I rarely get nostalgic :-)

Some more from the Edixa Reflex.

Some more from the Edixa Reflex.

I rarely go back the memory lane or get nostalgic, the past is the past and that’s it but yesterday it hit me right in the face. They played a song on the radio and I went back at least twenty years back in time. I lived in the city just beside a heavily trafficked road but every summer when the weather was sunny and hot the traffic died out pretty early in the evening. Those evenings I liked to sit on my balcony in the sunshine looking towards the ocean.

 

A19053_015A

A19053_016A

A19053_024A

A19053_025A

There was a tiny gap in the low hills that made it possible for me to see sailing boats passing by and it was as quiet that it could be in a big city. People either had their dinner or were still by the beach. In summer we have daylight almost all day so no one was ever in a rush home, especially if on had found a good spot. There was a high-rise building on the other side of the road and almost all doors to the balconies were open since they were in the shadows.Β 

 

A19053_033A

A19053_034A

A19053_035A

A19053_036A

So I sat there and waited, waited for the one who obviously loved this song I heard every single sunny and warm evening over and over again (they must have put the player on repeat), every summer. They must have had speakers on the balcony because I could hear every word very well. I can’t say I like the song and never have but the first hot summer evening after moving to the countryside I truly missed it πŸ™‚ This song and the singers had become a part of my life whether I liked it or not and every time they play it on the radio (not especially often to be honest) I just start smiling and sing along. The YouTube video below will play the song for You. I do miss RenΓ©e and Renato πŸ™‚

Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β Β 

Have a great day!

20 responses

  1. Hi Christer,
    Someone must have been very very pleased to have bred.
    I might have stabbed my eardrums with a knitting needle 30 seconds into this.
    It’s good that it brings back pleasant memories for you. πŸ™‚

    The photos all look really cold. Your description of sunny, warm weather near the sea is a perfect offset to them and to the weather here today. It’s cold, damp, cloudy and occasionally it spits a few snow flakes.
    Yesterday’s snow storm was mostly wind and not much accumulation. I had removed a few inches partway through the storm and was about to fire up the snow blower to clear away what fell after that when my plow guy showed up. Yay! Thank you, Plow Guy.

    Play the tune again and enjoy your summer reverie. πŸ™‚

    February 9, 2016 at 7:24 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      The first time I heard it I just laughed, then I got a bit irritated because it just went on and on but after a while I accepted it. The few time sthey didn’t play it I started to worry that something might have happened to them πŸ™‚ I really don’t like it but I just can’t stop smiling and sing along when I hear it πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ They did sometimes play another song with RenΓ©e and Renato but that one I just can’t stand πŸ™‚

      It was so cold when I took those photos and it really shows.

      I’m glad it wasn’t worse! At least now You know that the snow blower works and that’s why the plow guy comes just in time so You never will have to use it. If it hadn’t worked the plow guy would have come much later πŸ™‚

      I will πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      February 9, 2016 at 7:31 pm

  2. how sad our lives would be without memories,,

    February 9, 2016 at 7:41 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      I rarely think back to be honest but for most people I think You’re right!

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      February 10, 2016 at 6:17 pm

  3. Christer,
    I’m not even sure I would have listened to the whole song if they played in on the radio. I listened today but only for you. Have you listened to other songs 0f theirs? Do they sing the same way with an Italian English accent?

    Your snow and trees could just as well be in my backyard as they look so much alike. Everything is still pretty. The road has bare patches r=here and there, but we need the sun to melt everything. I put the deicer on the steps for Gracie so she should be fine. I just hope I don’t fall.

    Skip came today so the car, the walk and mailbox are clear. I jut watch and write the check!

    Enjoy your day.

    February 9, 2016 at 7:51 pm

    • Hi Kat!
      πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ They occasionally played the entire record and yes they sing the same way all the time. He was from Italy (now dead after brainsurgery because of cancer, I read that just now in Wikipedia) and she is from Britain. They had a number one hit in the UK called Save Your Love and that one isn’t better in any way than this one πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I’ve never really liked it but it did become a part of warm summers for me and I can’t but smile and sing along when I hear it πŸ™‚

      It was so nice and snow free here but now we have some snow again. It will come more tomorrow and the tempewrature will drop too so it will stay I’m afraid.

