If I would think like a forest owner….

DSC_0020

We’ve had a cold and sunny day here today, even after I had come home from work. Normally the sun is behind clouds when we get out on our walk but today it showed itself several times even if it was just for a few minutes at a time. No wind what so ever so I would have loved the weather anyway πŸ™‚ It was so cold that in places where the sun couldn’t reach there still was frost on all the plants.

 

DSC_0023

DSC_0025

DSC_0027

DSC_0028

Tomorrow we’ll be back to warmer weather again (not much warmer though but above 0C (32F) ) and with it both rain and snow will fall they say. We’ll have some semi strong winds too but not as bad as it was last time. To be honest, I didn’t notice the wind much last time since it was stopped by both my neighbors cottage, garage and the forest, I actually barely could hear it most of the time.

 

DSC_0036

DSC_0037

DSC_0038

DSC_0039

We went down to the creek like always after work on Fridays and before we reached the forest I understood something was wrong, I could see something looking like a tractor and that’s never good news. I was right, they were cutting down trees just beside the path we walk on and most of the trees growing by the creek too. If I would think like a forest owner I would say it was about time they did something to that area, the trees grew so close together that they never would reach any bigger heights.

 

Never a good sign to see  a working machine there, the only way it can come from is from the other side of the forest.

Never a good sign to see a working machine there, the only way it can come from is from the other side of the forest.

This is where I always take the creek photo, looks a bit different now.

This is where I always take the creek photo, looks a bit different now.

DSC_0046

DSC_0047

Well, I’m not a forest owner so I mostly felt a bit sad to see what they were doing. Now it is not all bad because this will help all spring flowers that grew by that creek. In a year or so the ground will be covered with violets and white wood anemones. It will look amazing and I’m pretty sure the ferns will gain from this too, just imagine how wonderful it will look when all those ferns lean over the water! Β Still I’ll miss the shade the trees gave and I guess one of the fly free zones now are gone for years to come. Unfortunately this will not affect the tics at all and they are plenty down by the creek.

 

DSC_0049

DSC_0050

DSC_0052

DSC_0054

The fire is burning in the stove and it is time for me to make something to eat.

Have a great day!

 

They had also been up by the bog to cut down some trees the storms had destroyed. This is the tree stump on where the tiny spruce was growing. The tree stump is badly scarred and the tiny spruce is now gone. Most of the mossy tree funguses are still there though, at least on this side og the stump.

They had also been up by the bog to cut down some trees the storms had destroyed. This is the tree stump on where the tiny spruce was growing. The tree stump is badly scarred and the tiny spruce is now gone. Most of the mossy tree funguses are still there though, at least on this side og the stump.

12 responses

  1. Hi Christer,
    I’m sad about the tiny spruce. But I’ll be looking forward to seeing how the creek changes now that lots of trees have been removed.

    It’s snowing sideways here today. The world is covered in white. Heavy, wet white. :/
    I suppose I should see if the snowblower will work. I haven’t had to use it this year. Then again, maybe I’ll just wait it out.

    Enjoy the day.

    February 5, 2016 at 5:57 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      Yes it is a bit sad, much like the tiny spruce that grew in the old windowframe on the barn ruin. Both are gone now. I did try to find this little spruce and perhaps plant it in my garden but wasn’t lucky. I’ll see if I can find it if we pass again tomorrow.

      Even though I loved how those trees grew by the creek this place will look amazing when the white wood anemones and the violoets fill the ground! I guess it will take a few years before that happens though. There’s always the risk of grass growing up too fast and cover all the flowers.

      It could be a good idea to check the snow blower even if You don’t use it, just in case. I know I most likely just would wait it out though πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      February 5, 2016 at 7:13 pm

      • Snowblower worked like a dream. It didn’t even do any of the aggravating things it did all last year that made me not want to use it ever again. Well, I still don’t want to have to use it ever again but I suppose that’s too much to hope for considering where I live. πŸ™‚

        Maybe when you walk by the creek, you could carry a small scythe and trim up any out of control grass you might see. You could be Death of Grass. Your very own Discworld character. πŸ˜€

        February 6, 2016 at 3:01 am

      • Now You know that it works but lets hope You won’t need touse it πŸ™‚

        Oh I like that one, the death of grass πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ but I’ve seen how difficult it can be when things goes wrong for gods πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

        February 6, 2016 at 5:32 am

  2. jaz

    it seems like you live in such a remote area that nothing should ever be done with the woods. it’s sunny and in the 40’s here. what a boring winter we are having.

