I can’t say I was surprised.

DSC_0028 (2)

So I opened the door as soon as we woke up this morning to let the dogs outside and noticed that it was snowing a little, well I can’t say I was surprised even if they never mentioned anything about snow falling when I looked at the weather predictions on tv this morning. At least not until this afternoon. The next time I opened the door, when I was going to the doctor it wasn’t a little snow falling any longer, it was a lot.

DSC_0030 (3)

DSC_0031 (3)

DSC_0032 (3)

DSC_0034 (3)

I did bring two older cameras anyway because I didn’t think it would be that bad in the town but it was because now the wind had started to blow really hard too. By the time I left the doctor it was so bad that I decided that I just should buy what I needed and then go home again because it was slippery enough on my way there. I think it was the best decision I could take because it just kept on falling that white garbage from the sky and the wind just made everything worse.

 

DSC_0038 (3)

DSC_0039 (2)

DSC_0040 (2)

DSC_0041 (2)

We took a walk as soon as I came home and that was the last walk for today πŸ™‚ I think we all like staying indoors where the fire in the stove keeps us warm and no wind can reach us. It still snows just as much even if the snow flakes are much smaller and the wind isn’t any nicer either to be honest.The heat from the stove is slowly spreading through the cottage and I ‘ve heard that they are plowing the road in the village. This is a day for hibernating.

 

DSC_0043 (2)

DSC_0044 (1)

DSC_0045 (2)

DSC_0046 (2)

So how did it go at the doctor You might wonder? Well I’m ok for continuing to paint that extremely toxic paint. All test results weren’t ready before I left but the doctor told me my lungs are great, my blood pressure is good and my cholesterol levels are very low. He did however look surprised for a second or so when he looked at what he had gotten so far ands I never like it when a doctor look surprised πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I know he would have told me what it was if it was something bad but I still didn’t like that sign of surprise πŸ™‚ He will send the finished results already today so I’ll know already next week how healthy I am πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0047 (2)

DSC_0049 (2)

DSC_0050 (2)

DSC_0052 (2)

It is time to put more fire logs in the stove and after that I think I’ll take a nap πŸ™‚

Have a great day!

 

DSC_0053 (2)

The Forbidden Forest.

The Forbidden Forest.

DSC_0056 (1)

DSC_0058 (1)

12 responses

  1. jaz

    maybe there is still a chance i will get some of the white garbage though i look at it more like a gift from the heavens! i need snow!!!

    January 8, 2016 at 3:28 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      Yes even You have what should be winter for some time more but it is getting late, we can have snowfalls way in to May if we’re unlucky.

      We really live in the wrong climate, You should have mine and I should have Yours :-)Β¨

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      January 8, 2016 at 5:38 pm

  2. Hi Christer,
    My doctor never looks surprised when she reads my reports. Unfortunately, she never looks particularly pleased either. πŸ™‚ Congrats on a clean bill of health.

    Small, wind-driven snow flakes sting harder when they hit your face. Good idea to stay inside as much as possible.
    I think it sprinkled a bit of snow here last night because there was a tiny spot of snow on my trash barrel this morning. That’s all the snow I want to see, frankly. I overdosed on the white garbage last winter.
    I have to confess that I read the title of today’s post, scrolled to the first photo and laughed out loud. Sorry. It’s a beautiful photo and the best part is that it’s on your side of the ocean. πŸ™‚
    We’ll have rain later on and maybe lots of it, too. If it lasts long enough, it will turn to wintery mix which is probably worse than snow.

    Stay warm and enjoy the day.

    January 8, 2016 at 4:45 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      This was the first time it has happened to me πŸ™‚ Sort of unpleasant to be honest πŸ™‚ I’m sure he would have told me if anything was wrong though.

