A tad chilly.

DSC_0031 (1)

It was a tad cold when we went out for our morning walk today, -15,4C (4,3F) but since there was no wind what so ever it didn’t feel too bad. The world was covered in frost and that’s always very beautiful but cold days and nights like this should create rime, a much thicker frost which looks simply amazing when the sun shines on it. Perhaps it will come tomorrow when it is supposed to be just as cold, too bad I must work then.

 

DSC_0029 (1)

DSC_0030 (1)

DSC_0032 (1)

DSC_0033 (1)

We took the normal route down to the creek and after that we walked to the little creek just by the bog. I saw that the big creek had a blanket of ice so I thought that maybe it would be possible to walk on the bog today. So we passed the little bridge and went out on the bog towards the place I could see the morning sun reached. I wish You all could see how truly beautiful it is out there, especially on frosty days like this, a photo can show some but not how it really looks.

 

DSC_0035 (1)

DSC_0038 (1)

DSC_0039 (1)

DSC_0040 (1)

I really wasn’t dressed for walking on the bog so we went slowly homewards again. I think I would have thought it would be warm and nice in a refrigerator when we came home πŸ™‚ It is so cold outside that anything above freezing point feels warm πŸ™‚ Nothing that a big pot with hot tea couldn’t fix though. The wind, veryΒ weak, has returned so our second walk wasn’t as nice and even the dogs wanted to go home again.

 

DSC_0048 (1)

DSC_0055

DSC_0057

DSC_0059

So to the camera! I got a text message from my oldest brother a week or so ago and he wondered if I wanted our mormors (grandmother on our mother’s side) old camera! Our mormor was the center of the family or perhaps even the universe to be honest. I didn’t even know they had one πŸ™‚ He had it in a closet and since I like cameras he wondered if I would like to have it and of course I wanted πŸ™‚ It is a box camera called Gevabox, from the 50’s I think. It was for being such a cheap camera a bit advanced because it has three apertures. The shutter speed however can’t be changed and it is around 1/30th of a second.

 

Nova isn't especially interested in sticks but Sune had one and he and I played so naturally she wanted one too then :-)

Nova isn’t especially interested in sticks but Sune had one and he and I played so naturally she wanted one too then πŸ™‚

We've passed the little bridge and on the way to the sunny parts of the bog.

We’ve passed the little bridge and on the way to the sunny parts of the bog.

DSC_0066

DSC_0069

I don’t know how people back in the days could get a non fuzzy photo with those slow shutter speeds but many did. I know I will use my tripod when using it otherwise I’ll never be able to see what it is I have photographed πŸ™‚ I also need to buy a film with a very low ISO so I won’t be able to try it for some time. It actually use the same kind of film that my Hasselblad camera does but this one gives bigger negatives so I’ll be able to get only eight photographs from each film roll.

 

DSC_0070

DSC_0072

The trees growing in the bog might be small but most likely very old. I wouldn't be surprised if the ones we can see here are a hundred years old or more.

The trees growing in the bog might be small but most likely very old. I wouldn’t be surprised if the ones we can see here are a hundred years old or more.

DSC_0084

The fire is burning in the stove and the heat is slowly pushing the cold air out of the cottage. It is time to make some rose-hip soup and I would like to take a nap but it is a working day tomorrow so I don’t want to risk my night sleep. Perhaps I’ll doze off in front of the tv πŸ™‚

 

Yes it is the sun You can see beside the swans :-)

Yes it is the sun You can see beside the swans πŸ™‚

DSC_0032 (2)

DSC_0034 (2)

DSC_0037 (2)

Have a great day!

 

Here's the camera. It has two seekers, one if I want to take a landscape photo so the photo will be low but wide and one for a standing up photo. To be honbest, those seekers are quite useless so it's more like aim and hope for the best :-)

Here’s the camera. It has two seekers, one if I want to take a landscape photo so the photo will be low but wide and one for a standing up photo. To be honest, those seekers are quite useless so it’s more like aim and hope for the best πŸ™‚ There is actually one more speed, if I have it on B the shutter will stay open as long as I keep the button down.

