It took a few hours.

I don't think I've shown this one before, taken with the Zeiss.

I don’t think I’ve shown this one before, taken with the Zeiss. All standing photos are more manageable if You click on them.

It has been so warm that most of the snow now is gone πŸ™‚ There is however some ice left, especially where I have my gate towards the road. I noticed that this morning when I was going to work.

 

A18986_031

A18986_011

A18986_012

A18986_015

The ditch that is supposed to take all the melted water has seen better days, it got a bit destroyed when they put down the sewer system last year. So I could see some ice by the gate and also a lot of water.

 

These four are taken with the Edixa Prismaflex.

These four are taken with the Edixa Prismaflex.

A18984_009A

A18984_028A

A18984_031A

I managed to get down to the gate without slipping to my big surprise Β but I stood on the wrong side of the gate, the hasp to open it up was on the other side. So I took one step out into the ice and water. I felt how my foot lowly started to slide away all by itself and when I tried to stand more on my other foot it too started to wander away by its own accord.

 

DSC_0082 (1)

DSC_0083 (1)

DSC_0084 (1)

DSC_0086 (1)

Everything happened in slow motion, I desperately tried to get a good grip on the gate but nothing helped as I slowly, slowly slid down into the water back first πŸ™‚ It was so ridiculous that I just lay there on my back in the water laughing out loud as the water, rather cold I can tell You, worked its way in towards my body πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I had to roll around to be able to get up whileΒ the water was running down my legs.

 

DSC_0087 (1)

DSC_0088 (1)

DSC_0089

DSC_0091 (1)

I was thinking about going inside again and change clothes but decided that I just as well could drive to work because who knows if this had happened again the next time I reached the gate? It took a few hours but I did finally dry up πŸ™‚

 

Att spara 13 (9)

Att spara 13 (10)

Att spara 13 (11)

Att spara 13 (12)

It is time for something to eat and some warm cocoa I think.

Have a great day!

14 responses

  1. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Oooh I know exactly how that feels – all that cold water seeping into you. You gave a really good description so I had a good visual in my mind playing out – slowly, ever so slowly πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I think a warm bath would be in order especially if you got really chilled! But cocoa would do the trick too! Your pictures today are amazing!! The 2nd one from the top is the one I keep staring at and keep going back to. Really lovely! Such good photos today – I am showing everyone at work what my friend in Sweden does when he’s out walking. πŸ™‚ Have a good evening – hope the ice melts for tomorrow!!

    January 26, 2016 at 7:11 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      It is a special feeling and I really hope I don’t have to feel it ever again πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      I do wish I had a bathtub here, that is the only thing I miss from living in an apartment. So cocoa it had to be but that was quite good too πŸ™‚

      The twp top photos are my favorites this time and I do like that camera! I’ve sent two more rolls of film taken with that camera to be developed. I hope I can get those back already on Monday (but secretly I hope they can send the downloaded ones in the mail already on Friday πŸ™‚ ).

      Almost all ice is gone now too πŸ™‚ I hope the heavyraining right now will take care of the last of it!

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      January 27, 2016 at 6:23 pm

  2. Beautiful n lovely β™₯β™₯β™₯ photographs

    January 26, 2016 at 7:33 pm

    • Hi v4vikey and welcome to my blog πŸ™‚

      I’m glad You like them πŸ™‚

      Have a great day and welcome back!

      Christer.

      January 27, 2016 at 6:24 pm

  3. Love the photos, as always but that first one is AMAZING!

    What if your car broke down or got stuck while you drove to work wet! Lol!?
    πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    January 26, 2016 at 8:16 pm

    • Hi Cindi!

      I do like that one too πŸ™‚

      Well, I would have stayed in the car until I could get someone to fetch me or to get the garage owner (he who always repair my car) to tow my car to the garage πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      January 27, 2016 at 6:26 pm

  4. Hi Christer,
    Wow, it looks like something blew up over the horizon in that first photo. Definitely shows the sun as a big ball of burning gas, I guess. πŸ™‚ Lovely shot.

    I probably would have sat there laughing in the frigid water, too. Those slow motion irreversible slides are aggravating but funny. The more you try to recover, the worse it gets. I’d have gone back to change, though, and probably had to repeat the action all over again. πŸ™‚

    This morning I saw two bald eagles out on the lake ice. One was standing on a kill. I thought it might be a squirrel but I couldn’t tell. I had my camera this time and got some photographs but they are tiny. My telephoto lens was not long enough to get very much detail. But there was someone there with an Art Wolfe calibre lens. πŸ™‚ I hope he was from the local paper and will post his photos on the community page.

    Today is warmer but cloudy. A lot of snow is melting away. Fine by me. Clear it out for the next one. πŸ™‚

    Enjoy the day.

    January 26, 2016 at 9:03 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      It does and I guess that’s why I like that photo so much.

