Not a sound could be heard.

We all had the fire burning this morning.

We all had the fire burning this morning.

It was pretty cold here this morning but since there was no wind it actually was quite nice outside. I thought the hunters would come today as they have lately on Saturdays so I hadn’t planned to walk in the forest today but they didn’t so we’ve been out there a couple of times today. I thought at first that we were going to get some fog but it turned out to be a tiny snowfall that didn’t last especially long.

 

DSC_0023 (7)

DSC_0024 (7)

DSC_0026 (7)

DSC_0027 (8)

The snow on the ground is a bit difficult to walk in, it’s more like crushed ice to be honest so it feels like I’ve been running a marathon today πŸ™‚ It has been good exercise not only for me but for the dogs too, actually so good that Nova on our first walk for the day suddenly turned homewards long before I thought of going home again πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0029 (7)

DSC_0030 (8)

DSC_0032 (8)

DSC_0033 (8)

They say that we’ll get sunshine tomorrow and I do hope the hunters just didn’t switch the day they were going to hunt because I’m planning on going out to the bog and it would be nice if the sun shines since it will be a bit chilly tomorrow. We did however take a short walkout there in the afternoon just in case they have changed the day. The sun almost broke through the clouds but only almost. It is an amazing feeling standing out there in the middle of nowhere, no sounds from the modern world can be heard, just the sound when the feet hit the snow while walking and the occasional raven flying by.

 

DSC_0038 (8)

DSC_0039 (7)

DSC_0040 (7)

DSC_0041 (7)

I had to order a new mobile phone yesterday evening. The old one just died and it took over five minutes before it started again. I guess I should feel lucky that it actually did πŸ™‚ The phone has behaved slightly odd for quite some time now so I really should have ordered one long ago. They still make the one I have now, so I won’t have to learn how the new one works πŸ™‚ I think I should feel lucky about that too πŸ™‚ It is water and dust proof, something one need when being a powder painter. That powder paint gets through the tiniest of gaps and will short-circuit the best of phones.

 

DSC_0042 (7)

DSC_0044 (5)

DSC_0045 (5)

DSC_0046 (6)

The guy I was talking to said he would make sure they shipped it too me directly, so I hope I’ll get it before the old one dies totally, it is the only phone I have now days and also the only alarm clockΒ I have πŸ™‚ I always wake up early so I’m pretty sure I would get to work in time anyway but I would of course sleep too long if I for once didn’t have any alarm clock to wake me up πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0024 (8)

DSC_0029 (8)

DSC_0030 (9)

Looking out over the bog.

Looking out over the bog.

It is time to star the fire in the stove again, I had it going all morning but it hasn’t been so cold that I had to have the fire burning all day thankfully.

 

DSC_0033 (9)

DSC_0038 (9)

DSC_0039 (8)

DSC_0044 (6)

Have a great day!

10 responses

  1. such beautiful photos, its a good thing I like snow because we certainly have enough and I never tire looking at others snow photos and frost photos,
    you are every lucky they still have that phone, it must be a good one, its seems gadgets become obsolete so quickly, when I find something I like I have no interest in replacing with a new model, I prefer to replace with the same but its not always possible,

    January 16, 2016 at 2:36 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      I do like seeing snow in photos but I can’t say I like it in the real πŸ™‚ The rime however is something I really like any winter.

      Yes I feel lucky that they still make that phone! I truly dislike to have to learn how a new phone works because they never seems to work anything close to the one I used to have πŸ™‚ I don’t think that just because one can change how things works one doesn’t have to change it.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      January 16, 2016 at 2:41 pm

  2. Christer,
    Your pictures are beautiful. I can feel winter when I look at them. I know the sound of walking on the icy tops of snow. It is a cracking sound and the top around your foot shatters.

    We had only rain today while up north had a bit of snow. It was too warm here. I’m fine with that. I do remember the winter last year was like this until January when the heavens opened and we got feet of snow, three in one storm.

    Have a wonderful evening.