10 responses

  1. Dianna

    Hi Christer! That is a COOL camera!! I can’t wait to show my husband and son when I get home today. They will love it as they both love cameras and photography. Its incredible what our elders kept. What a fantastic find and such good memories attached! πŸ™‚ We are cold today too but are going to get colder. They say the highs for the weekend will be in the -24 range. YUCK!!!! It was so good while it lasted but if it decides to get nice again for the work week I won’t complain! πŸ™‚ I don’t have to go out on the weekend if I don’t need anything so that suits me just fine! Our Karma is big into sticks, she finds one when we are out walking and will walk with it in her mouth the whole way. Our other 2 aren’t as interested. I think its a Labrador thing. Our other Lab loved sticks very much too. Your photos today are surreal! Love the snow and ice covered little city (that’s what I think when I see the creek pictures with the fallen trees). Little roads and little paths πŸ™‚ Have a good rest of the day and evening!!!

    January 6, 2016 at 4:13 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      I think so too but I know it will be tricky to use πŸ™‚

      They knew how to be careful with the things they had, that’s why there are so many old things in such a good shape from those days. I wonder how much we’ll leave to other generations that is in such good shape πŸ™‚

      It is bad when the highs is at -24 πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ We haven’t had those kind of temperatures in a few years now. We had weeks with -29 when I moved here but I guess the climate change might have ended those kind of temperatures in places fairly close to the ocean. I don’t feel like we are close here but Sweden is rather thin so I don’t have any longer distances to either the west or eats coast and I do live between our two biggest lakes too.

      Yes labs usually love sticks and it looks like Bernese mountindofΒ΄gs/ English hunting cockerspanioels might do too since Sune loves them πŸ™‚

      It was so beautiful out there on the bog but I couldn’t continue too far since I knew I would start freezing long before I would have come home again. Still we were out way more than an hour πŸ™‚

      Those fallen trees really are bridges for smaller animals πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      January 6, 2016 at 5:40 pm

  2. Hi Christer,
    I love the photos of the bog. There are too many that I love to pick one as a favorite. Some of them, particularly the one right before the moon swans, look like you shot them in the desert or some scrubby veldt in Africa.

    Nova is like Piki Dog. He doesn’t care what’s going on unless Rocky is enjoying it and then he wants whatever it is, too. Rocky just wants whatever toy Piki Dog has at that moment.

    How cool that you have your mormor’s camera! It looks confusing though. I look forward to seeing what it does.

    Today started out very cold but rapidly warmed up to bearable and then became comfortable. I’ve been running around all morning and have just been able to sit down and eat breakfast well after lunch. πŸ™‚ Today was haircut day. I usually photograph his garden. On the way in I saw an interesting shot but was almost late so I figured I’d get it after I was done. It was to be of some kind of broad-leafed evergreen that he has near the front entrance. The leaves were all tightly curled up against the cold and there was a lovely pattern of dark green top of leaves against the light tan bottoms. When I was done and went looking for that shot it wasn’t the same. I couldn’t figure out why until I realized that it had warmed up so much, the leaves unfurled and the light tan bottoms were all hidden. Lesson: take the shot when you see it because it won’t be there when you come back. πŸ™‚

    Enjoy the day.

    January 6, 2016 at 8:51 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      You should have beenthere to see how it really looked! Photos just don’t do it justice. I think the one with the single frost white tree with the green spruce behind is my favorite.

      Yes it is like I really don’t want that thing but I rather have it myself than letting him hav it πŸ™‚ Nova doesn’t hesitate to just take it away from Sune and then drop it somewhere, so I always keep an eye on her and give it back ti him πŸ™‚

      It is cool πŸ™‚ It is a very simple camera though and I’ll explain how it works when I have some photos to show.

      It was almost nasty cold here in the morning and now it’s just cold πŸ™‚ and it is so typical that one never photograph something as soon as one see it and next time it doesn’t look the same at all πŸ™‚ I know many rhododendrons behave like that but none that can take my climate (well at least the climate I used to have πŸ™‚ ).

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      January 7, 2016 at 6:22 pm

  3. jaz

    what a great surprise to get from your brother! these photos are just gorgeous. we are cold but are on the way up to the 50’s for the weekend. i wonder if we will get any big snows this year. since the great lakes have not frozen over, if we get an arctic blast with the right conditions, we could get a big one. i sure hope so!