      Thankfully I don’t have to write a check, our plow guy does it for free when he plows the rest of the village πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      February 10, 2016 at 6:24 pm

  4. Well, unlike others..I thought it was adorable. Being the Mom of seven who’s lost the Daddy in 19197, I thought it precious! I have seven “little a bitta me and a little a bitta he!” and I am grateful and very, very pleased that we bred! LOL VERY PLEASED! I will never be lonely. πŸ™‚
    I also liked it that you are a bitta sentimental! πŸ™‚

    February 9, 2016 at 7:51 pm

    • Hi Mona!

      I’m glad someone likes it πŸ™‚ I’ve never really liked it but it did become something that belonged to a hot summer πŸ™‚

      I rarely am so it’ll take a long time until that happens again πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      February 10, 2016 at 6:25 pm

  5. Dianna

    HI Christer!! Sometimes a quick trip down memory lane does the soul good. We are currently heading towards a deep freeze and I can feel myself getting crankier as the temps get lower πŸ™‚ Next week I am on holidays so I am looking forward to that – if the weather is not good, that’s ok, I don’t have to go out in it! I love the first picture today – perfect! Have a good evening!

    February 9, 2016 at 9:10 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      It’ll get colder here too now and we’ve already gotten some snow. Can’t say I’m happy about it but it is still winter so I really can’t complain πŸ™‚

      Next time I’ll have a short vacation is the week after easter, I’m taking two days of in April just because I can πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      February 10, 2016 at 6:28 pm

  6. jaz

    if i had to listen to that song i would kill myself! haha! glad you like it. it’s snowing but just a little.

    February 10, 2016 at 12:41 am

    • Hi Joyce!

      πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      I can’t say I ever have liked it but because I heard it every warm summers evening it became a part of warm summers. Now I can’t but smile and sing along the few times I hear it πŸ™‚

      Snow here today too and now the temperature will drop again.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      February 10, 2016 at 6:29 pm

  7. There are several songs that bring back different memories for me.
    I suppose the “What I like about you” song by The Romantics still gets to me.
    A frivolous song but still reminds me of a time that’s totally different from my life now.
    I kinda miss it and I kinda don’t.
    I’m guessing that’s how you are feeling too?
    Thinking of the warm weather and a different life as you freeze in this current weather.
    I know I’m freezing in this windy 14 degree weather.
    πŸ˜‰

    February 10, 2016 at 2:35 am

    • Hi Cindi!

      Too bad this song wasn’t something I actually liked πŸ™‚ But it did become a part of warm summers and now the few times I hear it I can’t but smile and sing along πŸ™‚

      I don’t think I’ve actually heard the song You meantion and I’m pretty sure I’ve never heard about the Romantics, now I much search the net about them πŸ™‚

      I can’t say I miss it but when I hear it I can’t but smile and sing along. To be honest, I think it is quite awful πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      It snowed today and now the temperature will drop again. I might get a chanse to take a walk on the bog again if the cold weather stays.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      February 10, 2016 at 6:33 pm

  8. Ann

    Love the blue tint to the photos today, Christer! It’s going to be 70 today on the Texas Gulf Coast (please don’t hate me, everyone – just think of the summer humidity!), so I’m enjoying the glimpse of February snow. Just a glimpse is enough, though ~

    February 10, 2016 at 2:23 pm

    • Hi Ann!

      >I don’t hate You I’m just very, very jealous πŸ™‚ The temperature is dropping again and it snowed today. I really can’t complain because we really should have had it much colder since long ago to be honest. So You’ll see plesnty of wintery photos from me yet πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      February 10, 2016 at 6:35 pm

  9. Maybe the winter and the snow had you wishing you were sitting on that balcony again looking at the sea, Christer. Yes, I do get sentimental if I hear a song or read something that reminds me of another time in my past, whether it was happy or sad. I found it interesting that you said you did not get those feelings, but then everyone is different.
    Your photos made me think of the cold just looking at them.

    February 11, 2016 at 3:07 am

    • Hi Beatrice!

      No, we didn’t have any snow then but this always happen when I hear this rather horrible song πŸ™‚

      I rarely get sentimental, the past is the past and I don’t look back to be honest. So if it happens I always get a bit surprised πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      February 11, 2016 at 6:01 pm

  10. Hi again, Christer.. I just wanted to add that it was 92 degree’s here today. Coulda cried! I know that heat is coming..and to have it even pretend to begin now was more than I could take..but..there are worse things.. πŸ™‚

    February 11, 2016 at 3:24 am

    • Well I have to say that even if I long for spring and summer I really don’t long for those temperatures!!! We rarely even come close to that even in hot summers here πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ It is way to9o early even for You!

      February 11, 2016 at 6:02 pm

Leave a Reply

