It si far away but I can see it :-)

DSC_0040 (5)

I can’t say I feel much better but I can see the light at the end of the tunnel today. It seems however that the cold now concentrates its strength towards my throat, I’ll fight back with honey and ginger mixed in luke warm tea because if one heat up honey too much it becomes just plain sugar to be honest, all the good bacteria in the honey dies if the temperatures rise too much.

 

DSC_0064 (4)

DSC_0075 (3)

DSC_0077 (2)

DSC_0078 (2)

I would have loved to have pineapple slices again today but I didn’t stop at the grocery store toi get any more so today I’ll have either preserved pears or peaches, not in their own juice though. Can’t remember if I’ve ever seen pears or peaches preserved in their own juice, it’s usually either syrup or water. The ones in water never taste especially nice I’m afraid so I tend to avoid those.

 

DSC_0082 (1)

DSC_0084

DSC_0085 (1)

DSC_0089

It will start to get slightly warmer now but that also means we’ll have the risk of getting snow. The predictions say snow for Thursday and since it is something I really don’t want more off I guess they’ll be right this time πŸ™‚ Only 13 days left of February so at least I know a spring will come and I do hope it will be an early one so we don’t have to wait until the end of April this year.

 

DSC_0090

DSC_0098

DSC_0077 (1)

DSC_0086

It is time for that tea even if it will keep me awake all night, I doubt it though since I’m so tired that I could fall asleep right here in the kitchen in front of the laptop πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0081

DSC_0082

DSC_0083

Have a great day!

6 responses

  1. Hi Christer,
    The always happy Sune. πŸ™‚

    Sorry that you are still feeling lousy. Honey and ginger to the rescue, I hope.

    Today is way warmer. It’s up to 45ΒΊF. It’s raining. Everything is melting and it has no place to go so there are big puddles. Out walking the dogs, I came to some ruts with deep puddles in them but the mound in the middle was snow. I thought. When I stepped on the snow, my foot went through into slush and water which came up over the shoe and my pant legs. I had to continue forward to get home. Of course, I met three neighbors out walking their dogs and each time all the dogs had to play with each other and greet the people. My feet were almost dry by the time I got home. πŸ™‚

    Enjoy the evening and feel better.

    February 16, 2016 at 7:52 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      Yes he’sa always happy that dog πŸ™‚

      To be honest, I’m not sure if either helps when one has become sick, I know it does if one use it before though. It tastes nice though so I’ll have it anyway πŸ™‚

      Isn’t it fun πŸ™‚ All other times would have been great to meet those neighbors πŸ™‚ I never like to tell people I really need to get back home when things like that happens so like You I’m usually dry when I finally come home again πŸ™‚

      Better today so I feel that the end of this soon will be here πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      February 17, 2016 at 6:14 pm

  2. Christer,
    I love how joyful your dogs look in the snow. Gracie was the same when she was younger. She’d run the whole circumference of my yard as quickly as she could over and over. She still runs but much less so. She is 10 and a half now and gets tired more easily.

    My snow is almost gone. It has been raining most of the day. I can now see a good portion of my deck boards and some of the grass in the front yard. Winter is 2/3s over today so maybe, just maybe we won’t be buried again.

    Gracie and I went out and did a couple of errands today. It was nice being out of the house even to go to the store. I needed bread but ended up buying a lot more, and I forgot the bread. I had lobster risotto and a cod cake for dinner. It was worth forgetting the bread.

    That cold is hanging around a long time. Those kinds are the worst. Since I stopped working, I don’t get colds. That is another perk of retirement.

    Have a quiet, healthy weekend!

    February 17, 2016 at 2:09 am

    • Hi Kat!

      Most of my dogs have always loved snow but I think Sune might be the one loving it the most and he’s always happy that dog πŸ™‚ To be honest, I think Nova is just as happy but she has a serious look πŸ™‚ Being ten and a half but still run around sometimes is rather good!

      We’ll get more snow, at first they rpedicted it to come tomorrow but now they predict it to come on Friday and during the weekend too I’m afraid. Just stupid since it will be warmer after the weekend and it will start to melt away again.

      Lobster risotto! That sounds delicious! You can always make scones if You want some bread πŸ™‚

      I do feel better today, not much but enough to understand that it soon will be over πŸ™‚ I’ll only have to wait 13-15 years until I know I won’t get colds again then πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      February 17, 2016 at 6:23 pm

  3. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Hopefully today you are feeling better. My son has been home since yesterday with some sort of flu/stomach bug. I hope I don’t catch it!! But I’d rather have it than have him sick, so I am willing to get sick if it means he feels better! πŸ™‚ We are under cloud today, then we get scarily warm and rain. Such a strange, strange winter. Rain in January and now February. Wonder if that means we will actually have a proper spring? We usually go from -30 to +30 in a matter of a few days. Silly really. I know exactly what you mean with the tinned fruit. If I do buy – I do buy the ones in water only because I find the ones in syrup too sweet. But they do taste better πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Lovely fog photos today, and the pups running with such happy faces on! Have a good Wednesday!

    February 17, 2016 at 4:16 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      I do feel better today, not much but still better πŸ™‚

      Illnesses usually never work that way I’m afraid πŸ™‚ The risk is that You both get it instead πŸ™‚

      We’ve been lucky a few years now with long springs. We call the period between winter and spring for springwinter and that means cold at night but rather warm during the day. The last few years we’ve had long springwinters and that is almost the best part of the year πŸ™‚ That’s when one can go out, well dressed and have the first picnic for the year. Just sit in a wind free spot in the sunlight and enjoy life πŸ™‚

      Yes that’s the problem, syrip make it all too sweet but the water ones aren’t sweet enough. I do like it when they keep the fruit in the juice but I rarely find any if it isn’t pineapple.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      February 17, 2016 at 6:28 pm

Leave a Reply