      Yes I really couldn’t do much else because it was so silly πŸ™‚ It must have looked hilarious πŸ™‚ I could feel that I must have strained my muscles a lot because this morning I had the feeling I used to have when I had exercised too hard back in the good old days πŸ™‚

      I saw those photos on Fb. I like them a lot and it is so typical that they should be so far away. They would probably have stood just yards away if You wouldn’t have had a camera with You πŸ™‚ Did any photos of the eagles turn up in the paper?

      Raining here today so I hope the last of the ice will be gone by tomorrow πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      January 27, 2016 at 6:34 pm

      • Yes, the other photographer has been posting some of his photos in the local paper. He had a huge lens which got a lot more detail on each bird than I got. They were closer up, too but I suspect there was cropping and enlarging involved. Anyway, the eagles definitely had a dead squirrel and maybe there was another dead thing out there, too.

        January 30, 2016 at 2:17 am

      • I would like to have one of those big lenses sometimes but to be honest, I’m not sure it’s worth it because they are soo heavy πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Our smaller ones weigh enough to be honest.

        January 30, 2016 at 6:30 am

  5. Christer,
    I got quite a chuckle out of your fall. That sounds like one of mine. Luckily I was always going back inside the house so I got to change.

    Your pictures are just so lovely with your world covered in snow or ice. My favorites are the pictures from the Edixa Prismaflex. The contrasts are wonderful.

    All of the streets are clear and the snow has been melting all day. It really did sound just like a rain storm.

    Have a great evening!!

    January 27, 2016 at 1:13 am

    • Hi Kat!

      It must have looked hilarious πŸ™‚ I figured that if I had walked in and changed my clothes I most likely would do the same thing again πŸ™‚ My work shoes are really bad when it comes to ice πŸ™‚

      I do like the Edixa Prismaflex but the Zeiss is most likely mΓ½ favorite camera and it does take clear photos without any grain in them but I have pretty many failed photos taken with that one too πŸ™‚

      I hope the heavy raining here will take care of that last ice till tomorrow.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      January 27, 2016 at 6:37 pm

  6. Hi Christer –

    I felt a bit guilty laughing so hard over your predicament of sliding into the water at the gate. I thought you were going to buy some crampons or new boots to avoid losing traction on the ice. You must have been soaked on your drive to work. That is a terrible feeling when you realize you are going down & can do nothing to stop the inevitable. There is no graceful way to take a fall like that. If only one of the dogs had been there to hang onto or maybe it just would have meant two of you sliding into the water. Thank goodness, you went down slowly enough that you didn’t get hurt. Well, maybe your pride got a bit injured, but physically I hope you are OK.

    I like all of today’s photo, but I especially like how the one’s taken by the Edixa turned out. As I have said before, I like the surreal look those photos have about them. Part of it is the camera and part may be the subject matter. The heavy layer of frost covering everything makes the outdoors look magical.

    Tomorrow I go have another echocardiogram. I asked the cardiologist to repeat the study just to make sure I still have the pulmomary hypertension. This is the illness that is keeping me from being considered for a heart or kidney transplants. I just wanted to make sure that I still had that diagnosis now that I have lost a lot of fluid. Even though there is very little chance that the condition has reversed itself, I want to make sure that it hasn’t changed and the transplants are still not possible. If the pressures in the pulmonary artery have decreased then I might be able to have the needed transplants. At first I thought I would have to have the procedure performed in the cath lab like I originally had. Fortunately, they can get the same readings from the non-invasive study. The echocardiogram is pretty much like a detailed EKG reading. Which is great because all I have to do is lay on the table for 20 mins. while the tech does the study. I will meet with the cardiologist to go over the results next week. I hate waiting for test results. There should be a law that they have to give you the results before you leave the day of the test. It seem a bit cruel to make people wait for the results & feel anxious all that time. Better to give a “Yes” or “No” and have the guessing over.44

    Please be careful when you are outside. I don’t want you catching pneumonia from driving to work in freezing wet clothes. I know getting wet doesn’t make you sick, but it can’t be good for your health either.

    January 28, 2016 at 9:12 am

    • Hi Ellen!

      Don’t feel guilty, it is meant to make You laugh, after all >I did it myself lying there in the water πŸ™‚ It does feel odd when one knows it is impossible todo anything πŸ™‚ I did buy new winer boots but I always drive to work in my work shoes and I they are terrible when it comes to ice and snow πŸ™‚ My pride is still intact since I’ve done much worse falls in my life πŸ™‚

      Many like the Edixa photos! I always think they look as if they were taken in the 50’s πŸ™‚ I have another Edixa and I’m waiting for those photos to be developed now. I think that one gives slightly different photos. The Zeiss however is my favorite camera of the old ones to be honest.

      I do hope the condition has revesed even if the chance might be slim. Life would be so much easier if it had! I’m glad that all You have to do this time is to lay on the table for twenty minutes, that’s the kind of examination I like. I agree, it is better with a clear yes or a clear no! Anything in between is just annoying since it can give both hope and the opposite.

      We have neither snow or ice in the village any longer so I’ll be reasonable safe from falling, when I’m outside anyway πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      January 28, 2016 at 6:17 pm

Leave a Reply

