From now it will get colder and colder.

The Zorki 6 takes quite good photos but I have edited away the light leak in this photo.The Zorki 6 takes quite good photos but I have edited away most of Β the light leak in this photo. All photos will be more manageable if You click on them.

 

They had finally made the roads rather good after the last snow fall when it suddenly started to snow again. Now it starts to get colder so I have no high hopes of good roads tomorrow morning. The weather predictions vary slightly but they all show that it from now on will get colder and colder. It might be as cold as -17C (1,4F) or even colder on Friday morning and it will most likely be even colder during the weekend. We all know how sure the predictions longer than one day are so who knows what it will be like πŸ™‚

 

This is how the light leak looks like in the Zorki. The first photo only shows this :-)

This is how the light leak looks like in the Zorki. The first photo only shows this πŸ™‚

A18983_024

A18983_025

A18983_009

I do hope the boots I ordered have arrived by then but Β it won’t be slippery on the roads if it get that cold anyway. Ice gets a rough surface if the temperature drop below -10C (14F) and the deep snow we walked in on Sunday is less high because lots melted these two warm days, I will most likely be able to walk on the icy crust when it gets that cold. I think I’ll buy more deer food even if they haven’t come here yet to eat what I’ve put out. I think they feel Β trapped here because they have put up new fences outside my garden, sheep fences. They are pretty high and there are six electric cables going parallel around the pasture. No wolf walks through that without learning that it is very painful.

 

I brought the Hasselblad camera with me one dark and grey morning because I wanted to see how dark it could be to take photos with it. These photos aren't at all as grainy as many other cameras give. I guess that is a sign of good quality.

I brought the Hasselblad camera with me one dark and grey morning because I wanted to see how dark it could be to take photos with it. These photos aren’t at all as grainy as many other cameras give. I guess that is a sign of good quality.

A18985_004

A18985_005

A18985_006

The deer will be pretty desperate if they can’t kick through the snow to get to the grass they want so I’m pretty sure they will turn up again as soon as it gets nasty cold in two days. I also hope that Nova will realise that it is better to stay in a warm dog house when it gets that cold outside than to get in to the garage when I’m offΒ to work, she can get in without any problems but she can’t get out again πŸ™‚ They have at least left the rug where it hangs in front ofΒ the entrance. I have so many screws holding it now that it would take so much work to get rid of it that not even a stubborn Sune will be able to remove it πŸ™‚

 

Too bad she wasn't any closer when I took this photo. The last eight are from the Zeiss.

Too bad she wasn’t any closer when I took this photo. The last eight are from the Zeiss.

9

 

A18986_001

14

 

It is time to make some cocoa and perhaps a sandwich too. The fire is burning in the stove and it will keep on burning until I go to bed.

 

A18986_002

A18986_011

A18986_012

A18986_015

 

Have a great day!

10 responses

  1. Hi Christer,
    Wow, you’re getting good with those old cameras. The black and white photos are excellent. I love the one with Nova running towards you. It’s excellent.

    Something is bothering Rocky but I can’t find what it is. He’s not vomiting. Doesn’t have diarrhea. He walks around looking hang dog and keeps his his tail down tight most of the time. He definitely wants his food and what goes in comes out but something is bothering him. I’ll keep watching.

    Today is sunny and seasonably cool. Snow is on the way later, they say. Not a lot. They say. πŸ™‚

    Enjoy the day.

    January 12, 2016 at 7:35 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I do have a lot of fun using them πŸ™‚ I do have a small problem with the Zorki, besides the light leak, it stop working when it gets cold πŸ™‚ I’m pretty sure I need to lubricate it with something modern πŸ™‚

      I hate when something like that happens with the dogs! One knows there’s something wrong but nothing shows what it can be. I do hope it will pass quickly!

      They do say a lot πŸ™‚ Here they change what they say every hour so no one believes anything they say any longer πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 12, 2016 at 8:27 pm

  2. Dianna

    Hi Christer! I have to say that one with the light leak looks something out of a sci fi movie! πŸ™‚ 2nd one in! πŸ™‚ Its incredible the difference between cameras isn’t it? I am sure that our Karma and your Nova are kindred spirits! πŸ™‚ Karma LOVES the cold and refuses to come in. Even when she’s lifting her feet and not understanding why they are hurting her….silly pup. We are still frigid although not as frigid as they were warning us about yesterday. There were alarms and warnings all over the place but it didn’t get to -41 with the wind chill. It was cold, but not extreme. We warm up a bit (-14) and then get cold again. Apparently this is what El Nino can do. I would like it to stay around -10 – you can do things outside at -10. Not -40. I played with Karma in the back yard last night – it was too cold to walk anywhere and the other 2 pups can’t handle the cold like that anymore. She wanted to walk but I kept explaining to her that it was too dangerous. She didn’t understand :). Maybe tonight we can go. I hope your boots come soon too! Have a good evening!!

    January 12, 2016 at 7:56 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      It does look very odd πŸ™‚ My first thought was white plastic when I saw it πŸ™‚

      I can’t understand how Nova doesn’t stay in the dog hgouse because she has a very thin fur so she should be freezing πŸ™‚

      Yes -10 is rather good. Not too cold to go outside and still cold enough to kill ticks and make the ice surface rough πŸ™‚ Well, as long as the wind doesn’t blow of course, if it does it’ll be horrible πŸ™‚ Thankfully both Sune and Nova can stay in the garden if it is too cold to go anywhere, they tend to go inside pretty fast anyway πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      January 12, 2016 at 8:31 pm

  3. beautiful photos! The photo of Sune is amazing and of course I love the stump with the small tree growing from it,,

    Its minus 22 C for us today, such a dramatic drop, sounds like you are getting the cold weather as well, we have so much snow it finally found us!
    stay warm.

    January 12, 2016 at 9:42 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      It really is a very good camera that Zeiss one. They sure knew how to build cameras in the old Germany.

      We’ll close in on You, they say we will get down to -19 tomorrow. They didn’t say anything like that yesterday πŸ™‚ We have snow too and it has a thick hard crust that almost carries my weight!

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      January 13, 2016 at 6:37 pm

  4. Hi Christer,
    As I said yesterday, the black and white are favorites of mine. There is something about the light and shadows which you can see only in the black and white. The snow, the trees and the dog each seems to have its own spot in that picture-I really like it.

    The snow is pretty to look at despite how annoying and inconvenient it is.

    The sky is really dark now so I think we’ll get some weather later. I hope it rains!

    Enjoy your cocoa!!!

    January 12, 2016 at 10:24 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      You are so right and that’s why it is so difficult to take good black and white photos. I have another b&w film I can load but first I’ll check the cameras for light leaks.

      Yes it is and if I could stay at home instead of working I might even come to like it πŸ™‚ I still need to win the lottery to do that though πŸ™‚

      It is getting cold here tonight, two days earlier than they had predicted πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      January 13, 2016 at 6:45 pm

  5. jaz

    great photo of sune. you keep getting better and better. it’s so cold here that i have frozen pipes and brendan’s car won’t start.

    January 13, 2016 at 6:39 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      It is fun using these old cameras so I get a lot of practice now πŸ™‚

      It is getting very cold here too now, two days earlier than predicted. I do hope my car will start even if the temperature drops as much as they now think! I started the green house lamp in the cellar when I came home, it gives lots of heat and it will keep the pipes warm enough even if the temperature drops down to -22F.

      Have a great day and good luck with the pipes and Brendan’s car!

      Christer.

      January 13, 2016 at 6:48 pm

Leave a Reply