      Yes they do hurt those tiny flakes but it is back to big fluffy ones again and it never seems to stop falling. I would have laughed too if it was the opposite πŸ™‚

      They are all very unsure when it comes to the weather predictions here, a few days ago they predicted that we would get above 40F degres for three days with rain, then they all only showed below 32 temperatures with snow. Then they were back to above’s and now they show one day with 33F πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I feel I have made the wrong career moves in my life πŸ™‚

      The fire is burning in the stove and it is now almost too warm here πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 8, 2016 at 5:44 pm

  3. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Wow – what a lot of snow! It does look pretty though, but only through the lens. Never nice to walk when the wind is blowing. We are going to have temps with the wind tomorrow of -37 celcius. That’s just stupid. I won’t be going outside at all until Monday for sure. Dumb weather. Glad to hear you are healthy! πŸ™‚ Working in a hospital, we like it when we have healthy people…. We had snow overnight and it was rather slippery driving today and then walking. But it looked like there were diamonds in the snow and that was slightly pretty πŸ™‚ I hope your nap went well and that you stay nice and warm this evening!

    January 8, 2016 at 5:17 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      I do like the photos of the snow and snow fall but that’s it πŸ™‚

      I’m rather happy that it won’t get that cold here, not even if we got a full blown storm πŸ™‚ I wouldn’t have gone outside either and I’m sure the dogs would have refused too. I would have to teach them to go potty in the shower πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      At least I know my lungs are quite alright and that my blood pressure and cholesterol is really good too πŸ™‚

      Lots of car crashes here today, people just don’t understand that they can’t drive as if it was a sunny summers day.

      I had just fallen asleep when a telemarketer called, I got so cranky that I refused to talk to him πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 8, 2016 at 5:49 pm

  4. Christer,
    The snow is pretty when it is falling but that’s it. It is trouble after that especially on the roads. I just stay put and wait for Skip, my plow guy and shoveler.

    Before any storm, the stores are filled with people buying bread and water. The water is because if the electricity goes out, many pumps won’t work. I buy goodies like cookies or pastry.

    I hope you don’t get all that much snow.

    Stay warm!

    January 9, 2016 at 2:47 am

    • Hi Kat!

      Yes it is and I wouldn’t mind the skind of snow we had the other day, the one that never seems to land everywhere πŸ™‚ I only have three yards to shovel and I did that yesterday and I need to fo it again today, it has snowed all night.

      I can’y say that people do the same here, we usually don’t have long power breaks, mostly because our storms are so much calmer than Yours but for thosde that have lived through long periods without any electricity it’s another thing but they always have extra things at home just in case.

      It just keeps on falling.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      January 9, 2016 at 7:05 am

  5. It’s beautiful, Christer. Our mountains are white..and I am loving it. The view of them is right behind home..in the far distance..but breathtaking.
    Your Winter has arrived!! πŸ™‚

    January 9, 2016 at 3:30 am

    • Hi Mona!

      I wouldn’t mind seeing the mountain here being totally covered in snow either, as long as it didn’t fall any here πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Yes it sure has and I’m not happy about it, well ticks are dying so that’s a good thing πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      January 9, 2016 at 7:08 am

  6. As add as it sounds, Christer, Inlook forward to seeing yiur beautiful snow photos and then reading about how much youndislike this type of winter weather. And even though you repy to a fellow blogger that you both should switch locales, I don’t think you would do that really…or am I wrong?

    Amazingly, we have only had a few inches snowfall here in NH so far, but the. There is much winter left to go and last year’s snow amounts can still be met but hopefully not so. I don’t mind walking in newly fallen snow, but once it becomes trampled and has ‘t been shoveled off walkways, then freezes, it’s harder to navigate. My solution then is to walk in the street which is usually cleared. And you are so right about accidents being caused by drivers who sometimes get careless…there were highway closures here last night due to black icing conditions!

    Enjiy the winter wonderland…good news about your checkup too.

    January 9, 2016 at 2:55 pm

    • Hi Beatrice!

      I would gladely move south to be honest but they have no jobs in southern Europe and the language is always a problem. I think I would get back my French somewhat easily but the Spanish is dead I’m afraid πŸ™‚

      It is a bit tricky to walk on teh roads here now since there’s ice beneath the new snow πŸ™‚ I can walk for a mile and then suddenly the snow moves and I slip around πŸ™‚ So far I’ve managed to not fall but it has been close πŸ™‚

      Lots of accidents on the roads both yesterday and today, it is one think if the careless driver dies or injures him/ her self but they usually bring innocent people with them I’m afraid.

      I’m glad they said I’m ok to keep on working with that paint, it means I know how to protect myself and that I’ve gotten the best equipment to do so πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 9, 2016 at 4:24 pm

Leave a Reply

