I wonder if he likes it?

Back to older photos again, it is still way too dark after work to get any photos. These are from the Edixa Reflex.

Back to older photos again, it is still way too dark after work to get any photos. These are from the Edixa Reflex.

The influenza has hit my work place now, several are sick or has been. I think it is the swine flu but they say three different kinds are roaming around in the country. I had the swine flu last time it was here and therefore I should be safe from getting it again. It didn’t hit hard when it did though and it only lasted for a few days. Some people get so sick that they die when they get it, others, like me barely notice it.

 

A19053_002A

A19053_003A

A19053_004A

A19053_006A

Can’t say much has happened, it rained a lot during the day but it was still very bright outside. Not so when I drove home after work though. The sky was covered in dark grey clouds and they just refused to let any of the last light for the day pass through.

 

A19053_018A

I will miss how it looked down by the creek.

A19053_019A

A19053_020A

A19053_022A

I got a letter with an appointment for my annual vehicle inspection today. A bit early I think since I don’t have to do it until the last of September πŸ™‚ It’s not as if I love going there so I always wait until the last day if possible. Strange that they send that one now since I during all the years I’ve gone to the same place never had my car inspected early in the year πŸ™‚ I’ll make an appointment later myself.

 

A19053_017A

I think the glass on the lens froze and that's why it looks a bit darker in the middle of the photo.

I think the glass on the lens froze and that’s why it looks a bit darker in the middle of the photo.

A19053_027A

A19053_028A

It is time for something to eat but I’m not especially hungry, so I’ll pop some corn. Here in Sweden we say that we pop popcorn πŸ™‚ I realised one day that it must sound rather strange in the ears of someone who speaks English πŸ™‚ I’m not sure Sune ever have had popcorn so it’ll be interesting to see what he thinks of it. All my other dogs have always loved it.

 

A19053_029A

A19053_030A

A19053_031A

A19053_032A

Have a great day!

8 responses

  1. Dianna

    Hi Christer! We are starting to see signs of influenza around here to. We have 2 people away today with stomach issues. I hope I don’t get it. I hate getting sick. I just love the blue hue in your photos – makes for a serene view! πŸ™‚ Well, I am not sure if Karma likes popcorn but I can tell you that she likes wood. Specifically baseboards and trim around doors. She has decided to become a termite I guess. What a mischief she is!! We are going to have to replace some trim once she gets over this phase she is going through. But she is so darn cute its incredibly hard to get mad at her. πŸ™‚ I am just on my lunch, having beet soup. Its really delicious. We are heading into an arctic low, so this week you will hear me grumble about the weather a lot. Have a good evening!

    February 8, 2016 at 7:23 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      So far I’ve managed to stay away from it. I don’t think that the last thing I had was the flu but who knows πŸ™‚ If so then I can say it wasn’t that bad, at least not if it was a flu πŸ™‚

      So Karma is in the chewing stage πŸ™‚ My dogs have usually concentrated their chewing to chairs but one chewed away a big part of a thershold πŸ™‚ I hope it pass fast!

      It will get colder here too but not especially bad and only for a few days they say, the weasther is jumping around as if it was crazy now πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      February 9, 2016 at 6:16 pm

  2. fingers crossed you don’t catch that flu! We say pop some popcorn here as well,

    February 8, 2016 at 8:47 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      I do hope that I won’t get it!

      So it doesn’t sound strange when we say we pop popcorn πŸ™‚ Normally we use the native american word for corn, mays but we spell it different, majs.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      February 9, 2016 at 6:17 pm

  3. Hi Christer,
    That last photo was interesting. And weird. Cattail giving you the hairy eyeball. πŸ™‚

    We pop corn. It’s a given that if one is popping corn, it is popcorn. I’ve read that one can also pop amaranth, sorghum, quinoa and millet. Must take a lot of those kernels to make a decent bag for movie viewing.
    My horse, Orion, is buried in the popcorn field behind his old barn. He was always popping off at something so it was appropriate. πŸ™‚

    Today is grey, blustery, blizzardy and snowing. It’s supposed to do this off and on until Thursday. I am not pleased.

    Enjoy the day.

    February 8, 2016 at 9:48 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      It must have been birds picking it like that to get to the seeds πŸ™‚

      Normally we don’t even use the name corn, we use the native american name but spell it different, majs. Yes must use loads of those to get anything πŸ™‚ I think one can do the same with rice too. Now I really want to try popped sorghum πŸ™‚

      Yes that was a appropriate place to bury him πŸ™‚ Orvar and Hector would have loved to stay in a popcorn field πŸ™‚

      Rainy big parts of the day but clear sky when I drove home, still too dark to take any photos but I can see a big difference now πŸ™‚ I hope the blizzard isn’t too bad!

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      February 9, 2016 at 6:22 pm

  4. Hi Christer –

    I hope you escape all the different strains of flu going around. I read an article about how here in the US that all the Super Bowl parties were going to be a perfect breeding ground for the flu. Everyone sharing food & having lots of people in crowded spaces is a great way to spread illness. I have to take my old van in for it’s inspection before the month is over. I should probably get rid of it since I haven’t driven it in more than a year. I bought a new battery for it back then & it’s now dead. I had bought one of those battery disconnect systems that are supposed to disconnect the battery once it drains the voltage to a certain point and then you reconnect it by pressing the brake, but I’ve tried starting it a couple of times & it seems the battery is dead from neglect. If the condo board sees that my tags are not renewed they will start sending me irritating letter with threats, so I bought a new battery and am planning on calling the road service to send a guy to install it. Boy, batteries weigh a ton. I could hardly lift it out of my shopping cart & into the trunk of my car. I think motor vehicles sent my inspection notice 3 months before the deadline. Odd that your notice came so many months in advance. I guess they think that leaves you no excuse for getting it taken care of. Although sending it so far ahead, I’d be more likely to forget about it.

