Suddenly I saw my own foot prints.

DSC_0030 (12)

It has been cold when one walks out in the morning thinking that it’s really warm when it still is -3,5C (25,7F) πŸ™‚ The weak wind we had yesterday was gone but lots of the rime and snow that had been on the trees were gone, at least close to the village. It was a very different thing out on the bog. We went out here because no hunters showed up this morning and tomorrow will be too late since it will start to warm up rather much.

 

Today of all days I decide not to have the tele-photo lens. Can You see the little dark spot way back in the photo? That's a fox and  it didn't run away for as long as we watched it even if it knew we were there. I guess it was really hungry.

Today of all days I decide not to have the tele-photo lens. Can You see the little dark spot way back in the photo? That’s a fox and it didn’t run away for as long as we watched it even if it knew we were there. I guess it was really hungry.

This photo is cropped a lot. It is a big fox, almost as high as Nova. I'm pretty sure it must be a grandson of the big one we had here when I just had moved here, it became a buddy to Hector :-)

This photo is cropped a lot. It is a big fox, almost as high as Nova. I’m pretty sure it must be a grandson of the big one we had here when I just had moved here, it became a buddy to Hector πŸ™‚

DSC_0031 (12)

DSC_0032 (12)

Today I wanted to walk where we usually walk on the bog but had to take a small detour because of the deep snow that had accumulated amongst the smaller bushes. Someone with small feet had walked there recently but as I followed those tracks towards the island we always follow they suddenly stopped, they sort of started in the middle of nowhere πŸ™‚ It was a very pleasant morning and the dogs ran around everywhere but still close to me so I didn’t have to shout to get them to come back.

 

DSC_0033 (12)

DSC_0034 (12)

DSC_0035 (12)

We found this place where several deer had been both sleeping and eating.

We found this place where several deer had been both sleeping and eating.

We had been walking for around 45 minutes when we came to the point where we usually turn back again but something told me to continue for a while and suddenly I started to recognise some fallen trees. I think I walked perhaps ten meters (much the same in yards) away from where I usually stop and suddenly I found my foot prints from last Sunday πŸ™‚ Instead of turning right I had continued towards north for around 45 minutes last week πŸ™‚ I realised that I had a very clear picture in my mind of how it looked ahead of me but not about how it actually looks from where I came πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0037 (12)

DSC_0038 (12)

DSC_0039 (11)

DSC_0040 (11)

In my mind I had open space on both directions but the truth is that the area where I came from is filled with lots of thin birches πŸ™‚ Now I know where to turn if I get the chance to walk there again this winter. So instead of walking back the same way we came we just walked back to the other side where we walked the last week. We could hear one or two dogs bark in the distance but I don’t think it was hunting dogs, these didn’t sound as if they were on a mission, more like they had loads of fun πŸ™‚ I also heard the same chainsaw we heard last Sunday.

 

DSC_0046 (10)

DSC_0047 (10)

DSC_0048 (10)

DSC_0049 (9)

Sometimes friends on Facebook show where they have been running with the help of gps I think. I wonder if I could do something like that with my new phone? It would actually be nice to be able to see exactly where I walked and if I get that deep into the bog as I believe I do. Perhaps one need one of those exercisingΒ Β jigamathings Β they all now days where, I think it takes the time and pulse and all those sort of things. I need to check that, I know I have gps in both this old phone and the new one so perhaps there’s a chance?

 

DSC_0050 (9)

This kind of lichen grow really slow and only where the air is clean. All standing photos are more manageable if You click on them.

DSC_0051 (9)

DSC_0054 (8)

DSC_0055 (8)

It is time to make a pot of tea or perhaps coffee, watch some ski biathlon on tv and then out for another walk again. I’ll send six more rolls of film to the developer on Monday so hopefully we’ll have lots to see some time next week or the week after that.

 

Suddenly I realised that I had taken a photo of this tree last week :-)

Suddenly I realised that I had taken a photo of this tree last week πŸ™‚

And there they were, my old foot prints in the snow :-)

And there they were, my old foot prints in the snow πŸ™‚

This tree is hard to not remember so I was sure we were on the right track home again.

This tree is hard to not remember so I was sure we were on the right track home again.

I've taken several photos of this tree too but then it was covered in rime instead.

I’ve taken several photos of this tree too but then it was covered in rime instead.

