I do hope the predictions for next weekend are wrong.

This was what we saw of the sunshine today :-)

This was what we saw of the sunshine today πŸ™‚

It was rather warm when I woke up this morning and as warmest today we reached 2,4C (36,3F), so I could hear dripping from the roofs on our way to the bog this morning. I had dressed for much colder weather though so after a while I had to take of the scarf and a short while after that I had to open up my jacket, it felt like I was boiling inside πŸ™‚ Β I could hear the wind blowing when we went out but didn’t really realise how hard it blew while we were out walking.

 

DSC_0024 (5)

On our way to the bog.

On our way to the bog.

DSC_0026 (5)

I think this might be the border between the county I live in and one of the neighbor counties.

I think this might be the border between the county I live in and one of the neighbor counties.

I must admit that I got surprised over how much snow it was out there andΒ weΒ couldn’t walk the way we usually do out there because the bushes had gathered so much snow that it reached way above my knees. I’m glad I know the place well because it is easy to get lost out there. I talked loudly all the way since there are lots of animals out there IΒ really don’t want to surprise, like moose and wild hogs πŸ™‚ I could hear them getting away from us the times we came too close to them.

 

DSC_0028 (5)

DSC_0029 (5)

DSC_0030 (6)

DSC_0031 (6)

We hadn’t come especially far when I realised we would have to go back again, my rubber boots were filled with snow and it started to get a bit chilly around my feet. I’m so glad I’ve bought new boots so I can wear them next weekend when I’m planning on getting out there again. One thing one never shall do is to think that it will be easy to find the way back by just following ones own foot steps in the snow, especially now since the snow was quite wet. I have several times turned around just to see that there are no prints in the snow at all and sometimes when I do follow my own foot steps they just stop in the middle of nowhere.

 

The bog is a nature reserve so a fallen tree stays as it is.

The bog is a nature reserve so a fallen tree stays as it is.

DSC_0033 (6)

DSC_0034 (6)

DSC_0037 (6)

Today I realised that the prints that I followed were much smaller than my foot prints (and I’m totally sure no one else were out there at the same time πŸ™‚ ) and that they started close to a bunch of small spruces but there were no other prints anywhere around these spruces πŸ™‚ Bogs are tricky places and should be treated with respect. Well I knew where I were so I had no problems getting back home and the dogs had fun all the time, I can just imagine how many exiting scents they could feel out there.

 

DSC_0038 (6)

DSC_0039 (5)

DSC_0040 (5)

I decided to turn back when we reached this place, my feet were alrady very wet and started to feel cold.

I decided to turn back when we reached this place, my feet were alrady very wet and started to feel cold. You can see how it opens up just a few yards away but it just isn’t worth freesing the feet too badly.

I’ve also done the laundry like I always do on Sundays so the rest of this day will be rather relaxed and I think I’ll turn of the tv and get up to my bed to read a book. The wind is howling outside and I doubt that we’ll take another walk today. I do hope the weather prediction for later next week are wrong, they showed that we would get down to -20C (-4F) on Friday morning. I just checked and now they show that we’ll have down to -11C (12,2F) instead, much better to be honest. But these prediction will change so many times before next Friday so who knows what it will be πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0051 (4)

I should have brought another lens so I’ll do that next weekend.

DSC_0055 (3)

DSC_0060 (2)

DSC_0061 (2)

Have a great day!

 

Back home again.

Back home again.

12 responses

  1. jaz

    beautiful photos as usual christer! we have still been very mild but today a cold front with 50 MPH winds is blowing in and we are going to be in single digits for the rest of the week. we are going to freeze because we haven’t acclimated to this kind of weather.

    January 10, 2016 at 5:11 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      They would have been better if I had used another lens though, like almost always I had the tele-photo lens and came too close to whan I wanted to photograph.

      Perhaps I shouldn’t complain about our winds today πŸ™‚

      I guess You will freeze a lot since You’ve had summer temperatures until now. I do hope it doesn’t feel too bad but at least You will get a bit of winter again πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      January 10, 2016 at 6:17 pm

  2. Hi Christer,
    LOL, I love the mushroom snow cups. πŸ™‚

    Sunrise looks like the forest is burning.

    Was the toad house always missing a chunk of roof? Haven’t seen it in a long time so I don’t remember.

    When I used to cross country ski, I wore gaiters over my pants. They went from my feet up to my knees and kept the snow out of my boots. They weren’t skiing gaiters but leather half chaps I used for horse riding. I figured they’d keep the snow out of my boots just like the skiing gaiters. They worked fine. Skiing ones would be cheaper. Probably. πŸ™‚

    It’s pouring rain and windy here. The dogs are incredibly bored but when I open the door, they give me that look that says, “Where’s the door into summer?” Sorry, guys, no can do. πŸ™‚
    I hope your forecast temperatures are revised to warmer ones.

