Well, it is winter after all.

DSC_0024 (3)

They predicted chances of sunshine today so I’m not the least surprised that we now have a snow storm passing by πŸ™‚ It seems it has hit all over southern Sweden and that all weather sites missed to predict it πŸ™‚ I think that we’ve gotten almost 5cm (2 inches since we went out for our morning walk just before eight this morning and it just keeps on falling.

 

1181

It didn't look that bad to be honest but it turned out that those blue clouds were filled with snow.

It didn’t look that bad to be honest but it turned out that those blue clouds were filled with snow.

DSC_0025 (4)

DSC_0029 (4)

We walked to the little lake in the forest again, I would have liked to walk down to the creek but it is more or less impossible to walk there now and I’m not sure if the guy with the horses are out during the weekend. His horses don’t care about my dogs but I still don’t want to disturb them while they are working. It would not be a good thing is we accidentally scared them, horses are big You know πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0028 (3)

DSC_0030 (3)

DSC_0033 (4)

DSC_0035 (4)

My Hasselblad camera is a so-called medium format camera, the film is bigger than those to a slr camera. Medium format cameras give totally square photos and one can only take twelve photos on each film roll. For a reason I don’t know it’s much more expensive to develop those films even if it is exactly the same film as the 135 films (but bigger then), so they use the same chemicals. That’s why I use my Hasselblad camera so seldom. Instead I’ve used the Zeiss more often, it use the same kind of film but instead of totally square photos it takes slightly less wide photos so I can get 16 photos from each roll of film. I hope You can follow what I mean πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0036 (3)

DSC_0037 (4)

DSC_0038 (4)

This was once a bike, probably used all the time back in the days.

This was once a bike, probably used all the time back in the days.

The film to my Hasselblad is loaded in a special cassette which when it is loaded is attached to the camera body. One day I learned that they have made film cassettes which gives the same size on the negatives as on the Zeiss camera so I can take 16 photos with my Hasselblad too! I found one on our eBay (which we call Tradera) and won the auction fairly easy. I tried to get some info about it on the net but it seems medium format fanatics doesn’t like it, the negatives should be square and that’s it πŸ™‚ I’m not a fanatic so I thought it was great and today I started using that cassette πŸ™‚ I do prefer to take many photos for less money if I can πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0041 (3)

DSC_0042 (4)

DSC_0043 (3)

DSC_0044 (3)

So anyway, it was quite pleasant when we started our walk, a weak wind and I could see rips in the sky showing a blue heaven. It changed quickly though and soon the snow started to fall. I have to admit that I didn’t notice it much as long as we were walking in the forest but on our way back it snowed so much sometimes that it was hard to see any longer distances. Still, the flakes are mostly small so it takes some time until it becomes especially much on the ground.

 

I normally take photos of this tree with its funguses but closer to the ground. I'm walking on the ridge around 15 meters (much the same in yards) up and could take a closer look at the top of the old tree. There are a few funguses gowing even higher.

I normally take photos of this tree with its funguses but closer to the ground. I’m walking on the ridge around 15 meters (much the same in yards) up and could take a closer look at the top of the old tree. There are a few funguses growing even higher.

DSC_0049 (4)

All standing photos are more manageable if You click on them.

DSC_0051 (3)

DSC_0052 (4)

Now I’ve started a fire in the stove and am about to make some cocoa. I have a headache, my throat is sore and I’m really tired. I do hope this is as worse as it will get but I doubt it πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0055 (4)

DSC_0059 (3)

DSC_0062 (2)

DSC_0064 (3)

Have a great day!

 

This is the same tree as the previuous photo but much closer to the ground :-)

This is the same tree as the previous photo but much closer to the ground πŸ™‚

DSC_0072 (2)

DSC_0074 (2)

DSC_0075 (2)

6 responses

  1. Hi Christer,
    We have a saying: Small flakes, big storm. It usually works that way but sometimes not.

    I’m trying to visualize that piece of metal as a bike but I’m not getting there. Before I read the description I thought it was broken farm tool of some kind. I guess I can see the front fork and maybe the rest is buried?