Have a great day!

 

DSC_0069 (4)

On our way home again.

On our way home again.

10 responses

  1. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Wow, isn’t that something? Finding your own footprints from earlier on! Like deja vu πŸ™‚ I think getting a gps tracker thing would be a good idea. I am not sure if my phone has that or not. I know it tracks my steps (but not when I do stairs). A few of my colleagues at work have Fit Bits and although they are pleased overall with them, some have complaints of incorrect logging of steps, my friend’s husband’s just stopped working last weekend. So, I am on the fence about them. Plus I do not wear a watch as I do not like tight things on my wrists (or around my neck) and if you want it to log your sleeping pattern you have to wear it to sleep!! No thanks!! That would drive me batty – and I am half way there already! πŸ™‚ Your photos today are lovely! I see Mr (or Mrs) Fox clear as a bell! My girlfriend, who lives down the road from our cottage, sent me a picture the other day of coyotes in her front yard. They sure aren’t scared of people. No more mention of wolves however, which is good! Have a good day!

    January 23, 2016 at 2:07 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      When I saw that semi fallen tree that I recognised I thought it must be possible to see where it was I was walking earlier, the wind hasn’t blown and we’ve gotten just tiny amounts of snow since then πŸ™‚

      I know I have gps on my phone but I’m not sure I have a tracker which can show where I have been walking. I really don’t care for those other things like counting steps or show how I sleep πŸ™‚ I really don’t like watches either to be honest. I’ll see what I can find (or ask my much younger work friend who seems to know everything when it comes to these things πŸ™‚ ) when I finally can use my new phone πŸ™‚

      I think that is a male fox since it is so big. At first I thought it might be a dog since it was so big πŸ™‚ We don’t have coyotes here and I haven’t seen any wolf tracks in a long time, too bad I really would like to see one one day.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      January 23, 2016 at 4:26 pm

  2. Hi Christer,
    Getting creatively lost is great when it adds a new link in one’s internal geographic database. πŸ™‚

    The fifth photo down is reminiscent of Easter Island statues. A northern hemisphere version with snow and tree fungi. πŸ™‚

    I have to ask; the 19th (?) photo, the one right after the beard moss, is that the “contemplative elf” tree from previous photos. As I looked at the orangey spot on the trunk, I thought that if the point of view was more to the right and farther back, it would look just like that mysterious figure who’s been leaning on his staff all that time. And I can see a vertical sapling that would be in just the right place to be that staff. Hmm. πŸ™‚

    Today is cloudy and warmer than it has been. Snow’s coming. It’s already started a few miles south of me. At the moment my town is in a biggish corridor of no precipitation but there’s snow all around that corridor and it’s heading this way. I have ice cream and potato chips. I’m good. I’m also making chicken stock for food that is less playful. πŸ™‚

    Enjoy the day.

    January 23, 2016 at 4:18 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      So true πŸ™‚

      We do have a lot of dead trees looking like that, unfortunately they tend to be rather small and not last for especially long πŸ™‚

      No, that must be its cousine πŸ™‚ This piece of tree is much smaller but it looks like it has the same shape πŸ™‚ and it is also rather far out on the bog. Lots of them running around out there I guess πŸ™‚

      I watched the morning news here and they had a reporter in Washintong DC. I think the snow fall just had started and the wind hadn’t shown up yet so it looked rather idyllic but at the same time they told us that rather many already had died further south where the storm was at the moment.

      I would have come over to have some of thatr ice cream but I really don’t like potato chips πŸ™‚ That and cheese doodles are probably the only snacks I don’t like, I wish there were more things I didn’t like πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ You have what You need so have a great snow storm if it comes πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      January 23, 2016 at 4:33 pm

  3. Christer,
    The trees wear their rime well. They look almost fairylike or elfin. I love the pictures with trees of different heights all covered in snow. Winter took a long time to find each of us, but Old Man Winter is blasting us right now. We’ll look as snowy or even snowier than you. All of the branches are covered in snow now. It didn’t take long.

    The snow is flying into different directions as it is blown by the wind. This snow may cause lots of problems. It is wet and sticky. I hope I don’t lose electricity as it is so cold outside it wouldn’t long for my house to get cold.

    Enjoy the rest of your day!

