It is very brittle.

DSC_0021 (5)

It wasn’t as cold as they had predicted this morning, only -14C (6,8F) but I saw on the thermometer that it had dropped down to -21C (-5,8F) after I had left. I’m so glad it waited until I had left 🙂 It doesn’t matter if the wind doesn’t blow, in the morning that’s always a nasty temperature especially if I have to scrape the car windows.

 

DSC_0022 (6)

DSC_0023 (6)

DSC_0024 (6)

DSC_0025 (6)

I could see, even if it was very dark, that the world was quite beautiful. Everything was covered in a thick layer of rime. Thankfully everything still were when I drove away from work. Rime is very thick frost, ice sheets, and they are very brittle so the weakest wind will break it and destroy it so it fall to the ground. Even the ground gets covered in it and it gives a very strange sound when one walks on it.

 

DSC_0026 (6)

DSC_0029 (6)

DSC_0031 (7)

DSC_0032 (7)

I drove to Falköping and stopped to buy fire logs and seeds for the birds. We tend to spoil the birds by giving them only sunflower seeds, so when we can find any sunflower seeds and buy the seed mix instead they tend not to eat the other seeds, they just throw it on the ground. Nova and Sune thanks them every day because they seems to love those seeds on the ground, very odd.

 

DSC_0033 (7)

DSC_0034 (7)

DSC_0035 (7)

If You have never seen rime, this is a close up on how it looks. Thin ice sheets that can grow on the length quite a lot but each sheet stays thin the entire time.

If You have never seen rime, this is a close up on how it looks. Thin ice sheets that can grow on the length quite a lot but each sheet stays thin the entire time.

I went to the big grocery store, bought what I needed for the weekend and picked up my packages and was back to the car within twenty minutes. The traffic wasn’t as bad as it usually is and it was easy to find a parking spot, I guess people had listened to the warnings about not getting out in to the traffic unless they really needed because of the cold weather.

 

DSC_0038 (7)

DSC_0039 (6)

DSC_0040 (6)

DSC_0041 (6)

The sun was still shining when I came home but I could see clouds getting closer, so I hurried to change to my new winter boots so we could go out for a walk. They wrote that these shoes were slip proof and if they mean they have proof that one can slip with these shoes they are absolutely right 🙂 They are however much better tha´n any of the alternatives I have.

 

DSC_0042 (6)

DSC_0043 (6)

DSC_0044 (4)

DSC_0046 (5)

Tomorrow will be cloudy they say and therefore less cold, only around -13C (8,6F) but the fog they predicted as late as yesterday seems to have vanished I’m afraid. Too bad because it would have made the rime even thicker than it was today.

 

DSC_0047 (5)

DSC_0048 (5)

DSC_0049 (5)

DSC_0051 (5)

It is time for something to eat and some tea I think.

Have a great day!

6 responses

  1. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Wow!!! Your photos today are beautiful!! Isn’t it amazing what a covering of snow or rime can do? Lovely!!! I know exactly what you mean with the nonslip soles. I think that they just say that but they don’t really mean it and they put on slippery bottoms. Mine are terrible. But they are warm so wear them I shall. We are still cold. Currently -27 with the wind chill. Tonight will get colder – about -37. Dumb, dumb, dumb. I hope your are enjoying your evening and the tea hit the spot! 🙂

    January 15, 2016 at 9:34 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      The world is beautiful when covered in rime. Much more so than if it is covered in snow.

      Yes, the first thing I did was to slip 🙂 but to the boots defence, they are much better than anythíng else I have 🙂

      Milder here this morning, only -11 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      January 16, 2016 at 6:20 am

  2. jaz

    brittle is a great way to describe it. we had rime the other day though no one calls it that here. i walked out the front door and saw it and said…oh…rime! we had 50 degrees today and will have 6 on monday. what a winter!

    January 16, 2016 at 12:49 am

    • Hi Joyce!

      The word brittle even sounds like something very fragile 🙂 I think rime is the British English name for it, we say rimfrost in Swedish.

      Your temperatures really jump around! We’re having a fairly mild day today, around 12,2F and tomorrow it will drop again they say but then we’ll have sunshine too.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      January 16, 2016 at 6:25 am

  3. Christer,
    I love the ice, the rime, on the bushes and trees. When that happens here, icicles hang from my roof, and some get very long. The sun glints on them and through them.

    It was only a short while ago that you had no snow. Now I see a cold landscape, an uninviting place.

    Stay warm!!

    January 16, 2016 at 2:46 am

    • Hi Kat!

      It is so beautiful! Too bad it needs so low tempewratures to exist and that it breaks so easily. So far we haven’t had any icicles, the snow has not stuck to the roofs, I guess it has been a too dry snow so far.

      Yes winter came quickly when it finally came. I can’t say I like it but it will at least kill ticks, moose fly larvae and slugs 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      January 16, 2016 at 6:30 am

Leave a Reply

