This time I got more than annoyed.

DSC_0021 (2)

I had planned to walk out on the bog today but already before I’ve started to put on outside clothes the first hunters arrived. Slightly annoyed I then decided to walk to the little lake instead and off we went. It snowed all the time but it wasn’t as bad as yesterday thankfully. As soon as we turned in on the road to the lake I realised that hunters were on that side of the forest too.

 

DSC_0022 (3)

DSC_0023 (3)

DSC_0026 (3)

DSC_0027 (4)

Annoyed isn’t the word that described how I felt at that moment. I wanted to take a long walk and not just around the village so we went down a road I’ve only taken once before, when they dug down the water, sewer and internet pipes. It leads to the big road but I hoped that I somehow would be able to go out on the fields instead. It turns out that now have included that road into one of the big pastures for tha cattle. The cattle aren’t around during winter so out into the pastures we went.

 

This old road is rarely used, I've driven on it once when the big gravel road was closed.

This old road is rarely used, I’ve driven on it once when the big gravel road was closed.

DSC_0035 (4)

We walked in to the road towards the lake but the car tracks told me hunters would be in there too. Still I wanted to be sure before we turned around.

We walked in to the road towards the lake but the car tracks told me hunters would be in there too. Still I wanted to be sure before we turned around.

DSC_0037 (4)

I’ve never walked in those fields before but I figured that if we walked alongside (but from a long distance) with the big road we would end up in the field where the old barn is and the creek flows by. They still have electricity in the wires around the pastures, I don’t know why since there ar no cattle but that’s how it is. All snow and lots of grass made sure that not much could be felt if touching the wires πŸ™‚ just a slight tickling so we could walk between the different pastures as we wished. We were out for almost two hours in the wind and snow so it was quite nice to get back home again.

 

We reached the old cottage and then I saw the car and we turned back again.

We reached the old cottage and then I saw the car and we turned back again.

That cottage had a wonderful view.

That cottage had a wonderful view.

Back to the other old road again.

Back to the other old road again.

DSC_0045 (3)

I realised that it doesn’t work well to walk on snow-covered icy roads with rubber boot so today I finally ordered some proper winter boots. I should have done that long ago but the weather allowed me to use my summer hiking boots, not any more though. I ordered them from a business that mostly sell clothes, shoes, boots and other things to hunters, the quality is really good and the prices are thereafter. They were nasty expensive but I know they’ll last for several years so in the long run they’ll be really cheap. These are non-slip too so I won’t be needing crampons when they have arrived.

 

DSC_0046 (3)

DSC_0051 (3)

DSC_0050 (3)

DSC_0055 (2)

We walked towards the bog in the afternoon when the hunters had left but never walked out because it was a bit late and one doesn’t want to walk around there after dark for many reasons, one is that it is impossible to find the way home when the daylight is gone πŸ™‚ I hope the hunters will stay away from this area tomorrow so we can get out there without risking our lives πŸ™‚ I will bring at least one old-time camera too and then we can watch a snowy bog when spring finally has arrived πŸ™‚ By then I actually might like the snow in the photos πŸ™‚

 

The afternoon walk to the bog was more pleasant since the wind couldn't reach us.

The afternoon walk to the bog was more pleasant since the wind couldn’t reach us.

DSC_0026 (4)

DSC_0027 (5)

DSC_0028 (4)

The fire is burning and the cottage is warm and nice. The animals have all had their food and now it is time for me to have some too. I’ll definitely have hot cocoa with it.

 

Nova always look serious no matter how much fun she has :-)

Nova always look serious no matter how much fun she has πŸ™‚

DSC_0034 (5)

DSC_0035 (5)

DSC_0036 (5)

Have a great day!

 

Salmiak was not pleased to see us :-)

Salmiak was not pleased to see us πŸ™‚

10 responses

  1. such beautiful pictures, and you walk sounded like a very interesting walk

    January 9, 2016 at 6:52 pm

    • Hi IMPERFECTION IS BEAUTY and welcome to my blog πŸ™‚

      Thank You πŸ™‚

      It was interesting to walk there since I’ve never done it before, cows with calves really don’t like dogs πŸ™‚ but I had prefered to walk where the wind didn’t reach πŸ™‚

      Have a great day and welcome back!
      Christer.