    January 23, 2016 at 9:10 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      They did but it is all gone now, the temperature is above 32F so it melted away fairly fast, lots of snow on the ground still though. I do like that too! especially spruces look fantastic like that.

      I’m following the news about Your storm on the news, looks as if some got much more snow than predicted but that the storm passes by faster than they thought. I do hope You still have power! I remember the last time when You were out of power for quite some time.

      Have a great snow storm!

      Christer.

      January 24, 2016 at 10:10 am

  4. While so many states along the East Coast are being battered by this winter storm this weekend, here in NH we have had nothing, not even a single snowflake or flurry. We spoke to family and friends hard hit by the storm and they are all safe, but overwhelmed by the snowfall amounts. And, we did offer to take some of it IF they could send it our way! Your forest snow shots are beautiful and peaceful, Christer. I can see how easily one can get lost. Glad you found those old tracks and the way out.

    January 24, 2016 at 4:10 am

    • Hi Beatrice!

      I wonder if You’ve gotten some snow by now since I’ve heard New York is hit badly. I hope that You get some if You want it πŸ™‚ Here it’s melting away right now. Here we’re used to snow storms even if people tend to forget that πŸ™‚ I think it was kind of You to offer totake some of it πŸ™‚

      This time I was very sure where I was but it was fun to see how close I actually waslast week when I was a bit confused about where I was πŸ™‚ It is so beautiful out there and photos really can’t show it I’m afraid.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      January 24, 2016 at 10:15 am

  5. Hi Christer –

    How exciting to see that big fox. who is so bold he didn’t bother to run away from you. I love foxes, they are such fascinating & clever animals that I don’t begrudge them the animals they prey on, esp. in winter. They need to eat & feed their families just like we humans do. One day I hope you get close enough to take a good close-up of one. There is a small red fox that lives in the wood across from my home, but I only spot her occasionally when she runs across the street to the woods in back of my condo. What was the relationship between Hector & the fox that you mentioned. I don’t think I ever heard that story.

    I know of two sports/activities that have become very popular where I live as well as many other parts of the US.. Orienteering is the most popular & the 2nd is Geocaching. Orienteering is where one uses a map & GPS to locate a geographical target and Geocaching is where one uses a series of map coordinates to locate prizes or reward at each coordinate located. Similar to Orienteering, except the person is rewarded with clues or prizes at each location they find via GPS & the series of maps. Sometimes each coordinate provide a clue to the next map target. There are clubs for people who do this as a hobby and groups meet every few weeks to get together to do group hunts. I’m not sure if Orienteering or Geocaching are considered a sport or an activity. Both activities can be rated easy to severe in difficulty and both can be physically & mentally challenging depending on the physical environment they take place in & how mentally demanding they are. For several years now, the Boy Scouts & Girl Scouts began teaching both mapping activities & even awarding merit badges for successfully completing so many rounds of Orienteering or Geocaching. Do either of these the activities sound like what you were thinking of using your smart phones GPS to map your walks? It must have felt a bit odd when you realized those small footprints in the snow were your own. I’m surprised that so much snow accumulated on the ground in the more heavily wooded areas of your forest. Usually, the tree branches catch most of the snow before it can reach the ground. Maybe the strong winds you had blew the snow so more of it accumulated on the ground. Interesting about the fungi that only growing where the air is pristine. It must be good to know how pure the air you breath is, unlike so many places that have polluted air over them for much of the year.

    I had pneumonia for the past couple of weeks & I didn’t eat hardly anything, for more than a week. The first day I was feeling felt a lot better, I became ravenously hungry & decided to cook a meal for myself. I had a craving for my favorite meal I used to get my a German restaurant where I would always order Jagerschnitzel with spaetzel. I had ordered a spaetzel press from Ebay & I was lucky it arrived in less than 24 hrs.& just in time for me to try making some. Oddly enough, the spaetzel press came from Amazon even though I purchased it on Ebay. The spaetzel batter was nothing more than water, eggs, flour, pinch of nutmeg & white pepper. The cheapest of ingredients, but no rationale as to why they are so expensive to buy when the market occasionally has them for sale. The press looks somewhat like a cheese grater with a hopper where the dough goes and then you slide the hopper back & forth while you hold the press over a pot of boiling water while drips of batter fall into it. 2 mins. later I had a bowl filled with lots of little dumplings/noodles. They were delicious with the mushroom wine sauce served over them & the pork schnitzel. The recipe I used made a lot, so I was able to freeze enough for a couple of meals to enjoy on nights down the road when I’m too tired to cook. I decided that every few weeks I would make a new recipe from a different Country/region of the world. I might end up eating better & learn some things about other parts of the world in the process. I’d love it if you could let me know what are a few of your favorite foods that you consider traditional Swedish foods. It can be for any meal as long as it doesn’t include pickled herring. I can’t stand eating any foods that have vinegar in them. As long as I can buy the ingredients & find the recipe, I will enjoy making whatever you suggest.

