A rather nice day.

DSC_0022 (4)

No sun today, this photo is a week old.

It has been a rather nice day so far, I worked in the neighbor factory for a few hours and when I came back to my normal work place very little was left to do so I left almost an hour early. It is odd how very nice that can feel even if I should have stopped working at noon anyway, that hour can feel like an entire day πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0030 (5)

DSC_0032 (6)

DSC_0033 (6)

I drove to the super market on my way home, the only reason I did so was because I wanted to buy more fire logs. I must say I was a bit surprised when they didn’t have any. Instead they had real fire wood in sacks, not big but very heavy. They don’t last as long as fire logs would but it sure smells nicer when the real wood burns and I think real wood burning gives away more heat than the logs. Compressed sawdust is perhaps a bit too dense so they burn more slowly.

 

DSC_0035 (5)

DSC_0036 (5)

DSC_0040 (6)

It was quite warm when I came home and by warm I mean above 0C (32F) and the wind wasn’t too strong so it was quite nice to be honest. We walked down to the creek to see if they had cleaned up something and the horse guy had but not much. I’m still happy that I managed to walk there without falling or breaking a leg πŸ™‚ It looks like they this time only cuts down birches and I could hear him working somewhere in the forest but not see him.

 

DSC_0048 (6)

DSC_0051 (5)

DSC_0052 (6)

Both cats and dogs have eaten and now it’s my turn. I think I’ll do something easy like warm sandwiches, perhaps some ham and spotted sausages and lots of cheese. They show reruns of the old series Murder She Wrote so I’ll watch that while eating.

 

DSC_0063 (5)

DSC_0065 (5)

DSC_0067 (3)

 

Have a great day!

 

DSC_0055 (6)

DSC_0059 (5)

6 responses

  1. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Sounds like a perfect Friday to me! Isn’t the smell of real wood in a fireplace the best smell? A few of our neighbors around here have fireplaces and it smells so good outside when they have a fire. We are currently sitting at 1 degree with drizzle. So strange with the weather here!! Off to the mall shortly – my son needs a haircut and he’s off from college today (and feeling better) so its time to go out and get things done! I am trying to make my last few days of vacation stretch right out! I have 5 more days to take in March so I am happy with this!! Have a good evening!

    February 19, 2016 at 5:30 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      I do like that smell and even though the fire logs are saw dust it really smells very different and not always that nice πŸ™‚
      Not many in cities have fire places here, the rules are so strict that if someone complaints about the smell they can forbid anyone to have a fire in the fire place. Not the same out here where everyone have one or the other kind of fire place πŸ™‚

      I’m glad Your sun is feeling better and lets hope he doesn’t get anything soon again πŸ™‚ Stomach flus can be tricky and hit again as soon as the one one just had is over.

      I have two vacaton days left and I’ll use them in April. I can save them for up to five years but as I always say, who knows when it is my time to go I really don’tr want to have any vacation days left when it happens πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      February 19, 2016 at 7:09 pm

  2. Hi Christer,
    I scrolled right by that first photo without even seeing the little bird. Not enough coffee, I guess. I saw him on the second pass.
    Nice shots of Sune and Nova.

    Getting out of work an hour earlier really does feel like you’ve only worked half a day. πŸ™‚ Time is definitely relative.

    I need some gardening advice. I found a quince that probably dropped off the quince bush, dried out and then got covered in snow. It had rehydrated so even though it was still shrunken it was more or less pliable. I took it inside and pulled out 5 seeds which I put on a moist paper towel, placed in a plastic bag and stuck in the fridge. Was that the correct thing to do and now what do I do?

    Today is very sunny with big puffy clouds. It’s slightly above freezing but it might snow later on today. Or tomorrow. Or maybe Sunday. Or all three. It’s complicated. πŸ™‚

    Enjoy the day.

    February 19, 2016 at 7:18 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      They are harder to see than one might think those colorful birds.

      Yes it does feel like one has lots of extra time to do things one even if it just is one hour πŸ™‚

      Yes it was the right thing to do and now keep checking so the paper stays moist and to see that the seeds hasn’t started to germinate (if they do just plant them in a pot and place the pot cool and light but not in sunshine). If I remember right it should be enough to keep them cool for two months but it doesn’t matter if they stay there for a longer period. When they have stayed cool for at least two months just sow them in a pot and place it outdoors in shade, water it every now and again and as soon as the seds think it is warm enough You’ll see small plants. Quince seedlings are tough so You can either keep them in the pot until You know where to plant bthem or plant them as soon as they get those first real leafs and water a lot in the beginning.

      Snow or rain tomorrow, the sun won’t show itself until as best on Sunday afternoon or Monday. Not especially complicated here this time πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      February 19, 2016 at 7:41 pm

  3. jaz

    hi hrister! i love a good wood fire too. i think i will build one tomorrow. we are going to be in the 60’s! your sandwiches sound so good.. do you eat them open faced?

    February 19, 2016 at 10:26 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      The fire logs are good but compared to real fire wood they are quite boring πŸ™‚

      We’re above 32 again and the night wasn’t at all as cold as they had predicted so if it hadn’t snowed right now I think the snow we already have would have vanished quite fast.

      Yes I usually do. I just put them in the oven since I keep the fire burning anyway. Less risk that I’ll burn myself in my mouth if I have them open too, I tend to forget how hot they can be πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      February 20, 2016 at 10:57 am

Leave a Reply