    I finally broke down & bought 2 a new TVs this weekend. My old rear projection is at deaths door. The picture looks faded & everyone’s skin looks orange. The old TV I had in the bedroom is 20 years old, but too small for my aging eyes to see anymore πŸ™‚ I wasn’t looking for one of those new curved screen 4k TV’s, but I kept seeing a Samsung JS9000 that won all kinds of awards & was rated best pick for 2015. It sells for $2,500 USD, but I got it for $1,399 because it had a tiny crack in part of the stand that is just cosmetic & won’t show when assembled. It’s 55 inches. Much larger than my old TV. All of the computer & processor comes in a separate small box so that as technology progresses you just upgrade the box & the TV continues to be current technology. I thought that was a good feature since I don’t plan on buying any more TVs. It’s being delivered & set-up on the 16th. The one for the bedroom is 40″ and is a Sony Bravia. I was able to take that one home with me & put it together Saturday night. It much larger than I imagined and take up my whole dresser top. I couldn’t get regular channels until I get a new converter box at the cable place, but I hooked it up to my wi-fi and streamed Nexflix movies. It looked so amazing compared to a tiny analogue set. I wished I could just stay home today so I could play with it & check out all the apps.. It has been so long since I treated myself to anything that was just for fun & not something I needed, that I should be very happy for a long time. If I’m stuck at home most of the time, at least I have something to entertain myself with πŸ™‚ Tomorrow, I’ll go switch out the cable box and hopefully I will get all the channels programmed.

    We say “pop popcorn” over here too. I love real popcorn, not that awful microwave junk. I can’t eat it anymore because it’s caused some dental issues in the past & the dentist made me promise I wouldn’t eat it again, but it used to me my favorite snack. When Toby was a young cat, if I had made a bowl of popcorn, she would run over & pick pieces out of the bowl with a single claw. After a while I noticed she was sniffing the popcorn before she picked a piece and I discovered that the reason she was sniffing was because she was taking all the pieces that had butter on them. She loved corn whether it was popped, on the cob or a bag of frozen I had cooked. When I was a kid, there was a produce stand down the road & the people who owned the farm had lots of barn cats. Whenever there was fresh corn in the summer, all the cats liked to chew on the corn cobs to get the sweet corn milk. It looked pretty funny to see all those cats chewing on their cobbs, Here a lot of people put all kinds of seasonings on their popcorn. I actually liked it with grated parmesan cheese & a tiny bit of smoked Spanish paprika, but at heart I prefer it best with just a bit of salt and nothing else. Is there anything people in Sweden like to put on their popcorn? I used to sneak my own popcorn in when I went to the movies. They put that awful fake oily butter on it that I don’t want to eat, plus they charge such a high price that I refused to pay it. I only go to the theater a couple of times a year now and they have sings everywhere saying they will inspect your purse or packages for security purposes. I think they just want to make sure you aren’t bringing in your own snacks to try & force you to buy their overpriced junk ::)

    Loved the photos today, esp. the last few. They are just beautiful. Seeing the cat tails reminded me of where I grew up. There were ponds & lots of marsh area where lots of cat tails grew. There was also a lot of milk weed and I remember how the fluffy insides would blow through the air in the summertime. I don’t think either plant grows where I live. At least I’ve never seen them. Stay well & have a good week at work.

    February 9, 2016 at 7:19 am

    • Hi Ellen!

      It would be the same here if the flu hit on christmas, we have a christmasbord and that’s the same as a smorgasbord but with christmas food and everyone pick food from the same plates and diseases spread happily between us πŸ™‚ It is very common with stomach problems when people have had christmasbord in restaurants πŸ™‚

      How annoying with the battery! I think batteries must be reloaded every now and again otherwise they will give up even with that disconnect system. Batteries are really heavy and nasty expensive too so the least they could do are too not die when not being used in a long while!

      55 inches!!! That’s a huge tv πŸ™‚ Mine is 36 (a Samsung something) and is too big for my little cottage. It is like sitting to close to the screen when being in the cinema. Over here they’ll change systems so people who have pay channels now must buy either new boxes or a new tv, people aren’t happy at all. I only have the free channels so I won’t have to do anything. My old tv turned towards green when it slowly gave up, everyone looked as if they were sick to the stomach.

      Yes real popcorn, the micro ones are just nasty and I’ll never have that again! The vast majority just have salt on their popcorns, some melted butter too )I prefer just salt though). I know they now sell seasoning to popcorn but I never see them sell any of it.
      The candy rule in our cinemas have never been especially strict, we can bring our own if we want. Most buy the popcorn there though (nasty expensive) but thankfully they do have real butter here still.

      I have learned that if one pick the cat tails before they get brown they are edible, one should treat them as one treat corn. I think I need to try it at least once πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      February 9, 2016 at 6:38 pm

Leave a Reply