    Enjoy the day.

    January 10, 2016 at 5:47 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      The house has a big opening in the roof, one can place those very big outdoor candles in them, You know the kind that are impossible to blow out and that get so hot that they can’t be moved without heavy protection πŸ™‚ My friend tried that and his hands didn’t look nice after he had been to the ER πŸ™‚

      Those gaiters would certainly have helped if I had known they existed πŸ™‚ But those rubber boots are leaking anyway and with the new boots arriving I won’t be needing any. I will however remember this if I ever would need any in the future.

      It is still above 32F here, almost 33 and it will stray like this for one or perhaps two more days until the temperature drops fast again.
      Nova is the same, she always wants me to open up the summer door and look just as disppointed when I can’t πŸ™‚

      I do hope so too, I wouldn’t mind those temperatures if I knew I wouldn’t have to go to work. I would most likely enjoy the burning fire in the stove all day if it only happened on the weekend πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 10, 2016 at 6:30 pm

    • The chimney on that house however has always looked like that.

      January 10, 2016 at 6:31 pm

    • and now I realise what You mean with it missing a chunk of the roof πŸ™‚ Yes that part is gone but I’m not sure if it is supposed to be like that, it doesn’t look or feel as if it has broken there. If it has it must have happened in the oven.

      January 11, 2016 at 7:41 pm

  3. Dianna

    Hi Christer!! Nothing worse than having wet feet!! I have Sorel boots for those really really cold days. Sorels are decent enough at keeping me warm but these ones I have do not have very good grip. When we get the “brown sugar snow” they are rather slippy. But necessary when we get to our bitter temperatures. I wish we were still having our -9 degree weather. You feel like actually doing things. So, today I am making a potato and chick pea slow cooker recipe for tomorrow’s dinner. Everyone else (dogs and cats) are sleeping and the rest of us are wondering when we will get nice weather again. TV has nothing good on (does it ever?) and I am going to knit right away. That’s my Sunday! Your pictures of the little cottage outside your cottage is so lovely – but all your pictures are lovely today! Love the bog. Wish we had something like that in the suburbs but then they wouldn’t be suburbs! πŸ™‚ Have a good evening!

    January 10, 2016 at 6:45 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      Well cold and wet feet are a bit worse actually πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      I bought the ones that was slip free but they are winter boots so I’ll stay warm in those too, well I’m not sure how it would be if we dropped down to -30 though, I guess I’ll know when that happens again πŸ™‚

      I haven’t done much use today, I’ve watched some cross country skiing and sort of half slept in front of the tv but that’s it πŸ™‚ I could have made dinner for the coming week but I just haven’t had the energy.

      It is so nice out there on the bog and I would have kept on walking if it wasn’t fgor that snow getting in to my rubber boots. Well it looks like we’ll have the right weather next weekend too. I just hope the hunters won’t come here then.

      Have a grerat day!

      Christer.

      January 10, 2016 at 6:59 pm

  4. I remember walking home from school in the snow and having snow get into my boots..my feet were nearly frost bitten and they wrapped them in some sort of seed mixture. This was in the 1940’s so you can see why I don’t recall what the “mixture” was. Whatever it was..I never forgot the pain and misery. Now I wear UGG’s all year round and hate my feet to be even a little cold.
    I could see the tippy tops of the tree’s in your pictures bending in the wind.
    Being lost in the snow..was a story that I heard often as a child. Easy thing to do. You said your footprints behind you had disappeared when you turned back to look. Was that due to the snow being so wet? Must have just caved in on itself.
    I noticed a piece of wood in the middle of the pathway where you said that you thought it was the where your country bordered the next country. What country was it?
    Sweden seems so mysterous to me. The thing children’s stories are made of. πŸ™‚
    Mona

    January 10, 2016 at 9:55 pm

    • Hi Mona!

      No, no, County not country πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      I have already problems with some toes after being too badly frost bitten so I didn’t want to make it worse. I never thought that it would be so much snow out there πŸ™‚

      Everything look the same out there on the bog and it is easy to just keep walking in circles. I can’t always explain what happens out there on the bog, sometimes it can be a weak wind that fills the fooit prints other times it can be something else, but it does feel strange when turning around and all the fooit prints are gone πŸ™‚

      We do have a rich folklore and fairytalkes here πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      January 11, 2016 at 6:27 pm

  5. Wendy from NY

    Your pictures are amazing!

    January 11, 2016 at 2:33 am

    • Hi Wendy from NY!

      Thank You πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 11, 2016 at 6:28 pm

Leave a Reply

