There really is no place for short chubby fingers.

The Minolta X300. I only got 15 photos from a roll of film which should give me 36 photos. I guess the camera froze like so many elderly does when the temperature drops that much.

Taken with the Minolta X300 (and the four after this one). I only got 15 photos from a roll of film which should give me 36 photos. I guess the camera froze like so many elderly does when the temperature drops that much.

We’ve had a wonderful sunny day here with very little wind as well. I got the chance to experience it some when I walked to and from the neighbor factory where I worked for a few hours today. It was the kind of day when it felt like the best thing to do was just to jump in the car and drive away but I couldn’t for two reasons.

 

A19054_015A

A19054_017A

A19054_023A

A19054_024A

The first reason was because too many hadn’t come to work today so they really needed another painter and the second reason was that I had to replace the two lights above the license plate on the tailgate. I knew both of them had broken already yesterday so the first thing I did when I came home was to bring all screwdrivers I have, the two tiny lightbulbs were already waiting in the car.

 

All photos I took with the Kodak Retinette became really grainy and I think it has to do with really bad light. Next time I'll use it will be on a sunny day. These four and the four after are taken with the Kodak.

All photos I took with the Kodak Retinette became really grainy and I think it has to do with really bad light. Next time I’ll use it will be on a sunny day. These four and the four after are taken with the Kodak. All standing photos are more manageable if You click on them.

A19055_014A

A19055_015A

A19055_016A

I had to have the flashlight in my mouth while I kept the tailgate in a hight where I easily could work. Naturally the screws were of a kind which I didn’t have a screwdriver for. So I talked with the handyman at work, he who fixes all problems we have with almost everything at work and he had the right tool. So as soon as I came back to work I started changing those lightbulbs.

 

I do like them anyway.

I do like them anyway.

A19055_017A

A19055_018A

A19055_019A

The first thing I do is to drop the tiny screw so it landed between the license plate and the tailgate. I could feel that it would be easy to pick up so I continued with the other one. It is amazing how hard those tiny bulbs sit and there’s really no space for short and chubby fingers πŸ™‚ I did get it out after a while and when I was about to pick up the screw that I dropped I managed to push it down behind the license plate.

 

These four are taken with the Hasselblad camera out on the bog when I got a bit lost :-)

These four are taken with the Hasselblad camera out on the bog when I got a bit lost πŸ™‚

A19051_002

A19051_003

This is the tree I recognised when I went out the next weekend and realised I was so close to almost walk the right way :-)

This is the tree I recognised when I went out the next weekend and realised I was so close to almost walk the right way πŸ™‚

The plate is made of plastic but I didn’t dare pulling too hard to get the screw out, so I gave up after a few minutes and called our handyman and asked how I would remove the plate since there were no visible screws to remove. He really tried to explain to me but in the end he had to come out and help me πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Turns out those plastic plates can take a lot before they break and to be honest, it was stupidly easy to remove it πŸ™‚

 

I had the Zeiss with me that time too. These four are taken with that camera.

I had the Zeiss with me that time too. These four are taken with that camera.

A19052_029

A19052_030

A19052_031

So now I drive legally again, well almost because another lightbulb broke so now I need to go to the petrol station on my way home tomorrow and get a new one πŸ™‚ It is time for something to eat and hot cocoa, the night is chilly!

 

These last four are taken with my Nikon D5100 last Sunday.

These last four are taken with my Nikon D5100 last Sunday.

DSC_0028 (16)

DSC_0030 (17)

DSC_0033 (17)

Have a great day!

10 responses

  1. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Those pictures are fantastic! They look very vintage which I think is so neat! Love the blue hue on them as well. I think those photos of the little snowy hills are really spectacular!! It looks like another planet! πŸ™‚ Would chewing gum have worked to get the screw out? Chew it then stick it on the end of the screwdriver and try to pull the plate back a bit? I would have likely done the same thing – call someone! πŸ™‚ I hope your evening is going well, I had hot chocolate last night with a bit of peppermint in it. Today is cool at about -17 but then they say we settle out. I will believe it when I see it. I am just patiently waiting for March. Then I won’t be so cranky! πŸ™‚

    February 4, 2016 at 7:22 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      Yes that’s what’s saving them πŸ™‚ I do like that vintage style they got but I do hope I can manage the light better next time.

