And out on the bog we went.

They all had promised sunshine so I thought the clouds rapidly would go away.

They all had promised sunshine so I thought the clouds rapidly would go away.

I waited for quite some time today but no hunters showed up. I wonder if they might have stopped for the season or if they just changed place to hunt at, they have a rather small area but I think it is split in two parts and sometimes they’re here and sometimes in the other place. It was quite chilly but not as cold as they had predicted in any weather site. No wind and the world filled with rime.

 

DSC_0021 (8)

DSC_0022 (9)

DSC_0023 (9)

DSC_0024 (9)

I had decided to walk the way I almost always do and try to go round the once rather big island in this previous shallow lake. I’ve been looking atΒ aerial photographs so I knew more or less how to walk to arrive where we went yesterday afternoon. Instead I changed my mind the last second when we reached the bog and walked to the place we were yesterday and decided it would be nice to walk the known area on our way back home again.

 

DSC_0028 (9)

DSC_0030 (10)

The snow is deeper than it looks so I tried to walk a lot where the old waterside would have been when this was a lake. There are lots of islands there so the shallow lake that once were was quite big.

The snow is deeper than it looks so I tried to walk a lot where the old waterside would have been when this was a lake. There are lots of islands there so the shallow lake that once were was quite big.

DSC_0032 (10)

The aerial photographs really doesn’t show how it looks on the ground πŸ™‚ They show the big pines (the most common tree out there) and spruces very well but not the tiny bog-myrtle plants which grows everywhere or the birches in all varieties of sizes πŸ™‚ So when we had walked for almost one and a half hour I realised that I had no real idea where I was πŸ™‚ I knew I had to be very close to the place where I was supposed to be but wasn’t sure if I would continue or go back. It would have been so much easier if the sun had shone like all weather sites said it should. Then at least I would have known if I had started to walk in circles πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0034 (10)

DSC_0035 (10)

DSC_0036 (10)

I tried to walk on the islands as much as possible but not all places were as ewasy to walk on like this place. Lots of small bushes everywhere.

I tried to walk on the islands as much as possible but not all places were as easy to walk on like this place. Lots of small bushes everywhere.

The bog is around 10 square kilometers (3,861 square miles) so it is possible to get totally lost but at the same time one can hear things happening on the opposite side of it. Today I heard a chainsaw and could have followed that sound to get out on the other side if needed. Still, the snow was pretty deep in most places so I would have no energy to go anywhere when I finally had arrived to the other side πŸ™‚ I decided to go back the same way we had come (after looking at the aerial photographs again when we had come home I realise I was perhaps only 30 meters (much the same in yards) to where I normally walk πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0039 (9)

DSC_0040 (9)

DSC_0042 (9)

DSC_0044 (7)

The sun never showed but just as I finally knew where we were and almost back to where we started the fog began to roll in over the bog. Tobe lost a sunny day is bad enough but to be lost when thick fog comes isn’t good at all. We arrived back home to the cottage after three hours and we are all very tired but I know the dogs loved this πŸ™‚ I had to keep an extra eye on Nova, she has started to become deaf on one ear and the other is usually concentrated on other things than me saying stuff to her πŸ™‚ The risk of her wandering of is big but today she finally understood that I really wanted her to listen to me and she also followed Sune when I called for him.

 

DSC_0046 (8)

A fallen tree stays fallen, they never remove any dead trees out here.

A fallen tree stays fallen, they never remove any dead trees out here.

DSC_0048 (8)

DSC_0057 (5)

I didn’t see any animals but lots of tracks after them. I think we scared away a moose because the place where it had been laying still looked very fresh. There also were tracks from hogs, Red deer, Roe deers, and Black Grouse. I also think I saw tracks from a fox but they were a bit old so it could just as well have been tracks from a hunting dog. Β If the long-term weather predictions are right we might have a chance of going out on the bog next weekend too, they say it will become warmer next Sunday so if the hunters aren’t around I’ll go out there again but the usual way instead πŸ™‚

 

Juniper trees aren't common, so these have been left alone since they started to grow and must be very old.

Juniper trees aren’t common, so these have been left alone since they started to grow and must be very old.

I think this might be a stone age tomb. I didn't go close enough to take a proper look I'm afraid. I did see lots of big stones close to the one You can see here.

I think this might be a stone age tomb. I didn’t go close enough to take a proper look I’m afraid. I did see lots of big stones close to the one You can see here.

Red deer or Moose have scratched the thgin furry skin of their antkers on this poor pine.

Red deer or Moose have scratched the thin furry skin of their antlers on this poor pine.

DSC_0069 (3)

It is time to make some rose-hip soup, there’s nothing better after a long walk on the bog. The dogs are sleeping and have been since we came home πŸ™‚

 

I started to wonder where we actually were when we reached this place and had to decide if we should continue or walk back the same way we came.

I started to wonder where we actually were when we reached this place and had to decide if we should continue or walk back the same way we came.

A good thing we did walk back the way we came because the fog would have made finding our way home even harder.

A good thing we did walk back the way we came because the fog would have made finding our way home even harder.

DSC_0081 (1)

Finally the lΓΆittle brige leading homewards.

Finally the little bridge leading homewards.

Have a great day!

8 responses

  1. Dianna

    Hi Christer! What a lovely day for your walk and photos! Some of those pictures look almost surreal! I can hear the quiet just by looking at those pictures. The sun is up here so you know its going to be cold. We are going to IKEA today for some shelves (and possibly more meatballs) πŸ™‚ so I guess it will be out in the cold. I am impatiently waiting for spring. It does the soul good when the weather warms up. I dislike January – my most hated month. πŸ™‚ I hope your rose hip soup is good and fills you up nicely! I am sure the dogs will have a good long nap after that journey.