      January 9, 2016 at 7:41 pm

  2. Hi Christer,
    Salmiak looks evil. Fiery eyes heating up for laser shots. πŸ™‚
    As for Nova, well, how can anyone look serious when their ears are flapping in the breeze? πŸ™‚

    What are the hunters after now? Wild boar, still?
    It was good seeing photos from new places you haven’t walked in. Or maybe some of them were the same places from a different side.

    No snow here. Just dark grey wet drippy cold. It’s so dull outside that the photoelectric candles in my windows didn’t shut off this morning. Not enough light to tell them it was morning. :/ These are the kind of days that drain all my energy and ambition. I don’t want to do anything except curl up on the couch with a good book and a couple of warm dogs. And maybe a glass of wine but not if I have to go out to get it. πŸ™‚

    Enjoy the day.

    January 9, 2016 at 7:06 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      He really does but he’s the kindest cat there is :-9

      I don’t know how she manages to always look serious but she does πŸ™‚

      They can still hunt deer, hare, fox, moose and wild hogs here but all seasons but the wikld hog is coming to an end soon, I think it is around February twelve or so that the last one is (except for hogs, they are allowed to hunt all year long unless the sow has piglets and they always have πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ ).

      Some were of the things You always see here but from another angle but some were things You’ve never seen. I did actually enjoy walking there but the wind was quite nasty and I would have prefered to walk on the bog where the wind hadn’t reached me.

      January does drain all energy from me and has always done. I’m thinking of an early night and it still isn’t 8pm πŸ™‚ I had a very dark voice when I woke up this morning and my nose was totally stuffed, I wonder if the cold will break out this time.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      January 9, 2016 at 7:50 pm

      • Hi Christer! It looks so cold and lonely in the forest with all the snow…and..and..I would think it dangerous to be out walking when there are hunters out..hunters tend to shoot at anything that moves. Maybe the hunters are different where you live but a stray bullet isn’t even a bit funny.
        Always worrying..I know! πŸ™‚ The dogs always look like they are having the time of their lives. Glad you are getting some new boots..:) I bought four pair this year and it’s not even that cold here. The snow on the distant mountains is so beautiful..but, yes, cold and lonely! πŸ™‚
        At least you finally got snow…that’s a good thing, isnt’ it?

        January 10, 2016 at 6:47 am

      • Hi Mona!

        The hunters don’t allow me anywhere near where they are hunting and they put up signs so that no one will walk in to where they are by mistake. I really have nothing against the hunters but it would be nice if they could be here n a working day and leave the weekends free so the rest of us can enjoy the forest and bog too during the weekends.

        I should have bought these new boots long ago but I never came around to it since the weather has been so warm πŸ™‚ I think I’ll have them in time for next weekend when they say that it will be nasty cold, oh how I hope they are wrong πŸ™‚

        No it is not a good thing that we got snow πŸ™‚ I don’t mind if it gets cold, frost and rime are after all very beautiful but I don’t like snow and don’t think I ever have πŸ™‚

        Have a great day!
        Christer.

        January 10, 2016 at 1:58 pm

  3. Hi Christer –

    Just read your post from yesterday. That was quite an unexpected snow fall you had yesterday. At least you were still able to go to your medical exam. Too bad the weather didn’t cooperate with your plans to take photos while in Falkoping. I remember when you showed us some of that lovely city a while back. I remember how nice many of the older buildings & houses were. I hope you were able to get some groceries & fire wood before you had to drive home. Maybe the weather will cooperate the next time you have a reason to drive to Falkoping. I saw a weather forecast for your area and was surprised at how cold it has become. -4 degrees tonight for a low, but it will feel like -10 with the wind chill. Looks like this winter may not be as mild as the last couple of years.