    January 6, 2016 at 11:43 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      Yes it sure was πŸ™‚

      I’m starting to doubt that You’ll get any winter now, it sort of is too late I think. When did it start last year? Wasn’t it rather late then too?
      The predictions of how much snow we’llget vary all the time, at the moment we won’t get much at all but they still have plenty of time to change that πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 7, 2016 at 6:25 pm

  4. Christer,
    The frost on the ferns and grasses is beautiful and looks like jewels in some views. I miss the frost as in I am not awake to see it. The sun hits the grasses and bushes so the frost melts.

    Temperatures in the mid 40’s were back today so that horrible cold is gone for now. I heard it will be back for the weekend. January is a month with odd weather. It can be very warm or very, very cold.

    That was neat for your brother to think of you for that camera. Now you have a family heirloom filled with memories. Enjoy!!

    January 7, 2016 at 5:25 am

    • Hi Kat!

      We usually have the frost here all day when we finally get it. I guess it is even more beautiful out there right now because it has stayed cold and I had rime in some places this morning. Normally January is very cold here but February is always our coldest month so I know we still have the worst ahead of us.

      I was so glad he asked if I wanted it πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 7, 2016 at 6:27 pm

  5. You may have been freezing while out on your morning walk today, but the photos your took are simply magical. I would have loved to seen your bog in person. The photo of the lone frosty tree in the midst of the dark forest is the one that made me go back to look at it again – many times. It was so stunning & surreal looking. I had to make sure I was seeing correctly. Our freezing rain storm has just about ended, but I’ll believe it when I stop being afraid of slipping on the black ice πŸ™‚ I saw a man walking his dog this morning when suddenly his feet went out from under him & he inadvertently pulled his dog ( a black lab) to the ground because the man held tightly onto the dog’s leash. Neither of them got hurt (well, maybe their pride), but the look of surprise (and probably some pain) on their faces was priceless.

    I’m glad to hear your Brother offered to give your Grandmother’s camera to you. Strange how siblings come to have family possessions we know nothing about, but at least he offered it to you. It doesn’t sound very practical if it can only take 8 photos per roll of film, but it will have wonderful sentimental value & fun to see what kind of photos it takes. Have you thought of building/buying some type of display case for your camera collection? They could be protected from dust, handy for when you want to use them & also be a cool way to decorate your main living area.

    I bought a new kind of frozen Mexican appetizer for dinner tonight. The package made them sound like they would be pretty mild tasting which is fine since I don’t care for super spicy foods. The first bite was fine, but by the time I swallowed the second bite my mouth was on fire. My nose started to running nonstop. I think I almost went through an entire box of Kleenex. I threw the uneaten part away, since they were inedible, but I almost went crazy because all I wanted to do was drink glass after glass of cold water & I couldn’t. I tried eating a piece of bread like the experts tell you, but that didn’t help much. I think was the hottest thing I’ve ever eaten, but at least my sinuses are well drained. I liked your photo of Theodore today. He looks like he’s trying to go somewhere, but can’t figure out how to get there without stepping in the snow. I hope your weather warms up soon.

    January 7, 2016 at 9:31 am

    • Hi Ellen!

      I do like that photo too, that tree really shines compared to the dark green spruce! Thankfully we rarely have any ice storms here and like You I can’t even pretend to like it when it happens even if the ice can create the most fantastic shapes where it hits. I always fall and each time I’m happy if it is just my pride that got hurt πŸ™‚

      I’m so glad he asked me πŸ™‚ but it was fairly common with cameras only taking eight photos per roll back in the days. The Hasselblad camera only gives me twelve photos per roll and the Zeiss gives me sixteen and they all use the same kind of film. The SLR cameras use another one and they can give us up to 36 photos per roll. I have to say that the digital cameras are better in all ways since we also can take loads of photos with them and delete the ones we don’t like. The old ones however forces me to think before I take a photo so I don’t waste more film than I really need to.

      Yes I do need some kind of cabinet to have all the cameras in, I’ll start looking for something when spring comes.

      Personally I would have loved that Mexican food but then I can drink as much as I want to, so I can understand that You threw it away. I have heard that white bread should work but obviously not. Nice that Your sinuses are well drained now πŸ™‚ They really should have written how hot it really was!

      It is a bit fun because Teodor really doesn’t like snow but still, he is the one who is most outside of us all.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      January 7, 2016 at 6:38 pm

Leave a Reply

