

They had predicted above 0C (32F) for the weekend and rain but now all weather services predict below that and lots of snow instead. If I understand things right we might get up to 35cm (14 inches) of the white garbage so I can’t even pretend I won’t mind πŸ™‚ I do mind and a lot too to be honest. Well at least the icy road will be covered with so much snow that I won’t risk slipping when walking on it πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0041

DSC_0047

DSC_0048

DSC_0052

I nailed a woolen carpet in the dog house opening with big nails and hoped the dogs would let it sit where it was, I have a radiator in the dog house and don’t want it to work too hard unnecessary. Of course they didn’t let it hang there. Instead they pulled it out to the dog yard and I think it is Sune who has used it as a sleeping mat πŸ™‚ He had one of my old sweaters for that before but as soon as the carpet was dragged outside he brought the old sweater back in to the dog house πŸ™‚

 

Eight photos from the Nikon F-401s.

Eight photos from the Nikon F-401s.

A18976_026

A18976_027

A18976_028

Nova has an old carpet that looks like a Persian carpet and that one is now in the garage πŸ™‚ It is very thick and isolates really good towards the cold floor. I just wish they rather had stayed in the warm dog house πŸ™‚ I have no idea why she loves to stay in the garage (well it is now days more like a storage area since I can’t have any car in there, mice tend to eat all the cables in the engine room πŸ™‚ ). She has dug a hole that will let her in but for some reason she get stuck if she tries to go back outside again, still she walks in there every day and waits for me there πŸ™‚

 

A18976_032

A18976_033

A18976_036

Early morning.

It is time for something to eat and naturally I’ll have hot cocoa, after all we do have winter now πŸ™‚

 

I end today with four from the Edixa Prismaflex, rather dark I'm afraid.

I end today with four from the Edixa Prismaflex, rather dark I’m afraid. This one is a favorite of mine.

A18975_022

A18975_029

A18975_030

Have a great day!

8 responses

  1. Dianna

    Hi Christer! I am hoping that your cold weather won’t last long so the snow can melt. That would be nice. We won’t see the last of the snow around here until April or May – depending on how nice Mother Nature is! πŸ™‚ I can’t really complain about our winter this year, its been decent. We have had some doozies and this year thankfully is not one of them. I have only had to use my SAD lamp twice at work so far! πŸ™‚ Aren’t dogs funny?? They crack me up with their weird and strange ways – but I wouldn’t change them for the world. I just love them so. We got a call from our vet today – Salem is ready to come home. So now she will sit on the fireplace with her brother Tor and she will be happy again. And so will we! πŸ™‚ I hope your holiday is good tomorrow! Have a lovely evening!

    January 5, 2016 at 8:55 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      It will get slightly less cold but all predictions says below 0 for at least ten days. I do not of course trust predictions longer than a day but they all seems to be sure of it this time πŸ™‚ The snow predictions vary a bit but some say up to 50cm, that I truly hope won’t come true. I don’t need to shovel a long path though, only around 3 meters but it is way to much anyway πŸ™‚

      We can have winter way in to May but that is rare, normally it starts turning towards spring in the middle of April. We’ve been lucky for a few years when the winter ended in late February but that is even more rare πŸ™‚

      I wouldn’t mind if thet stopped to rip down that carpet though πŸ™‚ Otherwise they must stay the same πŸ™‚

      It is always nice toget them back home again πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      January 6, 2016 at 6:19 am

  2. jaz

    we have cold weather too but it will be in the upper 40’s by this weekend. teddy has never laid down on a dog bed. my last chow loved her beds. go figure!

    January 5, 2016 at 9:12 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      So warm and nice πŸ™‚ It fell down to 5F during the night but itis slightly less cold right now.

      My dogs will occasionally use the dog bed here in the cottage but usually it is one of the cats who occupies it πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 6, 2016 at 6:21 am

  3. Hi Christer,
    Why is it that dogs can never get back out of the places they manage to find their way into in the first place? Whenever I can’t find Piki Dog, I look inside the bathroom. He’s either under the tub or lying on the bath rug because the door swung mostly closed and he can’t figure out how to stick his nose in the gap and push it open.

    I hope you get less than 14 inches of snow and that you don’t get rain before or after it. Just maybe 6 inches of snow. Six is a good upper limit for snow depth. Deep enough for traction but not so deep as to be inconvenient to shovel.

    It was cold for the second day here. But the sun was out and the wind was less so that made it feel not so bad. I had to haul the goosedown parka out of storage. Tomorrow it is supposed to be back in the 40’s Fahrenheit and maybe even get into the 50’s F by the weekend. With rain, of course. Can’t have everything, I guess. πŸ™‚

    Enjoy the day.

    January 5, 2016 at 11:45 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I’ve been wondering about that too πŸ™‚ Sune however have no problems at all strangely enough. He’s much wider but slightly less high than Nova but he also is much more persistent that she is πŸ™‚
      Poor Piki Dog πŸ™‚ Life is full of mysteries πŸ™‚

      Some weather sites predict even more snow but I so hope they all are wrong and that we get no more snow at all πŸ™‚ 6 inches however is as You say reasonable. Thankfully I really don’t have to showel that much snow, I have 3 yards from my entrance door to the gate. I won’t go outside to remove the huge snow pile that will come when the plow the road until I know I won’t have to do it again. I’ve parked my car on the side of my cottage this year and there is always much less snow there, except for that pile that will be the result of them plowing the road πŸ™‚ If I let if freeze properly I won’r be able to go to work, that is a thought to ponder of I think πŸ™‚

      It fell down to 5F during the night but it is now less cold here but I’m pretty sure it will start to fall again. Well I’m at home and don’t need to go anywhere so I’ll enjoy the frosty trees and bushes instead πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 6, 2016 at 6:31 am

  4. Christer,
    When winter comes, it comes in a great fury. That is so cold and far too much snow. We are also in the midst of a deep freeze, but it will get warmer over the next few days. I suppose I ought not complain as December was the warmest on record. I think it only got down into the 30’s a couple of times.

    Gracie’s favorite spot is curled on the couch. When I leave her at home, she is in her crate lying on the crate blanket in the warm house. She is not one for the cold. Gracie goes out and is quick to return. She wants her couch.

    I hope your winter blast isn’t as bad as they are predicting.

    Enjoy the evening and your cocoa.

    January 6, 2016 at 1:37 am

    • Hi Kat!

      Our December was just the same, warmest ever but I still don’t think I deserv 5F as it was here during the night πŸ™‚ and I really don’t think I deserv all that snow πŸ™‚ Some even predict more snow, up to 20 inches, I do hope they all are wrong πŸ™‚

      I would have thought that Nove would like the warm dog house since she has a very thin fur but she just loves that garage. I’m thinking of placing two dog besd in there, the kind that is like a small burrow but I doubt eithr of them would use it πŸ™‚

      Thankfully the snow won’t start falling until I’m home after work on Friday but I do hope they’ll be wrong πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      January 6, 2016 at 6:35 am

Leave a Reply