    It will be interesting to see the photos you are expecting back from the film developer this week. Were these the photos you took using your Grandmother’s camera? I can’t remember, does that camera produce a 6′ X 6″ or 6″ x 8″ photos? Enjoy your ski event on TV. The only time we get to see ski events anymore is during the Winter Olympics. When I was growing up you used to see lots of skiing & ice skating events almst every weekend, but not in the last decade. Guess they didn’t make enough money or cost to much to make, because we rarely see them anymore. And they wonder why we don’t do well at the Winter Olympics anymore. When the kids don’t get to see the role models performing a sport, they don’t have ever develop an interest in the sports like skiing or skating. The only times those sports became popular over here & we were competitive was after an American won a medal and the sport became very popular again for a time.

    Enjoy the rest of your weekend.

    January 24, 2016 at 8:22 am

    • Hi Ellen!

      Thankfully land owners here doesn’t like that hunters hunt foxes so they can grow just as big as they can here. Last year however one landowner allowedone hunter to shoot one fox but I doubt that’ll happen again. They don’t eat it and they can’t sell the fur so I can’t see the reason to why they want to shoot one since they do so much good out there hunting voles, moles, mice and rats. Just plain stupidity to shoot them!

      Hector once became friends with a young fox, I guess they were almost exactly as old. Every time we were out walking and met that fox they played for a while πŸ™‚ Orvar who loved all animals didn’t care about the fox so Hector had lods of fun. Strange really since Hector never understood how to interact with other dogs or any living thing πŸ™‚ That fox however seemed to understand him πŸ™‚ The older they became the less we saw that fox, I guess he was too busy to find food and perhaps he understood that dogs not always were nice, like huntingdogs.

      Both orienteering and geocaching are popular here, especially orienteering and we usually have lots of world champions in that sport πŸ™‚ I’m not sure if they are allowed to use gps here though. Compass and a map is all they have if they haven’t changed the rules lately. No it isn’t that I’m thinking of but almost πŸ™‚ This jigamathing logs exactly where I have been and then I can download the data to a computer which then print out a map drawing exactly where I have walked. I’ll see if I can do something similar with my phone and download the data in to my computer that way.

      We do have very clean air here but You should see those lichens in northern sweden. They are really long and can be well over 70 years old, the ones I showed are most likely not older than fifteen years or so.

      I’ve never had spaetzle but jagerschnitzel is a favorite of mine! Not so long since I had that πŸ™‚ I’ll have to think about some traditional Swedish foods. Right now I’m thinking of Swedish meatballs and blood pudding or blood sausages but anything with blood is tricky πŸ™‚ Remind me later but I’ll give You some different kinds soon! Lots of what we eat are usually variations of german food to be honest and the really Swedish ones are nothing You would like to try, like fermented herring πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      I haven’t tried my grandmothers old camera yet (it takes 6X9), I just got the film for that one and since it is a black and white film I don’t want to se it when we’re having lots of snow. It is hard enough to use B&W film as it is without snow πŸ™‚ The rolls I’ll send away tomorrow are from the Zeiss camera, one of my eEdixa’s (I’ve only used that one once before and that was before I got my light meter) I also think it was one roll from the Hasselblad and one from the Minolta X300.

      They show a lot of winter sports on the free channels here but the Olympics is bought by a paying channel company so I won’t see anything from that one I’m afraid. Still, wintersports are only popular here if they can make a lot of money and won’t have to exerzise too much. It is only the Norwegians who actually are prepoared to do that so they’ll win anything skiing :-)We do have a few rather good figure skating women so that sport might become popular again.

      Have a great day and take care! Pneumonia is not a good thing to have had!

      Christer.

      January 24, 2016 at 10:46 am

Leave a Reply