      I doubt chewing gum would have helped, it sat too tight for that and neither I or our handyman cherws gum, I bnite myself in the lip and cheek every time I try πŸ™‚

      Sunny and nice today, even after I have left my job πŸ™‚ Tomorrow the rain will come back.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      February 5, 2016 at 4:10 pm

  2. jaz

    hi christer! i like the snow photos a lot. i just wish i had the real thing. it’s getting cold here again but no snow in sight. joyce

    February 4, 2016 at 9:47 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      It does look nice in photos but I can’t say I long for it to come back πŸ™‚

      It’s getting warmer here again and we can expect lots of rain tomorrow, can’t say I long for that either πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      February 5, 2016 at 4:14 pm

  3. HI Christer,
    I love the Zeiss photos of the bog. The snow looks like thick clouds that are rolling in low along the ground. Or maybe rushing water.

    I am in the short stubby finger group. It’s a burden. πŸ™‚ Changing bulbs on the car lights is a pain. Whenever one of my headlights goes out, I always change them both out because I know if I don’t, the other will burn out soon after. Tail lights too. I always forget how to remove the headlight and end up taking out screws I shouldn’t touch before figuring out the very easy way to do it. I’ve dropped screws into the engine compartment and never found them again. Nowadays, I just drive to the oil change station and they do it for me. I’m old. I’m allowed. πŸ™‚

    It poured rain and blew like crazy most of last night. This morning was cloudy and damp but warm. Tomorrow we will get snow. It’s crazy weather.

    Enjoy the day.

    February 4, 2016 at 10:54 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I do like the Zeiss camera but it is easy to fail with that one too. Some of my photos turned out almost black because it doesn’t like low light either πŸ™‚ Not even photoshop managed to do anythging with those photos πŸ™‚

      The SAAB has actually rather lots of space, compared to other fairly new cars so I can change the bulbs without too many problems but these tiny ones were almost impossible to change πŸ™‚ Yes I also change both at the same time, if not the oither one wioll break when there’s a snow storm and nasty cold so that it will get even harder to do it πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Thankfully none of my cars have had screws when it comes to the headlights, only a springy thing that always jumps away when one think one has managed to put it back πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Sunny here today, even after I had left my job, at least for a few minutes πŸ™‚

      have a great day!

      Christer.

      February 5, 2016 at 4:20 pm

  4. Hi Christer,
    I really like the ones from the Minolta and the Nikon. You still have so much snow. A couple of the pictures remind me of the surface of the moon-great pictures.

    We have snow coming starting in the morning, but I think we’re getting less than Boston, a different prediction than earlier. The weatherman says the flakes will be heavy and wet.

    Have a great day tomorrow!

    February 5, 2016 at 4:11 am

    • Hi Kat!

      No snow here at all, have You forgotten that it still is way too dark here to take any photos after work πŸ™‚ So even the digital were older but I thgought they would fit well with the snowy ones fromthe old cameras.

      I do like them even if they turned out way more grainy than I thought they would.

      We’ll get rain tomorrow and lots of it they say.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      February 5, 2016 at 4:23 pm

  5. I loved all the pictures..and some looked like they were taken with an old box Brownie camera we use to have. Neat! I miss having my pictures printed on actual photo paper. I miss that a lot.

    February 5, 2016 at 6:25 am

    • Hi Mona!

      Yes they do look like that and now I have the right film for my mormors (grandmother on my mothgers side) old camera πŸ™‚ It is a box camera even if it klooks a bit fancier πŸ™‚

      I do miss that too so as soon as I think I’ve managed to take good enough photos I’ll order paper copies, I like to sit and look through my old photo albums πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      February 5, 2016 at 4:25 pm

Leave a Reply