    January 17, 2016 at 3:59 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      It was quite nice since we have no wind at all πŸ™‚ It took a lot of enrgy to walk in that snow so after a while it felt like i was boiling πŸ™‚

      I hope not too many think of going to IKEA at thge same time, I can’t stand that place when it is crowded and it usually is πŸ™‚

      February is worse here, the light starts coming back but it is our coldest month normally. It sort of gives the illusion of spring just around the corner but still just gets colder πŸ™‚

      Meatballs are never wrong πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      January 17, 2016 at 4:11 pm

  2. Hi Christer,
    Great shots today. The bog looks wonderful and mysterious. I almost want to go there except I’m not a big fan of being lost in the snow and the cold.
    Actually, I’m not really a huge fan of walking around in the snow and the cold even if I know where I am.
    I might have to have some rose hip soup just to recover from reading about your walk. πŸ™‚

    The weather here is cold, damp and grey. The sky is leaden which is a perfectly accurate description. I think we are due for some snow that will accumulate. Right now they are saying it could be just a coating or it could be 1 to 3 inches. I’ll hope for the coating.
    I agree with you about February. It’s usually the illusion of spring around the corner. Last year we got hammered with snow all of February so there was no illusion at all. I’m hoping this year is not a repeat.

    Enjoy the rose hip soup and the rest of the day.

    January 17, 2016 at 6:14 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      Too bad the sun didn’t show though, I think they would have looked even better. The fog however came at the right time, I should have stayed a bit longer since I actually knew where I was by then πŸ™‚ I have to say that it felt a bit odd not knowing where I was πŸ™‚ I wasn’t especially worried though, as long as I knew I didn’t walk in circles I would have ended up somewhere I knew where I was. That is why I would have liked the sun to shine, so much easier to know the different cardinal points.

      Coating is much better than 3 inches πŸ™‚ so I would hope for that too. It is always best if there’s no snow at all of course.

      Yes February is a nasty month that way but it is at least short πŸ™‚ even if it is one day longer this year.

      The rose-hip soup was quite delicious πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      January 17, 2016 at 7:49 pm

  3. I love going on the walks..and besides, it helps me lose weight. (I wish!!) πŸ™‚ Every time you mention the “bog” I get a bad feeling. I’ve probably read too many Fairy Tales in my life. I just remembered how you like them too..even to day. I collect childrens books and read them…some really great OLD ones out there. Bog. Even the word has an ominous sound. Fog is another thing that I have this feeling about. Again, too many stories of people being lost in the fog. My family is Irish and story tellers to the max. I could always listen to my Granddaddy for hours on end. Mostly deer hunting stories..or stories of mining for gold and the ghosts of old wagon trains pulled by mules that disappear into the side of a cliff..chains rattling…the whole thing. πŸ™‚ He was wonderful. My favorite person as a child.
    You know your area so well..I doubt you would stay lost for long..but..it’s good when common sense says to retrack ones steps. Fog and snow storms set my nerves a bit on edge..and of course that is when staying calm and not panicing is key.
    Beautiful, beautiful pictures.
    Mona
    p.s. Sorry this was so long… 😦

    January 18, 2016 at 1:18 am

    • Hi Mona!

      I’m pretty sure following me on my walks here in the blog does help You tyo lose weight πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      I love the bog but I know that it is a treatures place to walk if one doesn’t know what one is doing. I really should have brought a compass or at least downloaded a compass in my phone. I’m not sure how that app works but it does πŸ™‚

      Oddly enough I can’t remember many of our tales in the folklore mentioning a bog or marshlands, it is always the big deep forest and lakes/ rivers and all the beings in there, usually trolls πŸ™‚ Can’t remember fog being mentioned either, snow a lot and rain but never fog so I just love fog and bogs πŸ™‚ Well we have what You call the Lantern Man but they only come around when it is getting dark πŸ™‚

      The important thing if one is lost is to not start walking in circles, the best way to avoid that is to take aim at something ahead of You. Best is if one can see several spots to make a sort of straight line to follow and keep on doing that until one finds a road. Down here in the siouth where there ate lots of roads it’s easy to find a way back but it is worse far noryth where fewer people ever lived. Still, fog on a bog is never a good thing but gives great photos πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      January 18, 2016 at 7:56 am

  4. I know how you dislike winter weather and especially snow, Christer, yet your photos depict it so beautifully. We have not had very much snow here in Nashua, NH this year…but it is snowing tonight as I post this comment. I imagine it can be so easy to lose your way in the bog. yesterday, I made chicken soup but have never heard of rose hip soup…do you harvest the rose hips on your walks?

    January 18, 2016 at 4:30 am

    • Hi Beatrice!

      It is beautiful out there when the snow has fallen but I would have preferred if it only was cold and lots of rime. We don’t have that much snow either to be honest, a normal winter would most likely have at least twice the amount we have now. I won’t complain about it though πŸ™‚

      everything look the sdame out there so if one doesn’t know the area it is easy to get lost, after all I who actually knows it rather well felt a bit lost for a while πŸ™‚

      I’m a bit lazy so I buy powdered rose-hips but it is fairly easy to make onself if one wants to. The powdered one is very good so I tend to buy that instead πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      January 18, 2016 at 8:01 am

Leave a Reply