    I love the photo of the cows peeking out of the barn door. And also the horses eating hay.

    The sun is shining through hazy skies but it’s wicked cold outside. I did the morning walk in my Antarctic down parka and Russian coyote fur hat. I was comfortable but couldn’t find my mittens so my hands were a tad frozen. We managed to get to the next door neighbor’s before the dogs turned for home. πŸ™‚ They made a small detour 50 feet up the dirt road because there were smells. Then they ran back to the porch. It was hardly worth the effort of climbing into all my layers. πŸ™‚

    Enjoy the cocoa and I hope it cures your ills. πŸ™‚

    February 13, 2016 at 4:36 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      It kept on snowing for hours and the flakes changed size several times, the last ones were rather big and filled up the ground pretty well, so I think we got 4 inches in the end. It actually still snows but the flakes are far appart and tiny.

      The ground is leaning a bit where the bike is so it wouyld have been much easier to see that it’s a bike if I had taken the photo from the opposite direction but You describe very well what it is we can see πŸ™‚

      I would have been surprised if You had been freezing with that parka and hat πŸ™‚ I do understand Your dogs so well though πŸ™‚

      I’m still living, I’ve napped for an hour and a half and is still just as tired πŸ™‚ No fever though so I’m not sure I can say I’m sick πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      February 13, 2016 at 4:56 pm

  2. Dianna

    Hi Christer! I hope the sore throat and tiredness goes away after a good night’s sleep! There is so much sickness around here, I think its really only a matter of time. I eat healthy and take vitamins so I do hope that is good for keeping things at bay!!! But sometimes those bugs are stronger than the immune system sadly! We had another bitter night and morning, but things seem to be balancing out. Its cool out – just came in from a dog walk and the wind is biting, but its -14 (around -29 with the wind chill) but if you are not directly in the line of wind, its not bad. Being on the prairies, there is nothing to stop the wind and some days it really does howl! πŸ™‚ The 3rd picture from the bottom looks like a tree creature reaching out their arms to hug someone! πŸ™‚ I have to be honest, I know next to nothing about cameras, I am just so glad that they are in the world so I can see lots of lovely pictures! πŸ™‚ My husband or son know more than I, and that’s good too!! πŸ™‚ Have a good evening – I am sure its late there now!

    February 13, 2016 at 11:34 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      It isn’t gone but it isn’t worse either and I guess that’s a good sign.
      Everyone are sick here too but they say fewer get sick from the flu now, lots of people at work have been hit by it. I doubt taking care of one self helps especially much against viruses though but I think one get through being hit much easier if one do take care of one self.

      Cold night and morning here today but no wind so it is rather nice outside. We actually had it that cold here during the night but with no wind at all thankfully.

      If that tree had been in any of our fairytales it would most likely have tried to grab someone to eat him up πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      February 14, 2016 at 10:05 am

  3. Christer,
    My mother always told us that the big flakes never amounted to much snow but beware the small flakes. She always had sayings like it’s too cold to snow. In that one she was totally wrong.

    I think Gracie would be jealous to see your dogs walking free in the woods. My other dogs could go off leash but not crazy Gracie. She’d have taken off on me and chased another dog or just kept running. Now that she is older (old for a Boxer) she has slowed down.

    Tonight is just freezing. No one, man or beast, should be outside. The puffy snow we got last night has now frozen. I’ve thrown out deicer on the back steps so Gracie will be safe and not fall.

    I hope you feel better!!

    February 14, 2016 at 4:01 am

    • Hi Kat!

      We say the same here but I have to admit it was wrong yesterday, it was the big flakes which filled up the ground this time. I’ve heard somewhere that snow can’t be made if it falls below a certain temperature but that doesn’t mean it doesn’t fly around up there and falls down no matter how cold it might be.

      We haven’t seen a hare in months now so I’m not sure if Nova would chase it or if she finally has understood that she isn’t allowed to chase them. Otherwise they are both really easy to have unleashed, thankfully.

      Rather cold here during the night and still rather chilly. They say we’ll have it like this for a while now.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      February 14, 2016 at 10:09 am

Leave a Reply