    January 16, 2016 at 10:47 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      It is so beautiful out there and the huinters stayed at home today too so we could take a walk there again.
      It is a loud sound when nothing else sounds, like small explosions πŸ™‚

      I actually don’t mind this cold weather because it can’t rain πŸ™‚ We had so much rain before this cold weather arrived so I doubt we’ll need any more until late spring or early summer πŸ™‚

      I do remember all the snow You got while we had a rather pleasant weather over here. They predict warmer weather from Next Sunday (but we all know how accurate those long term predictions are) so perhaps You’ll get the winter then?

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      January 17, 2016 at 2:27 pm

  3. Hi Christer,
    The bog is beautiful. I hope the hunters don’t go out tomorrow and you can visit it in the sun. If the sun should happen to shine tomorrow. πŸ™‚
    Pictures of rime are also beautiful. It might be nice to have that happen once here just to be able to photograph it. But I’d rather it wasn’t cold enough for that to happen on a regular basis. I’m content to look at your photos. πŸ™‚

    Today started out with pouring rain. It was definitely looking like a day to stay on the couch but I had to go out early. The dogs were not happy. They stood beside the jeep as the rain poured down on them and refused to get inside. They wanted to stay on the couch, too. But they got in at last and off we went. Then the rain started to have snowflakes mixed in. Not too bad. It did that for several hours but no snow stayed on the ground. Eventually, the sun peeked out and now the sky is clearing fast and the moon and stars are shining.

    Enjoy the evening.

    January 17, 2016 at 2:26 am

    • Hi Caryn!

      It is such a beautiful place! Too bad the insects are so bad during the summer because I would love to see how it looks then. I’m pretty sure we all would have plenty of ticks on us if we did goout there in the summer, lots of grass and low bushes, just like they love it πŸ™‚ No hunters out today so we could go out already when it was light enough.

      It needs to get rather cold for rime to start growing and no wind what so ever. It’s a bit odd because we rarely have any wind to talk about when the temperature drops to 14F or lower. I like rime much better than snow πŸ™‚

      I think I dislike snow mixed with rain even more than snow itself, the roads tends to be so slippery. It sticks so good to the front window of bthe car too πŸ™‚ but as long as it doesn’t stay it’s good πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      January 17, 2016 at 2:34 pm

  4. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Happy Sunday!! πŸ™‚ Your pictures today – I have no words!! They are incredible, just incredible! We are cold. Frigid really. We have been under an extreme wind chill warning since Friday evening. -41. So needless to say we don’t go out much when its like that. The dogs get restless but we just deal with that because its just too cold to walk them. Today we do have to go out, but they say its not as bad for wind, about -36. I think once you get past -30 it really doesn’t matter, it all feels the same. Have a good day!!

    January 17, 2016 at 3:22 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      Then I think You’ll like todays photos too πŸ™‚

      It isn’t as bad as they had predicted, only -9 when we left this morning and slightly less cold now, I would have stayed indoors if it had reached -41 here πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Yes the dogs get so restless but it is dangerous to be outside in those low temperatures, thankfully both Nova and Sune are so small so they can play rough here in the cottage without creating to much chaos, it was very different when Orvar and Hector were around, everything broke when they started toplay indoors πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      I guess that’s right, is it possible to feel anything when it gets that cold πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      January 17, 2016 at 3:31 pm

      • Dianna

        Hi Christer! Your pictures today are just incredible! I love cloudy days as I think you are able to see more clearly and further – the sun makes for squinting and not as nice of a picture. If the dogs started to horse around in the house it would be madness here! Tucker is small, Willow is medium but Karma is the size of a small horse and she is a clumsy puppy still….but they do play inside and it makes for lots of yelling and settling them down! πŸ™‚ Have a good day!!

        January 17, 2016 at 4:02 pm

      • Orvar and Hector were both rather big so I know what happens when a dog like Karma starts playing indoors πŸ™‚ Orvar weighed 50kg and was in the size of a small Great Dane and Hector wheiged 45kg and was like a big German Shepherd πŸ™‚ They broke small trees when they played outside so just imagine what happened indoors πŸ™‚

        January 17, 2016 at 4:07 pm

Leave a Reply