    What a pain with all those hunters making it hard for you & the dogs to safely walk anywhere around the bog or much of anywhere on the weekend. Do you ever actually hear them fire their guns at anything? I wonder if the snow makes it easier for the hunters to spot their prey? I hope they aren’t able to kill any of the deer. Have you seen any of the regulars this winter. Do they even come looking for food at the cottage anymore? This winter it may be harder for them to find food if you continue to get snow & cold temps. All the photos are wonderful. Just like candle light makes people look better, snow makes all the red houses & barns look better. Sune & Nova look like they had a good time romping in the snow. Given how cold it was, I’m sure you were all happy to go home to a warm house. Salmiak looks huge with all of his fur puffed up to insulate him from the cold. All the cats there seem to put on a nice layer of winter fat to help them cope with the cold. Cats here do not get such thick winter coats with the weather usually being so mild. I’m surprised they can hunt so close to where people live. It doesn’t seem right that these weekend hunters take over the lake & bog & make it unsafe for other people to go there. Well. stay warm & safe my friend and enjoy the rest of your weekend.

    January 9, 2016 at 11:02 pm

    • Hi Ellen!

      The worst thing was that it continued until early this morning, with s hort stop in the late afternoon.
      The wind just blew too hard and there was too much snow falling, I would not have liked to drive homewards later that day. Lots of reports on car crashes all Friday. FalkΓΆping is a beautiful little town but so are most towns here. They tend to be arouynd a thousand years old all of them and most have thankfully not tore down all the old houses, something that was very popular in the bigger cities. They had a philosophy that if it was old it wasn’t worth saving so there’s very liitle old houses left in most cities and towns here in Sweden.

      The hunting works different here than in the US. Here they always hunt in hunting groups and every year they decide on how many animals that may be shot and what kind too. So this year most deer bucks were safe for instance. They also divides the meat equally between all the hunters that participate in the hunting (the one shooting the animal will of course get the best parts) when it comes to moose and wild hogs and the Red Deer. The smaller animals belongs totally to the one shooting it, like the roe deer. These hunters are very good in that they don’t allow people in to the area they are hunting in so there’s no risk of getting shot and yes I can hear them when they shoot. To be honest, I have nothing against these hunters but I do feel that they could hunt on a working day instead of during the weekends.

      The snow makes it more difficult for the hunters since the animals doesn’t move around especially much and if they don’t have a dog the chanses of even seeing an animal is very little. The hunters doesn’t walk around in the area, they have special places where they can sit in small towers so they get a better view of the area.

      Salmiak is actually just as small as Bertil, they are both tiny to be honest πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      January 10, 2016 at 1:53 pm

  4. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Oh that picture of Salmiak just cracks me up! Doesn’t hold back his feeling does he???? πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Sorry to read your walk had to take a detour. There is no way today or yesterday we could have been out for 2 hours. Today’s windchill (Sunday) is -39. Skin will freeze in less than 5 minutes if you are not dressed properly. So, its no walk for us today unless the weather smartens up. I was out for most of the day yesterday – my plans of staying in all weekend never worked out. But that’s ok. I got to order some new glasses which I need due to my prescription changing and I had to pick up a package that I had ordered last week. They had a buy 1 get 1 free for glasses, so I got regular glasses and a pair of proper prescription sunglasses. I am excited about that! πŸ™‚ Its the little things. πŸ™‚ Have a good Sunday!

    January 10, 2016 at 5:20 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      He looks worse than it was πŸ™‚ He and Bertils have this grumpy look all the time I’m afraid πŸ™‚

      I could go out to the forest in the evening but at that time I was rather annoyed but I got the chance to walk where I haven’t before.

      It is still 1C here and it will stay around that for a day or two more but after that the temperatures will drop, perhaps dramatically. Lots of ticks will die this winter πŸ™‚

      The optician I go to always offer two glasses for the price of one πŸ™‚ Before that chain came here to Sweden glasses were nasty expensive, they are still expensive but no way near how it was back then. I really should go now too but I’ll wait until later when spring has arrived I think.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      January 10, 2016 at 6:22 pm

Leave a Reply