    February 5, 2016 at 7:31 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      One could think so but it is in the remote areas they cut the most. Still I must admit that this land owner is very responsible, he plants new trees in all places where he has had trees cut down.

      The weather changes so much here that I can’t say it’s boring πŸ™‚ I wouldn’t mind if the wind could stay calm all the time though, I am a bit tired of it now.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      February 5, 2016 at 7:41 pm

  3. Dianna

    HI Christer! HEY!!! They cut down my favorite spot’s trees on one side!!!!!!! 😦 It just breaks my heart that trees are being cut, but I also get that if its dense or overpopulated then that’s a reason. Still breaks my heart. I can’t wait to see what the forest floor will look like in a couple of years with all the flowers tho! πŸ™‚ That makes me happy! We are due about 15 centimeters of snow starting tomorrow. Its going to be a stay indoors weekend. I will get all my errands done on the way home so no need to venture out if I don’t have to! πŸ™‚ Love the pictures of the deer – their white rumps are very noticeable! I hope your evening is good and there are good things to watch on TV! πŸ™‚

    February 5, 2016 at 9:36 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      I can’t see the meaning of cutting down those trees that grew beside the creek unless it has to do with hunting. The hunter will now have a clear view several hundred meters along the creek on both sides. They never took down the trees by the creek on the other side if the creek (where I walked when I took these photos).

      It will be very beautiful there every spring though, unless the grass grows too fast and covers the flowers.

      I hadn’t seen any deers in a long time so it was nice to see these two πŸ™‚

      For once it was a good tv night πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      February 6, 2016 at 5:30 am

  4. Hi Christer,
    We had quite a bit of snow. It is heavy and wet and all the trees and bushes are low to the ground. Even without the sun it is pretty. The problem is that it will all freeze tonight. There were plenty of accidents today because of the icy roads, and I think the morning will be far icier.

    I like the picture of the one deer leaping and running in front of the other.

    They say that a forest blooms even better after a forest fire. There is new growth and room for trees so maybe that will happen by the creek.

    Have a great Saturday.

    February 6, 2016 at 4:11 am

    • Hi Kat!

      I don’t like that heavy weat snow, only good for snowballs and making snowmen. Well, snowlanters too but if it is too wet the water oinly drips too fast anf stop the candle from burning.

      It was nice to see some deers again, I haven’t seen any in a very long time. I’ve seen lots of tracks but no deer.

      Yes the forest do flower amazingly after a fire, the ashes is a great fertilizer and some flowers seeds only germinate after a forest fire. I know the white wood anemone will thrive when all thelight finally can reach the ground so it will look amazing in a few years.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      February 6, 2016 at 5:38 am

  5. Keith

    Hi Christer,
    Another great post. I always love viewing your photos…they are warm, cozy and comforting to view. Great work! I hope the cutting does not ruin the beauty of that stream. Maybe a selective thinning would have been better? Keep us posted on the developments through the spring and summer and hopefully, as you stated, the ferns and wood anemone will fill the void now that there is more sunlight. All the best, Keith

    February 6, 2016 at 4:17 pm

    • Hi Keith and welcome to my blog πŸ™‚

      Thank You!

      I don’t think it will ruin the beauty, well this first year will look a bit sad but after that the white wood anemones, violets and marsh marigolds will look amazing. I hope enough of us living here will be able to keep a path open when the grass and rush starts to grow though. The ferns are already very beautiful there when they hang over the water, that is if one walks on the right side of the creek because the other side has almost no ferns at all.I will take loads of photos there, I always do πŸ™‚

      Have a great day and welcome back πŸ™‚

      Christer.

      February 6, 2016 at 4:53 pm

Leave a Reply

